Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
88,887 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Ford Escape Hybrid engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Ford Escape Hybrid Owner Comments

problem #18

Jul 112016

Escape Hybrid

  • 146,000 miles


"throttle body recall" issue, but for some reason I'm not covered car stalled, then restarted, then went into limp mode 2 miles later. Then on Aug 4, 2016 throttle body completely failed and I limped back to dealership (fugate Ford) where it is awaiting repairs but I am told my VIN isn't on throttle body recall code 2112 Ford notice 13N03

- Enumclaw, WA, USA

problem #17

Jul 112016

Escape Hybrid

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape hybrid. While driving 65 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 135,000.

- Enumclaw, WA, USA

problem #16

Jul 222016

Escape Hybrid

  • 137,000 miles
I was driving at 55 mph on the highway and the wrench light came and following engine light, the car suddenly began to slow down, after that acerlation would not go more than 15mph, checked the code got P2112

- Cary, IL, USA

problem #15

Jul 152016

Escape Hybrid

  • 106,000 miles


Vehicle suddenly loses acceleration due to throttle body and motor assembly. Ford has extended their warranty on escape but has no warranty for the hybrid limited.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #14

Jul 032016

Escape Hybrid

  • 154,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape hybrid. While driving 55 mph, the throttle control warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was advised not to drive the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was 154,000.

- Union City, NJ, USA

problem #13

Mar 092016

Escape Hybrid

  • 61,832 miles
On March 9, 2016, our 2009 Escape hybrid completely "stopped" in traffic on boulder highway, las vegas, Nevada which occurred about 1 mile from a carwash that we have frequently used no less than 15 times annually. Our vehicle had completely stopped in traffic 5 times within a 1 mile distance between the initial stop on boulder highway to our rv park. At the initial stop in traffic my wife and I had to push our vehicle into a gas station because the vehicle would not restart. Each time the vehicle stopped the red master vehicle electrical hazard warning light had come on and the digital panel showed the message "stop safely". the master vehicle electrical hazard warning light "indicates hybrid component fault/failure that will cause the vehicle to shutdown or fail to start". the vehicle did both. The vehicle was towed to Ford country in henderson, Nevada. A diagnostic test was performed, however, the computer results showed an ABS and transmission issue, but no hybrid problem. The ABS and transmission error codes eventually cleared themselves. The Ford technicians stated that since the undercarriage had been washed, as always, an electrical sensor had probably created the failure. I questioned the idea that car washing could create the problem since the only opening to the hybrid battery is the vent located on the driver's side near the rear of the vehicle. The master vehicle electrical hazard warning light failure resulted in the complete shutdown of our vehicle in traffic and is worrisome since our experience could have resulted in a major accident with possible fatal consequences. If a regular carwash is the diagnosis for the warning of a "hybrid component failure", which completely shuts down the engine in traffic, there may be a vehicle design issue. And, the fact that the escape's computer failed to store the error code is also alarming.

- Box Elder, SD, USA

problem #12

Apr 192016

Escape Hybrid

  • 26,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape hybrid. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled and the stop safely now warning indicator illuminated. After two minutes, the vehicle restarted normally. The contact also stated that the failure occurred approximately six times in four months. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 26,000.

- Menlo Park, CA, USA

problem #11

Jun 272015

Escape Hybrid

  • 85,000 miles
While driving, the 2009 Ford Escape hybrid slowed suddenly and while I still had power, I was unable to accelerate. I was on a busy road and there was nothing I could do to get my vehicle to "go". the "service engine soon" light came on and we were able to enter a neighborhood and pull over. We turned off the car and looked through the manual but couldn't find anything. The car started up again and seemed to drive normal but with the "check engine light" illuminated. The dealership said the electronic throttle needed to be replaced. Upon investigation, it appears to be a common issue and while they refused to issue a recall, Ford has issued a "customer satisfaction program" to extend the warranty on that particular part - with the exception of the hybrid model. This problem is the exact issue that has been happening in the other escapes and I don't understand why the hybrid is excluded from the extended warranty. That was not only terrifying but dangerous.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #10

Jun 052015

Escape Hybrid

  • 81,350 miles
On wed, Jun 3, 2015 - I was driving, engine cut out and would not let me go over 35-40, wrench light came on, I pulled over, stopped, turned ignition off, waited a minute, turned back on, wrench light stayed out. On fri, Jun 5, 2015 - I called the local Ford dealer for an appointment, got one for mon, June 8, 2015. As I started driving, the same thing happened except after I started the car and began driving again the wrench light came on and the service engine light came on. I had the car towed to the dealer. Mon, Jun 8, 2015 - was called and informed the throttle body needed to be replaced, and that it is not covered under the consumer satisfaction program 13N03. Was told it only applies to gas models not hybrids. I will be contacting Ford to file a formal complaint.

- Kempner, TX, USA

problem #9

May 272015

Escape Hybrid

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape hybrid. While driving at 70 mph, the vehicle lost power. The accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Merritt Island, FL, USA

problem #8

Mar 302015

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles


Poor acceleration, lost power on highway. Would not accelerate with gas pedal pushed. Pulled over side and restart. Enough power to make it home 10 miles but still poor acceleration.

- Kamuela, HI, USA

problem #7

Sep 032014

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
Driving on 26E in charleston, SC, I suddenly lost power and was unable to accelerate nor maintain speed. I pulled over and turned the vehicle off and in doing so, a grinding sound came from the engine. I restarted the engine and began operating normally for several minutes and began to notice the RPM's would increase and decrease without adjusting pressure on the pedal. At this point I noticed I had limited ability to accelerate and very sluggish. This issue continued to happen sporadically over then next 2 weeks until 9/12 when the vehicle was practically unable to be safely operated due to the lack of power. I took it to an auto part store and the diagnostic indicated trouble code P2112 "throttle body stuck closed". I took to a Ford dealer to repair the open recall for electric power steering and asked for an estimate for the throttle body. Car is currently in my driveway awaiting me to schedule an appointment to get repaired on my dollar... doesn't sound like I am the only one with this issue.

- Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #6

Aug 132014

Escape Hybrid

  • 88,297 miles
Stopped at red light when car begin to run extremely rough, service engine light came on and when light turned green it would only accelerate up to 20 miles per hour. Vehicle was towed to the dealership this morning (08/14/2014) and it is the throttle body issue listed in DP12006 for Ford escape vehicles. The reason for this case is Ford Motor Company / randall reed Ford wants to exclude a 2009 Ford Escape hybrid from the customer satisfaction program 13N03 and have me pay for the repair. Your help in getting this resolved is greatly appreciated.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #5

Jun 232014

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 86,500 miles
Driving 65mph on interstate, yellow wrench light appeared on dash, vehicle lost power during rush hour. Forced to cross three lanes of 65mph traffic going 5-10mph (limited by vehicle's computer no matter how far I pushed the gas pedal.) after shutting car ignition off and restarting, wrench light still on. Shutoff ignition again, removed key, opened door (into traffic) to completely shutoff electronics, radio, driving lights, etc. Restarted vehicle and wrench light was now off. Proceeded to drive with the vehicle surging faster/slower as I drove. A diagnostic code dtc P2112 was retrieved indicating "throttle actuator control system - stuck closed" which is covered under extended warranty by Ford customer satisfaction program 13N03 in response to NHTSA?S Office Of Defects Investigation (ODI) action number : DP12006. When I contacted Ford about this they responded that my particular VIN was not covered. The Ford customer satisfaction program 13N03 extends the warranty for the throttle body to 10years 150,000 miles. My Escape hybrid is 5 years old with 86, xxx miles but they say it is not covered. Why" I have the defective part number throttle body 9le-bc installed in my vehicle since new, which has been superseded by part number Ford oem # ds7Z-9E926-D and, which Ford is installing under this program to replace my defective part. Why am I being denied warranty replacement when I meet all of the criteria they have listed" during a call to Ford 1-800-392-3673 on 6_23_2014 I was told that they do not know why my particular VIN vehicle is not covered even though I meet the criteria for the replacement, however they can positively confirm that it is not covered. I was further told that I can bring the vehicle to a dealership for diagnosis, but there will be a diagnostic fee I will be required to pay even if I do not authorize any of the repairs that may be needed.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #4

Feb 152010

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
A recurring issue with the electrical/brake system of this vehicle was a random-occurring "short" or electrical system glitch that would partially disable the electric power braking system and causing a substantial loss of engine power, which caused the braking capability of the vehicle to be reduced to a barely functioning operational level as well as the loss of power steering. This occurred at least 20-times during our first 22-months of ownership. This sudden and severe lack of braking required the vehicle to have the transmission downshifted to a lower forward gear and a hard mechanical effort applied to the brake pedal and steering wheel to bring the vehicle to a stop. With the vehicle stopped, the ignition could be turned-off and the key removed. When the key was re-inserted and turned to "start", the vehicle would always start as if the entire electrical system had "reset". this required a total of five (5) different multiple-day repairs at the local Ford dealer in attention to the normal maintenance intervals service. Each of the 5-"power problem" repairs were found to be from different causes, including but not limited to: Faulty starting-battery location and wiring harness damage, faulty wiring assembly (different location), ABS brake sensor module. The Ford dealer we purchased the vehicle from, and Ford corporate ultimately did not stand behind our purchased "Ford premium service plan" or our purchased "Ford extended service mileage contract" costing us over $2,000 of out-of-pocket and "non-covered" plan expenses. Because of the random and severely unsafe power and braking conditions of this vehicle, in addition to the excessive repairs and finally the non-resolution attitude and non-performance of the Ford Motor Company, we sold this vehicle as a dealer trade-in for the purchase of a new SUV from a different manufacturer and dealer.

- Markleeville, CA, USA

problem #3

Oct 132013

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
While driving on the highway, my check engine light came on and the car immediately switched from gas to electric. From that point on, the car would not transition back to gas. Took the car to Ford and had to have the throttle body and motor assembly replaced.

- Miami , FL, USA

problem #2

Sep 272013

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
9-27-2013, my car was idling weird at a red light. I looked at the RPM gauge and it was bouncing erratically. At some point my wrench dash light came on. I was driving thru a neighborhood at the time so my car seemed to be ok going between 30-40 mph, but at every red light my car seemed like something was wrong. It wasn't going into electric mode like it normally would. I drove on the interstate for a mile and my car would not accelerate over 40-45 mph so I put on my hazards and did my best driving in traffic. The escape was acting like it was dying at one point and started decelerating so then I kept pressing the gas pedal to the floor and it still wouldn't go over 45 mph. I stopped at a red light about a mile from my house and turned the entire car off and sat for a minute or so. When I started it back up the wrench light was off. I took the car to my nearest Ford dealership the next morning and was told that no diagnostic codes were coming up but the tech did some special tests and determined that my mass air flow sensor needs to be replaced. So that's what they did. I asked if they could also replace the throttle body and he told me that they would have to send the part to Ford and if there wasn't anything wrong with it they would be out that money so they could not replace the throttle body. My car is at ~78,000 miles so this seems like a problem I should not be having. My wrench light came on once back on 7-22-13, on a road trip but we pulled over on the side of the road, turned the car off and back on and it never came on again until 9-27-13. My car had been idling weird right before my last oil change on Aug 30, 2013. I mentioned it to my Ford tech then and no diagnostic codes came up so they did a fuel induction cleaning service costing me $145.95. I'm not sure that this even necessary.

- Millington, TN, USA

problem #1

Aug 082013

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 79,985 miles
Driving approximately 35-40 mph for about 15 minutes. Suddenly vehicle lost power and would not accelerate. A "wrench" warning light on the instrument cluster also illuminated, which has never occurred in the past. I have owned the vehicle since new and have never had any engine related problems.maximum speed was now 22-25 mph. Pressing the accelerator pedal to the floor did not increase engine speed or vehicle speed. Engine RPM was around 1500-1800 RPM according to tachometer. Due to faster traffic slowing behind me I had to pull to the side of the road for safety. Engine continued to operate but would not work properly. I turned the vehicle off, waited a minute and restarted the engine. Wrench light came on again and I had a scary drive back at 25 mph with my kids in the car and traffic speeding around me. Woke up early the next morning to bring in for service and the wrench light was now off and the engine worked normally. It has been 4 days since and the problem has not reappeared. Problem is I am now afraid to drive on the highway or for long distances, and my wife will not drive the vehicle at all.

- Metairie, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?