Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,170 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Expedition engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Expedition:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Expedition Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Oct 062009

Expedition

  • 56,261 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. there were no events leading up to the failure. There is no warning that this is going to happen or is happening. Under normal driving conditions, my 2005 Ford Expedition simply lost all power and the words "engine fail safe mode" appeared. 2. this occurred twice (Oct. 6, 2009 and Nov. 16, 2009). I was able to pull to the side of the road both times but during the second incident, I lost the power steering as well and struggled to pull over. The consequences of this "engine fail safe mode" is that the car stops working. You become a sitting duck wherever the car has decided to go into this mode. You are unable to accelerate -not fun when this happened on the freeway the first time-and if you do not lose your power steering, you can pull to the side of the road. 3. the electronic throttle body was replaced for approximately $700. Nowhere in the car manual does it let you know that this code could lead to this repair. I had a hard time figuring out what the code meant using the owner manual. The most frustrating part of this failure is that if this had occurred when I was traveling at 65 mph on the freeway, I probably would not be here to enter this complaint. I would like to prevent this from happening to someone else.

- San Marcos, CA, USA

problem #17

Oct 202009

Expedition

  • 127,000 miles
2005 Ford Expedition 5.4 engine, misfiring 3&5 cylinder. Rough idle. Car has 127,000 miles and since we have had it I had issues with it idling in park and almost at times wanting to stall. Engine has on more than 3 occasions while driving 60-70 mph on the highway become un responsive while driving. Engine would run but no acceleration when the gas pedal was pushed; it was like the car was running in neutral. Indicator light came on showing "engine failure". pulled off the road and restarted car and then it ran fine again. Ford svc dept. Could not replicate the situation when I took it to them, so it was never repaired. (clearly there is a faulty problem) currently car is in the shop replacing all 8 spark plugs, coils and boots. Mechanic indicated a lot of carbon buildup in throttle body. (seems to me possibly some other faulty component could be why I'm having to spend $800 to fully repair my car).

- Venus, TX, USA

problem #16

Oct 302009

Expedition

  • 64,721 miles
2005 Ford Expedition displayed "electronic throttle control failure" message and engine abruptly quit at high speed in traffic on a curved road resulting in a simultaneous loss of power steering and power brakes. This appear to be a common problem for which there has been no safety recall. A failure like this with no mechanical backup for engine throttle control is a serious safety issue.

- Hollywood, MD, USA

problem #15

Oct 102005

Expedition

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford Expedition - engine defaults to "limp home" mode while in traffic. Has occurred twice so far but have been able to negotiate getting off the road. Vehicle has restarted after sitting few minutes.

- Hilton Head Island, SC, USA

problem #14

Oct 012009

Expedition

  • 70,000 miles
While traveling at around 50-60 mph, the vehicle lost power and I pulled over into a parking lot. The dash exhibited a symbol implying the "electronic throttle" was malfunctioning. This is quite dangerous because it occurs while driving down the street with no prior warning. Do not know yet how much repair will be as it occurred today. Noticed on website comments section that this happens frequently with the 2005 Ford Expedition. Want to know what Ford is doing about this.

- Prattville, AL, USA

problem #13

Jun 132009

Expedition

  • 69,890 miles
I recently took my 2005 Ford Expedition for a tune-up at a local shop. The owner of the shop told me that the spark plug in cylinder #4 broke and is stuck in the engine. The safest way to remedy the problem is to take the engine head off to take out the broken spark plug. I did a research on the internet and found that Ford's design of the spark plugs causes the thread to separate from the spark plug itself leading to the breaking of the plugs. There are also instances where the spark plug is ejected from the engine. I tried to file a complaint with Ford Motor Company; however, they refused to call it a defect in their spark plug designs.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #12

May 052009

Expedition

  • 65,120 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on two separate occasions suddenly the check engine throttle control light has come one. Upon safely pulling over and restarting the car the light goes off and apparently the throttle resets. The danger is that when the light comes on the car goes into idle only mode. No accelerating, etc. There is no warning that this is going to happen and no other remedy. The first time I was in a carpool setting idling. The second time I had just gotten off the interstate and was able to pull into a shopping center. This is a major safety concern if it happens on the interstate. I have taken the car in to have a diagnostic evaluation and there is no known cause of the failure. After reading 100S of similar complaints online it is apparent this is a problem for the make and model that needs to be investigated.

- Mountain View, CA, USA

problem #11

Mar 032009

Expedition

  • 35,000 miles
2005 Ford Expedition with error message of 'check electronic throttle control'. it has happened 5 times now. Engine, steering and braking stop working instantly. I have to shut truck off to restart. All times it has happened while going 60-70 miles an hour on highway. Ford has charged me over $1200 to this day for fixes, but nothing has fixed the problem. They also have no answer as to why it keeps recurring. When they hook it up to the computer, they say there are no error codes.

- Capistrano Beach, CA, USA

problem #10

Apr 152009

Expedition

  • 75,000 miles
While driving the car on the highway with children in the vehicle, the engine light came on, message came on about electronic throttle control, and the vehicle lost all functions of steering, braking, and accelerating. There were no warnings before this happened. After taking it to the Ford dealer today, I see on the internet that many many many families are having this same problem with 2005 Ford Expedition. Seeing as the problem creates an immediate safety concern for not only the family in the 2005 Ford Expedition, but all the families traveling around the 2005 Ford Expedition... I feel like the safety board should look into this as a potential recall for 2005 Ford Expedition. Thankfully my family is safe today...but someone's family may not be so lucky.

- Bossier City, LA, USA

problem #9

Mar 152009

Expedition

  • 69,900 miles
While driving my 2005 Ford Expedition (4 separate incidents) down the road, a warning message appears on the message center to "check electronic throttle control". the vehicle loses all acceleration, accelerator does not work, I have to coast to the side of the road, restart the vehicle then it runs fine. Very dangerous, fortunately no one hurt and no damage. But if this would happen on an interstate in the left lane in heavy traffic...?? very scary situation! according to my mechanic and a Ford dealership, they cannot find a cause and no fault codes come up in computer. Suggest possible fix of replacing the throttle body for about $700-800, with no responsibility from Ford.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #8

Mar 042009

Expedition

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Expedition eddie bauer 4X4 - got a throttle control error message, was traveling at about 55 mph in morning rush hour traffic on a major highway (DC/balt) and was lucky not to get slammed into. Vehicle engine died, everything else worked. I shut it all down, turned the key and fired it back up and it is running fine again. It did the same thing about 5 months ago. Ford shows no recalls. My vehicle has been put on a computer and no error codes came up. The computer is reporting nothing. This is very dangerous and other people are reporting the same problem... www.fixya.com/cars/T1061679-electronic_throttle_control_light_came#sameproblemcontinued.

- Westminster, MD, USA

problem #7

Feb 232009

Expedition

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Expedition. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle began to fail and the contact noticed that her speed reduced to 30 mph. She was able to apply the brakes and slow the vehicle down. The vehicle then shut off and took three attempts to restart. The dealer determined that the throttle body disengaged and the vehicle was repaired at the cost of $700. The contact is in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 68,000.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #6

Feb 062009

Expedition

  • 42,900 miles
I have a 2005 Ford Expedition with 42K miles and I was going 30 mph when I lost the gas pedal(power) to my vehicle. Warning light came on and then I pulled to side of road. Lucky I was not hit from behind due to losing power to the engine. Turned vehicle off for a few minutes and then turned back on. No warning light and truck ran fine. Took it to local apple Ford dealer who for $98 tells me I need to spend another $600 to replace electronic throttle body. II have noticed from various internet sites that this is a very common problem with this vehicle and that it can happen at any time. After a long discussion with service manager I decided to decline the repair until I contact Ford and national highway safety board. So far, the truck is still running fine, but I expect it is going to do the same thing again. This is something Ford and/or the federal gov.'t should recall before someone gets killed.

- Glenelg, MD, USA

problem #5

Nov 092008

Expedition

  • 62,000 miles
2005 Ford Expedition eddie bauer. During vehicle operation the engine suddenly dies and a "check electronic fuel control" message comes up on the display. This is extremely dangerous as it occurs while driving on the highway. After the vehicle is pulled over and ignition is turned off the vehicle will restart. This has occurred multiple times in my vehicle. After doing numerous internet searches this seems to be a recurring problem in multiple 2005 Expedition.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #4

Dec 182008

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,746 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Expedition. The vehicle was purchased brand new from the dealer and underwent regularly scheduled maintenance at the same dealer. At 94,000 miles, the engine failed. Whenever the vehicle reached above 30 mph, the vehicle would lunge forward and fail to drive smoothly. The failure occurred only once and the dealer was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The dealer had to tear apart the engine in order to locate the failure. After inspection, the dealer stated that the timing chain tensioner needed to be replaced. The failure was corrected after the timing chain was replaced. The contact stated that the issue should not have occurred to a vehicle with 90,000 miles and less than four years old. The contact paid for all the repairs. The failure mileage was 94,746 and current mileage was 94,900. Updated 02/05/09. Updated 02/10/09.

- Ocean Side, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 012008

Expedition

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that the vehicle stalls and constantly shuts off at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on eight occasions for the failures. In January of 2008, the diagnostic indicated that the throttle body was the cause of the failure and it was replaced. The most recent failure occurred on June 1, 2008 while driving 60 mph. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they stated that the transmission failed. The dealer replaced the transmission. The contact spent $2,400 to repair the vehicle that was purchased new in 2005. The failure mileage was 16,000 and current mileage was 39,000.

- Norwak, CA, USA

problem #2

Feb 152008

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Recurring engine noise which is more noticeable during cold weather. Under load the engine, particularly at 2000 RPM, sounds like there is a manifold leak or a valve ticking. I have been to my dealer twice(out of business) and two other dealers three times with no satisfactory results.

- Smithtown, NY, USA

problem #1

Dec 042007

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
Our 2005 Ford Expedition eddie bauer exhibits the same symptoms as were reported today regarding "camshaft position sensor on Ford 7 ltr engines 1997-2003 - engine shuts down while driving forward, at variable speed: Very slow to highway speeds. Will restart on first try after coming to complete stop. Message panel shows "check throttle linkage" or similar. First occurred around July 07 second time took truck to Ford dealer Aug 11 - they were unable to reproduce problem after testing for several hours (at least that's what the charge said). One month later it happened again, has now increased intermittent to once every 2-3 weeks. Incident dates start approx July 2007 through yesterday 12/05.

- Richmond, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?