Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,893 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Ford Explorer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Ford Explorer Owner Comments

problem #9

Feb 282006

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford Explorer 1998 date 8-3-06 I have had this car for three years. I have never had any major or minor problems. I have regular required maintenance done (example) fluid changes and brakes. Early February. I noticed around November 2005, my cruise control stopped working. I didn't take it to be checked; I didn't think it was a big issue. I noticed when starting my car, the battery sounded weak. I took the car to ntb to have the battery checked. The battery was bad and was replaced with the exide 72 month battery. I had never the battery replaced. Ntb installed the new battery on February 5, 2006. I drive this car to and from work regularly, about 12 miles. On February 28, 2006, leaving work heading home, I stopped at the grocery store about 1 mile from my house. I left the store and went home. After turning the engine off approximately 5 minutes later standing on my porch, I noticed heavy white smoke coming from under my hood behind the battery area. I ran to my car and opened the door and released the hood. When I raised the hood, I saw the heavy smoke coming from what appeared to be near the wiring in front of the master cylinder. I ran in the house to call 911 and get a fire extinguisher. When I went back to the car under hood area was fully involved in flames. The fire department arrived and extinguished the fire. After hearing and reading the reports about the cruise control switch, I really think this is exactly what happened to my vehicle.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #8

Feb 282006

Explorer 4WD 8-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Ford Explorer 1998 date 8-3-06 I've had this car for three years. I've never had any major or minor problems. I have regular required maintenance done (example) fluid changes and brakes. Early February. I noticed around November 2005, my cruise control stopped working. I didn't take it to be checked; I didn't think it was a big issue. I noticed when starting my car, the battery sounded weak. I took the car to ntb to have the battery checked. The battery was bad and was replaced with the exide 72 month battery. I had never the battery replaced. Ntb installed the new battery on February 5, 2006. I drive this car to and from work regularly, about 12 miles. On February 28, 2006, leaving work heading home, I stopped at the grocery store about 1 mile from my house. I left the store and went home. After turning the engine off approximately 5 minutes later standing on my porch, I noticed heavy white smoke coming from under my hood behind the battery area. I ran to my car and open the door and released the hood. When I raised the hood, I saw the heavy smoke coming from what appeared to be near are in front of the wiring in front of the master cylinder. I ran in the house to call 911 and get a fire extinguisher. When I went back to the car under hood area was fully involved in flames. The fire department arrived and extinguished the fire. After hearing and reading the reports about the cruise control switch, I really think this is exactly what happened to my vehicle.

- University City, MO, USA

problem #7

Oct 121998

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
Vehicle would not start. Vehicle was taken to the dealer, and dealer indicated that battery was leaking acid.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #6

May 202002

Explorer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,037 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a problem with the battery discharging. Also the engine was stalling. I had to take the vehicle to the shop 4 times, and finally they changed the thermostat. The battery has started discharging again

- Berkeley, CA, USA

problem #5

Feb 122002

(reported on)

Explorer 4WD

  • miles
The dealer installed a new battery and four days later, the battery went dead.

- Boston, NY, USA

problem #4

Feb 122002

(reported on)

Explorer 4WD

  • miles
The dealer installed a new battery and four days later, the battery went dead.

- Boston, NY, USA

problem #3

Jul 022001

Explorer 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It started with the rear driver window intermittently not working. Then the lock drop down inside door making the door unable to unlock and open. Also engine stalled. Took to the dealer. They fixed the door but couldn't find anything wrong with the engine or the window. Window worked for them. Brought the truck home that night and while I was driving it the battery light on the dash when on and the battery gauge started fluctuating to the "H" and finally held there. Turned truck off and let sit and everything went back to normal. Didn't reacurr for a couple of days but then started up again. ABS light also started coming on and outside temp gauge started to go crazy. Also engine idle started to surge as the battery gauge surged. This was on a weekend. Took truck back to dealer. They couldn't make it do any of these things. They kept it for 5 days and drove it. Still nothing. They decided to look at the electrical system and found the maxi fuse and wiring system burnt. I asked if it could have caught fire and they said no. However I looked at your web site under consumer complaints and found the several people have complained that their Explorer had caught fire because of the wiring harness. Some of these Explorer were not running at the time of the fire and were parked in a garge. The dealer did replace the fuse and wiring harness however it took 11/2 weeks to get the parts in because they were backordered. Obviously there is a problem with the wiring systems. I also park mine in a garge. I am now worried and afraid to park it in the garge. I have two small children and their safety is my first concern.

- Phoenixville, PA, USA

problem #2

Feb 011999

(reported on)

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Battery failed.

- Santa Barb, CA, USA

problem #1

Nov 011997

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On two occasions vehicle stopped running while driving, due to battery failure. On another occasion the vehicle stopped running due to a short in the instrument panel.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?