Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,423 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac Owner Comments

problem #18

Jul 152016

Explorer Sport Trac

  • 144,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall, the inside lightsor dome lights, they shorted out one to another in the double over head lights and grounded out the battery could cause several problems one it killed the battery and I found out when I went to change one of the lights and to stop I took both lights out and seperated the copper that conects with switch

- Galatia, IL, USA

problem #17

Apr 012015

Explorer Sport Trac

  • 174,000 miles
Ever since I got the truck about 4 months ago I have been having a problem with the rear brakes locking up. It happens after the vehicle has been sitting up for a few hours and it's raining or there's a good but of moisture in the air. When you first get in the truck the rear brakes will lock up on you only going forward for some reason. If you apply very little pressure it does it. After about 10 times locking it up it drives fine as long as its not parked for a while. On a good hot summer day with no moisture or rain it does do it at all. A few weeks ago I backed out my drive way it was raining and it did it. So I decided to pull back into my driveway and take my fiance's car to town. When I was pulling up it locked up when I trying to stop and slid into the corner of my home. No major damage was done just cracked the front bumper. I have taking it to 3 local mechanics. None know how to fix. They looked at the breaks, rotors and hubs. All was fine. One mechanic told me this was the 3 time he has seen this on the same exact kind of truck. I do like the truck. But I'm terrified to drive it. I thought about selling it, but now I'm in a situation where if someone gets hurt in it I would feel horrible. I sure hope someone on here can help me out with this problem.

- Bunkie, LA, USA

problem #16

Sep 172013

Explorer Sport Trac

  • 156,800 miles
The contact owns 2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the brake pedal traveled to the floorboard upon engagement and the vehicle continued to accelerate. In addition, smoke emitted from the air vents and from under hood. The contact immediately jumped from the vehicle once he noticed flames extending from under the hood. The unoccupied vehicle then crashed into a wooded area. The contact sustained road rash and injuries to the left wrist and hand. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a salvage facility. The vehicle had been included in NHTSA campaign id number: 07V336000 (vehicle speed control) however, the failure occurred before the recall remedy could be performed. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 156,800.

- Fort Walton, FL, USA

problem #15

Mar 062012

Explorer Sport Trac 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac. The contact stated that the accelerator pedal would become stuck when accelerating uphill. The contact depressed the brake pedal, but the vehicle would not stop and the rmps would increase to 3,500. The contact placed the vehicle in neutral but the rpms would continuously increase. The contact turned the vehicle off and restarted numerous times, but the rpms would continue to increase at 3500. The vehicle was allowed to run idle for thirty minutes before resuming normal operation. The failure and the current mileage was 41,000. Updated 04/11/12 the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, where they found acorn nuts near the throttle body, which may have caused the problem. Updated 04/23/12

- Strasburg, VA, USA

problem #14

Feb 132010

Explorer Sport Trac

  • 114,350 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac. The contact stated the vehicle was parked and suddenly burst into flames. The fire department was called to extinguish the fire and determined that the fire originated from under the hood. Prior to the failure, the contact inquired about NHTSA campaign id number: 07V336000 (vehicle speed control) but was advised by the manufacturer that his VIN was not included in the recall. The recall stated that a fire could potentially start from under the hood. Later, the contact's VIN was added to the recall and he received notification but the contact was under the impression that the letter pertained to a different vehicle he owned. The failure and current mileages were 114,350.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #13

Sep 072007

Explorer Sport Trac 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac. The contact received a recall notice in September of 2007 for the vehicle speed control: Cruise control. The speed control was disconnected. The contact would like to know why the dealer does not have the parts available. There had been no failure to date. The recall number was unknown. The current mileage was 104,600. Updated 5/20/08

- Taylor, PA, USA

problem #12

Aug 152007

Explorer Sport Trac 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac. The contact received a Ford recall notice for the vehicle speed control in August of 2007. The dealer has stated every month since then that the part for the repair would be available the following month. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 111,000. Updated 04/03/08.

- Headlend, AL, USA

problem #11

Aug 172007

Explorer Sport Trac 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac. The contact stated that the parts for Ford recall number 05S28 (vehicle speed control: Cruise control) are unavailable. He has been given a lot of incorrect information as to when the parts will be available. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 86,000. Updated 03-04-08

- Sulphur, OK, USA

problem #10

Jan 222008

Explorer Sport Trac 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,175 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac. When the transmission indicator lever is pulled to change gears, it goes one space too far. When the gear is placed into neutral, the vehicle drives in reverse. When the gear is placed into drive, the vehicle operates in neutral. When the gear is placed into reverse, the vehicle remains in park. The current mileage was 34,231 and failure mileage was 34,175. Updated 02-19-08 the consumer stated disconnected speed deactivation switch pertaining to recall 05S28. Updated 02/14/08

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #9

Aug 252007

Explorer Sport Trac 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V336000 (vehicle speed control) in August of 2007. He scheduled an appointment to have the cruise control serviced; however, the dealer stated that the parts were unavailable. The dealer offered to have the deactivation switch disconnected, but the contact declined and stated that he paid good money for the vehicle. The contact notified Ford Motor Company and they stated that they did not know when the part would arrive. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage is 125,090. Updated 02-25-08 updated

- Blairsville, GA, USA

problem #8

Aug 152007

Explorer Sport Trac 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac. The contact received a safety recall notice for the vehicle speed control in August of 2007. Since that time, the dealer has stated each month that the parts will be available the following month. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage is 59,000. Updated 02/15/08.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #7

Oct 102007

Explorer Sport Trac 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,800 miles
On October 10th, following a cold start, the vehicle was shifted from park into drive with the 4X4 mode selection switch set to 2wd mode. Instead of 2wd mode, the vehicle was in 4X4 low mode. There was no shift command to go into 4X4 low mode and it was impossible to switch out of 4X4 low mode. The vehicle was driven to a dealership in 4X4 low mode. The dealership claimed that the transfer case shift motor had shorted forcing the uncommanded shift to 4X4 low mode. The shift motor was replaced and the vehicle was returned. The old part is available. On November 2nd, following a cold start, the vehicle was shifted from park into drive with the 4X4 mode selection switch set to 2wd mode. After driving a distance less than 1 mile at a vehicle speed of approximately 20mph, a repetitive clicking noise was observed from under the passenger's side dash. While the vehicle was in motion an uncommanded shift to 4X4 low mode occurred. After coming to a stop it was discovered that it was impossible to switch out of 4X4 low mode. The vehicle was driven to the dealership in 4X4 low mode. The most recent repair prior to this issue was related to a Ford recall involving the speed control system.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #6

Oct 192007

Explorer Sport Trac 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac. While driving 45 mph, the lights on the dashboard and the rear brake lights failed to illuminate. As of October 22, 2007, the dealer had not inspected the vehicle. The contact felt that the vehicle speed control caused the failure. There is a recall for the vehicle speed control (NHTSA campaign id number 07V336000); however, the dealer stated that the parts were unavailable. The current and failure mileages were 96,000.

- Marion, SC, USA

problem #5

Sep 012007

Explorer Sport Trac 6-cyl

  • miles
Recall: Speed control deactivation switch poses risk of underhood fire dealer says he won't have the part until December. What do I do now?

- Sun City, AZ, USA

problem #4

Jul 092007

Explorer Sport Trac 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Explorer Sport Trac. On July 9, 2007, the vehicle caught fire. The vehicle was completely turned off with no passengers at the time of failure. The vehicle was destroyed. A fire and police report were filed. The current and failure mileages were 65,000. It was determined the faulty cruise control switch caused the fire. Updated 08/16/07.

- Roland, AR, USA

problem #3

Dec 012005

Explorer Sport Trac 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
: the contact stated while parked overnight in a garage; the vehicle caught fire and sustained extensive damage. The fire department was called to the scene to extinguish the fire. No one was injured. The police were also on the scene and a report was taken. The insurance adjustor inspected the vehicle and determined the fire started on the driver's side and most likely ignited from the cruise control assembly. There is a NHTSA recall, # 05V388000, regarding the cruise control. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it is not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Edinburg, TX, USA

problem #2

Jul 302004

Explorer Sport Trac 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,485 miles
The vehicle would continuously stall at low rpms but could be restarted immediately. The cause of stalling was not known. The dealers technician replaced the iac.

- Galloway, NJ, USA

problem #1

May 052004

Explorer Sport Trac 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
Intermittently while driving at a very low speed vehicle surged by applyingthe brakes.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?