10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,811 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 7 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #193

Aug 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were traveling at 55 mph on the highway when my Ford Escape suddenly stalled and would no longer respond when I pressed the accelerator. My SUV slowed to a stop where I cut it off. Unfortunately, I did not have enough speed to pull off to a safe location and was stuck in the middle of the very busy highway where I was almost sideswiped by a tractor trailer truck. It was a very scary situation to say the least. This has since happened 3 more times, the most recent being yesterday August 23 on an interstate overpass in rush hour traffic. Again I did not have enough speed to pull off to a safe location and was stuck in the center lane of the overpass. I was able to restart my car soon after stalling out and was able to an auto store that pulled the code of P2112, which is the throttle body code. Of course my warranty ran out in June 2013 and Ford estimates the repair to cost $500 minimum. And sadly, I am now afraid to drive my Escape as I fear it will get me into an accident. I ask that Ford take responsibility for the obvious flaw in throttle body and make the recall!

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #192

Aug 212013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
Car would occasionally lurch forward while driving, then on August 21st 2013, car lurched forward then felt like it stalled out. Took it to Ford dealership they stated that the throttle body went out and needed to be replaced.

- South Lake Tahoe, CA, USA

problem #191

Aug 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 32,991 miles
Vehicle abruptly stalled with check engine light on, at highway speed. An accident was barely averted. Car was taken to dealership and diagnosed as a faulty throttle body. The defective throttle body was replaced. Vehicle only has 32K miles. Research shows that this is a common problem.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #190

Aug 212013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving the vehicle normally when suddenly lost all power (limp mode) the lady in the vehicle behind me almost hit me then she went off the road herself. I had to pull over I shut the engine off and went to check on the lady in the other vehicle and luckily her and her vehicle were fine, unfortunately I did not get her name or number. When I restarted the vehicle it operated normally, the throttle was responsive again. I drove about 3 more miles and it happened again as I was making a left hand turn. Again shut the engine off and restarted again operated normally. I later took the vehicle to a local car parts store and had them check the codes. The codes they got were P2111 and P2112 throttle body stuck open, stuck closed respectively. I contacted a Ford service center and they informed me that they can schedule service next week but they have so many of these bad that the parts are on back order. Since this caused a near miss I felt compelled to report it as well as it seems to be a pretty sizable issue since the parts are difficult for Ford to get.

- New Lexington, OH, USA

problem #189

Aug 202013

Escape

  • 67,650 miles
Driving on the highway at a maintained speed, my vehicle illuminated a maintenance light, and within seconds the gas pedal was not working. I was on a slight hill at the time so I still had some momentum, enough to pull over out of the traffic. The steering, brakes, and everything else were working fine, but nothing happened when I pressed the gas. When I put the car in park there was some stuttering, almost like it was stalling out, coming from under the hood. I turned the vehicle off and waited a few moments. When I turned it back on, it took an extra 2-3 seconds to start up, but seemed to be running fine, and I drove to work, then right to the dealer after work for repairs. They told me it was the electronic throttle body, and that it is now running fine since they replaced the throttle body, and I am going to pick it up after work today.

- Derry, NH, USA

problem #188

Aug 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I bought vehicle 2010 Ford Escape in August of 2011. In February of 2011 I was driving down a city road going about 30 mph and my Escape starting stalling out would not accelerate wrench light came on. I pulled into a parking lot and it was idling rough like it was going to stall out. I put my Escape into park pushed slightly on gas pedal it made no difference with my foot on the brake I switched it into gear made no difference. I put car back into park and turned it off. Waited a few minutes started it. It started right up with no problems. I ran fuel cleaner through it. I did not have anymore problems until Thursday Aug 15th 2013. I was driving down city road going about 30 mph it did the same thing again. Started stalling out would not pick up acceleration running rough wrench light came on pulled into parking lot barley idling sputtering like it was going to stall I put car into park turned engine off waited a few minutes. Turned back on. My car started fine ran fine like nothing happened again. So today 8/20/13 im going down busy traffic country two lane road no where to pull car off on side safely. And again all of a sudden going about 35 mph I loose acceleration car starts sputtering I cant accelerate running rough wrench light came on I coasted up to stop sign as I had nowhere to safely pull car off road and put car in park turn off engine started engine right back up car ran fine. This is a safety issue. I thought at first my fuel filter may be the problem but as im reading the 2010 Ford Escapes have a guaranteed lifetime fuel filter inside the fuel tank cannot replace it. So as I was reading more in depth I see a lot of people having the same problem as I am with their 2010 Escapes. I now see the problem is a throttle body issue defect and an investigation is going on. Ford needs to do something about this before people wind up in crashes over this.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #187

Aug 182013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stalled upon acceleration from stop, and lost all throttle function. Surges at idle, and intermittently stalls. Throttle failed the next day at highway speed. Same symptoms as the failed throttle body sensor issue that was fixed by October 2009, but my Escape was built in December '09 after the problem was supposedly fixed.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #186

Aug 162013

Escape

  • miles
I was driving down the road when my gas pedal stopped working and my car would not accelerate. After turning the car off and back on, the problem recurred four times before I finally called a tow truck. The repair shop diagnosed the problem as the throttle body stuck in an open position. The part is now on national back order. It is an expensive and, due to the back order, long repair.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #185

Jul 122013

Escape

  • miles
On multiple occasions, our newly bought used vehicle (a 2010 Ford Escape with less than 60,000 miles, ) had stalled on my party while driving. When the vehicle is in drive the car loses the ability to accelerate. Some of the times all we had to do was restart the vehicle and it would get us back home. The occurrences of the problem happened more frequently when driving on a freeway or highway.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #184

Jul 092013

Escape

  • 63,000 miles
Driving down the road and everything seemed fine. Suddenly, the engine shuddered, hesitated, and lost power. Luckily, traffic was light and I was able to get off the road. All fluids ok, battery ok, fuel ok, etc. After checking options, I tried restarting the car. It started fine -like there was no problem. Since then it has been happening more often, but not on at any predictable time or event. Engine cool or hot, slow or high speed, smooth or bumpy road -just whenever it seems to feel like it. I've been reading online that this seems to be a common problem with the throttle body on these vehicles. I'm now looking for a replacement and am wondering how much this is going to cost. Since it is a widespread issue, will Ford reimburse for the expense?

- Centerville, OH, USA

problem #183

Jul 112012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The first incident, the engine stalled as I slowed down to make a turn. The second incident, while driving the engine nearly killed and was in a low speed like it was in neutral, just stayed in one spot like it was stalled. Had vehicle towed to dealership where they replaced the throttle body.

- Chalmette, LA, USA

problem #182

Aug 182013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
Vehicle stalls at any speed. After shutdown, vehicle restarts and runs fine for a minute or two and then stalls again.

- Friendship, WI, USA

problem #181

Aug 102013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
I was driving approx. 50-55 mph and going uphill when the engine lost power and would not accelerate despite trying to pump the petal. The car did not shut off completely but idled roughly with the yellow wrench light on. I had to flip on the hazards and get over three lanes of scary traffic on a busy vancouver, bc highway and turn the car off and back on again. This was the 5th time this happened in 30 days, with the first being on the ship canal bridge in seattle, the 2nd exactly 7 days later in the same spot, followed by twice in one morning 2 weeks later on the way to vancouver. Each time it has been over 50mph and going uphill, or having to quickly accelerate to get past a slower moving car. The Ford dealerships don't care and just want to charge a fortune to fix it. I haven't read from anyone if the new part even fixes the problem" I'm at the point where I'm stressed all the time driving never knowing where it will crap out and avoiding highways and roads where there is no shoulder to stop on. I loved the car but am too scared to drive it so I've started to take the bus. Ford should be ashamed of themselves for not taking immediate action on this known problem! when is Ford going to take responsibility for this and issue a recall? are they waiting for someone to die because of it" this is so dangerous, thank god it happened during daylight hours - I'm terrified of what will happen if it is night time.

- Mountlake Terrace, WA, USA

problem #180

Aug 162013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
P2111 code (throttle body stuck open); accelerator pedal stops working; vehicle goes into a limp home mode. Cycle the ignition key and everything starts working again. Problem keeps repeating itself. Suspect the throttle body is malfunctioning.

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #179

Jul 242013

Escape

  • 94,013 miles
Just driving along one day and upon crossing an intersection of a busy street the call stalled. I pushed the gas pedal and couldnt accelerate. Luckily I was able to pull of on a side street without holding up traffic. When I got to the side street I shut the car off and started it again and after taking awhile it finally started back up only to do the same thing a block later. The problem seemed to have gone away for a couple weeks but has came back recently and is ever more frequent. When it sets over night or for long periods of time it is driveable but after a few miles it starts to stall again. Driving under 30 mph or accelerating super slow seems to help some times but not always. Still probably not very safe to drive it like that especially pulling onto a busy street or out into a busy intersection.

- Salina, KS, USA

problem #178

Aug 152013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 37,741 miles
While driving with cruise control set, 60mph on I-64 @ I-170 the vehicle stopped forward motion. It coasted to a stop but the engine did not stop. The accelerator did not work and the RPM stayed between 750 and 1000. The ignition was tuned off then back on in about 2 minutes and the accelerator worked. Ford dealer replaced the throttle body unit.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #177

Aug 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
When coming to a stop and then trying to accelerate from and idle position the vehicle will loose power. By this I mean the vehicle stays on, lights on dash remain on, motor is still running, but the accelerator pedal has no effect on the vehicle. The vehicle has shutter to it. Pressing the gas pedal has no effect no matter how much you try or how much time passes. You have to coast to the side of the road, turn off the vehicle, and restart the vehicle to get the gas pedal working again. This is a very very dangerous flaw in the vehicle as this has happened to me three times in busy los angeles intersections. I fear it will cause an accident. The Ford dealer wants to charge me $800 to replace the throttle body which has hundreds of thousands of complaints online about this exact issue. They refused to acknowledge this recurring and very prominent flaw in their vehicle and say even the extended warranty I purchased for $2,200 will not cover this particular part. This is very frustrating. Hopefully you guys can bring some justice to the hundreds of thousands of people dealing with this exact issue. Thank you for your time.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #176

Aug 072013

Escape

  • 70,000 miles
Car stalled in traffic!

- Jessup, PA, USA

problem #175

Aug 112013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 50,245 miles
After being at a stoplight, I was accelerating around a corner about 25 mph and the car suddenly lost power and would no longer accelerate. The engine light came on. I had to coast to the side of the road and put my hazards on. I was quickly able to restart the car and drive home, although the same thing happened twice the very next day while accelerating after being at a stoplight.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #174

Aug 112013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
During highway driving the throttle stopped working with out warning. I had no propulsion and had to pull over to the side of the road. I then turned off my car and back on and then was able to drive as normal. This has happened 4 times, it is intermittent and happens with out warning.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?