Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2013 Ford Escape has been in the news quite a bit and for all the wrong reasons. Within a few months of its release the SUV was recalled three times, twice because of engine fires.

In July 2012, due to a fuel line that could split and leak, Ford told owners to park their cars because even driving to the dealership for repairs was deemed too dangerous. Instead, in a somewhat unprecedented move, Ford sent tow trucks to pick up the affected vehicles and handed out rental cars while the owners waited for repairs.

A few months later the Escape was recalled again because antifreeze could leak out onto the engine due to a freeze plug becoming dislodged. As the coolant hit the hot engine there was, once again, a threat for fire.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 21
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,001 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 10 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #53

Oct 132013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 6,258 miles


My 2013 Ford Escape stalled twice while going slow on a local road in July of this year. After the second stall (a week apart) I brought it in for service (levittown Ford) and they could not find nor recreate the problem (they had it 4 days). It stalled again twice on Sunday October 13, 2013, once going through the ez pass lane at the verrazano bridge and again about 45 mins later on a secondary road in NJ, again going slow (under 15 mph). We reported this to levittown Ford service and also to corporate. The service department told me that when it happens again we shouldn't restart the car and call for Ford roadside assistance. Corporate has not returned my call. We are concerned that we may get rear ended in a serious accident if the car stalls again and the car / truck behind us doesn't stop in time (e.g. harry chapin on the lie) I don't believe the break lights would go on since the car completely shuts off. We Transport our two grandchildren two days a week from school / nursery school and are extremely concerned. Is there anything we can do?

- Franklin Square, NY, USA

problem #52

Oct 192013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 13,245 miles
After driving approximately 90 miles without a stop, stopped at traffic signal, vehicle engine went completely dead. Put in park and it restarted. Did this again approximately 11 times during the day. Engine just cut off completely at every traffic stop. Took to dealer. Dealer very responsive but can get no error code and does not know why it is happening. They can not get it to cut off while driving it only a few miles at a time. This it the 2.0 L engine and I see other people are experiencing the same problem with no fix. Dealer has vehicle trying to figure out why it is happening. How about Ford Motor Company stepping up and addressing the problem before someone gets hurt or killed in an accident.

- Troutman, NC, USA

problem #51

Feb 162013


  • 156 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the engine gases and fumes entered the passenger compartment due to a defective windshield dowing that caused engine compartment seal to fail. In addition, the vehicle stalled several times without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failures and a diagnostic was performed but did not generate a diagnosis of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 156 and the current mileage was 64,000.

- Wilkesbarre, PA, USA

problem #50

Sep 172013


  • 20,500 miles


Within just 3 weeks of purchasing our certified pre-owned 2013 Escape titanium (16K miles), the vehicle stalled twice while stopping at an intersection. Dash lights come on, put it in park, turn it off and restart and I am back on the road. Now 2 months since purchase, it has stalled like this 7 times. A few times, we have gotten the "engine fault take vehicle for service" message when starting the vehicle, but this does not coincide with the days of the stalls. I have taken it to the local Ford dealership twice to no avail. The vehicles computer is not storing any codes to identify the failure. Technicians have driven the vehicle extensively with a laptop constantly diagnosing searching for issues. Nothing. This is truly unbelievable to me that this problem is possible in a new vehicle, let alone that it cannot be diagnosed! I am very worried after reading other complaints on this site that it may just be a matter of time before it stalls in busy traffic.

- Mason, MI, USA

problem #49

Aug 302013


  • 15,655 miles
On August 30, 2013, I was slowing down to pull into a driveway and the car lost all power. Luckily, I was at the driveway and it was downhill so the car rolled in. I couldn't figure out what was going on at first. I called the dealer immediately and was told to bring it in. I did and they said some people had complained of this issue but it wasn't a recall or service bulletin. They did a software update and told me I shouldn't have a problem. Not good enough. They couldn't tell me this would fix the problem. Now I am left to worry that this could happen at any time. Not acceptable. Yesterday, September 23, it happened again as I was stopping at a stop sign. What can I do about this? I have had this car for 9 months. I am past frustrated. The dealership doesn't seem concerned at all about what is going on. $36,000 dollars and I am left with an unsafe vehicle.

- Champlain, NY, USA

problem #48

Sep 272012


  • 471 miles
I have a Ford case # 15607552, I qualify for the lemon law. I cannot get the dealer, dahl Ford, davenport ia or the Ford rep jeff slone, Chicago, il to return my calls. I have all documentation - this car continues to be a safety issue while driving. The engine continues to accelerate and hesitate randomly. Please, help me - I cannot afford a lawyer.

- Hampton, IL, USA

problem #47

Aug 212013


  • 16,269 miles


2013 Ford Escape 2.0 ecoboost stalled at a stop sign 8/21/13. The car stereo shut off first then a oil light went on and the car completely turned off. I was able to put it in park and restart the car like nothing happened. The Ford dealership said there were error codes but they could not duplicate the problem. Nothing was fixed told us to keep driving it until it happened again. We were not happy. Today 9/7/13, this time the car stalled at a stoplight, but the power stayed on oil light was on. There were no rpms. Had to put car in park and restart. We started to drive to the dealership and it stalled a 2nd time about a half mile away same issue every time the red oil light appears. We have no answer to what is causing this problem.

- Tracy, CA, USA

problem #46

Aug 282013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 15,040 miles
While sitting at a light with my foot on the brake, car jumps/lunges forward. It feels as though someone is hitting it from behind.

- Crosby, TX, USA

problem #45

Aug 282013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 15,029 miles
While sitting in a drive-thru with my foot on the brake, car lunged forward. It feels as though someone hits you from behind.

- Crosby, TX, USA

problem #44

Aug 142013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
The engine air filter assembly is cracking at the holding screws. I notified Ford and they refuse to honor warranty. Regional customer service mgr. [xxx] for Ford based in phoenix is denying claim information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #43

Aug 122013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 9,244 miles


After driving a 1/2 mile from my home my 2013 Ford Escape overheated and said "stop safely temperature high" or something to that extent. The vehicle then became inoperable and I managed to coast to a safe location. The coolant cap had exploded off the tank and my motor was covered with fluid. The dealership keep my car for 5 days and could not find a diagnosis but they did manage to add 100 miles to it and use all my gas. Presently the vehicle smells like burnt coolant while driving it and now idles high in park. I am afraid to drive the vehicle for safety reasons. Ford has not offered any resolution or help. I'm not sure what to do. They say my VIN wasn't part of the recall but I find that hard to believe and I am driving around in a ticking fire hazard.

- Evadale, TX, USA

problem #42

Aug 152013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 14,986 miles
I started the car and an "engine fault failure service now" came one. When trying to back up it would idle very roughly and jump forward. When you turn it off and re-start it, it works fine again. This is the 2nd time this has happened to this car. It was just serviced last week for the exact same issue and a map sensor was replaced.

- Crosby, TX, USA

problem #41

Aug 122013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 14,100 miles
Twice, while backing up, the engine has stalled. There is no hesitation or warning from the engine that a stall is imminent. The engine just cuts off. Car will restart fine with no issues. It happens either when the engine is warm or cold.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #40

Aug 072013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 6,171 miles
Was driving on manetto hill road in plainview, NY when vehicle stalled. No power to the accelerator. Kept pressing the gas, and the car didn't move. No warning chimes, no appearance of anything wrong-radio was playing, ac, etc. Was able to pull over (roll to the side of the road), put the car in park and restarted it. The computer then showed "engine fault service now" drove to a local gas station, though the car was bucking and difficult to drive. Car was then towed to dealership service station. Have learned that there are multiple tsb's issued for my car, but no recall. Parts are not available so the car remains at dealership service station. I was lucky I was not in rush hour traffic or on/getting on or off a highway when the car died. I shudder to think what would have happened then.

- Plainview, NY, USA

problem #39

Jul 212013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 3,900 miles
First thing in the morning, after car was off for more than 10 hours, I started car to see engine fault service now" error. Backed a few feet out of garage, turned off vehicle. Turned vehicle back on about 5 minutes later. No error. Drove car for about 10-15 minutes. No problems. Turned car off. Restarted car 70 minutes later to see engine fault service now error appeared again. Drove car for 10-15 minutes with hesitation, lurching and nearly stalling. Turned car off. Took to dealer next day. They could not see the error in the computer.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #38

Aug 032013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 7,400 miles
While driving the vehicle engine stalls. No lights, no warning, if gas is not accelerated I have lost engine 4 times. 3 times it wouldn't start while parked, and 4 additional times while driving the engine stalled completely, no warning on the expressway in Chicago. I drove straight to dealer and left it there, had to put car in neutral if I let off the gas in order to rev engine to keep from stalling a 5th time. This has happened over and over the last few weeks. The dealer (fair oaks Ford, naperville, il) is telling me there are no 'codes' showing anything is wrong. This vehicle is unsafe to drive and has 7,000 miles. I have brought vehicle in twice for the same issues, thus far to no avail. I cannot drive this vehicle in this condition. It's unsafe and there is no remedy.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #37

Jul 052013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 11,500 miles
Driving approx. 15/20 mph on a side street. Went to backup and turn around and the engine just shut down. I was able to restart with no issues. I'm glad I wasn't on the highway when this happened. On 08/02/13, went to my driveway to start the car. I got a "engine fault service now" error. Vehicle was jumping and seemed like it was struggling to go past 25/30 mph. Seemed as though you were driving with the parking brake on along with the jumping of the vehicle. I parked it back in the driveway and had to drive my daughters reliable 05 Honda to work. Called Ford to tow my vehicle in for service. Purchased in Nov/2012. Has approx. 13000 miles.

- Crosby, TX, USA

problem #36

Jul 292013


  • 4,850 miles
1st incident: While driving thru a store parking lot at about 10 mph and further reducing the speed to park, the engine quit without warning. After engaging park, I was able to restart the engine normally. No check light remain lit. Vehicle mileage 4850 - weather condition: About 85 deg - humid - 10:00~11:00 am - second week in July 2013 2nd incident: While driving at approx 25 mph and reducing speed to turn into a parking lot the engine stopped. No previous warning or symptoms. Car was in the middle of the street facing oncoming traffic. I was able to safely pull over into a safe spot. After engaging park, I was able to restart the engine normally. No check light remain lit. Vehicle mileage 5100 - weather condition: About 85 deg - humid - 19:00~19:30 pm - last week in July 2013 today 08/02/2013 car was checked by Ford dealer. After a full morning checking the car, no fault or code error detected. I am afraid of a potential safety hazard while driving on highways. Web has many reports of this type on brand new 2013 Ford Escapes. What is going on?

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #35

May 092013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
The "engine fault service now" light came on and vehicle chugged and lurched. Brought to dealer the next day and computer diagnosis showed nothing appeared. I even took a picture of the light. This has happened numerous times since. This matter should be investigated further since I have noticed many complaints on this. Thank you.

- Rothschild, WI, USA

problem #34

Mar 252013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 5,817 miles
2013 Ford Escape sel 2.0L. Recurrent issues with "engine fault service now" displaying when car is started (first instance at 5817 miles, now at 11K and still happening). Results in rough idle, poor shifting, harsh acceleration. Can be reset with restart so the error must be visible and the car driven (in terrible and unsafe condition) so the dealer can validate the condition. Condition validated at dealer twice (has occurred five times total) computer has been reset twice, map sensor has been replaced. Issue still occurring with no proposed repair to resolve.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?