Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.3

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,281 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Ford Explorer fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Ford Explorer Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Oct 192015

Explorer 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Update to NHTSA complaint #10914850 vehicle still in service since 9/26/16. Total days at dealer for service due to exhaust fumes / chemical smell in passenger compartment: 26 as of 10/16/16. Have been told Ford's engineering rep (during Ford's "final repair attempt" under lemon law) also smelled fumes in cabin under wot and when engine under load. Was told that it could not be carbon monoxide in cabin making me dizzy and sick feeling because "catalytic converter changes carbon monoxide to carbon dioxide, which is why dealer uses CO2 meter not co meter". was informed that regional engineer instructed dealer to repeat tsb 14-0130 even though they were then telling me that the smell is from "mildew on the A/C evaporator core", which contradicts their performing the tsb to seal the vehicle from exhaust fumes a second time (performed previously without effect in 10/2015). Have been told many different "reasons" for the fumes in cabin, none of which make much sense. Mildew does not smell like sulfur or exhaust fumes. To make things worse, I was told that I "do not drive enough miles" during my trips to "dry out the evaporator core" so I am told my driving habits, not Ford's design flaws allowing exhaust into cabin, are the reason for the fumes. Service manager has been diligent and professional and is a genuinely nice person, though Ford is trying to serve up a "red herring" by trying to divert attention to the A/C system rather than admit to exhaust fumes in passenger cabin. Ford replaced the evap core which resulted in nearly no A/C upon being told vehicle ready for pick-up on 10/15/16, so it is still in service..now to repair what they broke during "final repair attempt". to consumer, appears Ford has propped open fresh air vents regardless of "recirculate" button light, resulting in warm A/C. Ford should re-purchase this hazardous vehicle.

- Land O Lakes, FL, USA

problem #24

Oct 182014

Explorer

  • 400 miles
Smell of exhaust fumes and/or sulfur-type odors coming through air conditioning system under heavy acceleration, passing on highway, or when engine is under a load. Fumes/smell get so bad that I have to roll down all windows and open sunroof to ventilate the passenger compartment. Tolerated the headaches, nausea, and light-headedness while driving until situation became intolerable and had begun to avoid driving the Explorer. First serviced in 10/2015, dealer had vehicle for 4 or 5 days. I was told that a tsb was performed which included removing the rear bumper and using sealant, but that did not correct the problem. Fumes in passenger compartment persisted. On 9/26/2016 took vehicle back to dealer for further diagnostics and repair attempts for same problem. Dealer had vehicle through 10/4/16, and called to tell me to come pick-up vehicle as it was "fixed" by cleaning A/C evaporator, and also "speaking with Ford engineers". went for test drive with service manager. After approx. 4-5 miles on highway, under varying acceleration conditions, cabin began to smell like fumes again, coming through the A/C vents. Then I began to feel light-headed and informed service manager of same. Could not ventillate vehicle due to heavy rains, but taking A/C off of "recirculate air" helped only a little, and changed nature of odor slightly. Dealership was using a meter to measure what was supposed to be carbon monoxide. Was consistently told throughout that measurements were "low" at 900ppm to max 1500ppm. When driving with same meter, it alarmed multiple times, but I was told it was because meter responds to breathing in the car. I determined that meter was for carbon dioxide not carbon monoxide. Returned vehicle to service, was told Ford is having regional rep examine vehicle on 10/11/16. I have filed a lemon law complaint with BBB.

- Land O Lakes, FL, USA

problem #23

May 012016

Explorer

  • 33,000 miles
I have been smelling gas inside the cabin of my Explorer and it has made me sick on several occassions it was so strong. It is strong when parked and in motion.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #22

Feb 012016

Explorer

  • 5,255 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Burning plastic / exhaust smell inside the cab any time when accelerating

- Palatka, FL, USA

problem #21

Dec 012014

Explorer

  • 500 miles
When under load (I.e. climbing hill) or fast acceleration (passing a vehicle) there is a strong odor of exhaust in the passenger cabin. The odor is coming from the air vents throughout the vehicle. Windows must be opened to get rid of the smell. This occurs primarily when air conditioner is on, but has also happened when ac off. Vehicle was returned to dealer for this problem and tsb-14-0130 performed, however, problem still occurs although less frequently and odor not as strong.

- Linden, CA, USA

problem #20

Aug 202016

Explorer

  • 32,500 miles
I smell gasoline inside the cabin of my vehicle and it has made me sick on several occassions.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #19

Jun 122016

Explorer

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3.5L ecoboost, 24K miles. Upon attempted acceleration, engine does not produce full power. Engine lags significantly then surges in both RPM and acceleration. Issues has persisted for approximately 3K miles. Issue occurs during all environmental conditions. Check engine light has not come on. No codes have been found. Vehicle has been examined by hudson Ford in Wisconsin. No resolution provided, issue continues to exhibit itself.

- Apple Valley, MN, USA

problem #18

Oct 222014

Explorer

  • 150 miles
I can smell gas fumes in the interior of the car when driving. Sometimes the odor is more when I accelerate. The smell isn't there all the time, but is pretty strong when it is present. This has happened several times -- ever since we bought the car. We bought the car in 2014.

- Colon, NE, USA

problem #17

Jul 042016

Explorer

  • 18,900 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Ford Explorer. While driving 30 mph, a fuel odor emitted from the air vents in the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 18,900.

- Perth Amboy, NJ, USA

problem #16

Jan 012015

Explorer

  • miles
When accelerating the exhaust odor comes inside the vehicle. At a stop sign the smell is also there but not as bad as when accelerating. We have taken the vehicle to a dealer in Minnesota and one in Florida and both told us "that is the way it is" and nothing can be done. We have been unhappy since we bought the vehicle on 12/31/2014 and continue to be unhappy. Is there anything that can be done?

- Bonita Springs, FL, USA

problem #15

Jul 032016

Explorer

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After heavy acceleration, the cabin has a strong foul sulfur odor that is unbearable. We have had it in to a Ford dealership to have both tsb's performed - the second took 5 days! - and it still has not changed. Disgusting smell. This happens when we accelerate as on to the highway or to pass in challenging situations. I only have to press the gas pedal about half way down for 4-5 seconds and the smell is overwhelming. Activating the turbo chargers for any length of time brings this smell into the cabin. Then all of the windows have to go down to clear the smell. My mother can't take this anymore and my wife complains of headaches. This has been an ongoing problem for a year and a half.

- Juno Beach, FL, USA

problem #14

Jul 012016

Explorer

  • 4,400 miles
When my 2015 Ford Explorer is under heavy acceleration such as towing or passsing, I can smell a very strong odor of sulpher or convertor fumes in the cabin. It is worse with the fresh air vent and is less with the recirculation. The rear A/C is off and I have 4400 miles on the vehicle. I called my local Ford dealer and they have no past complaints of this nature and do not know what it may be. I also had a problem when I was making the high acceleration to duplicate the problem and noticed the steering wheel jerking under torque. I drive front wheel drive police vehicles for a living and never had this happen where you better be hanging on with both hands.

- Porter, TX, USA

problem #13

Dec 312014

Explorer

  • 150 miles
Under hard acceleration there is an exhaust smell inside the cabin. Dealer claims that this does not happen and no one else has complained about the smell. Dealer is wrong there is a smell when accelerating full throttle.

- Lapeer, MI, USA

problem #12

Jun 102015

Explorer

  • miles
I loose power while driving. Happens all the time. It is very noticeable whe car shift into 3rd gear. My RPM's go from 4000 to below 3000 ( normal acceleration). When I give it a lot of gas I start to smell the turbos burning. Probably cause by the fact the etanol gas is not compatible with this twin turbo set up. Not to mention the transmission leaks as well as the bottom side of the throttle body. I love Ford (american made). But as an american I feel that they felled me. Breaks my heart. Anyone know where to buy a good Chevy from.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #11

Apr 292015

Explorer

  • miles
When accelerate quickly exhaust fumes enter into cabin of vehicle.

- Quitman, LA, USA

problem #10

Sep 292015

Explorer

  • 1,600 miles
Exhaust fumes are entering the passenger cabin of the vehicle while driving. The exhaust is most noticeable during acceleration at highway speeds. I have taken the Explorer to the dealer twice where it is still at since Oct 5th, today is Nov 4th. The Ford dealer has performed a tsb to correct the known issue of exhaust entering the passenger cabin. This fix did not correct the problem or lessen it to any degree. Using an altair 4X gas monitor inside the vehicle I observed carbon monoxide levels up to 13ppm while driving the vehicle.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #9

Aug 222015

Explorer

  • 4,900 miles
On August 22, 2015 I stopped at a shell station near bonham, Texas. After refueling I was unable to remove the fuel nozzle from my vehicle. I moved it around, pushed, and pulled on the nozzle to no avail.the vehicle was obviously stationary at this time. After about fifteen minutes and with the help of other people I was unable to get the nozzle out of my vehicle. I told the gas station attendant who was able to push and pull the nozzle enough to get it dislodged from my vehicle. I took the vehicle to the dealer I bought it from auto nation frisco, Texas. My vehicle had less than five thousand miles on it at the time of the incident. The dealer refused to replace the capless fuel system component saying it was not broke it was a gas station issue- faulty fuel nozzle?? I spoke to the service manager who refused to replace the component. I wrote a letter to the GM of the dealership as well as the vp of customer service for auto nation explaining the problem and asking to be contacted. As of this writing I have had no response. I filled a complaint with Ford Motor Co. Case# 7943196. On 10-8-2015 I was advised that the case was closed. I was never able to talk to them so I left a voice mail and sent a E-mail asking to be contacted. As of this writing I have had no response. I was told by the dealer after the incident that there was a bulletin explaining what nozzles to avoid. Seems like good information to have prior to an incident not after!! I believe this to be a real problem and do not feel comfortable using my vehicle until the component is replaced. Having to pull, push, and pry to get a fuel nozzle out of your vehicle sure seems like a obvious safety issue. The car dealer and Ford Motor Co. Says its not their problem. The gas station attendant said it was a Ford problem. Consumer stuck in the middle!!

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #8

Jun 012015

Explorer

  • 7,877 miles
During acceleration (getting on highway, passing, etc.) the cab fills with exhaust smell. We immediately have to roll the windows down to get the smell out of the vehicle. Frequent passengers and driver with asthma. We have taken Explorer to dealer several times but only left it twice as they said they only had 2 technical bulletin's from Ford on suggested fixes. Still smells. During a google search we found this has been going on since 2011. Had we have known we would not have bought this Ford Explorer.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #7

Apr 302015

Explorer

  • 850 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Ford Explorer. While driving at approximately 55 mph, the vehicle began leaking exhaust fumes from the cabin. The contact stated that this was a recurring failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the failure was a design issue. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 850. MA 10/19/2015

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #6

Apr 142015

Explorer

  • 8,000 miles
I purchased a brand new 2015 Ford Explorer XLT, 3.5 V6, in November 2014. At approximately 7,000 miles (beginning in April 2015) I started to notice a rotten egg odor inside the vehicle during acceleration, while entering the freeway. The smell would occur especially during a hard acceleration. The smell was noticeable while the A/C system was on "vent" and "recirculate" mode. On 7/6/2015 I took the Explorer to my Ford dealership and they acknowledged the complaint and stated there was a service bulletin 14-130 to correct the problem. Their description on the fix, was that a special air-filter located inside the rear bumper area needed to be replace. They stated that the smell is coming from my evap-canister. I left the Explorer there for the repair and it took them almost two days. They said, it was at least a full days labor to fix the problem because they had to remove the whole rear bumper and other parts, etc. After the repair was made, a week later, I was able to take the Explorer on the freeway and still noticed the rotten egg odor during acceleration. This time the odor is only noticeable during "vent" mode when the A/C is turned on. I am contacting my dealer today about this. I am very concerned about this issue with other Ford owners because these "fumes" in the cabin area most likely are affecting your health and other passengers.

- Torrance, CA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?