Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 23
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,312 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Expedition engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Expedition:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Expedition Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #47

Dec 112009

Expedition

  • 138,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Expedition. The contact stated the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA recall campaign id number: 05V388000 (vehicle speed control). Since repairs, the contact stated the engine would exhibit an unusually high increase in rpms when utilizing the cruise control. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for repairs or a diagnostic of the failure. The failure mileage was 138,000 and the current mileage was 147,349.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #46

Jul 112010

Expedition

  • miles
Ford truck fires.. Ford Expedition fire due to defective cruise control switch.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #45

Jul 022010

Expedition

  • 90,000 miles
Leaking windshield causing different systems to act unpredictably. Currently ac blower fan circuit blown (fixed 4X), cruise control dead after intermittently working (high potential of fatality if acceleration out of control). Radio comes on an off. Check engine light on continuously. Numerous codes showing up even after deleting. This problem has been occurring for years ( at least 4 years). The windshield has to be replaced as per technician but I strongly feel that Ford should just plug the leak for all the Expedition and Navigator being affected by this. Others have had more serious problem - windows opening and closing automatically (no user action).

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #44

Aug 152009

Expedition 4WD 6-cyl

  • 142,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Ford 2001 Expedition caught on fire on August 15, 2009 due to a manufacturer's defect with the switch control.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #43

Apr 172010

Expedition

  • 89,000 miles
-the contact owns a 2001 Ford Expedition. While the contact was driving approximately 10 mph the vehicle accelerated and suddenly loss control which caused the vehicle to crash into a tree. The engine revved after the crash and the wheels continued to spin. The airbags deployed during the crash. The contact and front seat passenger sustained mild injuries. A police report was filed of the incident. Currently, the vehicle was parked at the residence driveway. The contact stated before an authorized dealer performed repairs an appraiser must inspect the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were 89,000. The VIN was not available.

- Inverness, FL, USA

problem #42

Feb 132010

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
On 02/13/10 at approximately 10:30 a.M., I was driving my 2001 Ford Expedition with the 5.4 liter V-8 down us highway 151 North of fond du lac, Wisconsin. The throttle/accelerator stuck and the Expedition accelerated to over 60 miles per hour. I applied the brakes to slow down to avoid an accident. The engine continued to race and the back tires spun on the ice and the front tires stopped as I came to a stop upon the ice. I turned the ignition off. After a few minutes, I started the 5.4 liter engine again. The engine raced again with rpms reaching over 5000 rpms. I quickly turned off the engine ignition again and opened the hood and checked for obstructions. No apparent obstructions. After a few moments, I started the engine again and the engine idled down to normal RPM. I had an adult passenger in the vehicle that witnessed the throttle/accelerator stick.

- Waupun, WI, USA

problem #41

Dec 232009

Expedition

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Parked vehicle at store and turned it off got out and went inside. Then someone came inside and said that a black SUV was on fire. Returned to car and hurried and opened the hood. Had a drink in the truck so got it and threw it on the fire got it put out and looked it had started at the master cylinder and cruise control sensor.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #40

Nov 272009

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 175,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Expedition. The cruise control on the vehicle was inoperative. A fuse and the brake lights on the vehicle were replaced. Two weeks after the repair, and while the vehicle was parked for fifteen minutes, the vehicle caught on fire. The fire spread quickly and caused a nearby vehicle to also catch on fire. Both vehicles were destroyed. The manufacturer was notified, and she was advised that there was an open recall on the vehicle (see NHTSA campaign id number: 05V388000). They stated that they would further investigate the failure. The failure and current mileages were 175,000. Updated 01/08/10 updated 01/12/10.

- Washington Boro, PA, USA

problem #39

Oct 202009

Expedition

  • 130,142 miles
My 2001 Ford Expedition recently suffered a total loss engine fire -- according to the fire department's investigation, it was likely caused by a cruise control problem/malfunction that was due to faulty manufacturing by the Ford Motor Company. The vehicle was turned-off and parked in the parking lot at my office at eglin air force base, Florida when the fire started. After the fire, I learned that there was a recall for my Ford truck because of this exact problem -- as a 20-year active duty military veteran, I was never notified by Ford about this potential hazard. I thank god that this didn't occur in my garage where the truck was always parked -- my garage sits directly below the bedroom where my two young boys sleep. My Expedition, which I bought new in 2001, was a total loss. It was in excellent condition until the day of the fire -- I reported the fire to my insurance company, usaa. Unfortunately, Ford has not provided any assistance or support after this horrible and life-threatening incident.

- Niceville, FL, USA

problem #38

Sep 182009

Expedition

  • 100,000 miles
My Ford Expedition 2001 is stuck in park position and the interior roof lights are dead along with everything else riding on that circuit. I called the dealer and they advise it's a defective brake release switch. I replaced the switch and that did not resolve my problem as the 5A fuse keeps popping. According to internet sources, other customers had this problem and it's affiliated with a Ford recall # 05V380000 (vehicle speed control). I took the vehicle to the dealer this morning they replace the faulty component as instructed by the recall notice; however, the problem still exist. Further investigation pointed out that now, the cruise control servo and plug is what is causing the short in the electrical system. When I received the recall notice a few years ago the dealer the dealers resolution was to disconnect the working cruise control and now it become problematic perhaps from having an exposed plug creating a fire hazard. Ford Motor Company refuses to pay for the related damages resulting in a short in the electrical system thus resulting in a potential creating a fire hazard. The technician mentioned the switch was leaking and it appears my vehicle was about to catch on fire. Now they insist I should come out of pocket to pay over $850 to clean up the mess resulting from their design flaw and current recall. I called Ford's consumer relation & customer service line 800-392-3673, note reference # 0342422649 and spoke with representatives emily, andrea and two supervisors barbara and joel. The dealer in this case mullinax Ford also called to inform them of the relative concerns to seek authorization for repair and we were both declined. This is highly disappointing and unfair to the consumer, my check was good when I purchase the vehicle and all I ask is that they stand behind the product and accept ownership. My wife and two small children ride in this vehicle daily it just disgust me how they can hide behind the phone and claim no ownership.

- Loxahatchee, FL, USA

problem #37

May 292009

Expedition

  • 160,254 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2001 Ford Expedition erupted in flames at 3 am on May 29th, 2009. It had been parked for 12 hours in my driveway. I was never notified by Ford about a recall, nor did my local dealership who serviced my Expedition warn me of a recall. After arson and explosive detectives and departments examined my vehicle it was found to be a faulty cruise control switch. The vehicle was a total loss and only liability coverage was in effect.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #36

Aug 182008

Expedition

  • miles
2001 Expedition caught on fire went to receive part completed on vehicle service were out of stock of parts. Due to Ford not completing recall vehicle caught on fire.

- Burleson, TX, USA

problem #35

Aug 092008

Expedition

  • miles
My 2001 Ford Expedition caught fire due to the cruise control and burned our house to a total loss and all of out other automobiles were burned to a total loss also we lost everything.

- West Helena, AR, USA

problem #34

Aug 302008

Expedition

  • 132,000 miles
My daughter was at hermann hospital in houston for brain and spine surgery. I drove my older daughter there at 9:00pm. At 4:00am I was awaken by security to inform me that my vehicle was burning in the parking garage. It is a 2001 Ford Expedition eddie bauer. The entire front end was consumed by the fire. Smoke, water, and debris ruined the contents inside the vehicle.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #33

May 152008

Expedition

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Expedition. After driving the vehicle for fifteen minutes, it caught fire in the contact's driveway approximately 20 minutes later. The contact received a vehicle speed control recall letter approximately two weeks after the fire occurred. The vehicle was destroyed and a police report was filed. The current and failure mileages were 130,000.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #32

Feb 012008

Expedition 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Expedition. The contact received a recall notice for the vehicle speed control in August of 2007, and would like to know when the parts will be available for the repair. She is upset because no one knows their availability. There had been no failure to date. The VIN, engine size, number of cylinders, recall number, and current mileage were unknown.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #31

Nov 212007

(reported on)

Expedition 8-cyl

  • miles
Re a recall on his 2001 Ford Expedition, wants to be reimbursed for out-of-pocket costs. The consumers vehicle caught on fire and he believed it was related to the speed control deactivation switch. The consumer stated he never received a recall letter, however the manufacturer stated it was mailed to him. The consumer sustained injuries trying to put the fire out.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #30

Oct 072007

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 128,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Expedition. The vehicle was parked for approximately 5 hours when it caught fire. The vehicle was parked in the driveway. The bushes and concrete were damaged. The fire was extinguished by the fire department. Two days prior to the incident, the brake warning light illuminated and there was smoke coming from under the hood. The brake fluid was refilled and the vehicle stopped smoking. The current and failure mileages were 128,000. Updated 12-12-07. Updated 12/12/07

- Memphis , TN, USA

problem #29

Mar 012004

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
Several times, usually at stop lights, while idling with foot on the brake, the engine surges up to approx 1000 RPM for approx 3-5 sec. If foot was not on the brake, the truck could have accelerated into the car in front of me, or into the intersection. Every time I'm at the Ford dealership I have them investigate, but nothing is found on the computer code search, and the symptom is very irregular and rare, so it has not reproduced while at the dealer. I've seen this reported before on mycarstats.com.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #28

Feb 022007

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
Accelerator sticks at freeway speeds when very cold outside and driving at a steady speed over time. Causes unsafe condition, only way to stop is shut off vehicle.

- Hugo, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?