Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
91,495 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Expedition fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Expedition:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Expedition Owner Comments

problem #17

Jan 212016


  • 170,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Ford Expedition. While attempting to start the vehicle, it failed to start. The contact stated that there was an abnormal fuel odor coming from the vehicle. The contact was able to manually move the vehicle forward and noticed that there was a fuel leak under the vehicle. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V0570000 (fuel system, gasoline). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 170,000.

- Pelham, GA, USA

problem #16

Dec 152015


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that while parked, the vehicle was not able to start. The failure occurred constantly. An independent mechanic diagnosed the vehicle and discovered that wires connected to fuel pump had melted and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Ringwood, NJ, USA

problem #15

Nov 102015


  • 108,689 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that while the A/C activated, there was a fuel odor entering the vehicle. In addition, the contact noticed that there was fuel leaking and both rear doors did not open. The contact stated in order to open the doors, the driver unlock button would had to be depressed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V057000 (fuel system, gasoline). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 108,689.

- Decater, GA, USA

problem #14

Aug 252015


  • 97,500 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Ford Expedition. While the vehicle was parked, the contact noticed a strong fuel odor coming from the front passenger side. While driving the vehicle, the contact noticed the smell of fuel in the vehicle and the fuel miles per gallon dropped. After further inspection of the engine, the contact noticed that fuel was leaking from the fuel rail on the engine. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 97,500...updated 02/01/16

- Mansfield, TX, USA

problem #13

Apr 122015


  • 90,000 miles
I purchased a 2007 Expedition a couple of years ago with 67000 miles. I've been having several issues with it but I figured it was just because it was a used vehicle. I maintain my car very well getting all of the service it needs done. On 4/12/15 I was in the car with my two daughters and it just stopped in the middle of the road without warning. This was an extremely dangerous situation and we all we very afraid. Luckily the car behind us was not too close and was able to prevent a very serious accident. I am being told that the problem is related to the fuel pump. I filed a complaint with Ford on 4/15/15. All I was given was an apology and told that there was nothing that they could do at this time. Little did I know that there would be a major recall just yesterday, 4/29, for the same issue with their newer vehicles. I also see an outstanding number of complaints about this with the same version of my 2007 vehicle. I guess that Ford is waiting for someone to die before they recall this issue. I am extremely upset about this and will not stop over turning options until Ford does something to fit my vehicle.

- New Orleans , LA, USA

problem #12

Sep 062014


  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Expedition. While driving approximately 55 mph, the engine stalled and the engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle failed to restart and was towed to an independent mechanic. The mechanic stated that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 114,000. Updated 10/23/14 updated 4/13/2015

- New Salem, MA, USA

problem #11

Aug 122013


  • 103,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that while at a stop light, the vehicle stalled with the illumination of the check engine light. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis where it was stated that the fuel pump assembly wires were burned. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 103,000.

- Bonaire, GA, USA

problem #10

Jul 212013


  • 108,000 miles
Truck turned on fine in the morning. I went to run an errand came back and gauge said 50 miles to empty and figured I would gas up later. We were about to go to dinner and the truck wouldn't turn on. Mechanic has said it is the fuel pump. For a week we can not locate a fuel pump. We contacted Ford corporate and all they can say is "go pay $401 for a new one and then we can see what we can do to expedite". yet dealer says they have a back order and do not know if its going to be late August or early September before part is even available. Now we are sitting and paying for a vehicle we can not drive! like spark plugs were a big enough problem!

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #9

Jul 172013

Expedition 8-cyl

  • miles
While driving my 2007 Ford Expedition el limited home from a dentist appointment with my four children, my SUV suddenly stopped with no warning. I tried several times to restart vehicle with no success, it just wouldn't turn over. I had SUV towed to a local repair shop to determine what the problem was. I was told the fuel pump was shorted and had electrically burned inside my fuel tank. This really worried me since fire and gas do not mix very well! all I could think is if 28 gallons of fuel were to ignite, it would seem to me that this is serious issue. Tried to get my SUV repaired and was told part was on back order till September or October. This tells me that there must be a serious issue with this part. This is my only vehicle at that. Read multiple stories of consumers with issues all most exactly like mine. I am a concerned consumer and parent, and do not want something unfortunate to happen do to a faulty part.

- Hazel Green, AL, USA

problem #8

May 312013


  • 86,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the engine stalled with the illumination of the warning indicator. The engine failed to restart and the vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer. The technician stated that the failure was contributed to a faulty fuel pump. A repair was not performed due to the part being on a massive back order. The expected date for the part was August of 2013. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 86,500.

- Rosenberg, TX, USA

problem #7

May 022013

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles


Two weeks ago I was driving down the highway at 55 mph. All of a sudden the car just shut off. I had to coast to the side of the road. It was very hard to steer. Had to have car towed since it wouldn't start. Come to find out the fuel pump had melted. There is no fuel pump to be found! we have tried all the dearlships in the area and even contacted Ford. They don't care that the truck is down and that we were told it would be August before a part would be available. I drive a big truck for a big family.

- Osceola, IN, USA

problem #6

May 022013

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 111,524 miles
Ok, here is the story. A week ago the fuel pump went out on my wife's car. After just one google search I found out that this was an ongoing problem and that many people had this happen with the pump. Most people were finding that one of the leads going to the fuel pump was getting hot and melting... melting inside the fuel tank!!! sound like a problem? so I have it towed to the local shop to have it repaired. One day later the guy from the shop calls me and says hey man we got a problem, the fuel pump is currently not available for your car, and that he had called Ford and they had informed him that they found a problem with the pump and pulled it out of production until 7-22-13 but would not be available until 9-13. He said that he had scoured the web and found out that this was a problem showing up just now because the cars with the faulty fuel pump were now getting some miles on them. I called the big Ford office and they basically told me tough luck. So a company that big has recognized that there is a problem with the fuel pump, pulled it out of production, have not issued a recall, and telling me tough luck! I need help, this is the only family car we have and we have 5 kids. This is beyond bad business and imo not acceptable. Any help would be much appreciated. I also have pictures of the unit if anybody would like to see them just shoot me a email @ [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bear Creek , NC, USA

problem #5

Mar 042013

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Throttle stuck wide open, power exceeded brakes ability to stop. Released by violently pressing accelerator repeatedly. Vehicle equipped with adjustable brake/gas pedals. Determined occurs when pedals are set in the lowest most position. There was no carpet or floor mat interference!! can duplicate at will.

- Chelsea, MI, USA

problem #4

Mar 082013

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 72,052 miles
I started the vehicle and moved it from the back yard to front and left vehicle running while I loaded some items into it. While loading the vehicle shut off automatically. I attempted to start vehicle several time before finally having it towed. Mechanic advised fuel pump inside my tank was melted. Repair cost of $500. After seeing several of these complaints this should be a recall for safety issues how can an electrical problem become hot enough in a tank of gas to melt"???" VIN [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #3

Feb 132012


  • 62,560 miles
Gas burps out of filler tube upon fueling. You must always hold fuel pump handle and manually pump fuel and listen for gas to be almost full to stop. Otherwise gas will spew out down side of vehicle and persons pumping gas. This happens on almost every fill up across all gas stations in central fl.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #2

Sep 202011

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
When fueling every time. The pump auto shut off clicks and about a quart of fuel burps out of the fill all over the ground, the side of the truck and whoever happens to be standing next to the fill. Complaint made to dealer(s). No solutions. Dealer(s) blame faulty pump equipment. Cant be all of the pumps from Florida to New York.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #1

Jun 052012

Expedition 8-cyl

  • 76,590 miles
I went to pick my son up from drivers ed and we were leaving the parking lot and the vehicle died. I waited a little and then restarted it and it started but it was rough. I then continued to drive my way back home and it was driving rough and no lights came on indicating I had a problem. I was driving down the road and it died again so I had to just let it coast to get off the street. Luckily I was able to coast into delon and son's second driveway (repair shop). I waited for them to come help and when the repair man came out he was able to start it and told me he was going to run some test on it to see what would have caused it. After 2hrs he came and said that it indicated it was the fuel pump, but that it showed it fixed itself so he wanted to test drive it before I would go home......well not even two minutes after he left his coworker came in and said that he just broke down in my vehicle. So he bumped under the tank and it started back up. So this to him indicated that it was for sure the fuel pump. I left it for them to fix it and when it was done he called me and told me that.....I was very lucky that it didn't explode because the wires were melted on the fuel pump and he himself said that he was lucky since he test drove it as well. I doubt Ford would pay for this fuel pump failure it seems to be a common problem when you look on-line. My total bill for this was $790 ouch :( considering we are in the process of adopting a child.

- Alvin, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?