Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,157 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 15 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Apr 112013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 47,310 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down the road the Escape felt like it stalled on the road with the wrench warning light. Pulled off and tried to give it gas but the car wouldn't go and the RPM's were jumping. Shut the vehicle off and called my husband and he said to shut it down and restart the car and see what happens (husband had a friend with another Escape do the same thing). I did that and it was fine. Had a shop check for codes but there were no codes present. Called Ford and was told that it was the throttle body/sensor and that its not covered under warranty (yet they new what the problem was just by me explaining it which tells me that its a known problem that they don't want to fix). Then today it did the same thing.

- Rincon, GA, USA

problem #30

Oct 202012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 41,021 miles
While driving from central fl to asheville, nc. My 3.0 litr Escape basically lost all power a total of 6 different times on interstates 95 and 26 between savannah, ga and columbia, SC. Driving along at posted highway speed limit, engine would unexpectedly start losing power and eventually come to a stop in the emergency lane. The tachometer indicated that the engine was running at about 1000 RPM, but it would not take and thottle and barely move. Switching the engine off and restarting, reset something and allowed me to continue driving normally but only for about 20 miles before doing the exact same thing. This was a Saturday about noon and calling several Ford dealers was useless as most said they were getting ready to close, or could not look at it until Monday. Not wanting to ruin our vacation, we tried to continue with the above scenario repeating itself at least 6 more times, each time getting more and more dangerous, as traffic was heavy and each time the engine would lose power instantly and almost caused accidents before we could get off the road into the emergency lane. Finally called a Ford dealer in columbia, SC that was open till 4pm. And said they could check it out. Made it there at 3:30 pm and they diagnosed the trouble as a code P2111 throttle body stuck open. They had the part in stock and $326 later we were on our way. Vehicle only had 41K miles. Internet research has revealed several hundred complaints of the same exact trouble happening to them. There is even a youtube video showing this described trouble actually taking place, after a frustrated driver could not get any Ford dealer to recreate the trouble and take care of it, he videod it acutally happening. My calls to Ford Motor Co customer service, and my emails were a waste of time. Ford is ignoring a very dangerous problem that will get them many lawsuits I am sure. Ford needs a recall now!

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

problem #29

Jul 222012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 44,110 miles
Spouse drove away from house and vehicle stalled on the city street about 400 feet from home. This was on a Saturday, I attempted to drive the vehicle, continued to stall. I was able to get it into my garage and the vehicle was brought to the dealership on a flat bed truck to replace the throttle body and motor assembly at my expense. (no charge for towing).

- Wauwatosa, WI, USA

problem #28

Mar 312013

Escape

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is about the 10th time I have experienced this issue. In every case the car stops accelerating and the car drops into idle with the RPM's ranging from 900-1100. Shifting gears does not have an effect and you have to shut off the car to turn in back on. The amber wrench light comes on every time and the few times that it happened consecutively in one trip the check engine light came on. On my first visit to a dealership they replaced the accelerator pedal. The second time they noticed my transmission was eating its fluid so the filled up the fluid. The third time the dealership replaced my transmission and the most recent they replaced the throttle body. This seems to coincide with the open investigation PE13003. I have had the car malfunction occur when accelerating through 65 trying to get onto a highway. Had it happen twice at 15 mph in a parking lot. Had it at 45 mph in the middle of an intersection and multiple times on back roads at 35 mph. Fortunately for me I was always able to flip my hazards on quickly and the other vehicles were able to get around me while I stopped on the road, but this situation is highly unsafe especially at higher speeds on highway when you have to pull over and stop the car to fix the situation. Based on multiple online forums it seems to be mainly the throttle body that is malfunctioning, but it seems to also degrade the engine over time and can end up costing you as an owner over time due to the dealers inability to always pin point the issue.

- Enid, OK, USA

problem #27

Mar 232013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 49,320 miles
Driving in the highway the vehicle stop throttle and show the wrench indicator light. First experience was my wife that is now pregnant. We stop using the car until I could bring it to the dealer, and it also broke down while coming here. Ford says it is the electronic throttle device and that I have to pay for it $470+tax. This was purchased here as a certified Ford and Ford does not cover it even if it is a life threatening issue. This is a very dangerous defect, especially in the highway or if passing another car in a two lane road. Ford should recall all cars with this electronic device asap and pay me for this expense. I have to pay for it now because the car even though it starts it will break down in the middle of the road for no reason. Again this is a very dangerous defect and several complaints seems to indicate the same.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #26

Mar 042013

Escape

  • 36,000 miles
I had approximately four occurrences of losing all throttle response, basically a complete loss of power while driving on the los angeles freeway system. Engine RPM drops to 1,000 and provides idle power only. A very dangerous situation while on a 4 lane congested highway traveling at speeds upto 65 mph.

- Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #25

Mar 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 77,550 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle's throttle stopped working in traffic traveling at 35 mph and had to coast vehicle to side of road where engine was idling roughly but no response to pressing accelerator pedal. Vehicle needed to be shut off and restarted several times to get throttle working again. Vehicle exhibited this problem many times over last 30 days (even at 65 mph we lost throttle on interstate and had to coast off in traffic). We have been fortunate in avoiding an accident. Took vehicle to service station which read computer reading and said "throttle body actuator" needed to be replaced and that I should go to local Ford dealer asap as there should be a recall for a 2 year old vehicle with this dangerous condition. Ford dealer informed me that there was no recall and that its just something that happens and that it would be $399 to fix. This is a huge safety issue and I will not let my family drive the vehicle until Ford fixes this issue at Ford's expense. I researched online and this problem seems to be happening a lot to many owners. This needs an immediate mandate by NHTSA to Ford to issue a recall for this life threatening defect.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #24

Mar 192013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 75,450 miles
2010 Ford Escape XLT (V6) is having repeated incidents (at random intervals) of throttle failures. Vehicle suddenly has no "gas pedal", idles roughly (800 to 1000 RPM) and has to be coasted to side of road. Only way to reset is to put vehicle in park and turn off (dangerous on interstates or if in left lane and no place to pull off), restart and most cases the problem is eliminated for hours, days or more. Sometimes it can occur many times within a short drive period and then go away for hours of issue-free driving. Engine service light (wrench) came on one day after some extremely rough idling caused by issue (engine bucked a bit) and service station read computer analysis as "throttle actuator control system" was stuck open and closed. They told me that it was probably defective and dangerous and that I should proceed to my Ford dealer asap. I took vehicle to Ford dealer (3/20/13) and they acknowledged the throttle body should be replaced, but said no recall had been issued so I would have to pay for repair. I could not believe this for a 2 year old car. This is a huge safety issue and I would expect a manufacturer to fix this problem immediately and shocked at their nonchalance regarding this problem. I went home and googled the issue and I see many articles and agencies looking into this problem so apparently I am not the only one having this problem. I am not allowing the my family members to drive the vehicle due to this safety issue until it is repaired by Ford at their expense. This could be a major lawsuit (injury or even fatalities) due to the safety of having to "limp off" a busy roadway with no warning and becoming a target.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #23

Feb 252013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
On the morning of February 25th, I was pulling out of my garage when my car just stopped accelerating and the "wrench" light came on. It was barely idling, so I turned off the car and restarted it. It started normally, so I went on to work. That evening, I was driving on the interstate in the passing lane going approximately 75 mph when the car sort of lurched and then the "wrench" light came on and the car instantly started to slow down. I could not accelerate at all. I had to wait for traffic to move in the right lane, which was horribly dangerous, and then pull off the side of the road. I turned the car off and then restarted it. It took a second, but the car restarted and the wrench light was off, so I got back on the interstate again. That evening I started looking on the internet to see if anyone else had experienced this same problem, and that was when I saw that there was an investigation started by the NHTSA in regards to that very same problem occurring in several Ford vehicles. This was extremely dangerous because when it happens, I have no control over the speed anymore and I am at the mercy of the cars all around me. I could have easily caused an accident that day. Then, about a week later it happened again while I was on a busy city street going approximately 35 mph. Finally, yesterday morning, March 20th, it happened on the interstate again. The dealer says there are no error codes, but they said they think its the throttle body and that it will cost about $300 dollars to fix. This should be a recall. This investigation needs to be concluded and a recall needs to be issued before someone is killed. This is extremely dangerous since it happens at faster speeds, while on the interstate.

- Woodstock, WA, USA

problem #22

Nov 262012

Escape

  • 36,259 miles
For several months, my 2010 Ford Escape would stall while driving down the road. There were times that I was going 45-55mph and my vehicle would stall. I lost power steering as vehicle shut off. I had to slow down and pull off the road and re-start the vehicle. This was very dangerous and scary. This happened probably 10-15 times until I could no longer get the vehicle started. I had it towed into a Ford dealership and had their service department analyze the problem. I first took it by an advance auto to check the service engine light. The code that came up I believe was 9000. It had something to do with emission, fuel system concerns. The service department put a throttle body and motor assembly part on it. I haven't had any problems since. They also did an eec test P2111 and found etb to be at fault and replaced. I had to pay $356.52 including labor for this. I feel from reading other information on 2010 Ford Escapes that there has been a lot of issues with stalling. I feel I should be reimbursed for my expenses.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #21

Apr 022012

Escape

  • 43,869 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving at 35mph, check engine light came on and SUV went into "limp home mode", slowing to only 10mph. After re-starting SUV 2-times same error appear. Took SUV to local Ford dealer tom holzer, and they said it was a failing throttle body sensor. Inquired if there was a known warranty issue and dealer confirmed no, but a service bulletin existed at customer's expense - which was not agreeable. Tom holzer service manager advise to contact Ford directly (which we did) and Ford said to contact service manager (which we did). After numerous phone calls and formal complaints we received no satisfactory resolution. Ford was blaming the local dealer, the local dealer blaming Ford, and we still had to pay $525 to replace defective throttle body sensor. (ironically our good friends have a 2010 Chevy equinox with 80,000 miles that had the same problem and their local Chevy dealer replaced their throttle body sensor and provided loaner vehicle during service procedure, both at no charge). Needless to say, we were very disappointed with the local dealer and Ford's handling of this known problem, and this will be our last Ford vehicle purchase after 30-years of dedicated Ford vehicle purchases.

- Pinckney, MI, USA

problem #20

Nov 072012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 55,129 miles
Engine loses power (does not stall out) stays running but unable to accelerate. Wrench light comes on. If shut off and restarted it will go again. Occured 3 times in one day. Occurs at any level of speed, was going 30 mph once, and on highway the other 2 times, once excelerating on highway to merge, and the last time driving normally. Throttle body and motor were replaced.

- Southgate, MI, USA

problem #19

Dec 212012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
While driving to work, going approximately 40 mph, my car experienced a sudden loss of power and acceleration. The car did not respond when I pressed the gas pedal, and the engine was sputtering and the car would barely move forward. Luckily I was able to pull into a parking lot and shut the car off. I had the car towed to a Ford dealer, and was informed that the problem was the electronic throttle body. I soon found out that my third party warranty did not cover this part. The dealer stated that the warranty doesn't cover the part because they know it is going to malfunction in almost every Ford Escape. So I had to pay over $300 out of pocket to get a part fixed that the dealer knew was going to break! this is ridiculous!

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #18

Feb 122013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I was driving down the road at night, going 40 mph on a street when suddenly my car decelerating without warning and came to a stop on the side of a busy street. The engine light came on however, I was not able to get it to move. I had the tow company come get me and dropped it off at the Ford dealership. It appears that the throttle body went out while I was driving. Normally I wouldn't report this, but it seems to be a common dangerous event with the Ford Escape.

- Newbury Park, CA, USA

problem #17

Dec 042012

Escape

  • 60,400 miles
The car lost engine power unexpectedly while under way. Pressing the gas pedal made no difference, and the car would not coast - it lost speed rapidly. Upon turning the car off and waiting a few minutes, the car would restart and operate normally. Sometimes it would operate for normally for the entirety of the trip, other times the car would exhibit the problem again.

- Roslindale, MA, USA

problem #16

Jan 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 26,490 miles
While driving there was a sudden loss of power. The wrench icon lit up on the dash display & the engine light came on too. There was no response from the gas pedal at all. The engine stayed on & all other features of the vehicle worked. I shut the car off & restarted the vehicle & continued driving. This occurred 4 times within a half hour. It was a miracle that I was not involved in an auto accident. I brought the vehicle back to a Ford dealer where they replaced the throttle body. Vehicle has been operating fine ever since & the gas pedal is more responsive than it was before. The original bumper to bumper warranty expired less than 2 months ago & I had to pay for this repair. I am very unhappy.

- Paramus, NJ, USA

problem #15

Dec 232012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 42,687 miles
With no warning, I was unable to accelerate. Car went into limp mode. I was able to pull over safely. I am thankful I wasn't traveling at a higher rate of speed or traveling on the freeway; this would have been incredibly dangerous. Diagnostic lights on dash indicated something with throttle. Was able to get car home - very difficult. Had to have it towed. Very expensive car repair, $208 part (throttle body) and $190 labor.

- Cedarburg, WI, USA

problem #14

Dec 312012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 38,120 miles
Defective throttle body the 2010 Ford Escape not once but multiple times would go to idle and run rough while traveling on different roads at different speeds. The gas pedal would do nothing to make the car go but it was idling rough and coasting causing us to stop on the side of very dangerous roads. We would turn it off and let it sit for a few minutes and then it would start normal. The gas pedal would work again but repeat the same problem 5 to 10 minutes later. We were certainly glad this did not happen on the interstate in front of an 18 wheeler or we would be dead. The dealership said the throttle body is bad. The car is only 2,000 miles out of warranty from the standard bumper to bumper warranty, the extended powertrain warranty does not cover the part. So we are out almost $400 for a part that should never fail to begin with.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #13

Dec 082012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Serious and life-threatening malfunction impeded my ability to control my 2010 Escape occurred while driving 50mph on a very busy highway. My Escape stalled suddenly without any warning what so ever in the middle of the lane while driving on the busy highway. As I tried to continue driving, pushing the throttle pedal, the Escape would not go, it slowed down suddenly on it's own. I was able to ease off the payment to the side of the lane; however, I was almost hit in the rear by a auto behind me before I could get off the payment. I was fortunate to have been at a place where I could ease off the payment. The highway is curvy and hilly. This scared me to death. A wrench light came on indicating a malfunction of the throttle/powertrain. The engine was running fine. I turned off the engine and waited a few minutes, then I cranked it and it cranked fine. The wrench light went off. I tried driving it again, and once I pulled back into the highway, giving it gas, it would barely go, so I eased back again. I called roadside assistance and had it towed to the dealership. After it was inspected I was told the electric throttle body had malfunctioned and needed replacing. It was the caused of the sudden stalling while I was driving. My life as well as others were put in a dangerous situation because of this malfunction. I understand that there has been a lot of complaints like mine already filed here. Ford should issue a recall immediately before any deaths occur. I had to pay $470 to get this taken care since my warranty was out 3/36,000. I was told that this was not covered by the powertrain 5/60,000.

- Silver Creek , GA, USA

problem #12

Jun 152012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 29,321 miles
On June 15, 2012, the 2010 Ford Escape with 29321 miles lost power (I.e. no gas, but electronics remained on) while merging onto a crowded highway at 50 mph. An accident was barely avoided. Error lights were lit on the dashboard and the car would not restart. However, upon removing the keys from the ignition and reinserting them, the error lights turned off and the car restarted without any apparent problems. The car was immediately driven to the university Ford dealership in chapel hill, nc. The service department could not detect a problem, stated that the computer was not registering any errors, and returned the car without fixing anything. On June 27, 2012, the car (29988 miles) again lost power in the middle of an intersection while making a left turn. The car had been stopped at a traffic light and was accelerating from a stopped position. Again, an accident was barely avoided. This time, the car's computer did register an error. The service department at university Ford identified a faulty throttle body sensor (part no. 9L8Z9E926A) and replaced it with part no. Ds7Z9E926A. The service department ensured the problem would not repeat itself. On November 24, 2012, the car (roughly 34000 miles) lost power for a third time while stopped at a traffic light. Removing the keys from the ignition and replacing them allowed the car to be restarted, and the car was promptly taken to university Ford. The service department stated that no error was registered on the computer and that the car would have to be returned. The warranty policy states that no parts can be replaced if a problem is not detected.

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?