Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 16
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
102,887 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Expedition engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Expedition:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Expedition Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Jul 242008


  • 85,000 miles


The engine ejected the #3 spark plug, tearing up the threads in the process. The repair involved installation of a helicoil, although the dealer (packey-webb of downers grove il) insisted that the only available repair would be installing a new head assembly. The head assembly, including labor, would have been over 4 times the cost of the helicoil. This must have been due to either weak threads, or improperly torqued spark plugs from the factory.

- Lombard, IL, USA

problem #22

Aug 272008


  • 151,000 miles
2001 Ford Expedition. Drove for five minutes and parked, then walked into house and turned to look back at car and saw smoke coming out of the hood. I ran over there and found the whole engine compartment on fire. I sprayed with hose and unhooked battery. The part that looks like it started the fire was just below the brake fluid reservoir.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #21

Jul 292008


  • 111,000 miles
Sparkplug stripped itself out of its seating. The mechanic has noted this three other times over the years within his business alone.

- Clemmons, NC, USA

problem #20

Jul 102008


  • 59,100 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Ford Expedition. While driving 40 mph, the brake and air bag warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel and smoke appeared. The contact pulled into a local gas station, opened the hood of the vehicle, and noticed flames. She safely extinguished the flames. The contact has pictures of the failed component. She is in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The failure and current mileages were 59,100.

- Dennham Springs, LA, USA

problem #19

Aug 132006


  • 100,000 miles
I bought a 2001 used Ford Expedition in December 2006. By August 2007 while in hay way 11 from el centro to calexico I made a stop in a stoplight in heber avenue. As I accelerated I notice the car running roughly. I stopped and open the hood and I notice that spark plug # 3 blew out of its place. I bought a new spark plug and it would not fit since the old spark plug damaged the head. Pieces of metal went in the cylinder and warped it as well as the piston. No I have to put a new engine in since I do not have extended warranty and the cost is about $2600 dlls. I researched this issue in the net and with local mechanics and I notice that there are lots of people that have the same problem with this Expedition or F150.

- El Centro, CA, USA

problem #18

Jun 072008


  • 116,000 miles
After sitting for 7 hours the Expedition spontaneously combustion and burned up.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #17

Apr 262008


  • 86,000 miles


I bought my 2001 Expedition 9 months ago, it broke for the first time 3 days after buying it. It has since blown out a spark plug 6 different times. I have sent it to 3 different garages including Ford dealerships, every time it breaks down about a month later.

- Farmington, NH, USA

problem #16

Jan 302008

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,215 miles
Number #4 spark plug on my 2001 expidition w/ the 5.4 engine blew out.

- Hatboro, PA, USA

problem #15

Dec 142007

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
2001 Ford Expedition #3 spark plug ejected from engine while driving. 95,000 miles. Original plugs.

- Belfair, WA, USA

problem #14

Aug 092007

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles
My complaint is because, I owned a Ford Expedition 2001 that caught on fire on August 9, 2007. It was out of my house in the night when we started to see smoke in the street, and when we went out of the house, the engine was on fire, and started to advance backwards the fire, until the firemen came and seized the fire. I would like to see if there can be an option to make a lawsuit about this event because of the risk that my family and I lived.

- Puebla, Puebla, Mexico, 00, USA

problem #13

Oct 012006

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles


I have a 2001 Ford Expedition 5.4. I was driving home with my two children when I heard a loud bang/pop and my truck came to a halt. I had it towed to a local repair shop to find out the noise I heard was my spark plug that had blown out and hit the aluminum heads causing damage. The heads were sent out to a machine shop and when it was all said and done, I paid over $3,000 to fix it. A few days after picking it up, I had to take it back in because a cool pack went bad, this was like my third one so far. This all happened in October 2006 and not even 6 months later in March or April, my truck was back to barely running/moving. I had it towed again and once again its the engine. It has been a viscous cycle and one thing after another. It will cost me at least $5,000. To replace the motor with just a remanufactured one. In the last year the truck has sat in my yard more than half the time due to engine trouble. I am unable to get to and from work which is causing my family major financial stress. I cannot afford to fix this again. I still owe over $15,000. On the truck and am paying $420. Per month for something not even running. I am stuck between a rock and a hard place. I don't understand why Ford will not stand behind their product. Any help/advice will be greatly appreciated.

- Millersville, MD, USA

problem #12

Apr 302007

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,981 miles
While driving back from New Hampshire to Virginia, my 2001 Expedition popped a plug from its engine. I had to have it towed 200 miles because the smell of fuel it was late Friday and there was nothing I could do until Monday. I called the customer service line in dearborn, mi. I was told by the female operator (charlotte) to bring my vehicle to bowditch Ford and to have them run a diagnostics test. My vehicle went off to the shop via flatbed as to not cause any further damage. I later received a call from the service manager telling me that it would cost $92.50, I ok'ed it because over the weekend I did some research on the Triton engine and found that this was a common problem. In the meantime I was still in contact with Ford and had even talked to an operator named ralph. I explained to him that I did some research and found that this had happened to nearly 800,000 vehicles and some resulting in death. Dearborn, mi said they would keep in touch with the dealership and would contact me Thursday. Thursday morning came and I was contacted by dearborn again. They told me that there was nothing they could do that I would have to pay for the damages myself. I was also told by dearborn to ask the dealership, "who receives certain allocated funds each year for repairs just like this". the dealership refused assistance. After all was done I was charged for an ecsd diagnose (92.50); 2 spark plugs (6.81); 1 coil assembly ignition (103.69); fuel ingestion cleaner (6.47) another vehicle key ? (30.00); misc drivability charge (92.50); PCM reprogramming the computer? (92.50); clean the throttle body (78.75); clean the injectors? (65.00). They also fixed a speed control deactivation device of which was under recall. As a disabled veteran that was half my check for the month. The dealership had my vehicle for 3 days. 1st day, checked engine and found the number 1 and 4 plugs were screwed up and that the injectors were backwards.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #11

Feb 142007

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,500 miles
Blown spark plug in 2001 Ford Expedition 2006, had it repaired for $2,000. Today 2/14/07 it has happened again, I will have it towed to the same place for repairs probably costing another $2,000 - $3,000.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #10

Aug 032006

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
While driving at low speed, the number three spark plug shot out rendering my 2001 Ford Expedition unusable. Fortunately, I was able to pull off to the side of the heavily traveled road. Upon further research, this appears to be a very common problem.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #9

Jun 212006

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
: the contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, the check engine light illuminated, and the vehicle lost speed and began to buck. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic shop, where it was determined that there was an electrical shortage. The number 8, 7, 5, and 4 engine coils have been replaced on the vehicle. The consumer stated the number 7 & 5 coil has been replaced twice. Updated 07/25/06.

- Reading, MA, USA

problem #8

Mar 122006

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
While driving my 2001 Ford Expedition with a 5.4 liter engine, the spark plug blew out of the head and damaged it. The vehicle has been well kept and from some research I have found that this is a very common problem with the Ford engines. I feel it needs to be investigated, if this is a recurring problem there needs to be a recall or Ford should pay for repairs. Repair cost apx. $3,700.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #7

Sep 152005

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On 09-15-2005 at 12:10 am I discovered a large fire in my garage. My family and I escaped without harm. The fire department responded quickly and extinguished the fire. All contents of the garage were destroyed. Some damage occurred to the home. According to the fire investigator (cal state lic no. Pi-75781), the Expedition in the garage was probably the cause of the fire.

- El Centro, CA, USA

problem #6

Jun 062005

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles
There are recalls that should be investigated car is a 2001, but they will not recognize car as a recall because they recalled the 2000 models and not the 2001. This car was delivered in 2001, and they used 2000 parts, although it is a 2001 model. They changed the transmission design.

- Hardwick, MA, USA

problem #5

Feb 252005

Expedition 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
Owner drove the vehicle for approximately 51/2 hours, and then it sat for 1 1/2 hours. When driving off the ferry at approximately 15 mph engine ejected the spark plug from the seventh cylinder. Owner contacted the dealer, and had the vehicle towed. Owner was waiting for the results of the defect.

- Shoreham, NY, USA

problem #4

Dec 212004


  • miles
On 12-21-04 while driving our '01 Ford Expedition home from work, there was a loud pop, followed by rattling and the engine cut off. My husband found that a spark plug had exploded out of the cylinder head. We took the truck to a Ford dealer and he stated that the spark plug exploded out pf the head stripping the groves in the cylinder head. The dealer suggested that we replace the cyclinder head at a cost of $2700. This truck is properly maintained and only has approximately 68,000 miles on it.

- Bryans Road, MD, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?