Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,169 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Explorer steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Explorer Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Apr 132013

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was traveling at 55 mph on route 322 in pa. I was in the left lane, the car just turned off and the power steering fail light came on also the systemtrac error light came on. I had no steering. I had to pull in front of a semi in order to get to the side of the road. I almost got killed. It is currently at sloan Ford in columbia tn. They say it is the rack and pinion steering. The car is 1 year and 6 months old. How does the steering to so soon" they want to charge me 1900. I have looked online and there are many Ford Explorer from 2011 and 2012 with the same issue. This vehicle needs to be recalled. Why hasn't it been done yet"

- Spring Hill, TN, USA

problem #44

Apr 132013

Explorer

  • 37,000 miles
I was driving the car down a busy highway when it turned off and I received a power steering fault warning. I had to pull of the road and almost got in an accident. After that the power steering would not work on the vehicle. It was impossible to turn. I googled this and noted this is a problem that you are looking at: This is from the huffington post: Federal safety regulators are investigating complaints that the power steering can fail on 2011 and 2012 Ford Explorer SUVS. Fifteen drivers have complained that the popular Explorer can suddenly lose its power steering assist, making it harder to steer the SUVS. It was extremely dangerous. I purchased this car a year and a half ago. Ford refuses to cover it because it has not officially been recalled. I am lucky I didnt get killed.

- Spring Hill, TN, USA

problem #43

Apr 012013

Explorer

  • 17,412 miles
Lost power steering while driving. Two warning lights came on-terrain management system fault and service advance trac. Power steering returned after shutting engine of and restarting. Took to dealer and they found two warning codes on the computer, but Ford said problem had to be reverified before they could repair it.

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #42

Jan 112013

Explorer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford Explorer. The contact stated that the engine was started and both the power steering and power assist warning lights illuminated as steering wheel became hard to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who inspected the vehicle and located the failure at the rack and pinion, which failed due to an electrical shortage. The vehicle was not repaired because the rack and pinion was on back order. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 20,000.... updated 02/27/13 the steering rack and pinion was replaced. Updated 03/04/13

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #41

Sep 072012

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 10,600 miles
While driving uphill on a narrow mountain road I lost all power steering assist with a simultaneous audible warning and a dash visual warning that my power steering assist had failed. With difficulty I was able to exit the road into a private driveway. I turned the vehicle off. In a few moments I started the vehicle again and everything functioned normally. I took the vehicle to my Ford dealer on or about September 10, 2012. They told me I needed a new steering assembly. It has been on back-order since then. No additional faults have occurred. The vehicle now has over 12,000 miles on it.

- Waterloo, IL, USA

problem #40

Nov 132012

Explorer

  • 34,700 miles
I started my vehicle as usual, had just turned left off my street onto a two lane road, and approximately 0.25miles later I lost power steering. As I was accelerating from my turn, going approximately 40mph I felt the brake pedal pulsate and the steering wheel jerk a little. Immediately I had an alert on my dash "power steering fault." I attempted to press the brake pedal with no success and there was no resistance. I put it in neutral and coasted to the safest parking lot (approx. 1 mile). I shut the vehicle down and restarted but I still didn't have power steering however I regained brakes. I drove the dealership (3miles away). They shut the vehicle down then restarted and everything appeared to be operating correctly. Later after several test drives the Ford mechanic had my vehicle re-inact my same events for him.

- Grand Ledge, MI, USA

problem #39

Oct 172012

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 15,888 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford Motor Company October 18, 2012 while driving my 2012 Ford Explorer, the power steering unit quit working as I was turning into the school parking lot. I almost hit a gate post and had to backup with a ten car line behind me. The steering continued powerless for the entire trip home, about ten miles or 15 minutes. After parking overnight in my drive, I started the SUV to drive to the dealership and the power assist steering worked as normal. This could cause a serious accident if turning a sharp curve and going into the other lane of traffic or traveling around one of the mountainous curves we encountered this summer, with no guardrail and a hundred foot drop into the pacific ocean rocks of the northern California coast. If an accident did occur the Explorer would check out to be mechanically trouble fee and the cause would be listed as operator error. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #38

Sep 072012

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 8,500 miles
Was driving on straight roadway when warning lights came on saying power steering assist failure and advance trac failure. Lost power steering, advance trac, blinkers, etc. Shutting vehicle down and restarting corrected the problem. Second time this happened. First time was approx. Two months prior while in reverse. Problem was corrected the same way and didn't think much of it until the second incident. Dealer said rack and pinion assembly needs to be replaced. Parts are on back order & may not be available until late October 2012. Serious safety issue. Ford needs to issue a recall.

- Sayre, PA, USA

problem #37

Sep 152012

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
Driving on rt 495 when the warning lights activated and a warning came on in the message center saying "service advance track." I started to pull over to the side of the road and discovered my power steering wasn't working. After I pulled over I stopped the car I looked in the message center I saw that the advance track wasn't selected. I tried to select it but wasn't able to. I turned the car off and back on a couple times and the problem cleared. Called Ford dealership and they didn't seem to want to help because "turning the car off and back on fixed the problem." I pushed them to get an appointment, they called me saying that the power steering module was bad and needed to be replaced.

- Charlotte Hall, MD, USA

problem #36

Jul 092012

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
Power steering assist was lost, suddenly and drastically increasing the strength needed to turn the steering wheel.

- Burbank, CA, USA

problem #35

Aug 192012

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 9,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering has failed on a number of occasions resulting in driver having to manually steer. Steering fails when auto in motion. Occurrence when speeds anywhere from 10-60mph. Very dangerous. One has to pull over (if possible) and turn off auto and then re-start. Issue has occurred four times in last month. Only 10,000 miles on auto now.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #34

Jul 182012

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
I bought a certified preowned Ford Explorer with 19,900 miles in last week of June 2012. Within one month, I had multiple incidence ( roughly ten times)of the vehicle power steering assist failing while driving. It would fail both at complete stops, slow speeds and once while exiting a highway offramp at approximately 25mph. Once the vehicle was restarted the system would reboot and the problem would be temporarily corrected. The local Ford dealer has had the vehicle since first week of August and is now telling me it may take until November to correct this issue. They have been telling me the needed part is on "back order".that is all I have heard.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #33

Sep 052012

Explorer

  • 3,595 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Explorer. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the power steering failed and the power assist default warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact restarted the vehicle which functioned properly. The dealer was contacted who stated that the vehicle was not included on any recalls and advised the contact to bring in the vehicle in order to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 3,595.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #32

Aug 062012

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
Car's power steering went out making it very difficult to drive. My wife was able to pull over into a lot and called me. The car was a few miles from a Ford dealership (northgate Ford near cincinnati, Ohio). After starting it back up, I was able to drive the car to the dealership. The dealer called me back that night (Aug 6th) and stated they confirmed the problem and the car can't be driven until this is fixed. The car has now been in the shop for more then 30 days with no fix and the date to get parts keeps slipping. The last I heard the earliest they will have parts is Nov 2012. That will means the car will be in the shop for 90 to 120 days waiting on parts. I see articles about a 2011 Ford Explorer power steering issue that seems to fit what we are seeing on our 2012. I have contacted the BBB and I'm looking into Ohio's lemon law.

- Harrison, OH, USA

problem #31

Aug 172012

Explorer

  • 10,317 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Explorer. The contact stated that while traveling 45 mph, the power steering failed and the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who confirmed that the power steering rack failed and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 10,317 and the current mileage was 10,322.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #30

Aug 102012

Explorer

  • 11,000 miles
I was driving down the freeway with my son in the car and preparing to exit when the steering failed. I was unable to move the steering wheel more than an inch in either direction. With my hazard lights on I was able to pull over. There were several failure messages, the two most prominent being power steering assist and advance trac error. This could have been very dangerous. The car has now been at the dealership for three weeks. They are unable to get the part and have no timeline on when it will be available.

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #29

Aug 242012

Explorer

  • 10,450 miles
While the vehicle is moving, the power steering assist failed and the steering wheel becomes extremely difficult to turn. It is virtually impossible to turn the steering wheel, only with extreme difficulty and approximately a tenth of a mile of straight roadway was I able to steer the car to the shoulder. Turning the car off will temporarily re-engage the power steering. However, the problem continually re-occurs without any warning. The vehicle is not controllable at highway speeds or on curvy roads.

- Syosset, NY, USA

problem #28

Jul 272012

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
On July 27th, while driving on the highway, at approx. 60 mph, I received error messages regarding the trac assist and power steering assist. At that time, I noticed that the steering had completely locked up on me. Luckily I was on straight-A-way, and there was no one in the lane next to me, so I was able to ease on over to the shoulder. I called the closest dealership, who advised me to turn the car off and on, and bring it in. In the meantime, my husband had sent me the arfc.org link showing several others who had the same issue. The tech at the dealership basically blew me off and said "well, you can post anything on the internet." The next day, I was told that the entire steering mechanism would have to be replaced, and it took five days to get the parts in and the vehicle repaired and back on the road. It appears this is a known issue, but Ford is failing to do anything about it, as far as recalls, etc.

- Lutz, FL, USA

problem #27

Aug 212012

Explorer 6-cyl

  • 12,800 miles
I was slowing down as I was approaching a traffic signal and heard a warning chime. Initially, vehicle did not show any signs of problem, but got a warning message of power steering failure (or something similar) and another one indicating to service the advance track system. The advance track indicator light went out on the dial, too. After a few hundred feet the power steering was completely gone and I had to use significant effort to steer the vehicle into my driveway. Fortunately, I was only 2 miles from home with few turns to get there. Almost couldn't make the turn into my driveway. Started & restarted the vehicle several times and eventually all problems and warning lights disappeared. Drove the vehicle a few miles and all seems ok. Will update with any additional issues after 8/21/12. Vehicle was purchased used on 8/15/12 with 12,700 miles. Called dealer and they said to bring in if problems persist.

- Eagleville, PA, USA

problem #26

Aug 192012

Explorer

  • 20,038 miles
I was driving home from a movie on pacific coast hwy in huntington beach, ca and all of sudden the power steering assist fault warning came on, I hadn't lost complete function of the steering but it was about a half a mile down the road that it got almost impossible to steer. I called the dealership and they told me to tow it to the dealership as soon as possible. I didn't know that there was a short term fix by turning off and then turning back on again to make the warning light go away. Tomorrow taking in my car to dealer to get it fix.... now before it ends in crash or someone killed.!!!!!! I have the ecoboost I4 cylinder engine.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?