Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Ford Escape has been in the news quite a bit and for all the wrong reasons. Within a few months of its release the SUV was recalled three times, twice because of engine fires.

In July 2012, due to a fuel line that could split and leak, Ford told owners to park their cars because even driving to the dealership for repairs was deemed too dangerous. Instead, in a somewhat unprecedented move, Ford sent tow trucks to pick up the affected vehicles and handed out rental cars while the owners waited for repairs.

A few months later the Escape was recalled again because antifreeze could leak out onto the engine due to a freeze plug becoming dislodged. As the coolant hit the hot engine there was, once again, a threat for fire.

The 2013 is the first model year of the Escape's 3rd generation and proves once again that you want to avoid the first model year when at all possible.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 22
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,791 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 3 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #205

Apr 062016

Escape

  • 2 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After driving the vehicle for 7 minutes after I started it, the car overheated on the highway. I had to pull over in a parking lot and shut off the car. When I attempted to open the turn on a car after a little while it would not allow me. This same problem had happened exactly on March 16 and the dealership service had replaced the coolant stand pipe standpipe. They said there is no recall associated with VIN yet it is the second time this happens.

- North Plainfield, NJ, USA

problem #204

Apr 032016

Escape

  • 44,000 miles
While descending a hill, the engine started to rev up to 4000 rpms and back to normal, tachometer was also showing revs, my wife had to hold her foot on the brake during this time. She stopped the car and shifted to neutral and shifted back to drive and car had no further incidents.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #203

Mar 032016

Escape

  • 106,000 miles
My car was effected by recall 13S12. This recall has a number of different issues dealing with engine coolant and cracks in engine cylinders. I took my vehicle in to have the recalls fixed on it. 5 months later, my engine still has the localized overheating, antifreeze leaks and engine cracks. The entire engine is ruined. The dealership sold me a car that was completely unsafe for my children and I. this recall is said to cause engine compartment fires. Even after they initially fixed the recalls, the vehicle still will overheat and cause fires! additionally - ruining the vehicle engine. Ford will not repair, replace or refund because they said they already closed the recall out - even though the recall was supposed to be fixed.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #202

Mar 142016

Escape

  • 109,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate. The message board indicator requested for the vehicle to be stopped. Four months prior, the vehicle was repaired for the same failure under a manufacturer recall. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that fractures on the cylinder caused antifreeze to leak into the combustion chamber and damage the engine. The engine had to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 109,000.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #201

Dec 012015

Escape

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the engine was defective and the engine light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized mechanic for diagnostic testing, which located a failure code at the coolant system. When the engine was started, smoke and a burning odor was detected from the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Central Falls, RI, USA

problem #200

Mar 212016

Escape

  • miles
Wastegate solenoid needs to be replaced but the recall only covers cars manufactured in July 2012 or before. Ours was manufactured in February 2013, 7 months later.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #199

Mar 192016

Escape

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Twice now the RPM accelerate up and down without you pressing the gas pedal. Service engine like appears. Then when stopped at a stop sign it tried accelerating without me pressing the gas pedal. Very scary.

- Prairie Du Sac, WI, USA

problem #198

Feb 102016

Escape

  • 50,500 miles
Correspondence with flood Ford of East greenwich, ri to: Michael whyte (Ford service adviser), re: Crash risk with 2013 Ford Escape (stalling while driving and also lack of being able to accelerate vehicle while engine is running). Vehicle was brought to 2 different Ford dealers for same problem and was told that they could diagnose and/or replicate problem. This issue and circumstance has been reported numerous times upon goggle searches (please see below). I contacted the Ford customer relationship center again today to document the situation surrounding our vehicle (case # 8980601). Please note that I had contacted them originally on February 29th (case #8916920) and they referred me to the flood dealership after we had brought the vehicle to the tasca dealership on February 28th and 29th. They tried to contact the service department at flood Ford at 4:00pm today but were not able to get through. I also contacted the consumers for auto reliability and safety and they responded back with the following message and strongly emphasized not to drive the vehicle because of the potential crash risk. I am also in the process of reporting the defect to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and have also contacted the wjar consumer advocate department surrounding our dilemma to see if they can help us as well. Hopefully the experts at Ford can help provide additional insights as to how to best address this situation. With best regards, victor www.autonews.com/article/20140815/oem11/140819918/Ford-recalls- > 2013 -Escape-for-11th-time-this-time-for-wiring-problem > > > M.carcomplaints.com/Ford/Escape/2013/engine/engine_stalls_shuts > _do > wn_while_driving.shtml > > www.lemonlaw.com/wordpress/Ford-Escape-stalling-problems-contin > ue- > 160000-vehicles-recalled/

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #197

Mar 032016

Escape

  • 52,000 miles
Purchased vehicle in August of 2014 with 28,000 miles on it. About 2-3 weeks ago the vehicle just stalked, lost all power then died on my wife with my 19 month old baby girl in the car. Vehicle starts right back up when this occurs. It happens a couple of times a week and is very dangerous. Sometimes it will die when you are trying to accelerate or merge into traffic. Took it to the same Ford dealer we purchased the vehicle from and they were able to replicate the problem. However, no codes are present in the vehicle even when it happens. The Ford service writer and technician said that it was the throttle body. The vehicle has 52,000 miles on it however I was told no warranty or recall covered the replacement of the throttle body. I paid for the throttle body repair. Less than 48 hours later the vehicle dies again on my wife while pulling out of our neighborhood. Again with my child in the back seat.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #196

Jan 262016

Escape

  • 47,014 miles
Was in reverse pulling out of drive way, cross traffic indicator went off and car began to shake, put car in drive and drove after it stopped shaking. When I came to the first light the car would not go even as I had accelerator all the way down, the car revved but did not move until a minute later it slowly began to move with accelerator all the way down. Gradually it picked up speed again but kept on shaking. While at the light the car seemed to be loosing electrical power and felt as though it would shut off as it had lost all power before due to the collision indicators sensing a crash.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #195

Dec 292015

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel tank compressing, causing the vehicle to rough idle, surge or stall while driving with no warning. Has stalled on three different occasions. Unsafe to drive. Check engine light illuminates. Ford requires a $100 fee to check vehicle and stated customer would have to pay for repairs and then see if Ford will reimburse.

- Shermans Dale, PA, USA

problem #194

Jan 282016

Escape

  • 54,545 miles
I have a 1.6 L Ford Escape. It stalls unexpectedly - usually when I first start the car and begin to move it. Restart is hard. I have pulled out into busy highway and it has stalled several times. The accident potential was great. It may be related to the 2L recall on this vehicle just issued. N0 code was found when a mechanic read the memory. This has happened a number of times. Replaced battery and added gas conditioner. No change

- Stella, NC, USA

problem #193

Jul 312015

Escape

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact noticed that the vehicle was loosing antifreeze. In addition, the contact stated that the engine was running hot. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V431000 (engine, engine cooling). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000.

- Sandusky, OH, USA

problem #192

Jan 122016

Escape

  • 41,424 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the engine temperature warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road and towed to the dealer. The dealer informed that the fuel pressure sensor and the engine wire harness needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 41,424....updated 04/19/16

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #191

Dec 312015

Escape

  • 50,000 miles
Driving on the interstate when the car lost all power and all warning lights came on. I pulled onto the shoulder and noticed smoke coming from under the hood. Got out to get a better look when the engine compartment burst into flames.

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #190

Dec 072015

Escape

  • 42,612 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the service engine warning light kept randomly flashing. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that there was a short with the wires and the engine wiring harness. The dealer replaced the parts. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V813000 (electrical system) and 14V495000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 42,612.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #189

Dec 172015

Escape

  • 64,000 miles
Bought car October 2013, in fall of 2014 became aware of first recall for engine, however parts weren't available. By spring 2015, had four or five different recall notices and while waiting to drop car off for scheduled recall maintenance, check engine light came on. Two days before drop off date, engine started overheating. Took car in for recall, after almost a week got it back. Wheel alignment was all out of whack and engine overheating continued intermittently. Took to local mechanic and replaced one of the coil packs, O2sensor, and coolant valve. Have continued to have intermittent overheating issues resulting in multiple trips to mechanic for service. Replaced O2 sensor again. This past time, while on the interstate, car started overheating and resulted in having to back down off the entrance ramp (as I had pulled over to let the car cool) because it went into limp mode almost immediately and stopped accelerating. Instances of overheating occurred while car was either in motion or even when just putting the car in gear. This last time, I had to drive in limp mode to the rental car Agency to rent a car because I was going to miss a flight. My mechanic was able to try and replace some additional parts on the car and enable me to bring it home, but once again, it went into limp mode after overheating while we were driving.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #188

Dec 142015

Escape

  • 36,700 miles
I purchased my '13 Escape SE at the end of Sept 2014. In December '14 it started leaking coolant and oil all over the driveway while it was parked. The weather strip was falling off the door. Then when it was raining, water poured in through the reading light as I was backing out of the driveway. I brought it to the dealer and it took 3 weeks for repairs and recalls to be done. It went back for other recalls twice. In November '15 I got an alert while driving that coolant was low (3 weeks post oil change and "the works") and it was dangerously low. I refilled it and brought it back to the dealer - they were unable to diagnose the issue so it went unrepaired. December '15, I turned my car on and received an alert "engine fault service now" while still in park. I had to move it a few blocks and drove it at a slow rate, the car jerked back & forth while I drove it the 2 blocks before I parked it again. Also brought it to the dealer and they stated the alert code was for a fuel line issue, but when they tested it there was no evidence of any issues.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #187

Nov 202015

Escape

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the contact was informed that the coolant bypass valve needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V431000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000. The VIN was not available.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #186

Apr 222015

Escape

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving, the engine emitted smoke and the vehicle stalled. The contact opened the hood and discovered that flames were releasing from the engine. The contact was able to extinguish the fire. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer inspected the vehicle and discovered that the engine oil leaked causing the engine to catch on fire. The manufacturer advised that dealer sold the vehicle without having NHTSA campaign number: 12V431000 (engine and engine cooling) performed. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 35,000.

- San Born, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?