Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,457 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Ford Explorer miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Ford Explorer Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Jul 272016

Explorer

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fume in the cabin on acceleration Ford worked on the problem two time but the problem has been getting worse as time goes by. City highway makes no difference

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #33

Jul 222016

Explorer

  • miles
There is a strong odor of exhuast fumes inside the car when running the ac and accelerating the vehicle. It is so strong the windows have to be put down to breath comfortablely.

- Mechanicsburg, PA, USA

problem #32

Jul 212016

Explorer

  • 31,000 miles
Exhaust fumes are leaking into passenger cabin, particularly after acceleration

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #31

Jul 212016

Explorer

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my 2015 Ford Explorer in April 2015. The first day I drove it I noticed a strong odor coming from the vents during hard acceleration. I thought it was because it was a new vehicle and needing to be "broken in". after about 4 weeks, I still noticed the odor. I took it into the dealership and was told they didn't know what would be causing it and didn't have an answer as to how to fix it. Two months later the smell was unbearable so I returned to the dealership. At this point, I had one technician inform me of similar issues he had heard of but they had no information from Ford for a solution. In August 2015, I returned to the dealership once again and this time was told there had been a tsb released by Ford. They kept my vehicle for 2 weeks and performed the repairs based on the tsb. I drove it out of the service dept and immediately noticed the odor upon entering the highway. I figured there was nothing more I could do so I put the situation on the back burner until a few months ago. At this point, the odor happened on every acceleration and would linger in the cabin for quite some time. In May 2016, I went to the dealership and was told they had done all they could and for me to contact Ford Motor Company. I did and since then, under that request of a Ford Motor Company rep, I've had to return the vehicle to the shop on 3 separate occasions of which they have kept my vehicle for a week at a time to perform different "attempts" to fix the problem. None of which have provided a solution. All of these times, having to take personal time off work to drop off/pick up vehicle. I am still having the problem and their (fmc) next suggestion is going to be having a field service engineer "flown" in to look at my vehicle. I'm left feeling less than certain a solution is near and I'm just getting the run around.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #30

May 012016

Explorer

  • 12,000 miles
Since May 1, 2016, at least 6 different times while I was driving the vehicle, the car felt as if someone slammed on the brakes, then slammed down on the accelerator throwing me forward and then back in my seat. The last two times this occured I had my minor children in the car and they experienced the same thing. The vehicle had been taken to the service department at the dealer twice and returned to us twice with them saying they couldnt find anything wrong with the vehicle. On July 1, my husband brought it back to the service department again -they asked for our permission for one of their service technicians to drive the car for a few days which we allowed. After he drove it for a few days, he experienced the same problem I had with the vehicle -stating "that if he hadn't had his seatbelt on, he would have gone through the windshield." The service department reported that they could not figure out what the problem was and what was causing the vehicle to do this. We contacted Ford Motor Company to try to help us and on July 19 they told us that the service department couldn't locate where the problem was coming from and they want us to take our vehicle home. Even though their own Ford mechanic / technician has experienced the problem himself. They want to return an unsafe vehicle back to us, the customer. When my husband asked the service manager, if he would allow his wife and children to drive in this vehicle, he replied "no." So why would Ford want to risk the lives of myself and my family?

- Saddle Brook, NJ, USA

problem #29

Jul 072016

Explorer

  • 35,600 miles
2015 Ford Explorer - when accelerating onto highway and speed is achieved, the driver cabin fills with exhaust fumes that smell like rotten eggs and causes eye and nose irritation and dizziness. Windows have to be lowered to get fresh air in car. Ford dealer made repair as directed on tsb 14-0130. The next day after the repair and when accelerating onto highway and speed was achieved, the driver cabin still filled with exhaust fumes that smell like rotten eggs and causes eye and nose irritation and dizziness. Again, I had to lower the windows to get fresh air in car. Therefore, the tsb 14-0130 did not solve the problem. I am concerned that the exhaust entering the cabin is exposing my family and myself to harmful fumes and possible residue in the passager compartment.

- Rolesville, NC, USA

problem #28

Jul 122016

Explorer

  • 42,203 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I turn the vehicle on with the air conditioning on, an unpleasant smell comes through the vents. I have changed the air filter, cabin air filter, and used a spray to clean the vents. The spray smell overpowered the unpleasant smell for about 3-4 days. The unpleasant smell is back. I recently became aware of the NHTSA's investigation into the exhaust leak into the cabin which most likely is the problem I am experiencing. I often have my children in the vehicle with me and am starting to get concerned about what effect the fumes could have on them.

- Crown Point, IN, USA

problem #27

May 242015

Explorer

  • 500 miles
Exhaust gas fumes come into the inside cabin while driving, mostly from the rear of the vehicle. The air conditioning or heater is on and the recirculation fan can be either on or off. Failure mode can be on flat surface but mostly occurs going up and down hills. Not sure if the decelleration of the vehicle is part of the cause. Problem is intermittent, may not occur for weeks and then might occur 3-4 times in a day one specific example is on November 30, 2015, at 2:30 pm HVAC system is set to heat, set to 73 degrees heat in dual temp control is on, recirculation is on, elevation is 3100 feet, going uphill on catron blvd towards highway 16 in rapid city, sd, (outskirts of town), decelerated from 50 to 40 mph at 40mph speed limit sign, several vehicles around us, odometer reading was 5482.5 miles, and smelled exhaust fumes in the cabin that appeared to come from the rear of the cabin, had to open both front windows for about a minute to get the smell out.

- Box Elder, SD, USA

problem #26

Feb 012016

Explorer

  • 7,000 miles
When accelerating or in motion for a period of time, the cabin gets an exhaust smell. When tested for carbon monoxide, there were 26 ppm with the windows up and the A/C blowing. On 1 occasion, 2 passengers in the back seat became ill. When thy exited the car, they felt immediately better. We have returned this vehicle 3 times to the dealer without successfully fixing the issue. The vehicle must have the windows cracked at all times to keep the exhaust smell out.

- Manhattan, KS, USA

problem #25

Apr 082015

Explorer

  • 20 miles
Purchased in early 2015, vehicle has always had very foul exhaust odor in cabin when accelerating or engine under load. Driver also noted to become dizzy and nauseous when ac set on recirculate for greater than 20 minutes. This problem has never been resolved and replicates easily.

- Calhoun Falls, SC, USA

problem #24

Nov 012015

Explorer

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Strong smell of exhaust in cabin of vehicle once car was warmed up. Began almost immediately after purchase of car, but was thought to be new car "burn off" of chemicals used in production. Became very significant once weather was cooler and no windows could be opened while driving. Also very significant while sitting in traffic. Back to dealer 4 different times over a period of 4-5 months. Multiple attempts made to correct problem. Dealer called Ford hot line many times for help. Entire exhaust system replaced along with "other" many parts, including R&R muffler assembly and complete undercoating of all rear seams finally fixed in early 2016 after having to be towed in to dealer due to loss of transmission fluid from a ptu intermediate shaft leaking again after being replaced 01/19/2016 as part of exhaust problem. This car spent more time in the shop and I drove, I think, all of the dealers rental vehicles during that 3 to 4 month period. Lemon law here in MA could have been initiated if need be after 3 attempts at fixing the problem. I was just frustrated with all the time and driving wasted to be back and forth to dealer. The problem has been resolved as of now, but will be very careful to watch for any recurrence. Carbon monoxide is not a good thing!!!!!

- Southwick, MA, USA

problem #23

Feb 192016

Explorer

  • miles
Extremely strong exhaust odor in cabin while driving at 65mph, acceleration to pass, and uphill. Caused my sons asthma that was under control to become worse than it ever has been. I took the vehicle into where I bought it brand new and they attemptes to fix it 3 times and blamed it on a back up camera they installed. The odor was still there. I called Ford Motor Company and at their request I took the car to another Ford dealership and my vehicle is still sitting there because they do not know why the exhaust is filling up in the cabin. It is not because of recirculated air, because I run my ac on max due to my childs asthma and the heat in Florida. I told them I was going to file for them lemon law because my car has been in their shop 6 times now for the same issue!! all they want to do is get mad and tell me look in my owners manual and figure it out. What a way to show customer service and what a way to treat a customer who paid $45,000 for a brand new car thinkimg there wouldn't be any problems!!! I bought my car in June 2015 and the exhaust problem started in February 2016.

- Eustis, FL, USA

problem #22

May 072015

Explorer

  • 100 miles
Exhaust smell leaking into passenger cabin when accelerating on to highway.

- Orange City, FL, USA

problem #21

Jul 012016

Explorer

  • 9,000 miles
Explorer has terrible exhaust smell upon acceleration.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #20

Jun 302015

Explorer

  • 50 miles
I am experiencing a exhaust odor in the cab of my 2015 Ford Explorer during acceleration. I have had the vehicle in for service regarding this issue four times since July 2015.

- Estell Manor, NJ, USA

problem #19

Aug 102014

Explorer

  • 35 miles
When the vehicle is in motion accelerated on the gas entering a ramp on highway or going uphill there is an exhaust smell in the interior of the cabin even with circulation on.

- Dripping Springs, TX, USA

problem #18

Jul 042016

Explorer

  • miles
I smell exhaust fumes within the cab of the vehicle whenever I accelerate quickly. It has happened at low speeds with quick acceleration, when passing vehicles or climbing hills. I have had the vehicle since January, however, I have not yet had the dealer look at the issue.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #17

May 232016

Explorer

  • 22,600 miles
Strong odor in cabin when ac is on and vehicle is under hard acceleration.

- Bayonet Point, FL, USA

problem #16

Feb 262016

Explorer

  • 40 miles
I was driving today 02/26/16 from atlanta to Alabama I was driving around 65-70 mph when my driver trim/molding few off.it almost caused us an accident or another car accident as wee. This needs to been recalled to the Ford dealer to fix this issue.I have noticed that others had the same problem. Please

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #15

Dec 122015

Explorer

  • 12,000 miles
Real bad exhaust smell coming from ac vents when passing another car at high speed car has been to dealer two times exhaust smell still there.

- Springhill, FL, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?