Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,544 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

May 112013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 35,700 miles


When driving in traffic, the car failed to accelerate, it rapidly lost power as if it were going to stall. I pulled over and restarted the car. At the time I had two small children in the car.

- Medford, MA, USA

problem #24

Dec 042013


  • 21,300 miles
Vehicle failed, as it stopped an alarm lit up, showing a wrench, diagnostic showed a trottle failure. It has happened (5) times since Dec 04, 2013. Last time, it failed after seventeen (17) miles run. When vehicle is turned off, the alarm light goes off and the vehicle runs again.

- Humacao, PR, USA

problem #23

Jul 162013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
I was driving on the highway when my car seemed to stall out even though it is an automatic. I pulled over to the side of the road and turned the car off. I turned it on again and it seemed fine. I continued driving and it did the same thing. I took it to my mechanic and he told me that it was a faulty throttle body and needed to be replaced.

- Quincy, MA, USA

problem #22

Sep 132013


  • 88,000 miles


This occurred while driving back from work, I bought the vehicle used and it passed inspection from the Ford dealership. I have owned vehicle for almost 5 months when this failure occurred. The symptoms that I experienced were loss of power while accelerating and engine automatically goes into "limp mode" (engine ECU protection protocol so no more damage would be done to the engine) I noticed that the orange wrench light came on in the dashboard, so I took the vehicle to a another Ford dealership and I explained what happened, right of the bat the woman behind the counter said it was a transmission failure (without even looking at the vehicle) so I became suspicious. I took the vehicle to another Ford dealership and I got a hold of the actual mechanic and right away he said it was the throttle body, out of good faith he advise that I can change that part myself without having to pay Ford for them to fix. The estimate for getting it fixed through the dealership was close to $600 +tax, when the part itself cost only around $200 +tax. I bought the part from the dealership and changed it, ever since that fix my vehicle is running even better than before. The man behind the counter that gave me the part mentioned that many people are having this issue and that usually changing the throttle body fixes the issue, he also mentioned that if a recall is to be made to just bring back the defective part and the proof of purchase in order to get my money back. Ford should just stop denying this issue and just admit that the issue was never fully fixed.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #21

Sep 172013


  • 42,700 miles
I was driving down road Tuesday morning Sept 17 2013 and all of a sudden my car loses throttle, my foot is on the gas pedal but it's not going anywhere. I'm fortunate that there was a store where was able to pull off the road. I turn the car off and sat for about 10 to 15 seconds and started it back up, it hesitated at first so I waited for another 15 to 20 second and tried it again it started and I was able to get my daughter to school and to work. On my way home it happened again. I contacted my local Ford dealer to see if I can bring it in and they were able to get me in wed Sept 17. Once I explained to the serviceman what happened, he informed me that they have been fixing this same problem for consumers all summer. After I picked my car up I goggled the issue with the throttle body and found there have been several consumers who have had to experience this problem since the beginning of the year. As a consumer I am very disappointed that Ford has not issued a recall for this issue and I have to pay to have my car fixed when they are clearly responsible for the problem. What will it take for them to take care of this issue" why haven't Ford Motor Company been forced to issue a recall to have this problem taken care of" I was fortunate that I wasn't on the expressway yesterday (which is my usual route) when this happened. The outcome could have been different. I would like to see Ford held responsible for this and refund me and the rest of its customers for having to repair our cars with they are clearly the one's that should be responsible.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #20

Sep 112013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
Traveling at 60 mph on the highway, vehicle suddenly lost acceleration and the yellow wrench light came on. Coasted to the side of the road and put vehicle in park. Pushed down on accelerated, but no response. Shut down vehicle. Waited a few moments. Vehicle started again. Drove directly to dealership. After two days, they were unable to diagnose a problem. That was five days ago. This evening, it happened again. Vehicle is returning to dealership along with several articles regarding Ford's throttle body issue. I have also filed a complaint with Ford on their website.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #19

Sep 082013


  • 45,820 miles


Was driving on the freeway and car started to jerk and I started to lose speed even though I was stepping on the gas nothing was happening. I was able to pull over safely to shoulder and put the car into park while the car was shaking violently and turn it off, waited a few minutes and with hesitation it started back up and I was able to continue home.. happened a second time the very next day only doing 25 and a wrench indicator light came on and again no gas or speed from the pedal was able to shut it off restart and continue home.. very scary and dangerous situation it needs to be addressed..

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #18

Oct 152012


  • 12,000 miles
Substantial amount of moisture collects on the inside of the windshield after a heavy rain. Both the driver's and the passenger's seat track assemblies started to rust as a result. The car smells like mold. Took the car to a Ford dealership (in nc where I was stationed at the time) in November 2012 and it was discovered that the drain holes in the right ride door (rear) were never punched out. That was corrected; however, the moisture problem continues. At the nc Ford dealership, it was also discovered that the rear hatch window gasket leaks. It was resealed, but not replaced. Took the car to a MA dealership in August 2013 for same leak issue. The gasket needs to be replaced. Why was this not done before in November? a window gasket is supposed to last 5-6 years not less than 3 ! car is still collecting moisture - problem not solved.

- Greenwich, CT, USA

problem #17

Jul 172013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Noted mileage, date, and speeds approximate. Vehicle has stalled several times (six to seven times since noted date). All times have been when accelerating from a stop or low speed. The stalls have been very dangerous because they occurred while attempting to enter traffic. Check engine / service light comes on, but does not stay on. Vehicle restarts after some attempt and the check engine / service light is gone. This needs to be investigated and resolved before someone gets killed!

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #16

Aug 152013

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
I was stopped at a red light and the car gave a sudden jolt and died. I start it back up just fine, but when I stated going again, it stalled and died again. I got it started, got onto a busy street, made a U- turn and it did again. I was lucky enough to get it started and off the incredibly busy street before there was an accident. I am now having a problem, I cant even drive a quarter mile before it dies again.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #15

Jul 072013

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles


Driving 40 miles a hr and my car lost power. I could not step on the gas. The wrench light and engine light came on. I pulled over shut car off and back on and it was fine. A few days later it happened again on the highway going 60 miles a hr and this time it kept cutting off around 10 times eventually I was able to start driving but the engine light stayed on. This is very dangerous I almost caused a accident.

- Chagrin Falls, OH, USA

problem #14

Aug 232013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 30,300 miles
Was driving on the expressway at 70-75 mph. Suddenly lost power and car started to vibrate. Was able to pull over without incident but could have been a bad accident as I was in the passing lane. Once I pulled over I notice the wrench light was on which indicates a powertrain problem. The dealer states that it's the electronic throttle body. This vehicle had a similar problem about a year ago. The throttle control module had to be replaced. Fortunately at that time the car was still under warranty. With this incident the car is over warranty by 300 miles.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #13

Jul 302013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 59,500 miles
The car has twice this past week stalled while in motion. Once at 55 mph once at 65 mph. I had to stop, pull over on road side. Place in park. Then restart.

- Hillsborough, NC, USA

problem #12

May 172012

Escape 8-cyl

  • 49,542 miles
My 2010 Ford Escape has an intermittent issue where the accelerator stops working, the engine wrench alert comes on, the engine is still running. When this occurs the vehicle has basically stalled, in that you can't accelerate only slow down or coast. After the problem occurs you must turn the vehicle off and wait a few minutes, then it will usually start up and the accelerator will function again. This problem has happened probably a dozen times since it started, we usually just pull over and turn vehicle off/on, yesterday the problem nearly caused an accident though as my son was pulling out of a parking lot into traffic and the vehicle stalled.

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #11

Jun 302010


  • 200,000 miles
Purchased May 30, 2012....less than one month later, I was driving onto a ramp and could not accelerate. The car just stopped but I could steer so I was able to pull it over. A state policeman came by and I said I was on the phone with my mechanic. Apparently, the computer had shut down and the issue may have been that the key I was using was not programmed?. I followed steps to program keys and everything was fine for months until this past April, 2013. Driving along on a main road, the car did it again. Could steer it but could not repair same way as before. I know computers and say that when all else fails, disconnect it. So we disconnected battery and were able to start car and get home but the same thing happened again when arriving at my house. Of course the warranty ran out back in February. My mechanic could not duplicate the problem and therefore did not know why it happened. I do regular maintenance that is required and take care of the car. I also keep a log. It happened two more times since, yesterday and today, June 17, 2013. I have seen several complaints online about a similar problem with the same make, model and year. There should be a recall for this problem. The car was purchased used and was two years old. The previous driver did not have it for very long before turning it in. I asked for the car facts from the dealership and the car was brought in several times with no repairs done. Not even sure if they were the actual car facts.

- North Reading, MA, USA

problem #10

Jun 042013


  • 51,300 miles
I started my car from a parking spot and began to climb a small hill. The car sputtered, surged forward and would not accelerate. I pulled over, switched off the ignition and waited a few moments. I restarted the car, began to move forward again and the same thing happened, sputtering, surging forward, no acceleration. I pulled over, turned the car off, noticing that the dash had a wrench warning light lit. I called aaa for a tow. It was taken to the closest Ford dealership, joel confer Ford in bellefonte, pa. It was after closing time so I wasn't able to talk to the service department until the following day. I was informed that the car needed a part called a throttle body, but they had none in stock. I had several phone conversations with the service writer, over the next several days, and was told the part was not available nationwide and would have to be "manufactured" and would be quality control tested, and this may take some time. It has been eight days that my 2010 Ford Escape has been at the dealer for repair. Today, 6/12/12, I was told that this is a part that is in high demand, and once they are "manufactured", would be distributed on a first come, first served basis (I don't know how that is determined). I searched the internet today and come to find out that this has been an ongoing issue and the NHTSA has launched an investigation. In order to bring this matter to Ford's attention so that a recall could be issued, I was to file this complaint. I bought my car brand new with 10 miles on it and it was over $30K dollars. I bought an extended warranty and I so thankful I did - this will be charged to my deductible $100. This is unacceptable for Ford to turn their backs on consumers and fail to admit there is a problem that needs to be fixed, before someone gets seriously injured. Failed component: Electronic throttle body.

- Pleasant Gap, PA, USA

problem #9

Jun 032013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Engine lost power and coasted to side of road. Towed to dealer, keyser miller Ford, 8 East main St., collegeville, pa 19426. They stated the problem was the "throttle body", and it needed to be replaced. They said it was a common problem with the Escapes. Parts next to impossible to obtain.

- Norristown, PA, USA

problem #8

Apr 022013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
We unloaded the vehicle and when my daughter then shut the hatch (not just the glass) and it exploded everywhere. Nobody was injured but it could have been very bad with all three of my girls standing there. The only information I received from the Ford dealership as well as the Ford corporation is that there were no recalls on my vehicle. I just bought this vehicle so that I could have something safe to Transport my girls in and now that I've had it fixed I'm afraid to even open it again.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #7

Dec 262012


  • miles
While parked I shut the back hatch as normal. Upon shutting the glass exploded shattering throwing glass everywhere including covering myself, my small child sitting in the car, and across the entire street.

- Virginai Beach, VA, USA

problem #6

Apr 142012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
I was going approx. 30 - 35 mph and my car started jerking and sputtering as if it were out of gas then just died in the middle of an intersection. My husband had to push me across three lanes of traffic to a station where we bought gas. The car started right up so we went continued on with our business. We got on the interstate and was going about 65 mph and the same thing happened. I got it on the shoulder and it died again so we called the extended warranty co. (which charged me an additional $200 deductible on top of the cost of the warranty) and they had it towed to the nearest Ford dealership which was on the other side of the interstate. My sister has the same car (only a year newer) and the exact same thing happened to her while she was on vacation in Indiana. In researching the incident we discovered this is a very common problem in the Escape. The mechanic at the Ford dealership where she had her car towed to made the statement that he has been waiting for two years for a recall on this part. If this is a common issue then why hasn't Ford issued a recall (recall even a Ford mechanic is waiting for)? in researching we also discovered another issued with the back window exploding. I do not fee safe drivng my Escape (which I absolutely love). I am ready to trade it in . oh, and the mechanic also said the part he replaced was the exact same part as the one that was originally in the car. When asked what is to keep this from happening again and he said "nothing because it is the same part". so, they took a defaulted part out and replaced it with another defaulted part. I would just like to know why a recall hasn't been issued on this part. Thanks for your time.

- Norman, OK, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?