Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,842 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Expedition engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Expedition:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Expedition Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Sep 292015

Expedition

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled. On another occasion, the vehicle stalled after the vehicle engine safety mode was initiated while driving approximately 5 mph. The vehicle was restarted but the failure recurred five minutes later. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Millort, AL, USA

problem #24

Mar 172015

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
I was driving about 25-30mph and making a left turn. The vehicle suddenly shut off. I had no power steering or anything. It was totally off and stopped in the middle of the road. If a car had been coming it would have hit us. I was able to turn off the key, put it in park and start it up and pull off the road. I decided to carefully try to get home. On the way home I was stopped at a red light and it shut off again, no warning. I was blocking traffic. I was again able to turn off the key, put it in park, and start it up. I made it home a short distance. This is very dangerous and someone could get killed on a highway by a car randomly shutting off and becoming unsteerable.

- Richland, WA, USA

problem #23

Oct 132011

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Engine shut down at highway speed. Loss of power steering and power brakes. Was able to coast to emergency lane then restart car. Happened two additional times. Took to shop where the throttle body was replaced. No issues since then (~ 1 year ago). Sounds like manufacturer defect. This is a safety issue.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #22

Feb 132014

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated while driving approximately 5 mph, the brakes and accelerator pedal failed. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician was unable to locate a failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 79,000. Updated 09/30/14 updated 2/27/2015

- Spartanburg, SC, USA

problem #21

Aug 012014

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 163,000 miles
As I was slowing down and made a right turn into a parking space, the vehicle accelerated on its own, running over the concrete stop and the curve. The car continued to accelerate and ran head on into a tree that was approximately 10 feet away from the parking space. The driver airbag did not deploy. My car was totaled as a result of this accident.

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #20

Jul 282014

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
The car stalled while turning no warning at 25mph start and shut does it 6 times going home.

- Coeur D Alene, ID, USA

problem #19

Mar 262014

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 74,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the second incident: The fist was about 3 months ago. I was driving down a residential street yesterday when the "fail safe mode" indicator came on and said engine shutting down. Car turns off, cannot steer. Very dangerous. I was on a residential street and was able to pull off. Turned the car off for a few minutes and it started and I drove to work, but the engine light remained on. I took it to an auto parts store who ran it and it came up as throttle body forces immediate idle. Which is exactly what the 10 pages on complaints on carcomplaints.com said it would say - however information on that site also said it's actually the fuel pump modulator, but the computer did not indicate that at all. There were almost 60 complaints of the same situations - when I pulled out into traffic today the car 'hesitated' and did not accelerate correctly. The first incident occurred on a major highway - and again I was lucky enough to be in the right lane and was able to pull over. This defect is going to cause an injury or even death and it needs to be recalled and corrected. I will be contacting Ford corporate; but with the recent incidents with GM I would hate to see an accident or fatality occur when Ford and others are aware of this problem. Obviously I have to get this fixed, I'm hoping my Ford dealer will work with me, but I have a 4 year old so time is of the essence and I'm guessing money will be too. Regardless of Ford's corporate response, I will be contacting the media. This is a safety issue and is unacceptable that Ford is not taking responsibility.

- Holiday, FL, USA

problem #18

Feb 282014

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
I was driving around 46mph, and in the middle of driving, my truck cut off for around 5 seconds. I almost got by the truck behind me. My truck kicked back on by itself, all why I was driving. I was so terrified the truck behind almost rear ended me.

- Fresno, TX, USA

problem #17

Jun 162013

Expedition

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the fail safe mode warning light illuminated as the vehicle independently decelerated and stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, who stated that the throttle body would need cleaning. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred several months later. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, who stated that the entire throttle body would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacture was contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 96,000.

- Locust Grove, GA, USA

problem #16

Oct 132013

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
Vehicle simply shuts off at any time and shows 'engine fail safe mode'. this has happened approximately 15 times since we bought the vehicle (used) in March 2012 (most recently on 10/13). I have researched this online and many other owners have the same complaint. We replaced the tps at a cost of around $300 as a possible fix and this worked for about 6 months - now the problem is back and my research indicates we need to have the throttle body replaced. This will cost us around $500 - for a total repair cost of around $800 - which we cannot afford! Ford has literally $hundreds of millions to take care of this and must recall due to this issue - there is no excuse to allow this dangerous problem to continue. Ford Motor Co. Owes me $800 due to their poor engineering and unwillingness to solve this issue - they are greedy crooks.

- Centre Hall, PA, USA

problem #15

Nov 072012

Expedition

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the engine stalled and the warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was restarted and resumed normally. The failure occurred four times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis. The trouble codes detected a faulty throttle body. The vehicle had not bee repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000.

- Long Beach , CA, USA

problem #14

Mar 012010

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated while driving and depressing the brakes in order to stop the vehicle, it accelerated. Recently, the contact began to drive in reverse out of a parking space and the vehicle accelerated and crashed into another vehicle. The police were notified but a report was not filed. There were no injuries associated with the crash. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer nor an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 49,000. The current mileage was approximately 69,000.

- Dale City, VA, USA

problem #13

Nov 092011

Expedition

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that while attempting to stop at a traffic stop, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the throttle body was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 85,000 and the current mileage was 94,000.

- Tuscumbia, AL, USA

problem #12

Sep 232012

Expedition

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact was traveling 55 mph when the engine fail safe mode warning light illuminated, causing the vehicle to loose power. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was told that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The VIN was not available. The failure and the current mileages were 113,000.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #11

Jan 152012

Expedition

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that the vehicle decelerated and entered into fail safe mode while driving 55 mph. The vehicle would not accelerate further once it entered fail safe mode. The contact shut the vehicle off and upon restart, the vehicle operated as normal. The failure recurred once. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 103,000. Updated 8/23/12 updated 09/06/2012

- Greenwood, AR, USA

problem #10

Feb 022012

Expedition

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled numerous times with the illumination of the check engine light after the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and a diagnostic was performed, which located the failure at the throttle body. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 88,000.

- Maineville, OH, USA

problem #9

Jan 052012

Expedition 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,280 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph on the highway, the vehicle unexpectedly stalled. An engine fail safe light also began to illuminate on the instrument panel. Both the dealer and manufacturer were notified, but denied any assistance with repairs of the failure. The vehicle was on 01/06/12 at the contact's expense. The approximate failure and current mileages were 86,280. The throttle body and motor assembly were replaced. Updated 06/27/12

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #8

Dec 072011

Expedition

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph the vehicle went into engine fail safe mode and stalled with warning. The vehicle was left with brakes, but the vehicle would no longer accelerate and loss power steering. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and it was determined that the throttle actuator sensor failed on the vehicle. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage and current mileages were 150,000.rl

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #7

Nov 262011

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
While driving my 2006 Ford Expedition eddie bauer, the engine completely shuts off. Sometimes while sitting idle and other times while driving 70 mph on the interstate. Tonight, within 1 hour this happened about 15 times where the engine cut off, I lost power steering, had to roll over to the shoulder, turn the key off and back on to restart...sometimes it would take up to 10 minutes to restart. I was lucky we were not hit from behind. I have 2 kids in carseats still that could have been injured. Research online reveals that I am not alone. This is a very dangerous defect that could get somebody killed.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #6

Mar 042011

Expedition

  • 50,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Expedition. The contact was driving 30 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure would recur sporadically when traveling at various speeds. The vehicle was able to be restarted and was taken to the dealer who repaired the throttle body and motor assembly, stating that the vehicle had engaged in fail-safe mode. The manufacturer was contacted and a complaint was filed but no further assistance was provided. The current mileage was approximately 51,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 50,500.

- Johns Creek, GA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?