If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

4.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,023 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Explorer engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Explorer Owner Comments

problem #20

May 272009

Explorer 8-cyl

  • 194,462 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I have used my speed control I have had smoke come out of the top of my steering column twice. The smoke comes through the hole for my emergency light button on the top of my steering column. This happened recently for the third time. The Ford dealer is charging $652.63 to replace the wire harness and the switch that controls wipers, hazard lights, blinkers, etc. The recall was replaced, and they say the two are not related. Apparently this could cause an electrical fire as would the recall part. The SUV is a Ford Explorer 2001 V8 XLT.

- Ponchatoula, LA, USA

problem #19

Feb 152009

Explorer

  • 150,000 miles
1. lying in bed only to be awoken by boom (tire blowing out) at 5:00 a.M. 2. failure was speed control deactivation switch, also known as a "brake pressure switch...ignited setting vehicle on fire 3. nothing done...vehicle was totaled in fire.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #18

Nov 082008

Explorer

  • 121,000 miles
After researching the problem with my 2001 Ford explore I discovered that there was a recall on the 2001 Ford Explorer with the speed control activation switch. My speed control activation switch is malfunctioning and their has been a recall in place for quite sometime and I was never notified. The recall # is 07V336000.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #17

Nov 012007

Explorer

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Ford Explorer 2001 had a recall notice last year regarding cruise control. I took my vehicle into bremen Ford in bremen, in to have it disconnected. I was told it would get the part in shortly. This was in November of 2007. In April I received a letter from Ford stating the problem should have been fixed or will be shortly through the summer. As yet, it is going on a year and I have heard absolutely nothing about the parts or getting my truck fixed. What seems to be the problem. I heard there were not enough parts to go around. What does this safe for your company" you should not sent out a notice unless you intend to remedy the problem. How much longer am I supposed to wait"

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #16

Mar 062008

Explorer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V336000 (vehicle speed control). The part was unavailable. She has made three attempts to have the dealer disconnect the switch, but they continued to state that they did not have the time. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 106,000.

- Bellefontine, OH, USA

problem #15

Feb 072008

Explorer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 for Explorer. The contact received a recall notice for the vehicle speed control in September of 2007. The parts are still not available for the recall repair. There had been no failure to date. The recall number was unknown. The current mileage was 195,000.

- Riceboro, GA, USA

problem #14

Jan 142008

(reported on)

Explorer 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Ford Explorer with speed control system recall. Consumer states that the dealer to fix the recall stated that they were unable to obtain the replacement parts. Dealer finally disconnected the speed control until the parts were available.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #13

Aug 012007

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Received cruise deactivation switch recall in August 2007. Ford website notes parts were shipped to dealers. Dealers have not received the parts. They have no idea when they will be there. Called Ford Corp and was advised the switches would not be shipped until at least March. That is at least 8 months since they decided a recall was necessary. Why has this not been mentioned in the media and why have the consumers not been sent 2nd letters advising that Ford is incompetent?

- Altoona, IA, USA

problem #12

Dec 052007

Explorer

  • miles
I have a '01 Ford Explorer involved in a safety recall for the cruise control issued in Aug-07, as of today 5-Dec-07) my local dealer still does not have parts and have been told not to expect them until 1st quarter. Unsatisfactory and unacceptable. Is Ford delaying so the expense does not hit them this year? they could show a better profit for 2007 if so. Sounds like manipulating the books to me, at the expense of consumer safety.

- Dacula, GA, USA

problem #11

Aug 232007

Explorer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V336000 (vehicle speed control). The manufacturer stated that the part would be unavailable until March of 2008. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 82,000. Received 12/12/07. 64200 updated 12/12/07

- Conway , AR, USA

problem #10

Nov 022007

Explorer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V336000 (vehicle speed control). The manufacturer stated that the part for the recall repair would be unavailable until March of 2008. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 88,000.

- Mountain Palm , AR, USA

problem #9

Aug 012007

Explorer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V336000 (vehicle speed control). The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable and did not know when they would arrive. The contact felt that this was unacceptable. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 118,000. Updated 12/12/07.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #8

Aug 282007

Explorer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer. The contact received a recall in August of 2007 for the vehicle speed control (NHTSA campaign id # 07V336000). The dealer stated that the part was unavailable and offered to disconnect the vehicle speed control; however, they did not state when the part would be available. The contact was dissatisfied with the remedy for the recall and the amount of time he had to wait. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 125,000. Updated 01/09/08. The consumer stated parts will not be available until sometime in 2008. Updated 12/12/07

- Moravian Falls, NC, USA

problem #7

Aug 282007

Explorer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V336000 (vehicle speed control). She stated that the closest dealer was 75 miles away and the part was unavailable. She did not want to have the switch disconnected due to the inconvenience. There had been no failure to date. The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage was 39,000. *updated 12/12/07 updated 12/12/07

- Aennedyville , MD, USA

problem #6

Aug 282007

Explorer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I received a recall notice from Ford concerning the speed control. I called bob bennet Ford about the fix. They said they had the parts and could fix it on a first come first serve bases. I drove 30 miles only to find out they did not have the part and didn't know when they would get them. I drove home and called ben satcher Ford. They said they had the parts and would be able to install the fix in about 10 to 15 minutes. I drove to satcher Ford (45 miles). When I got there donald reed service advisor informed me they were out of the parts and had been for several days. He at least disconnected the wires to the speed control. He did not know when more parts would be available. It seems to me that if Ford does a recall they should have the parts on hand to solve the problem they caused in the first place. I heard about this problem several years ago. Why am I now just getting the notice to fix the problem. I connect Ford when I first heard of the problem and they claimed they knew nothing about.

- Chapin, SC, USA

problem #5

May 312007

Explorer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer. The vehicle caught fire while parked. The fire was contained to the engine compartment and extinguished by the fire department. The vehicle was destroyed. The purchase date was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 95,000. The consumer stated he would like Ford to furnish another vehicle and be reimbursed for rental cars as a result of this incident. The consumer provided pictures, 2 engineers report and 2 letters from Ford regarding the incident. The consumer stated his cruise control stopped working last winter. The brake fluid was low on 2 occassions. Updated 08/01/07

- Montgomery, TX, USA

problem #4

Sep 042003

Explorer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I notice the 2001 Ford Excursion had gear box problems. I just had to replace steering and tie rods on my 2001 Explorer. Also, I had to replace the idle control valve and a friend also has an idol control valve problem on his 2001 Explorer. Are these problems at large. If so, I would love to have Ford reimburse me for these charges on a vehicle that just has 37,600 miles on it.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #3

Nov 242001

Explorer

  • miles
Cruise control will not shut off after use by switch nor by taping on brakes. When tapped on brakes to slow vehicle down engine starts to rev up. To slow vehicle down vehicle had to cut engine off/ shift into neutral, and drift to side of road. Contacted dealer, and consumer was taking vehicle into dealership.

- Montevallo, AL, USA

problem #2

May 072001

Explorer

  • miles
Consumer was traveling at approximately 75 mph on cruise control. Attempted to slow vehicle down by applying brakes. Vehicle was very difficult to bring to a stop. When vehicle stopped, engine was still idling/running at the 75 mph level. Consumer shut vehicle off. Then, turned vehicle back on, and engine automatically started idling at a high speed. Please provide any additional information/attachments. *passerby stated that idle cable became stuck, and released it to prevent engine from running at 75 mph level.

- Hutto, TX, USA

problem #1

May 072001

Explorer

  • miles
Consumer was traveling at approximately 75 mph on cruise control. Attempted to slow vehicle down by applying brakes. Vehicle was very difficult to bring to a stop. When vehicle stopped, engine was still idling/running at the 75 mph level. Consumer shut vehicle off. Then, turned vehicle back on, and engine automatically started idling at a high speed. Please provide any additional information/attachments. *passerby stated that idle cable became stuck, and released it to prevent engine from running at 75 mph level.

- Hutto, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?