Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,768 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Expedition wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Expedition:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Expedition Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Nov 022016

Expedition

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The tire began making a squishing noise as it rotated. Over time it became worse. Then one morning we found it flat. We took it off to put the spare tire on. At that time we observed 9 separations of the sidewall of the tire, one with cord showing through it. During its life, the tire was rotated routinely and was always kept at the vehicle manufacturers recommended pressure. It was manufactured in February of 2011.

- Davidsonville, MD, USA

problem #22

Oct 092009

Expedition

  • 40,000 miles
The third time a valve stem cracked and leaked while driving on my 2007 Ford Expedition.

- Glastonbury, CT, USA

problem #21

Sep 042009

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,817 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Expedition with pirelli str scorpion, P255/70/R18 tires. While driving 20 mph the driver side rear and front tires blew-out. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the pirelli str scorpion tires were replaced at an expense of $529. Ten days after the repair the passenger side rear tire blew-out. The tire was replaced at an expense of $238. The manufacturer was notified, but no assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 20,817. The current mileage was 21,400. Updated 11/09/09.

- Shorts Hills, NJ, USA

problem #20

Jul 032009

Expedition

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In July we had a tire get punctured with a rock, we had that plugged. The same tire 3 weeks later got punctured with another rock and we had to replace the tire. In Sept. We had a rock puncture another tire. We had to replace the tire. We have two other cars and have never had this problem. We do not feel this is "bad luck" with tires. We think the tires that were on the SUV when we bought it are faulty, yes we have our tires rotated like we are suppose to and the truck only has 23,000 miles on it.

- Sanford, NC, USA

problem #19

Jul 272009

Expedition

  • 24,363 miles
My 2007 Ford Expedition experienced an immediate loss of tire pressure on one tire while on the freeway on 27-July 2009 that resulted in the tire becoming immediately deflated and ruined. Elder Ford (troy, Michigan) informed me of a faulty tire valve issue that Ford Motor Company is aware of, but has not issued a recall. The dealer found all valves on my 2007 Expedition were cracked and replaced all valves but the spare tire, which they stated they were not allowed to check or replace. A conversation with their customer service department on 31-July leads me to believe Ford Motor Company has a very large and costly safety problem they do not want to deal with due to the economic times. Remember the Firestone/Explorer fiasco?

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #18

Apr 112009

Expedition

  • 12,000 miles
NHTSA said that there is not a safty concern that the valve stems on certin Ford cars are splitting. They have closed the investigation April 9, 2009. That's great, except that on April 11, 2009 one of our valve stems blow out while we were driving on a mountain highway. There was no warning and the tire shredded. 2 18 wheelers had to do all kinds of moves to avoid hitting us. The one nearly did. The tire was completely shredded and we could hardly get far enough off the highway to put on the spare. With three small kids in the car, it was very scary. The on April 25th, 2009, it happened to the other front tire while we were on a trip. When inspecting the two back valves, they were barley holding on. We were in the middle of nowhere and nothing was opened for help.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #17

Jun 212009

Expedition

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My tire valve failed on my 2007 Ford Expedition. Two days after the dealer did the "visual inspection" on the faulty valve stems that have been know to have problems but have not yet been recalled by Ford. This is the second tire that has failed on this vehicle! both happened at freeway speeds nearly causing an accident due to tires running flat. Ford needs to do more than just inspecting these faulty valve stems. Their "visual inspection" will not prevent potentially fatal accidents.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #16

Apr 292009

Expedition

  • 22,000 miles
The rubber valve stems on the tires cracked resulting in loss of tire pressure.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #15

Apr 092009

Expedition

  • 18,855 miles
I have experience 3 valve stem failures on Continental Contitrac TR tires; model P265/70R17 113S on a 2007 Ford Expedition. The valve stems apparently are the chinese model TR-414 stems that have been discussed in several automotive newspaper columns. Today (6/9/09) I received a letter from Ford Motor Company notifying vehicle owners about this problem. The Ford representative said since this is not a recall, there is no provision for monetary reimbursement to vehicle owners who have had the valve stems replaced. I believe this is a safety issue and NHTSA should consider a mandated recall for all tires using these poorly mgf. Valve stems. My stem leakage problems have occurred on April 9, April 23 and June 9, 2009. I have rotated my tires every 3000 miles and they have approx. 21620 miles wear. Fortunately I have a tire pressure monitoring system that alerted me to the problems before the tires went completely flat or before I was stranded on the highway.

- Palatine, IN, USA

problem #14

Mar 192009

Expedition

  • 18,680 miles
My tire failed on my 2007 Ford Expedition el mileage 18000, tires are the original/factory installed pirelli scorpion P255/70R18. The tire went flat at freeway speed and the sidewall is now damaged beyond repair. Under further investigation I find that the tire does not have any puncture and it is a cracked valve stem that is causing the leak. Even with the sidewall damage the tire takes air and the only leak is coming from the leaking valve steam. The Ford dealer will be replacing the tire at my cost. I feel this is a manufacturer issue and know there is a recall on these and Ford should be replacing the tire for free and checking all other valves on the vehicle. I spoke with clay at tech international and he explained that Ford has not recalled these tires but tech international has recalled "after market" tire replacements. Ford needs to take immediate action on this to prevent any future failures that could lead to serious accidents. Luckily my failure did not cause an accident because it was a rear tire and I was able to pull over the vehicle, preventing an accident but I did begin to loose control.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #13

Dec 172008

Expedition

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tires in my 2007 Ford Expedition regularly lose air. Local tire shop didn't locate leak in tire. Tires wearing unevenly over time and now must replace all four after 30K miles. Upon removing tire and tire shop inspecting, they noticed cracks in valve stems. Bought four new tires.

- Palm City, FL, USA

problem #12

Dec 132008

Expedition

  • miles
Air valve stems are breaking on all 4 tires, I keep losing air pressure and Ford says they wont compensate---I only have 7,000 mi.

- Franklin Square, NY, USA

problem #11

Nov 242008

Expedition

  • 27,711 miles
Heard a hissing noise when I got in my car this morning. Noticed a valve stem was cracked on back tire (drivers side). Went directly to tire company.. had to stop numerous times on the way to put air in the tire because the crack was getting bigger. When I arrived at the tire company, the valve snapped and the tire went flat in a matter of seconds. The tire company examined my vehicle and stated that 2 other valves were cracked. I had to replace 3 valve stems today.

- Jefferson, GA, USA

problem #10

Nov 052008

Expedition

  • 23,000 miles
Was driving my 2007 Ford Expedition on highway when low tire pressure light came on. Exited hgwy @ next exit & checked all tires & added air to left front tire which was low & proceeded on to airport approx. 10-15 mins away. After driving approx. 10 mins after stopping I was fighting truck pulling left on interstate. When I arrived curbside at the airport, I exited the vehicle to find that the left front tire was almost completely flat & was separating ready to have a blow out. The tire was changed out for the spare & upon arriving back home, my husband & I inspected the tire for any foreign object in tread only to find none & then told my husband of the news story about faulty valve stems but no recall issued. So with the bad tire full of air laying in driveway he touched the valve & the air started rushing out. We have the issue with the valve stem that you are investigating. We do not know if any of the remaining tires are ok or not as the truck is to be taken to Ford tomorrow. We do not feel we should have to buy any tires as I did what I was suppose to do & the stem failed causing me to ruin a good tire and will have to have not 1 but 2 new tires. Please help us consumers fight for all the money we spend trying to buy american & support our country with hard earned money. Someone could die as a result of their pig headedness.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #9

Sep 112008

Expedition

  • 9,900 miles
Have a 2007 Ford Expedition and had to replace one tire because of flat on the highway that ruined the tire. I've had two more flats that resulted in tire damage and have to replace them when I get the money. We could not find the problem of the first tire, until a friend of mine told me about Ford having problems with valve stems. Called Ford and dealerships where I bought vehicle and they do not want to help me at all. Tires have less than 10,000 miles on them. Im going to be out over $600 dollars for there mistake. Im going ahead and replacing the other tire and stem for me and my family safety. Please help with this problem.

- Gallatin , TN, USA

problem #8

Oct 062008

Expedition

  • 10,952 miles
On 7-21-08 my front pass. Tire went flat and had to be replaced. The valve stem was leaking. Ford replaced the tire under my warranty. On 10-02-08 my rear drivers side tire went flat due to the valve stem leaking, only the valve stem had to replaced, but Ford would not fix it under my warranty, the repair cost was $21. On 10-06-08 my rear pass. Tire was low and the cause was again a leaking valve stem. Since Ford stated that this was not under my warranty I went to allen tire and had all four valve stems replaced at a cost of $101.65.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #7

Sep 082008

Expedition

  • miles
My Ford 07 Expedition has a ongoing problem w/ a tire losing air. Ford has looked at it 3 times and the 3rd time say they fixed it with a patch on a small hole. The tire still leaks air and the air sensor goes off every 4-5 days.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #6

Aug 022008

Expedition

  • 20,000 miles
On August 2, 2008 we had rapid air loss in our left rear tire. I got it to a tire place and the valve was broken. They said they never seen a valve break on a new vehicle. A 2007 Ford Expedition. I was lucky for the air pressure warning system. I was on the freeway. After seeing all the talk about valve problems I am now worried about my other tires.

- Wayne, MI, USA

problem #5

Oct 172008

Expedition

  • 18,000 miles
2007 Ford Expedition valve stem on car had a leak. Tire is ruined as while she was driving the air leaked out of the tire causing it to go low and the sidewall being damaged.

- Costa Mesa, CA, USA

problem #4

Aug 102008

Expedition

  • miles
2007 Ford Expedition, from August 2008 to October 2008, on four different occasions each a different tire, low tire pressure indicator came on. Spare tire was put on, flat tire taken to Ford dealer, valve stem replaced.

- Magnolia, DE, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?