Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,741 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford Escape lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford Escape Owner Comments

problem #8

Jan 142016

Escape

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Ford Escape. While driving 5 mph, the headlights became dim and the vehicle crashed into a large landscaping stone. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 8,000. Updated 06/21/16

- Duncansville, PA, USA

problem #7

Oct 312015

Escape

  • 20,000 miles
After 3 visits to the dealership beginning in October 2015 complaining that the dashboard lights including radio will brighten and dim on an erratic basis. The Ford dealership identified the problem as a defective sun load sensor cv6Z19E663A and ordered the part under warranty on 1/18/16 at the time I was told that the part would be available in a couple of days. 4 weeks passed no part filed complaint with Ford case # cas-8813513 now it is 6+ weeks still no part. I consider the erratic dimming and brightening of the dashboard lights when the headlights are on as a safety issue as the erratic behavior causes a distraction. The inability of Ford to provide a replacement part on a prompt basis under warranty when the part in question continues to be used in current production vehicles does not make sense to me.

- Chester, NY, USA

problem #6

May 122014

Escape

  • 8 miles
As recommended in low visibility situations (fog, dust storm, snow, etc.) to pull off the side of the road and turn off all your lights, my 2014 Ford Escape with daylight running lights (drl) are unable to be turned off even when the vehicle is in park and the parking brake set during the day or night, thereby causing a safety hazard. The only way to turn off the drls is to turn off the vehicle, which then produces another hazard since you cannot keep the ac or heater running as needed. I have notified both Ford corporate and my local dealership multiple times with no results or corrective action plan.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #5

Jan 062014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2014 Ford Escape manufactured between 03/2013 & 12/2013 have a body control module software/hardware bug in which the interior instrument panel dimmer does not retain its manual dimmer settings. After 20-30 minutes with the vehicle powered off, the instrument cluster dimmer setting reverts to maximum brightness automatically. More than an inconvenience, this bug is potentially dangerous. If a driver perceives the instrument cluster to be too bright, the driver must manually dim the instrument panel every time it is dark enough that the exterior lights are required to drive. Ford has fixed the bug in vehicles manufactured after 12/1/2014 but has not provided a fix for the problem and the 4/2014 dealer notice instructs the dealer not to attempt a repair. "4791 - 2014 Escape 2014 Focus - illumination dimmer setting reverts back to bright some 2014 Escape vehicles built on or before 12/01/2013 and 2014 Focus vehicles built on or before 12/08/2013 may exhibit the illumination dimmer setting reverting back to bright after a key cycle. Engineering is currently investigating this condition through the quicker service fix (qsf) process. Until a new service procedure and/or parts are available, do not attempt repair. Monitor oasis for updates." The fix has obviously been found as vehicles manufactured after 12/1/2013 do not have the problem, but it appears that Ford has no intention of providing a remedy for the owners of the affected vehicles.

- Independence, KY, USA

problem #4

Nov 012013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
The 2014 Ford Escape has a software/hardware bug in which the interior instrument panel dimmer does not retain its manual dimmer settings. After 20-30 minutes with the vehicle powered off, the instrument cluster dimmer setting reverts to maximum brightness automatically. More than an inconvenience, this bug is potentially dangerous. If a driver perceives the instrument cluster to be too bright, the driver must manually dim the instrument panel every time it is dark enough that the exterior lights are required to drive. Ford will not acknowledge the design bug at this time because they do not think it bothers enough customers. I am filing this complaint because if a driver happens to become tired of dimming the instrument panel each night or if they simply forget to dim them one time, they could become unwittingly distracted by the interior brightness and cause a traffic incident. I believe this is a legitimate safety concern and would like to see Ford be encouraged to address it.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #3

Sep 072013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 150 miles
The dash lights will not dim automatically as described in the manual as well as from Ford technicians. They are on full bright all the time. An analogy would be like having an oncoming car having its headlights on high beam at night and therefore be blinding. There is a manual override to adjust but this must be done every time the car is started. I talked to a Ford rep and was told, "nothing is perfect, deal with it". the local service department has no knowledge on how to repair it as Ford has yet to issue an advisory. I would think Ford would want its sophisticated cars to work correctly. We will see.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #2

Mar 072014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 9,270 miles
Update on ODI number 10567429. Ford case # [xxx]. Ford will not, at my expense, allow the dealer to install either Ford oem daytime running lights (drl) in my new vehicle or an after market product. They say any such install by dealer or others will void my extended new car warranty. I was in Maine last week & in a snow squall at noon & was almost killed by a logging truck who could not see my vehicle because of poor visibility. Can Ford be pressured to allow this install without penalty & at no cost to them"??" information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Upton, MA, USA

problem #1

Dec 112013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
7/12/13 we purchased new 2014 Ford Escape titanium which did not have daytime running lights (drl) a safety feature. The dealer, herb chambers, westborough, MA., said at my expense Ford would install drl when I came in for service on 12/11/2013. This was not the case. Ford will only install drl on fleet Escape vehicles but not on personal Escapes. Ford customer service has assigned a case # (cas-3967188-C7S8M6) to my concerns and are adamant. They won't upgrade my new car & if I install drl (aftermarket item) they will void my extended new car warranty. They refuse to explain why there is this policy which prevents adding a safety feature, at the owners expense, to their Escapes sold for personal use. Their practice is discriminatory & decreases vehicle crash avoidance parameters.

- Upton, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?