Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
44 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
84 / 7
Average Mileage:
1,938 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Ford Explorer wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Ford Explorer Owner Comments (Page 7 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #218

Sep 012000

Explorer 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

All 4 of the Firestone Wilderness AT tires P255/70R16 dot vncu have cracks between the sidewalls and the tread part of the tires, Firestone would only prorate 4 of the tires because they were not part of the recall.

- Bellmore, NY, USA

problem #217

Aug 112000

Explorer

  • miles
Consumer took vehilce to be inspected to see if the tires were included in the Firestone recall notice, upon inspection by the dealer consumer was told that code edhl meant vehicle was not include but upon self inspection at home consumer saw that the tires were plainly marked vdhl, which was the proper code and recall identification. Nlm

- Unknown, UN, USA

problem #216

Jul 302000

Explorer

  • miles
I own four wilderness tires w ith the vd mark, the recalled tires; the tire shredded and I had to bring the vehicle to a stop which resulted in riding on the right front tire rim. The rim became jagged and it cost $175 to get it smoothed out. I am requesting a replacement of rim in addition to replacement of all tires on the Explorer. I am also requesting a refund of $175 for having the rim repaired.( dot number: Vd tire size: P235/75R15 )

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #215

Sep 252000

(reported on)

Explorer

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tires were inflated to 22lbs. Because I complained about road noise. I had put the pressure @ 28. Tires came back @ 22. I have complained to Firestone and Ford and both tell me to contact each other. The tires are now @ 28. I have asked both if the tires have been degraded and again both tell me to go to the other. I'm at a lose.( dot number: Tire size: 16 )

- West Covina, CA, USA

problem #214

Sep 252000

(reported on)

Explorer

  • miles
Tires were inflated to 22lbs. Because I complained about road noise. I had put the pressure @ 28. Tires came back @ 22. I have complained to Firestone and Ford and both tell me to contact each other. The tires are now @ 28. I have asked both if the tires have been degraded and again both tell me to go to the other. I'm at a lose.( dot number: Tire size: 16 )

- West Covina, CA, USA

problem #213

Sep 062000

Explorer

  • miles
I was driving on a highway going through the middle of town. There are numerous stoplights so I was only going about 30mph. At this time, my car began pulling to the right. I pulled over expecting a flat tire. What I discovered was a flat right front tire; however, the steel cable threads were showing through where the tread was wearing off. The entire tire had begun to come off the rim. The front left tire was also showing signs of the same problem--the tread was coming off and you could see the steel wire cable coming through.( dot number: Tire size: 225-70-15 )

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #212

Sep 062000

Explorer

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on a highway going through the middle of town. There are numerous stoplights so I was only going about 30mph. At this time, my car began pulling to the right. I pulled over expecting a flat tire. What I discovered was a flat right front tire; however, the steel cable threads were showing through where the tread was wearing off. The entire tire had begun to come off the rim. The front left tire was also showing signs of the same problem--the tread was coming off and you could see the steel wire cable coming through.( dot number: Tire size: 225-70-15 )

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #211

Sep 012000

Explorer

  • miles
The right front tire developed cracking all around the circumference of the tire at the treadline. I removed the tire and installed the spare. Firestone dealer told me the tire is unsafe but ats from wilson plant are not recalled.( dot number: W2H1 tire size: P235/75R15 )

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #210

Jun 201999

Explorer 4WD

  • miles
I am a certified master a.S.E. automotive college instructor. I know how to properly inflate and rotate my tires. One of the tires on my Ford Explorer began to give me trouble when I tried to balance it. No matter how I tried, it would not ride smoothe after I balanced it. I finally gave up and placed it on the rear of the vehicle and did not rotate it in the normal rotation pattern for about a year. On Sept. 1st, your consumer advisory made me think about my familys safety and I decided to replace all of my firestones with another brand of tire. This is my decision. I have watched the tire hearings on T.V. and have received the "alls O.K. with your tires" letter from Ford. But, its my life that rides on my tires. If you would care to inspect my tires I will be glad to surrender them to your Agency in order that you can see for yourself a defective Firestone P255/70R16 wilderness tire. Thank you for listening to me.( dot number: W2 tire size: P255/70R16 )

- Alpena, MI, USA

problem #209

Sep 212000

Explorer 4WD

  • miles
All 4 tires are cracked at the tread base, no failures have occurred, but appear to be immenent in time. These tires are not part of the recall but should be.( dot number: Vnhl1py387 tire size: P235/75R15 )

- Granbury, TX, USA

problem #208

Jun 182000

Explorer 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 6/18/2000 our 1998 Ford Explorer with Firestone blow-out or a tread problewilderness at tires went out of control after making a sharp steering maneuver to avoid another car. Our vehicle subsequently rolled over (we were told) six times. We do not believe there was a tire M, but what we suspect happened is debeading of the tires. We have read your 130 page report from July 1999 entitled "an experimental examination of selected maneuvers that may induce on-road untripped, light vehicle rollovers - phase II of NHTSA's 1997-1998 vehicle rollover research program". we are concerned that with the amount of emphasis currently being placed on the blow-out/tread problem, that this other problem of tire debeading is being ignored. We have pictures of our vehicle from after the accident that show the tires separated from the rims (debeaded). We would be eager to discuss our rollover accident further in an attempt to help prevent further horrible accidents of this nature. If you have any further information that will help us understand the nature of our accident, we would be very appreciative. We are not sure at this point if we have enough information to proceed legally against either the vehicle or tire manufacturer.( dot number: Tire size: 15in )

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #207

Jul 202000

Explorer 4WD

  • miles
Tread separation & cracking at 2 years & 20,000 miles.. possible recall item ?( dot number: W2cu1px tire size: P255/70/16 )

- Hackettstown, NJ, USA

problem #206

Aug 012000

Explorer

  • miles
The 2 front tires on my Ford Explorer had steel cord showing through them at 38,00 miles I took the car to big O to have the tires replaced the informed me that the tires did not match the dot code that Firestone is recalling but the new tires could not be put on the car without having the wheel barrings repacked. I don't know if Ford has had problems with the front wheel assemby on the Explorer or if the Firestone tires are to blame but I would appreciate any information you can give me. I am afraid of the car now and I am out $547 on a car that I still consider to be new for these problems.( dot number: W2hl tire size: P235/75R15 )

- Clearlake, CA, USA

problem #205

Apr 201999

Explorer

  • miles
Took seat belt to be repaired 3 or 4 times and ended up being ordered and wrecked before getting it replaced. Tire on right rear shredded and front right and left rear blewout. It was a rollover accident front to rear and side rollover and airbags didn't come out. My 5 1/2 year old daughter was thrown and killed in the wreck.( dot number: )

- Travelersrest, SC, USA

problem #204

Jul 222000

Explorer 4WD

  • miles
The right front tire blew out while driving on an interstate in NJ. I lost control of the vehicle, and side-swiped a road sign. The vehicle had over $6300 in repairs. Please feel free to contact me for more information.( dot number: Vdhl tire size: P235/75R15 )

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #203

Sep 212000

(reported on)

Explorer

  • miles
On Monday 8/21/00 while having scheduled maintenance performed on my '98 Ford Explorer, I was informed that the tires on my Explorer were tires that had been recalled by Firestone(P235/75R15 Firestone Wilderness AT with a dot code of vdhlipy368). Hester trucking, Inc & tire service(hesterS tire co.) the business performing the service offered a selection of tires. I called 1-800-465-1904 and spoke with Firestone representatives, jason miller and david alvalbalos. They informed me that I could have the Firestone tires replaced with any brand that I selected and Firestone would reimburse me up to $100 per tire. We had a set of michelins installed. Reynold hester (manager at hester's tire service 910-863-3149) did not have the forms needed to request a refund from Firestone. I was told that the forms would be available on Tuesday 8/22. I returned to the hester's tire co. Tuesday evening to find that no forms were available. I contacted the tire wholesaler that does business with hester's tire(1-800-237-7479, zee westbrook and jeff), they informed me that a shipment of recalled Firestone tires had been shipped to them from hester's tires and that the tires that I had replaced were probably in that shipment. I contacted the Ford dealership where I purchased the Explorer, (lafayette Ford, service manager paula) she informed me that they did not have forms and that I should contact a Firestone dealer. I contacted Firestone dealers in fayetteville nc, lumberton nc.(blacks tire service) and in tar heel nc (allenS tire service) and was informed that I should contact a Ford dealer.

- Bladenboro, NC, USA

problem #202

Sep 202000

(reported on)

Explorer

  • miles
Firestone tire delaminated and the Explorer went out of control and rolled over numerous times. All 4 occupants sustained severe back and neck injuries.( dot number: W2hl tire size: P235/75R15 )

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #201

Jun 172000

Explorer 4WD

  • miles
After taking my Explorer in to the Firestone dealer in mesa, he replaced the 2 rear tires and spare. He inspected the other tires and said they were fine. He placed the front tires onto the rear and placed the new tires on the front. 3000 miles later w( dot number: Vdhl1py068 tire size: P235/75R15 )

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #200

Jul 242000

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving the consumer braked the vehicle, upon braking the Firestone ATX tires on the left hand side of the vehicle exploded causing the vehicle to go into a tail spin and rollover, injury to consumer as a result of tire failure.

- Harker Heights, TX, USA

problem #199

Sep 192000

(reported on)

Explorer 4WD

  • miles
Tires not made at plant on recall, although the "cupping" problem persists(relating to article in usa today a few weeks ago)( dot number: )

- Ponca City, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?