10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,634 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Explorer steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Explorer Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #41

Nov 012013

Explorer

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering failure. Failed multiple times, unable to replicate at dealership. Happened at low speed while in a parking lot. Pulling into parking spot and steering failed causing minor collision with parked vehicle in next space. Dealership still unable to replicate.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #40

Jan 272015

Explorer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Explorer. The contact stated that while reversing out of a parking spot, the steering wheel was difficult to turn without warning. The contact stated that the failure recurred on several occasions, each time the vehicle was driven at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and was diagnosed that the electronic power steering rack needed to be replaced. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V286000 (steering). The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 51,000. Updated 04/04/16 updated 04/05/16.

- Dalhart, TX, USA

problem #39

Dec 152015

Explorer

  • 45,000 miles
Steering assist fault light comes on when I crank my 2013 Ford Explorer. The steering wheel is locked and won't turn when I try to leave a location. I have to switch the vehicle off and restart it in order for it to reset.

- Mount Vernon, AL, USA

problem #38

Jan 312016

Explorer

  • 96,012 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering stopped working and displayed power steering assist fault error on the dashboard. Was unable to turn wheel at low/slow speed. Car was being parked at the time the fault occurred.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #37

Jan 172016

Explorer

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Explorer. While driving 45 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to steer the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the computer needed to be updated. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the computer needed to be updated and the steering rack might need to be replaced. The computer was updated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 47,000. Updated 03/18/16

- James Court, NY, USA

problem #36

Nov 012015

Explorer

  • 19,500 miles
As reported to Ford: What is your vehicle sales or service issue?:VIN: Ifm5K8D85dga40422 2013 Ford Explorer - I recently shipped my 2013 Ford Explorer to azerbaijan where I am serving the U.S. government. I hired a driver who conveyed a problem to me regarding the power steering and sync system. After doing some online research, I became aware of the recall for power steering problems which seem to fit the symptoms related to me. I did not receive any type of notice from Ford regarding this serious condition. Also, the sync system is buggy. I was informed some time ago of a fuel system recall (I believe). The vehicle has 19,750 miles. A vehicle tire sensor fault has recently displayed. There is a Ford dealership in baku azerbaijan where I live. The Explorer is part of their product line. Please inform me what I can expect from Ford to resolve the issues disclosed here either under warranty, recall obligation, or customer care (without expense to me). Further, I would appreciate if Ford U.S. would coordinate those resolution efforts. What action has your dealer taken to address the issue":have not contacted dealer. Suspect language barriers would complicate resolution efforts. What assistance are you seeking from Ford Motor Company":coordinate all necessary repairs to be performed by the baku azerbaijan Ford dealer. Provide a loaner car while vehicle is being repaired. Be more proactive in informing customers of potentially serious defects that have resulted in recall. Are you the owner of the vehicle :yes VIN : ifm5K8D85dga40422 mileage : 19,748 where is your vehicle now : inpossession have you contacted the dealer :no dealer name :Ford baku azerbaijan

- Dulles, VA, USA

problem #35

Dec 222015

Explorer

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving approximately 70mph on a major highway the power steering shutdown and the vehicles steering became extremely stiff to the point you could hardly turn the steering wheel.I brought the vehicle to Ford to have it inspected, they informed me nothing was wrong and all it needed was to be reset. Within 10 days of leaving the dealership service the vehicle again started to have the same problem nearly causing an accident. I took the vehicle to Ford once again, this time they had advised that the entire power steering assembly need to be replaced. Within doing research 2011-2013 Ford Explorer have this same power steering issue, under recall. Ford refuses to fix my vehicle under the recall due to VIN restrictions. This is dangerous and negligent to say the least.

- Sebastian, FL, USA

problem #34

Nov 112015

Explorer

  • 47,435 miles
I was backing up from parking spot in a city garage and when I place the car in drive my power assisted steering (epas) failed. I got the power steering fault error, advancetrac error and terrain management error. The car was too difficult to manually steer actually nearly impossible. It took almost 1 hour and 2 grown big men to manually steer it out of the garage so that it could be put onto a flat bed tow truck. Ford claims that my VIN# number is not part of the recall (14S06) for this issue. The dealership that I had it towed to has quoted me around $2,000 to replace the steering rack. This is definitely a safety hazard and Ford need to takes responsibility and correct this issue.

- Richboro, PA, USA

problem #33

Nov 092015

Explorer

  • 74,122 miles
While driving and making a turn the power steering locks up with an error code stating "power steering assist fault" in my experience this happened when backing out of the driveway and now it happened while driving and making a left hand turn to cross a busy intersection. The only thing that releases the steering is to put the vehicle in park and restart the vehicle. My vehicle does not fall under the recall however, it's the same exact problem yet, Ford "has never heard of it" I have children and I fear that Ford won't fix the problem or do anything about it until it's too late and we are in a fetal accident. I refuse to drive my vehicle as it's unsafe and I will not put my kids life at risk. Help!!

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #32

Oct 212015

Explorer

  • 54,770 miles
Driving vehicle through intersection, turning, , lost power steering, and temporarily lost control of vehicle. Was able to muscle it to the side of the road. Display made a chime noise, and stated "power assist failure" ( or something to that effect). I pulled to the side of road, turned off vehicle, waited 2 min, started it again and it worked fine. Found there is a recall "14S06" for exact model and year with exact description of my failure. Took vehicle to closest Ford dealer, they said it is covered under recall and there would be no charge as this is a safety issue. After numerous calls back and forth with dealer and Ford, Ford claims this VIN is not covered. I have paperwork from the dealer that shows part number needed is for the steering gear # db5Z-3504-ne, which is the part number in the recall. I am unable to find a VIN # list as it appears Ford does not have one and they decide when you call who gets the recall and who does not. There is no transparency in such as system. If Ford knows of this issue with this year and model and knows it's a safety issue that has resulted in accidents, per NHTSA, why am I being rejected for the exact safety issue on the exact model and year" can you please help"

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #31

Jun 302015

Explorer

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Explorer. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the service power steering warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred on three occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced and rebalanced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #30

Jun 252015

Explorer

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Explorer. While driving 45 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and seized. The contact was unable to turn the vehicle in the middle of the street. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the steering rack needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 87,000.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #29

May 292015

Explorer

  • 78,000 miles
I have a Ford Explorer that was part of the 14S06 recall. Before I purchased the vehicle from a Ford dealership it was owned by enterprise rental, after they turned the car in tri county Ford shows they performed the recall on the vehicle in 2014. They said they did the software download on the eps. I have since lost steering assist on my vehicle a number of times so I did some research and found this recall on my vehicle. After calling Ford they authorized a local dealer to look at if and figure out what the problem was at no charge. The Ford dealership says that they can not connect to the steering gear and that per the recall it should be replaced. Ford is refusing to cover the recall and because they say that the recall has already been done (software download) and at the time of the recall being performed there were no dtc codes so the download should have fixed it. If it would have showed codes at the time of the software download they would have replaced the steering gear at that time. I feel that this should be covered as it part of the recall I have only owned the car for less than 3 months and this is a dangerous situation. After complaining to Ford said they would cover 1/2 of the cost of repairs. But due to this being a safety recall I feel it should be covered 100%

- Pevely, MO, USA

problem #28

Jun 072015

Explorer

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Explorer. While driving approximately 75 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver and the service advance traction control and service power steering warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V286000 (steering). The failure mileage was 53,000. The VIN was unavailable. MA 08/11/15

- Rapid City, SD, USA

problem #27

Jun 052015

Explorer

  • 74,000 miles
I almost lost control of the car due to steering. The right front tire was wobbly and had no traction. The tires are in good shape. I have been having so much trouble out of the right front tire. It has been balanced and aligned 4 times, new brake pads, and rotors turned. No one can figure out what's wrong with the steering or the tire. It begins to shake uncontrollably. I have had it re-balance and each time no one can figure out why it keeps pulling to the right. I don't know if it is motor related, steering or the transmission. So frustrated. I just bought the car less than 3 months ago.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #26

Nov 242014

Explorer

  • 9,000 miles
On several occasions we had noticed difficulty steering in our 2013 Ford Explorer. On Nov 18, 2014 this problem nearly caused a crash, prompting us to take it to our dealership prior to a lengthy thanksgiving trip. Our dealership went through multiple systems checks with no resolve. They contacted their representative for further instruction. The vehicle remained at the dealership from Nov 24,2014 until the dealer decided to purchase it from us March 6, 2015. We filed a complaint with Ford 12/19/14 case # cas-5717020 and the BBB 12/11/15 case # frd15122601. Ford maintained there was nothing wrong with the vehicle, yet made over 7 attempts to fix it. They further stated that we chose not to retrieve the vehicle - but each time Ford said it was fixed and we went to get it - the dealer insisted it was not safe. The dealer finally purchased it from us just to get us out of it and preserve our relationship. We are concerned that the vehicle is still in service. We were made to feel stupid regarding the complaint. And we are out several thousand dollars! seeing this most recent recall regarding a steering problem that Ford was aware of in June 2014 makes me angry and sick that the vehicle could have killed us, and is likely out there with a less experienced driver whose life and the lives of those around them are in danger!! I have all the information regarding this vehicle, and it can also be followed through the case numbers. Please help us get this car off the road!! my husband is in law enforcement, he is a chief of police, a senior instructor, specialized in speed detection and driver training, and pursuit tactics training (pit). This was purchased as a family travel vehicle, it should not require someone with specialized driver training to handle.

- Vidalia, GA, USA

problem #25

Mar 202015

Explorer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 20,500 miles
Exiting from parking lot and speed of about 15 mph on a straight road, no pot holes, at about 100 ft from the parking exit, it hit an electric post. Left front suspension, fender, wheels, pillars, rocker & floor, radiator support, front lamps, hood, steering rock, cradle, transmission transfer case, front door and many more damage. All are in left side. I checked the VIN but it is not on recall for power steering problem however I suspect power steering was the caused of accident. It is a major damaged and the insurance is not yet decided if repair or total wreck. I asked the Ford dealership to see on the diagnostic computer of the vehicle but up to now they have not yet check.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #24

Mar 092015

Explorer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
Dash displayed service advancetrac. Traction control was disabled and stability control was disabled and indicators lit in dash. Difficult to steer due to partial loss of power steering. Dealership service department diagnosed that the steer rack unit needs to ge replaced.

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #23

Feb 022015

Explorer

  • miles
2013 Ford Explorer. A recall was issued for previous Ford vehicles, regarding a steering defect. However, the consumers vehicle was not included. The consumer believed the recall should be expanded.

- Boulder, CO, USA

problem #22

Jan 252015

Explorer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
The power steering failed while traveling at 45 mph. I could steer manually but it would not allow me to maintain a straight line.

- Selmer, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?