Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 28
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 1
Average Mileage:
88,682 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Jun 032008


  • 19 miles


We own a motor home, built on a Ford incomplete vehicle chassis, powered by a Ford V-10 Triton engine. The first engine began to spit out spark plugs after reaching 75,000 miles on the odometer. This occurred on Friday, January 27, 2006, about forty miles East of kingman, Arizona. After spending money to get the problem diagnosed at a Goodyear dealership in kingman, Arizona, we had to order a special repair kit from baril engine rebuilding company in green bay, Wisconsin, paying for the shipping both ways. A mechanic resleeved the cylinder. As I had to make a speaking engagement, we had to drive for close to 1,000 miles with wretched fumes and horrid noise. The second spark plug was spit out on Friday, feburary 10, 2007. As I had another speaking engagement, which is how I make my living, we had to drive to pensacola, Florida, and thence lafayette, Louisiana, before another repair kit was rented to be used by yet another mechanic. The third spark plug was spit out two weeks later, on Monday, February 26, 2007, as we were driving from pensacola to lafayette. We rented the tool kit from baril engine rebuilding company once again. This original Ford V-10 Triton engine died on Thursday, April 19, 2007, on interstate 80/94 just East of mile marker 160. Two cylinders had lost compression entirely. No one at terry Ford Lincoln Mercury in peotone, Illinois, could explain why this had happened. We had to raise $9,000 to pay for a new engine and its installation. The engine had been well maintained. The replacement engine has also been maintained well. Despite this fact, however, the engine spit out its first spark plug, just 19,000 miles and thirteen months, eight days after its installation, an incident that occurred this afternoon, Wednesday, June 3, 2008, at exit 22 of the New York state thruway in selkirk, New York.

- Monroe, CT, USA

problem #37

Apr 262008


  • 100,600 miles
I have a 2001 Ford F 150 w/a Triton V8 engine. It blew a plug out and Ford knows there is a problem and won't fix the issue. I am have to pay $1,000 to repair an engine that is defective right off the factory floor. I have done a lot of research and there is a serious problem and some have caught fire. Will people actually have to die before Ford is required to do something about it?

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #36

Apr 272008


  • 157,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. After being parked for one hour, the vehicle burst into flames and was destroyed. Two vehicles next to the contact's vehicle were damaged. The fire department stated that the fire originated from the engine compartment and a report was filed. The contact has pictures. The failure mileage was 157,000.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #35

Mar 312008

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 113,000 miles


While leaving a stop sign under normal acceleration my 2001 F 150 with 113,000. Miles blew a spark plug out of the right side / third cylinder back. It broke the coil and the plug was just laying on the head. The sparkplug threads were not damaged.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #34

Mar 052008

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
My 2001 F-150 had #4 cylinder spark plug blow out. Actually melted the metal portion of the spark plug. I have 56,000 miles on my truck. Sales man told me the truck did not require any type of tune up until 100,000 miles. I guess he was wrong.

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #33

Aug 242007

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 127,000 miles
I have a 2001 Ford F150 lariat supercrew with the 5.4 liter engine. My family and I were on vacation when the 3rd sparkplug back on the drivers side blew out of the engine and left us stranded. It destroyed the coil in the process and nicked the fuel rail. We had to have a forty mile tow to a mechanic who could put in a helicoil to hold the new sparkplug and also put in a new coil. This cost us $600 including the tow. This was the 2nd Ford with a 5.4 liter engine in a week that this mechanic fixed with a blown sparkplug. The nearest Ford dealer wanted to replace the entire head at my expense for $3,300 not including a tow. This took place in kalispell Montana. Since then I have had to check and retighten at least one of my spark plugs every 3,000 miles. The truck had approximately 127,000 miles on it when I blew my sparkplug.

- Kettle Falls, WA, USA

problem #32

Feb 122008

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 126,000 miles


#3 spark plug drivers side blown out, damaged coil and possibly fuel rail. 5.4 Triton engine is in a 2001 F-150 4X4 with 126,000 miles, not very safe with the possibility of a spark right next to the fuel rail.

- Bardstown, KY, USA

problem #31

Feb 012008

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,200 miles
'99 - '08 Ford 5.4L V8's are equipped with 100,000 mile spark plugs from the factory. They are failing in large numbers at well under 50,000 miles. Most times pulling the threads out of the aluminum heads of the motor. Other times the spark plugs break leaving part of it in the block. My problem was the #7 plug breaking in half while the vehicle was in operation. When I took my '01 F-150 super crew to the dealer I was told that they couldn't replace the rest of the spark plugs because they would probably strip the threads out of the heads when they removed them.

- Wolf Creek, OR, USA

problem #30

Jan 232008

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,990 miles
Had minor ticking noise - was told this is typical in this Ford engine. 16 months ago I had the dealer replace the spark plugs, ticking was still there, and just last week one of the plugs blew out of the head. Luckily no accident or injury. This could be quite dangerous having a plug sparking with fuel vapors escaping from the hole where the plug used to be. After talking to a number of F150 owners - found this is a rather common problem. Why no recall? dealer installed spacer insert rather than helicoil. Rather expensive repair, and if it happens again, will need new head.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #29

Jan 202008

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,200 miles
Ford 2001 F150 crew4X4 replaced spark plugs after #4 coil pack went bad then number2 coil pack went bad after only 65,000 miles. Then at 142,000miles #6coil pack and sparkplug blew out of motor.

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #28

Dec 202007

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 139,000 miles


Drove my Ford F150 to work, parked it and 30 - 40 minutes later the entire engine compartment was on fire. I entered the truck 30 minutes after I parked to remove my check book, but I did not see or smell anything that resulted in the fire. The truck was not insured, but appears to be a total loss.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #27

Oct 202007

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15 miles
Spark plug blow out.

- Bucksport, ME, USA

problem #26

Jul 272007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F150. On July 27, 2007, the vehicle caught fire while parked. The vehicle was destroyed. A fire and police report were filed. The fire marshall stated that the fire began in the engine compartment. The passenger side fender of another parked vehicle was scorched due to the fire. The current and failure mileages were 80,000. Updated 02-01-08 updated 02/01/08

- Lee High Acres , FL, USA

problem #25

Jul 312007

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,900 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. She was informed that her vehicle caught fire. The fire was extinguished using a fire extinguisher and the fire department was called. As of August 3, 2007, the dealer has not repaired the vehicle. The manufacturer stated that they would send a letter to the contact within two weeks. The current and failure mileages were 119,000. Updated 02-01-08. Updated 02/01/08

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #24

Jul 262007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
I was driving my 2001 Ford svt lightning, with only 30,000 miles on the odometer. No sign of a problem whatsoever. While passing a big truck, pop........and then I lost power and almost didn't complete the pass in time. Once I pulled over, I found that a spark plug blew out, and took out a coil on it's way. The Ford dealer wants big money for the repair (new heads), and I can't afford it right now. I've found this to be a common problem, and Ford won't do anything about it. My plugs are original, so nothing was done by me to contribute to this failure. Now my truck is sitting in the driveway, and it can't be driven. Hope my other Ford don't spit out a plug.

- Defuniak Springs, FL, USA

problem #23

May 292007

F-150 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,833 miles
On Tuesday morning, 05/29/2007 at 1:30am, I was awakened by a loud boom and a bright flash from outside of my bedroom window. When I jumped up to see what was happening, I saw my truck engulfed in flames. I grabbed my cell phone from beside my bed and dialed 911 as I ran to the front porch. By the time I reached the front porch the entire front of the vehicle was engulfed, the hood was completely gone and the front tires were on fire. When the fire department arrived, the truck was on fire from the front bumper to the rear bumper. The inside of the truck was completely in flames and all of the window glass had either melted or been blown away from the truck body. It was determined by the fire department that the fire began inside of the engine compartment.

- Walterboro, SC, USA

problem #22

Apr 132007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
A spark plug blew out of my Ford F-150. Did not know until recently that this problem occurs a lot in Ford truck motors. Engine does not really run now because it would probably catch on fire from exhaust flames. I do not know what I have to do to get the problem fixed, but after reading multiple complaints, I am led to believe I will be paying roughly $5,000 to get the problem fixed.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #21

Mar 262007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,075 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. While driving 70 mph in dry conditions, the contact heard a loud noise coming from the vehicle. Initially, the contact thought a tire was blown and pulled the vehicle off the road. All four tires were in normal condition, but the scent of gas was detected. The vehicle was towed to a mechanic, who disconnected the fuel injector to the number seven cylinders, so the vehicle could be driven home. The failure was not repaired at that time. The contact took the vehicle to a local shop closer to home, and was charged $1,863 for removing both heads, and had the machine flat at the number seven cylinder. The Ford manufacturer was notified, and stated that the contact was responsible for the engine repair. The current mileage was 91,750, and failure mileage was 90,075. The consumer feels the problem was the Triton engine and Ford should be held accountable for the cost of the repairs. Update 5/3/07

- Lincoln Park, MI, USA

problem #20

Feb 102007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. While driving 40 mph the vehicle made a loud popping sound similar to a truck back firing. The mechanic stated the spark plug and coils werecausing the failure. This failure occurred on 2 previous occasions. The recent failure the mechanic was unable to repair by changing the spark plugs, the damagewas more advanced and costly. Most Ford trucks experienced this failure at 8 years. The vehicle was towed, and was currently at the dealer for repair. The failure and current mileage were 93000.

- Bardstown , KY, USA

problem #19

Oct 122006

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 499 miles
: the contact stated while driving 10 mph through a light, and making a left turn under normal road conditions, the contact heard a pop coming from under the hood. After pulling over to inspect under the hood, the contact noticed that the third spark plug had popped out of place from the cylinder head. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who would not inspect the vehicle. It was towed to another dealer via reference from the warranty company. The vehicle was currently being evaluated by the dealer, awaiting the results. The manufacturer was notified and denied that the vehicle was part of the recall list and therefore would not provide further assistance. The contact noticed consumer complaints via website similar to the problems the vehicle had. One similar complaint was ODI #10033248.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?