Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,544 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Escape Hybrid engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Escape Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Escape Hybrid Owner Comments

problem #13

Oct 202016

Escape Hybrid 4WD 4-cyl

  • 183,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Displayed "stop safely now" while driving on interstate. I pulled over and turned engine off. Restarted and drove a few miles and received notice again. Repeated this cycle about 10 times before I was finally able to make it home. Had dealer service car and do a battery fan recall. Drove okay for a month but now I am getting the same error and having to shut the vehicle down and restart.

- Hartselle, AL, USA

problem #12

Sep 012014

Escape Hybrid

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape hybrid. While driving approximately 30 mph, the speed suddenly decelerated before the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was restarted, but continued to experience the failure. During the incident, the master vehicle electrical hazard warning and the engine electric coolant temperature sensors illuminated. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 200,000.

- Elk River, MN, USA

problem #11

Mar 112012

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
Going 65 mph on freeway and the "stop safely now' error come up on the information display. 2 min. Later the engine stops and I coast to the right hand shoulder and shut everything off. 5 min later I restart the car and everything is normal and the car drives perfectly for the next 2000 miles (present time). Dealer finds the error codes but does not know what to replace to prevent this from happening again.

- La Habra, CA, USA

problem #10

Feb 112012

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At highway speed, the engine suddenly shut itself off. At the same time, a dashboard readout displayed the message "stop safely now." In order to get to the shoulder of the road I was forced to cut across a lane of traffic without warning and without power. No other warning lights or signals displayed. Had there been no shoulder, I could easily have been a high-speed crash. The engine started again as soon I turned the key after stopping the vehicle, but still no warning lights or explanations displayed. This happened three times during a 3-hour trip across Maryland, and it happened again once on the return trip two days later. An internet search reveals that this is not an uncommon problem with Ford hybrids, yet no recall has been issued to remedy this extremely dangerous defect.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #9

Jun 012011

Escape Hybrid

  • 54,567 miles
Highway driveing 55 mph just shut down in center lane pulled over to shoulder warning lights on no power re started it was ok this was the 2 time this has hapened in 3 mo..

- Sun City, AZ, USA

problem #8

Jun 012011

Escape Hybrid

  • 54,567 miles
Highway driveing 55 mph just shut down in center lane pulled over to shoulder warning lights on no power re started it was ok this was the 2 time this has hapened in 3 mo..

- Sun City, AZ, USA

problem #7

Jun 012011

Escape Hybrid

  • 54,567 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Highway driveing 55 mph just shut down in center lane pulled over to shoulder warning lights on no power re started it was ok this was the 2 time this has hapened in 3 mo..

- Sun City, AZ, USA

problem #6

Mar 172009

Escape Hybrid

  • 59,283 miles
On 3/17/2009, after washing the vehicle at a car wash, the service engine soon light came on. The vehicle later stopped running and was towed to the dealership. They had it for 3 days and said they couldn't find anything wrong with it. We were charged without prior notification. On 9/01/2010, the fuel filter was replaced at the same dealership. On the way home, the vehicle began to overheat. It stopped running in traffic and we were almost hit. It was taken to the local Ford dealer on 9/07/2010 to be looked at at the advice of Ford. They found a faulty water pump, replaced it and a filter, and we were told the problem was fixed. On 9/09/2010, the vehicle once again overheated, stranding us again. It was returned to the dealer, where they reset the computer and again told us it was fixed. On 11/23/2010, it was raining and again the vehicle stalled, but we were able to return home. On 12/17/2010, the repair engine soon light came on, and we haven't driven it since.

- Tooele, UT, USA

problem #5

Aug 052010

Escape Hybrid

  • miles
While driving my 2005 Ford Escape hybrid the following occurred. I was stopped at an intersection and when I began making a left turn, an alarm sounded, a red wrench symbol, and red exclamation mark lit up on the dash. I immediately pulled to the curb and the car lost all power and steering locked up. The car restarted and I took it to Ford. The service rep said the car went into a "fail safe mode" which it does to protect the hybrid battery from overheating. I was told that the alarm and symbols occur to give you about 5 minutes to safely get off the road. This did not happen. The car just lost power immediately. The Ford dealership determined that a coolant pump for the hybrid battery needed to be replaced which was done. Five weeks later the same thing happened again. I was stopped at a light and when I began turning right, the alarm sounded, the red wrench and exclamation light lit up and the car lost all power immediately. Again, I was able to restart the engine so I took it back to Ford to be looked at. They replaced a "suspect" cooling pump relay and road tested the car. The problem could not be duplicated. My concern is that this vehicle's "fail safe mode" makes the car completely shut down immediately. Both times I was able to move into an emergency lane, but what would have happened if I was on a freeway and the car just stopped? I am concerned that other Ford Escape hybrids may have the same problem and it is a real safety hazard. The second time it happened my grandchildren were in the backseat and I could have been rear ended. After having the Ford dealership look at it and replace the cooling pump relay I traded in the vehicle the next day. I would like to have this documented in case there is a pattern with these cars or other hybrids. I will never purchase one again.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #4

Jan 282010

Escape Hybrid

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape hybrid. The contact stated when driving at 65 mph and without any warnings the vehicle would stall and the stop safely now warning light would illuminate. The vehicle was able to be restarted within seconds. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure and the vehicle would not generate any diagnostic codes. The manufacture advised they were unable to provide any assistance without knowing the exact failure based upon the dealer's diagnosis. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 82,000 and the current mileage was 88,837.

- Cary, IL, USA

problem #3

Mar 312010

Escape Hybrid

  • 65,090 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford Escape hybrid car has 65,000 miles on it with no history of brake trouble. Coming downill the ABS/brake lights came on along with an alarm and immediate loss of the brakes. Had to use mechanical emergency brakes to stop. Called dealership next morning to tow it in, then read on line to try restarting the car the next day and the problem might be gone. Car started, no brake issues apparent (no lights, brakes functional) so drove it to dealership for review/repair. Took copies of online research showing this is an issue with the car. Dealership claimed it was the rear air conditioner (hole in the evaporator core) - they had repaired the ac 4 months previously, which only lasted for 6 weeks. Planned to have them repair it at the 65,000 mile service anyway. Paid $1033. Drove car home that night and the ABS/brake lights went on, alarm sounded but this time not a total loss of brakes. Instead whenever pressure is applied to the brake pedal, there is a loud thumping noise from the front brakes and shuddering throughout the car. Plan is to return to dealership after the weekend and bring latest research showing faulty hcu units have been found to be an underlying cause, which Ford is denying.

- Kealakekua, HI, USA

problem #2

Mar 082009

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape hybrid. The contact stated that when driving above 60 mph the overheat indicator illuminated on the instrument control panel, then the vehicle stalled. As a consequence his risk of a serious injury was increased. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the technicians have been unable to duplicate the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000. The current mileage was 79,000. Updated 10/29/09 the pump for the cooling system was defective. Updated 10/29/09.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #1

Mar 292006

Escape Hybrid 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
This report is for the third occurrence (there have been 2 prior occurrences in the past 6-8 weeks). This vehicle has roughly 17,900 miles and keeps shutting itself down without much (if any) warning. This time, I had about 2-4 seconds warning (which would not be adequate if the vehicle had been on a highway or busy road). I was in a parking lot about to pull out into traffic when the yellow wrench light came on. Before I could do anything, the vehicle shut itself off. At about 16,000 miles, the "high motor temperature" warning came on. I was able to get off the highway and get it towed. The dealership told me it was a bad electric water pump and replaced it. (I was later told by the dealer that the water pump that failed was a known problem at Ford - apparently a truck carrying these was in an accident and boxes of these pumps literally fell out of the truck. Ford supposedly tested them and decided to use them anyways). About a week later, I could tell there was still something wrong with the vehicle. (it had been "surging" forward when coming to a stop without warning and had many other noises/issues that were a sign that something was still wrong). I brought it back - and after they examined it they assured me that everything was fine. Within 2 weeks, we were driving on the highway when the "high motor temperature" light came on again. My husband got off at the first exit and tried to get it to the Ford dealership that was 2 blocks away. Unfortunately, without warning, it powered itself down right in front of a city transit bus. This time, the dealer said it was the water pump and fuse again and replaced both. After getting the vehicle back, I was still concerned since this seemed to be a major safety issue (having it power down in front of a city bus is enough to scare the living daylights out of you). This is a major safety issue that needs to be addressed.

- Southington, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?