Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

9.2

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,751.00
Average Mileage:
68,047 miles
Total Complaints:
13 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace transmission (7 reports)
  2. dealer replaced transmission (3 reports)
  3. not sure (1 reports)
  4. replace transfer case and transmission (1 reports)
  5. transmission was rebuilt at the dealership (1 reports)
2004 Ford Expedition transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford Expedition:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford Expedition Owner Comments

problem #13

Jan 032015

Expedition 4.6 V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Will a transmission from a 2001 F150 4.6L work in a 2004 Expedition? They both seem to have the same part number listed. We wanted to verify before we get our trucks torn apart and find out we missed some *except in your case" fine print. Thanks!!!

- , Sherman, TX, USA

problem #12

Mar 132011

Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

Had to replace my transmission approximately 3 years ago. I think the mileage may have been 120000 at that time.

- , Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #11

Sep 052013

Expedition Eddie Bauer 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles

The fact that so many of these vehicles have had transmission failures and Ford has not had a recall is ridiculous I will never purchase another Ford product again. How can we complain to the company and actually get someone to listen, I paid 43000 for this car.

- , Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #10

Jun 272013

Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,328 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I've owned Fords all my life. I even have 1970 Ford Torino GT with only 55k miles, fully restored. The 2004 Ford is the biggest piece of sh*t that Ford Motor Company has sent down the road. First under warranty the wheels were never balanced. Then the a/c passenger seat didn't work as well as the power window switch and still doesn't work. It went back to the dealer for differential whining, it sounded like a coyote. 9 times and it was overhauled 5 times, each time the problem got worse. Ford closed the dealership and I brought it to a Lincoln Mercury dealer who said it was a front axle bearing, the noise is in the rear. They made the front axle leak like a sieve. When I complained to Ford customer complaint,they told me tough luck. It was the dealers problem not Ford's. Then the transmission started jumping out of gear and making a banging noise when falling back into gear. Ford dealer also said there was no problem. Now at 61K miles the transmission won't go into forward gear but goes into reverse. I forgot, I've worked on cars for 48 years and own an auto body auto repair shop for 30 years. Not only will I never buy another Ford I tell all my customers about my experience with Ford Motor Company. Now I buy Toyotas and Scion ( Japanese made Toyota ). Ford and the rest of the American car manufactures should take a lesson from the Japanese and really learn how to build a modern vehicle and how to please their customers instead of pissing them off. KISS OFF FORD

- , E.Bridgewater, MA, USA

problem #9

Oct 022012

Expedition Eddie Bauer V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

I PAID GOOD FOR 2004 EDDIE BAUER EXPEDITION. I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT TROUBLE WITH THIS TRUCK (1) MY TRANSMISSION WENT OUT @ 35,485), a few month out of warranty ok. So I got in touch with the manufacturer of ford and they flat turn me down. So they gave me a case # stating that they haven't had no problems with this transmission and model.(2) I paid $3,300.00 so I paid philpotts ford to replace my transmission on 7/13/2009 no help from ford manufacturer at all ok. Well here it is again 10/2/2012 @ 62,671 miles and my transmissin is out again with just 27,186 mile usage since the replacement of the first one that I paid for without any help from ford. Well guess what ford tell me again that since it was just a few months out of warranty and the dealer doesn't have any warrantys and we have exalted all the avenues of help for you, well we can't help you because we have no recalls or problem with this model or transmission. Ok I want to expose this problem and the ford dealers to help us because it is a problem and a lemon also there should be a recalled on the transmissions.Each time my transmission fail that I purchase for my wife (Anniversary Present) seems to fail in the garage after starting up to leave home, the same with the rear air mixing motors with that clicking sound when you turn it on for A/C or Heat. My truck is in the shop at this moment please contact me so we can contact ford for recall start up and help for the consumers. Ford should be shame of the way they do the consumers when they sell a bad product and will not help us. Email me at j_mikel@sbcglobal,net and a contact name and number please this to be look at, we pay good money for this auto to last our family and most of all the safty factors we look for because the love for our family, we work hard for the money: This 2004 Eddie Bauer has been nothing but a heah ach!

- , Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #8

Jul 132009

Expedition Eddie Bauer V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,485 miles

I was told by Ford that my transmission was a few months out of warranty. Ford claimed there was nothing they could do and had not had a problem with my 2004 Expedition. I have replaced a transmission once before with a cost of $3300 on July 13, 2009. I have never had such a sorry vehicle in my life. I bought this truck for my wife as an anniversary gift. She has never been happy with this ride. This product that Ford has made has problems that need to be fixed. This problem needs to be recalled because I have transmission problems again. My transmission is out again with chunks of metal in the pan. This is the second transmission that needs to be replaced. I don’t drive this Expedition very often and it only has 62,671 miles on it. It has been in the shop at Philpot Ford in Nederland, Texas since November 22, 2012. The problem started getting worse around October 2, 2012 my wife thought that it was the brakes. I drove it to church Sunday morning, and called her from my cell and I told her baby I wish it were the brakes but it’s the transmission again. Of course, Ford told the dealer “it was out of warranty and it’s nothing we can do.” Well, it’s time for Ford to tell us something different. There is something that they must do. Please contact me with any information on your 2004 Ford Eddie Bauer Expedition transmission, and rear mixer motor for AC/heat that has an unusual clicking noise. Every time the transmission or the rear mixer motor has gone out, the truck had not been driven. I am just sick of this piece of junk, and with the fact that we cannot get any help from Ford. I just don’t have this kind of money to just keep giving to Ford, and they continue to tell me it’s nothing we can do, but they made this junk. I have never had a truck like this, and I have had many automobiles. This wasn't a cheap priced automobile, and it’s costly to keep with so many problems. Please contact me, because Ford is responsible. And they can't say that this transmission isn't defected. We will contact Ford with our complaints. BAD TRANSMISSION FOR 2004 EDDIE BAUER

- , Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #7

Dec 222012

Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4lit

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took it easy on the Car, Never off road. Regular upkeep. Failure at 89K miles, not good at the dealers for transmission replacement. No choice but to repair. Family Vehicle that really has been reliable. I am strong believer of Ford Products. Car had minor glitches, while still under warranty. Power seat failure, Fuses blowing for the seats. It appeared on the wires was run incorrectly and shorting out. I hope this time, the transmission will last more then 89k miles. I do not want to purchase another car. I like the idea of no payments.Will update this when the car is repaired on Monday.

- , Port Orchard, WA, USA

problem #6

May 202010

Expedition XL 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

Transmission started slipping out of gear in May. Took it local dealer who had it for 3 hours, hooked up to computer. Gave us a bill for $100 and told to make another appoinment to check skid pan to assess if it was actually transmission. Son removed skid pan (in under an hour) and indeed chunks in it. Talked to dealer manager and agreed to look at it again. Had it towed and according to records at dealer, hooked up to computer again and removed skid pan, then an obscene quote for transmission. Told we were long standing and loyal customers but no discount.

Checked into some independent and got considerably cheaper quotes. But when they got into it, the transfer case was also destroyed. The dealer never actually checked that so I imagine I would have had to sell a couple of my children to pay for it. Have seen this problem mentioned on the internet so isn't an isolated case. This car has not been driven hard and been meticulously maintained and serviced. We've had many Fords in the past and it's unbelievable that it would have such catostrophic failure at only 62,000 miles. Talked to customer service at Ford who offered nothing except have a nice day. We had hoped to have this car for a few more years but will be considering trade as soon as we can. Rest asssured it will not be with this dealer and definitely not a Ford.

- , Montesano, WA, USA

problem #5

Nov 212008

Expedition XLT 3.2L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles

I bought this car new and Fred Bean Dealerships replaced the first transmission at 13,000 miles. I just had to have it rebuilt at 102,000 miles. It is the first car I ever owned that needed not only one but two transmissions while I was driving it. I will never buy another Ford.

- , West Chester, PA, USA

problem #4

Oct 102008

Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles

I have had many vehicles in my life as has every person I have talked to about this, and not one of them has ever seen a transmission fail at these low miles! My dealership is not willing to help me. They were going to knock a few hundred dollars off the parts and labor, but that is nothing.

This is a problem that is unacceptable. This was an expensive car, it should not have this type of problem. I have not decided what I am going to do yet. If they will not help me, I have a hard time paying that kind of money!

- , Danville, CA, USA

problem #3

Oct 072008

Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,304 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I can't imagine why all these cases are happening and there aren't any recalls as of yet.

Cottmans, Aamco and several other garages have all seen a high demand for the transmissions to be replaced in 2004 Expeditions. This is my 4th and LAST expedition, I will promise that!!! This FORD FAMILY IS FORD NO MORE!!!

- , Concord, NC, USA

problem #2

Mar 052008

Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles

Transmission failed at only 43K. Out of Warranty. Dealer agreed that 43K was too soon for a Transmission failure and is going to warranty it under a 'Customer Assistance Program'. My cost of the $2,600 dollar expense is $500 plus the $50 dollars for having it towed to the dealer. The dealer only proposed the Customer Assistance Program after I was getting ready to have the vehicle towed to a transmission shop. $2,600 seem awful high for a replacement transmission when other estimates ranged from 900-1900. Of course the failure is probably catastrophic and would require a replacement by any one who worked on it. A repair would probably not be the best solution. No one has torn the transmission down yet to say what the real issue is . I agreed to the Ford Offer because if I have any other problems a Ford dealership would take care of it. Whereas, the other transmission places warranty it among their stores. This could be bad if you are in a location that they do not have a store. Most towns have a ford dealership. The Ford and other guys are only warranting the transmission for 12mo/12k. My gut feeling is that this issue will raise it ugly head again. I am going to look into an extended warranty and do the math to see if the 'insurance' is worth it. My recommendation for anyone else facing this issue of a transmission failure after the warranty end dates, is to request that the repair be handled under the 'Ford Repair Assistance Program'. At least this lets them know you are aware that this is a known problem and that Ford does offer assistance. I am grateful that the dealer I dealt with had the professionalism to make this available to me.

- , Foley, AL, USA

problem #1

Mar 202007

(reported on)

Expedition XLS 4.6L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

Last year on Labor Day, we started a 6 hour drive to San Antonio from the DFW area. About 20 minutes in, my 2004 Expedition slipped out of drive. It said it was in drive, but felt like neutral (the tachometer was screaming). I got it back into drive, but it kept happening. It began to happen at lower and lower speeds until I couldn't get it back into drive again. After pulling over, I found that I had lost reverse as well. I limped the truck home in L2 at about 25mph, which was fun. This was at 25K miles. The dealer rebuilt the transmission and the warranty covered it. There was nothing to dispute, as the vehicle was disabled when they took it in (used Ford roadside assistance). It's been okay since then, but now it's starting to make a KNOCK sound (once) after starting the engine. It sounds like when you drop it in reverse, but I'm still in park and just started it. WEIRD. I bought an extended warranty from my bank so I don't get stuck with a major problem, as the factory warranty is up next month.

- , Grand Prairie, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?