Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,472 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 17 of 27)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #219

Jul 192013


  • 50,000 miles


7/16/13, wife drove her car to work, dropped my son of at my mother's. got to the corner, tried to accelerate and it stalled, with no power, had to coast to the side of the road. 7/19/13, I was driving home, car stalled at the light, no accelerator power, wrench light came on. Turned it off, re-started, ran fine for about 1/4 mile, then started shaking and no accelerator power. This continued every quarter mile for 4 miles. Finally on the last shut down, check engine light came on, and engine started to shake with no response. Pulled over, and then let it set for 5 mins, restarted and finally made it around the corner to my home.. next available appointment at Ford dealer is 29 July...

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #218

Jul 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 44,100 miles
Driving at 55 mph, car jerked and the gas pedal failed to respond. Coasted over to the side of the road. Turned vehicle off. Restarted and started driving again with out problem. Same thing happened again except with a large cement truck behind me. The Ford died and there was no shoulder on the side of the road. The cement truck was able to go into the oncoming traffic lane to miss me. The Escape did the same scenario twice on the way to the garage. ( with out the cement truck) the problem was diagnosed as the throttle body malfunction.

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #217

Jul 172013


  • 37,250 miles
The throttle body control device (part # ds7Z-9E926-D) failed effectively disconnecting my accelerator pedal on the I-4 freeway. I was traveling at 60 mph I am lucky to be alive. The people at Ford told me this is a very high failure part and they cannot keep them in stock. They indicated in confidence that "they were surprised customers are not being told of this defect". this problem probably killed someone somewhere and I truly believe this is a serious situation that will kill an innocent family soon. By the way they wanted $680 to fix their problem.

- Lake Mary, FL, USA

problem #216

Jul 192013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 59,834 miles


I was driving to work and my car started to jerk. Then my power train light came on and my car totally stopped on me in the middle of the road. I took it to the shop that day and the told me it was my throttle body. My warranty didn't cover it, so I had to pay over 300 dollars for a new part.

- Whitwell, TN, USA

problem #215

Jun 162013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Made turn into traffic, speed was about 30 mph. Went to accelerate, no power. Engine rpms dropped. Stepped on gas pedal to accelerate. No response. Drifted over to side of road. Placed into neutral and tried to increase rpms. No response. Turned off ignition to call for aid as the roadway was busy, then tried to restart car. Car started normally. Rpms resumed normal. Placed car into drive and drove off normally. Happened again on three different occasions. Happened the other night three times. Deemed the car unsafe to drive. Waiting for an appointment to get repaired. On line forums indicate there is a problem with the throttle, whether it be a sensor or communication with the on board computed.

- Bayport, NY, USA

problem #214

May 062013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
On several occasions driving on the highway the vehicle speed goes down suddenly and all kinds of lights go on, and it dies after that. Shut off the car wait 10- 15 minutes, restart the car and prying it will take me home safely, on one occasion the card died twice in a 20 miles trip. Brought the car for diagnosis and I was told the throttle-body has to be replaced and it is not under warranty or a recall. The repair cost me $532 which I paid, later on I contacted Ford corporate by phone and by email, and both told me that the repair is not covered, and they would not re-imburse me for the repair cost. I checked your website and I found almost 600 complaints similar to mine, in a way I felt I'm not alone, on the other hand if Ford has these too many complaints about the throttle - body for the 2010 Ford Escape, why they can not work with the NHTSA and issue a recall to replace that defective part before someone gets injured or dead by a rearend collision. Please investigate this issue, thank you

- Sherborn, MA, USA

problem #213

Feb 162011


  • 35,000 miles


While driving at 60 mph the vehicle quit running and a trouble light was displayed. Within days a took the vehicle to a local dealership and the throttle body assembly was identified as the problem and was replaced under warranty. About 13 months later the incident occurred again while cruising at 60 mph. Again I took the vehicle to my local dealership and again they diagnosed the throttle body assembly and replaced it, at a cost to me of $540. I spoke with several friends who also had the same problems with their identical vehicle. I also read where the NHTSA had received numerous complaints of a similar nature and that Ford had acknowledged there was a problem and had subsequently resolved it in later production. I would like to recover my costs as they admitted a problem. Has there been a recall issued related to this issue?

- Thonotosassa, FL, USA

problem #212

Jul 182013


  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while traveling 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated performed a self check diagnostic but to no avail. The contact then took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and the current mileages were 38,000.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #211

Jul 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 36,300 miles
On July 9, 2013 I was driving on the freeway in moderate traffic at mid-day and had been on the road approximately 15 minutes. The vehicle suddenly, and without warning, would no longer accelerate but was still moving at a reduced speed and I was able to control steering. I worked my way over to the shoulder of the freeway and stopped the vehicle and turned the key to the off position. I sat for approximately one minute and re-started the vehicle without any problem. On July 18, 2013 at about 8:30 am I had been driving the vehicle for approximately 20 minutes had just exited the freeway approximately a quarter mile back and was waiting at a red light. When the light turned green I was unable to accelerate. There was no revving of the engine it was silent. I turned the key to the off position, waited a moment, turned it back on without a problem.

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #210

Jul 152013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
My vehicle has been running great until the last week. Three times in the span of an hour drive from one location to my house my vehicle has begun to shake and then quit running. Two of the three times we were driving 65mph on a busy freeway and were unable to control the vehicle, having to allow the car to idle to a stop on the shoulder. Thankfully we were able to do so safely. We drove the vehicle to our dealership for inspection today and the car shook, as if ready to shut down again, the entire trip. I received a call saying the electronic throttle body needs to be replaced. I have since seen several similar safety complaints regarding the same engine part and have requested the original part be returned to me. My vehicle is only three years old and in good condition, and it is entirely unsafe for a car to unexpectedly quit running, period.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #209

Jul 142013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles


Driving with cruise control set at 60mph, cruise disengaged, stepped on gas no throttle response pulled over and shut vehicle down restarted and proceeded home. Next day went to my Escape started vehicle and service engine light came on and remained on throughout the day. Called my Ford dealer to set up appointment to bring in the car for inspection. Was given a appointment in 3 days time (July 18,2013 @11:30am) was told by service advisor that it would be okay and safe to keep driving the car. Following day went to a meeting with my car, service engine light did not come on. While driving home the vehicle lost power and once again no throttle. Dealer service called and reported that the throttle assembly required replacement, asked if this was a known problem with the Escape and was told that there have been issues with the throttle assembly but no recall to date was told to keep the paid bill once the work was completed in case of a recall and reimbursement.

- Amherstburg On Canada N9v 2y8, MI, USA

problem #208

Jul 112013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I was driving down the highway at 70mph and my vehicle lurched, knocked, and then began to slow down no matter how much I pushed the gas pedal. I made it to the side of the road and once completely stopped, the vehicle vibrated until put in park. I turned my vehicle off and waited about 5 mins and then restarted it. Everything appeared to be fine, so I began to drive down the highway again. Within 2 miles, the same incident happened again. I made it to the closest auto zone and they diagnosed my vehicle with a trouble code P2111, throttle body stuck open. They sent me to a locally owned body shop, where they too, diagnosed my vehicle with the trouble code P2111. I managed to make it back home and take it to my Ford shop, where they confirmed the trouble code of P2111, so they replaced my throttle body. Unfortunately, my vehicle was no longer under warranty, so it came out of my pocket to replace the part. My Ford had the nerve to mention this has been a recurring problem they are seeing, which is why they already had a throttle body in stock. This should be sent to recall; it is dangerous, and has affected many people from what I've read.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #207

Jul 122013


  • 67,126 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the vehicle stalled and caused the vehicle to idle. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and took it to a local dealer for diagnostic testing. The dealer stated that the throttle body was defective and needed to be replaced. The throttle body was replaced. The failure mileage was 67,126.

- Alexanderia, VA, USA

problem #206

Apr 202013

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle decelerated independently. The contact stated that she depressed the accelerator pedal but the vehicle would not accelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 09/05/13

- Denair, CA, USA

problem #205

Jul 172013

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 63,500 miles
The vehicle has been diagnosed with a throttle bar issue by a Ford dealer. We have been waiting for 30+ days for a new throttle body part. From the time of the first incident in April, the vehicle has stopped running while driving and has been having electrical issues upon start up about a half dozen times including today. Rather than enter a complaint for each incident because we can not recall the exact dates, we are submitting this complaint to cover all incidents. We have been told the part is back ordered and there is no estimated date of delivery. We have not experienced a surge in speed as of yet. Is this vehicle safe for us to be driving?

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #204

Jun 242013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
My 2010 Ford Escape limited has completely lost power when driving on four different occasions. The vehicle will be running find and then you suddenly lose all power. I took the vehicle to my local dealer and they informed me that it was a problem with the electronic throttle body. They also informed me that they did not have the replacement part and were unsure of when they could get it. I find it very dangerous driving a vehicle that could suddenly lose power at anytime. Although I believe Ford should have to replace these defective parts, Ford could at least be responsible enough to have these parts so that I could at least pay to have my vehicle fixed.

- Branson, MO, USA

problem #203

Jul 122013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 37,190 miles
I was driving at 50mph and next thing I know is my whole car was shaking it was a 2010 Ford Escape and I checked the dash and the orange wrench light is on. I tried to step on the gas pedal so I can find a place to pull over but I don't have any power on my gas pedal it just wont accelerate.

- Federal Way , WA, USA

problem #202

Jul 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
While driving the wrench light came on and the car slowed and became sluggish. Took the car right to the Ford dealer. I was told it was the throttle body. I had just had a 30,000 mile checkup 2 months before and the throttle body was serviced and now 3,000 miles later I need to have it replaced... if I had been on the thruway when this happened. It could have caused an accident being at high speed then losing power. I was lucky.

- Saugerties, NY, USA

problem #201

Jul 112013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the engine rpms increased excessively as the vehicle suddenly accelerated. Also, the contact stated that the wrench warning icon illuminated. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the part was on back order. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 55,000.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #200

Jan 212013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 24,060 miles
As I was turning onto a busy street (turning right on red) my car without any indication suddenly lost power. I managed to coast into a parking lot and put the car into park and turn it off. I noticed a wrench symbol appear in the left panel, and the car immediately started again. I had just had my car serviced the day before (Jan 19, 2013). This occurred approximately 3-4 times more over the next few days. I called the service department and described the problem, and took it in. They said they could fin no problem with my car that would cause this to happen. A week or so later it happened again. I called by to the service department and described that the same thing was still happening. They explained that they could see nothing on the machine that indicated a problem. I called Ford and ask about any recalls and was told there were none for my vehicle. The service department recommended that I wait until the problem manifested and call because they were unable to duplicate the problem. Months( late June) then it happened again. I took it in again and was told that everything was fine. On a trip to charlotte nc going approximately 70 mph in the left lane, my car suddenly lost power (scary!!!) I was able to make it to the right shoulder without incident. My car did this approximately eight times between concord nc and goldsboro nc (with two young children in the car). Upon return, I called the service department and took it in again. This time they identified the throttle body--a day late and a dollar short--my car's warranty expired approximately two weeks earlier. My car is at the Ford dealership as I write this waiting to be repaired. I am told the throttle body is on a national backlog. I feel that I have been mistreated as a consumer on so many levels.

- Goldsboro, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?