Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,703 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Ford F-150 body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #71

Nov 102001

F-150 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Doors are cracking at rear seam of window. Vehicle is not covered under extended warranty which consumer purchased. Dealer is not willing to fix it because it's out of the original warranty.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #70

Nov 062001

(reported on)

F-150

  • miles
I went to the dealer and he was very aware of the problem and that he is also an F150 owner and that he cannot get Ford to fix his problems either. Whe I call Ford at 1800 392 3673 the lady that assisted me told me that she never heard of such problems. Which goes to show that Ford is just trying to hide the problem. I have bought and extended warranty which the dealer says it wont cover this failures, and that Ford is only replacing doors on vehicles that their warranty hasnot expired. From what I have gather, I am one in thousands of F150 owners with this type of structural damage and all we want is to have our problem fix.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #69

Oct 052001

F-150

  • miles
Passenger's and driver's side doors were cracking. Crack started from bottom of window and it ended on door of both sides. Contacted dealer, and dealer was not willing to do anything.

- Lansford, PA, USA

problem #68

Sep 192001

(reported on)

F-150 4WD

  • Manual transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The truck is a 3 door ext. Cab. The driver & passenger doors both cracked near the bottom of the windows towards the back of the door. I believe this is a safety hazard as the stress fracture would probably give on impact & cause the door to crush in on this area and the window to break, both on the occupant. Ford did replace both doors under warranty approximantely 20 months ago-the replacement doors also cracked in the same area. Ford must be aware of this problem - 1999 models have different doors. This is a rampant problem on 1997 & 1998 Ford trucks. This would be safety concern upon an impact.

- Ishpeming, MI, USA

problem #67

Sep 032001

F-150

  • miles
Driver's door is developing cracks in corner area. Dealer has inspected vehicle and was willing to share the cost of repairs. Feel free to provide any further information on this matter.

- Saint Joseph, MO, USA

problem #66

Jul 042001

F-150

  • miles
The drivers side door has developed a crack in it. The metal itsself is actually cracking. The crack is located near the window and extends appox 1/2" from thw window out. I contacted Ford and they informed me that it was not their problem as the vehicle is over the mileage. Ford did tell me that they know of this problem and that the doors are not capable of being open and shut numerous times. It is a design problem according to them.

- Utica, OH, USA

problem #65

Aug 152001

F-150 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Door is cracking apart at a welded seam aft of the window3 inches up from window base this so much of a common problem with this truck that every one I know who ownes one has the problem.

- Ambler, PA, USA

problem #64

Jan 012001

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Both doors have cracks in the metal below the window about 3-4 inches from side of door. Cracks are about 1 inch long.

- Claire, MI, USA

problem #63

Aug 212001

F-150

  • miles
Door has crack by lowerrear of the belt molding.

- Hinesville, GA, USA

problem #62

Aug 012001

F-150

  • miles
Around 1 August 2001 I was talking with some friends at work, during the conversation defects in the door design of the new Ford F-150 pickup truck came up. I had purchased an F-150 super cab in April 2001 and hadnT heard anything about this defect. My friends stated that the door on the new F-150S werenT designed properly for the weight of the door and would start to develop cracks. They said that if I took it to the dealer Ford would pay to repair the cracks. I checked my truck and I noticed a crack at the lower right corner of my driverS door near the bottom of the window. I went to crowne Ford in warrensburg, mo 660-747-7111, on 6 Aug 01 and spoke with Mr. Chris marten he informed that I needed to contact Ford directly because even though I purchased the vehicle in April 2001 the warranty on my truck expired in February 2001. After arriving at home I called Ford on 6 Aug 01 at 11:45am at 800-392-3673 and spoke with mark, employee # 2547. Mark informed me that Ford would not repair the defect since the 3/36-warranty period had expired. (note) what I have since discovered is that Ford has known about this defect since 1997. The defect was corrected in the 2000-year models but many customers who discovered cracks and brought their trucks in for repair prior to 2000 had new doors installed with the same defect in them. Ford has even sent out a technical bulletin to their dealers, article # 01-2-6 but failed to inform the public about the defect. Ford would pay for the repairs only if the customer brought it to the dealerS attention within the warranty period. There seems to be a continuing problem with Ford not informing the public about known defects with their vehicles until after someone gets killed or seriously injured. I hope that the nhtsb can help resolve this defect for all Ford F-150 owners and myself.

- Whiteman Afb, MO, USA

problem #61

Aug 012001

F-150

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Around 1 August 2001 I was talking with some friends at work, during the conversation defects in the door design of the new Ford F-150 pickup truck came up. I had purchased an F-150 super cab in April 2001 and hadnT heard anything about this defect. My friends stated that the door on the new F-150S werenT designed properly for the weight of the door and would start to develop cracks. They said that if I took it to the dealer Ford would pay to repair the cracks. I checked my truck and I noticed a crack at the lower right corner of my driverS door near the bottom of the window. I went to crowne Ford in warrensburg, mo 660-747-7111, on 6 Aug 01 and spoke with Mr. Chris marten he informed that I needed to contact Ford directly because even though I purchased the vehicle in April 2001 the warranty on my truck expired in February 2001. After arriving at home I called Ford on 6 Aug 01 at 11:45am at 800-392-3673 and spoke with mark, employee # 2547. Mark informed me that Ford would not repair the defect since the 3/36-warranty period had expired. (note) what I have since discovered is that Ford has known about this defect since 1997. The defect was corrected in the 2000-year models but many customers who discovered cracks and brought their trucks in for repair prior to 2000 had new doors installed with the same defect in them. Ford has even sent out a technical bulletin to their dealers, article # 01-2-6 but failed to inform the public about the defect. Ford would pay for the repairs only if the customer brought it to the dealerS attention within the warranty period. There seems to be a continuing problem with Ford not informing the public about known defects with their vehicles until after someone gets killed or seriously injured. I hope that the nhtsb can help resolve this defect for all Ford F-150 owners and myself.

- Whiteman Afb, MO, USA

problem #60

Aug 042001

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
There's a crack on driver's side door frame just above handle near window frame area. Crack is just starting. Have taken to dealer, and mechanic indicated problem was stress. There is a technical service bulletin in place on this procedure. Manufacturer knows of problem, and had changed door design in newer vehicles.

- Lake City, MN, USA

problem #59

Jul 012001

F-150 4WD

  • miles
Drivers side door crack bottom right, next to window.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #58

May 012001

F-150 4WD

  • miles
I noticed the paint cracking and went to the local dealership. They sent me to the warrenty paint shop, which detedted the thickness of paint. The truck has never been painted by me, the original owner. The paint shop also told me, and showed me the crack in the door. The local dealership said they could do nothing for me, but cintact the regional Ford rep. She said Ford will only pay % 20 of the $4450 cost for the paint and door. I feel this is outrageous, since I had nothing to do with the damage and poor quality. The Ford national "customer relationship" center has been notified and kept abreast of the situation. They say today that the regional rep has the final say. If this is a defect from the factory, and because I took good care of the truck so the defects didn't show up until 61,000. Why should I pay" I'd like to know what %80 I caused"

- Oakland, ME, USA

problem #57

May 152001

F-150

  • miles
Ford knows their is a problem with F150 doors cracking and has even sent out a bulletin to their dealers, because my truck was out of the warranty by 2000 miles they would not fix the problem I beleive if involved in a crash this defect will result in a failure of the door, I think Ford should replace the doors because of an safety issue.

- Redwood City, CA, USA

problem #56

Jun 012001

F-150 4WD

  • miles
Both front doors are cracking also every 1997,1998,1999, Ford F-150 extended cab truck I looked at had also cracked this is going cause injury's in an accident because I know the door is designed to help cushion impact on certian types of collissions the crackes have know compromised the integrity of the doors. I am apolled at the arregance of big bussiness not standing behind thier $30000 product also at how weak your safety Agency is you should protect the public 100% and make all the auto manufactures produce quality vehicles and stand behind them, thanks chuck matthews

- Harlan, IA, USA

problem #55

Jun 052001

F-150 4WD

  • miles
Door skin has a crack coming out from under door window seal lower right hand corner approximatley 4 inches up from the bottom. Same area that is referenced in Ford tsb number 996754 sequence number 845, dated 9908. NHTSA item number SB608461. Ford dealer says they are unaware of any problems in this area, yet in looking at their used trucks, 1997 thru 2001 all trucks have cracks in drivers door and most in passenger doors.

- St. Leonard, MD, USA

problem #54

Jun 042001

(reported on)

F-150 4WD

  • miles
Crack in the door sheet metal at the lower rear of the window opening near the belt molding.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #53

May 192001

F-150 4WD

  • miles
Drivers side door crack starting at lower right hand side of side window running horizontal about 1" long.

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #52

May 012001

F-150 4WD

  • miles
No summary listed for above vehicle.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?