Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,575 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Ford Expedition wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford Expedition:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford Expedition Owner Comments

problem #16

Oct 112012

Expedition

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Ford Expedition equipped with B.F. goodrich tires, size: 265/75R17. The contact stated that there was a bubble protruding from the sidewall and into the tread area of the tire, causing the tire to delaminate. The contact reported the failure to the store where he bought them and they instructed him to bring them back.

- Crownsville, MD, USA

problem #15

Jan 032011

Expedition

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Expedition equipped with cooper definity Dakota A/T tires, size 265/70R17 (na). While driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle began to lose control and veered off the road. The contact pulled over and noticed all of the tread on the driver side rear tire was missing. A spare tire was installed on the vehicle. The tire was not taken to have the failure diagnosed. The failure and current mileages were 75,000.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #14

Jul 082010

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 84,234 miles
The tire tread is starting to detach from the tire's carcass in a 6 inch section of the tire. The other three tires are showing signs of detatchment, like cracking at the edges of the tires. Updated 09/29/10.

- Coconut Creek, FL, USA

problem #13

Aug 102009

Expedition

  • 35,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In the afternoon of Saturday August 8, 2009 the tire warning light in my 2004 Expedition came on. Later I inspected the vehicle and noticed a tear in the front passenger side tire. The tear was about 1/2" to 3/4" long at about where the steel belt meets the tire wall. Monday August 10, 2009 as I was travel South bound on I 15 about 3 miles South of temescal canyon exit. I heard and felt the tire blow. I was able to pull over. The entire steel belt tread from wall to wall had torn off and there were two lacerations, completely through the tire, about 5" apart running from the rim to the tread. I will replace the tire.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #12

Aug 032008

Expedition

  • 47,000 miles
1. we were driving to go on vacation on I-95 in Georgia when the car became out of control we spun and hit a guard rail before we came to a stop. The car had to be towed. There was over $6500 in damage to my vehicle. The insurance paid for 3 tires but not the one that caused the accident.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #11

Dec 152008

Expedition

  • miles
There is notice of these tires they just blow out, causing your back injury.

- Rayle, GA, USA

problem #10

Sep 152008

Expedition

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Ford Expedition has 32K miles on it the tires have approximately 3/8" or more than half of their tread life left. The passengers side rear has a large crack about 1" from the rim. The remaining tires are all dry rotten near the tread. I feel these tires are unsafe and want to replace them immediately.

- Rahway, NJ, USA

problem #9

Jun 092008

Expedition

  • 47,000 miles
We were driving with Continental tires (P265/70R17113S) on an Arizona highway when our rear right tire separated. Our vehicle immediately veered to the left and went up a guardrail with a 30' drop below. Our vehicle (Ford Expedition) flipped 360 degrees, landing on its passenger side. The vehicle was well maintained. The tires had sufficient tread. The authorities on site took pictures of the tread separation and recommended reporting this as the tire appeared to be defective.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #8

Oct 202007

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,650 miles
On 10/20/07, the sidewall of my Goodyear fortera (right rear) failed. My wife lost pressure and had to aaa change the tire. Goodyear stated (la quinta dealer) the tire was damage by a unknown object. On 10/26/07, I was driving driving when the left rear tire failed. I pulled over and changed the tire. I later had the tire inspected and the inner sidewall separated and appeared to be the same size and detail of the previous tire failure. When I took it to the Goodyear dealer (cedar city ut) they told me that I had driven on the tire too long and I caused the damage. I was lucky, I immediately pulled over and changed the tire before I lost all air pressure. There was "no damage" on the tire due to my driving. The damage tire failure was about a 4-5 inch rectangular shape hole. The second tire began the same way. The sidewall began to separate in the same fashion and had not "blown out" prior to me changing it.

- La Quinta, CA, USA

problem #7

Sep 122006

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
2004 Ford Expedition; had original tires put back on vehicle after have authorized tires removed. Factory tires had approximately 300 miles on them. Severe vibration in front end of car before and after factory tires were reinstalled. Paid to have two 4-wheel alignments, balancing on both sets of tires (factory and Ford authorized upgrades) in two months. Ford could not find any issues with the front end of the vehicle". vibration exists with less than 1000 total miles on the factory tires. Was told that they could not be balanced and that I needed to contact the manufacturer. Second incident is: The leather material on the seats has cracked and hardened. When sitting, it begins to poke and scratch and cause irritation to the skin. Ford will replace part of the leather, but refuses to replace all of it because "the damage is not bad enough".

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #6

Jan 122006

Expedition

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

All four of the tires in my Ford Expedition lose 4 pounds of air every week. There is some kind of defect any the dealership isn't fixing the vehicle. I was told by Ford that a engineer looked at me vehicle on the 7th visit and this never occurred. I have been lied to by Ford and my vehicle still has not been fixed even though it is under warranty. The issue is that they know there is a defect that can't duplicate it so they keep adding air and let me leave the dealership only to return a few days later. Who will stand up for the consumer and make them repair the vehicle?

- Sarasota , FL, USA

problem #5

Sep 152005

Expedition

  • miles
: the contact stated that the tires on the vehicle have cracks all the way around the tread and up the sidewall. The tires were purchased when the vehicle had 88000 miles on it, and the cracks were observed when the vehicle reached 108000 miles. The tires were taken to the service retailer for repair who determined the cracks were a result of normal wear and tear.

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 222005

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Expedition. The safety defect is the tire sensor. The contact states that the faulty sensor light is coming on. The service department turned the light off. The tire sensor light still comes back on while driving on the highway. This makes the third time the service light which says sensor tire keeps coming on.no crashes were involved.this makes 3 times that the sensor light has been turned off.

- San Bernadino , CA, USA

problem #3

May 192004

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles
In May 2004 I purchased a 2004 Ford Expedition XLT 4X4 from crossroads Ford in cary nc. The vehicle odometer reading was 10 miles. The day after the purchase I returned the vehicle and three of the original Continental tires were replaced due to excessive road force. N August 2004 I brought the Expedition back to X-rds Ford for service. A fourth Continental tire was replaced due to excessive road force. I took the Expedition to perry bros. In smithfield nc for service at 11000 miles in November 2004. Perry bros. Told me that two of the Continental tires were worn out. I took the Expedition back to X-rds Ford as soon as possible and they found that all four of the second set of Continental tires showed excessive and unusual tread wear. Crossroads Ford offered me a third set of Continental tires which I declined. I was charged $273 to have a set of Michelin tires put on. I believe that there is some defect in either the Continental tire or Ford Expedition or incompatibility arising therein that is causing this vehicle/tire combination to be dangerous. I understand that people were killed and injured by this same problem about four years ago. I feel that my family and I were placed in jeopardy by Ford and its agent, crossroads Ford.

- Willow Sp., NC, USA

problem #2

Sep 012004

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving steering wheel started shaking uncontrollably inside of the vehicle. Consumer was able to maintain control of the vehicle, and drove it to the dealer for inspection. Mechanic determined that rack and pinion steering and tires needed to be replaced. Consumer informed mechanic that the problem recurred, and had not been resolved.

- Locust Grove, GA, USA

problem #1

May 032004

Expedition

  • 13,000 miles
Intermittently when the vehicle was put into drive, it stalled. Also, air bag warning and tire pressure lights came on. Dealership provided no assistance.

- Marysville, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?