Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2012 Ford Escape has an acceptable complaint history so far, with leaking rear window problems showing up as the main concern so far. NHTSA complaint data shows an early pattern of problems with stalling while driving.

Another concern is the 2012 Escape rolled onto its roof during an NHTSA side impact test so it only received a marginal side impact rating ... not good.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,112 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Escape electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Escape Owner Comments

problem #15

Aug 292016


  • 61,000 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Ford Escape. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was diagnosed as having a loose battery wiring harness and that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 61,000. The VIN was not available.

- Bastrop, TX, USA

problem #14

Oct 022016


  • 18,000 miles
The ignition on this vehicle randomly will not work. There is apparently a commonly known issue with this vehicles ignition switch with it failing to engage and start the vehicle.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #13

Jun 102016


  • 58,000 miles
The doors lock and won't unlock. This happens at the front passenger door and both of the back seat passenger doors. Sometimes they begin unlocking a week or so later other times they don't unlock ever. This has happened when the vehicle was stopped, some doors then unlock, but not all.

- Lincoln, MT, USA

problem #12

Nov 112015


  • 50,000 miles


Escape has several issues, Ford dealer would review and report no issues found. I bought my Escape new in July 2012. 1.front seat belts - within the first year (Jan-Feb 2013 - mileage 5,000ish) the front seat belts wouldn┐T retract 90% of the time, causing them to be caught in the door and/or keep the door from closing. 2.transmission issues (Nov 2015 - mileage 50,000ish ) it shifts badly, sometimes acts as if its in-between gears when your breaking or accelerating. When you release the peddle and reapply, it┐ll reengage but at times will lurch again. 3. electrical issues - Jan 2016 -(mileage 65,000ish) the dome light won┐T go out, had to pull the fuse lights so I could drive unobstructed. 4.(4/18/16 - mileage 73,000ish) rear door will not open. Apparently this is a known issue based on what find on line and here. In the past I did notice water ┐drips┐ on my back window, I couldn┐T figure out where the ┐leak┐ was, again dealership reported no problem found, I just thought it was pooled water that found its way in when I had opened up the rear window/door. But based on what I see on line and here the rear door not opening is due to the ┐water drip/leak┐ issue because of the rear window gasket isn┐T correct thickness or something along those lines. Back door not being able to open is a safety concern, all doors should be accessible in case of an emergency. 5. same date as 4, door locks not locking when you put SUV into gear. 6. April 26, 2016 ┐ pulling out of my drive way ┐ no incline what so ever ┐ warning light for steep grade light came on. 6. truck will be taken back to a different Ford dealer ship, for all the above issues, I don┐T care to return to where I bought it, since their service department is very dismissive despite me providing reports from this website to them about the various issues I came in with.

- Hoffman Estates, IL, USA

problem #11

Nov 062014


  • 37,782 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Escape. While driving 45 mph and veering to the left, the engine stalled. The vehicle was restarted. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle accelerated independently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 37,782. Updated 12/03/15

- Pitcairn, PA, USA

problem #10

Jun 172015


  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Escape. While driving 30 mph, the contact noticed a burning odor coming from the air vent. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the seal did not properly protect the vehicle from water. As a result, water entered the vehicle and shorted out the electrical system. In addition, the receiver dryer, blower resister, and gasket cap needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000.

- Ithica, NY, USA

problem #9

Apr 032015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles


This is the 2nd time this has happened. This time I was attempting to make a U-turn in a loading dock on a busy street, and was going forward, to put the car into reverse to back up a little bit and the car shut off. Again there were no warnings on the dashboard, no sounds and no lights. This time there were cars coming toward me honking at me, and one in the loading dock trying to back up honking at me. I started it back up and backed up to continue where I was going. This is very unsafe. I took the car to my Ford dealership where they tested the throttle body and said that wasn't the problem. They also said they couldn't find anything wrong. What am I supposed to do if this cuts off in the middle of a busy intersection? someone needs to fix this!!!

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #8

Dec 192014


  • 31,500 miles
I was getting ready to back into a my parking space, so I had just pulled into the parking lot (going forward) and came to almost a stop so I could put it into reverse and my car suddenly shut off. There were no warning lights on the dashboard, no sounds, nothing. Because it had never done this before and I had the car for almost 2 years, I thought I had done something to cause it. I started it back up and put it into reverse to back into the parking spot. It started just fine.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #7

Mar 062015


  • 26,000 miles
So far.. 3 times now, I have been driving and my car has strongly surged forward and stalled! I was almost hit today while trying to put my car in neutral to re-start my car. Once the car was re-started it continued to surge forward quite violently. This is an epic safety hazard and needs to be resolved/addressed asap!!!

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #6

Oct 152014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 43,500 miles
Engine died while making a right hand turn onto another street.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #5

Feb 072013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 15,295 miles


As per my vehicle report from the dealership: Concern 51: C/S that battery light is on, please check and advise. Cause: Verified concern. Found belt thrown. Also found and oil leak at the front cover via a dime sized hole in the cover. Correction: Replaced front cover and vbelt. Also replaced motor mount that was stripped out. Verified repair. Battery light is off and no oil leaks at this time.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #4

Apr 162014


  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled and the battery warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 21,000. Updated 06/17/14

- Springfield , IL, USA

problem #3

May 282013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
On 6 different occasions door latches have been replaced, I've been locked in and out of my vehicle, my husband is disable and I had to climb through the hatch back to get doors to open. I am afraid of this vehicle, if it catches fire will I get out? I feel this is a death trap and Ford is just soothing my feathers to keep me happy. Also, I was sold a 2012 4X4 vehicle, however my vehicle is not a 4X4. The dealership said they go by VIN, this one is wrong!

- Marble Falls, AR, USA

problem #2

Mar 212014


  • 33,000 miles
On the way to work at 7pm, the back hatch began randomly locking and unlocking and opened slightly. After work the next morning at 8am, the back hatch unlocked and opened while driving on a busy road at 10mph. I contacted airport Ford in florence, ky and they stated never hearing of this happening with another Escape.

- Crescent Springs, KY, USA

problem #1

Jan 192013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 7,600 miles
After coming to a stop at a stop sign the vehicle stalled - the battery light came on - I put it in park turned the ignition off and then back on and restarted - I drove it to the dealership - they said they could not verify the concern - this is the second incident.

- Vista, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?