Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 52
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 1
Average Mileage:
65,345 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Mar 132006

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Woke up in the morning to truck on fire..called the fire department right away as vehicle was parked close to home they were able to put it out...thankfully only damage outside of vehicle was to the pavers on driveway..did call Ford company and my name was not even listed as owner of vehicle...old owner was...probably why I never received the recall notice.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #44

Feb 102006

F-150 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,500 miles
Our Ford F-150 truck, [xxx], caught fire at 2:30 am on Feb 10, 2006. It was parked beside our home and melted the vinyl siding on the side of the home where the fire started. The truck was parked and the last time it was driven was 8:30 pm, Feb 9, 2006. We received a recall for the cruise control in Sept, 2005. The truck was taken to burns Ford in lancaster, SC and was disconnected in Oct, 2005. The dealership did not have the replacement part to install, the part was to come in Feb, 2006. The truck burned before the replacement was installed. We have tried to find out the cause of this fire by contacting Ford Motor Company's Consumer Affairs department. We are not getting any response. Pictures were sent to Ford via certified mail, and a confirmation that the cd with the pictures were received by Ford on 2-28-06. We have emailed Ford, left voice mails to find out the status of their investigation as to the cause and have not been contacted. We are extremely disappointed in the way Ford is handling this. The vehicle was taken to cedesco rozzelles ferry rd in charlotte, nc. Updated 07/17/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Lancaster, SC, USA

problem #43

Nov 142005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Recall of Ford F150 pickup for underhood cruise control defect. The last communication said the repair would be made by Feb 15, 2006. This was the third date set. The dealer disconnected my cruise control at the manufacturers request last fall. I have had no communication from them since.

- Gallatin, TN, USA

problem #42

Feb 152006

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Ford F150 super crew cruise control issues when using the cruise control at highway speeds (50-65 mph), if you encounter an incline sufficient for the transmission to downshift the cruise control begins to accelerate in a runaway mode. It will not shutoff. During one of these events I allowed the vehicle to continue accelerating to determine if the cruise would eventually shut down. It did not and I reached a speed of over 90 mph. Whereas there was a recall on this vehicle for fires related to the cruise control I waited until those parts were available before mentioning this to my Ford dealer. The dealer insisted that the recall would not fix this problem. That is, the sudden acceleration was unrelated to the recall. On 2/16/06 I took my vehicle to the dealer for the sudden acceleration complaint. He test drove the vehicle and was not able to duplicate the problem so his contention was that if he cannot duplicate it, it does not exist. Nothing could be further from the truth. This is a dangerous situation!

- Dover, NH, USA

problem #41

Dec 142005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Preliminary data.. Ford F150 2001 supercrew was left unattended while shopping. Upon return I noted a puddle of fluid that was not present earlier under the vehicle. Upon leaning down on the drivers side front to inspect for the source of the leak small flames were noted in the engine compartment. Upon opening the hood for further inspection it was noted that the rear driver side of the engine compartment was on fire (appearing to me and other observers to be electrical in nature) with the brake fluid reservoir completed melted. The flames first observed were forced by the molten plastic dripping down into the engine compartment. The fire department was notified but thanks to some employees of the shop and the availability there of an approved extinguisher, the fire was terminated before the arrival of the fire department some 7 minutes later. Comments were made by others and later by internet research that the damage has all of the appearances of being forced by the speed control deactivation switch issue. The vehicle is currently under evaluation by a Ford dealership and my insurance company. Fortunately the vehicle was unoccupied at the time and was in the middle of a strip center parking lot with no vehicles around it should the fire had time to develop further. Earlier or later, it could have easily consumed my home.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #40

Oct 042005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
On the evening of Oct. 4, 2005 at 5:50 pm, I arrived home from work and parked my 2001 Ford F150 supercrew in my garage. I had a normal evening and retired to bed at 10:00 pm at approximately 11:30pm the smoke detector in my home awakened me. I jumped out of bed and ran to the other side of my house and observed through the door into the garage, my F150 on fire. The flames were fully involving the front of the car with flames shooting out of both wheel wells and just inside the windshield on the drivers side. I called 911 and the fire department arrived quickly but too late to save my truck or my house and contents which were subsequently destroyed. I did not know of nor did I receive a notification of the recall from Ford regarding the cruise control switch. As a matter of fact I have yet to receive notice.

- Brandon, MS, USA

problem #39

May 142005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Ford F-150 Ford pick up truck caught fire. Also causing damage to our 2002 camper.

- Stickney, IL, USA

problem #38

Jul 112005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F150. The contact stated while driving with the cruise control on the vehicle accelerated at speeds of 90 mph and above, almost causing an accident. While this was occurring one could smell a burning odor, and see smoke coming from under the hood. After this occurred the contact took the vehicle to dealership, and the dealership assured him that they would not touch the vehicle until they ran a diagnostic test and made sure the vehicle was under warranty. The consumer left the vehicle at the dealership, and when he returned he found that the dealership blew up the engine. This happened when the dealership attempted to start the vehicle because of the cruise control still activated which caused the engine to blowout. The dealership did not want to replace the engine because later found out that the vehicle was no longer under warranty. Contacted the manufacturer, and the manufacturer hung up on him.

- Haltom City, TX, USA

problem #37

Sep 252005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles
The contact stated 2001 Ford F150 caught on fire on 9-25-05 while parked. The fires originated under the hood. The fire was near the brake cylinder. The fire department was not called. The consumer put the fire out with water and a fire extinguisher. The consumer had not talked to the dealer or the manufacturer yet. The truck was not totaled. She reported of having a blown fuse twice. They replaced the fuse both times. When the fuse would blew out there would not be any windshield wipers, cruise control or lights. Would have to put the truck in neutral in order to start the truck. She did not have the scds replaced prior to the fire.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #36

Sep 012005

F-150

  • miles
2001 Ford F150 super crew cruise control burnt out. The consumer was told his vehicle was not included in the recall, even though his cruise control switch failed.

- Fulton, NY, USA

problem #35

Sep 062005

F-150 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Small fire and burning of wires coming out of the brake master cylinder "cruise-control deactivation switch" electrical wires damaged and need replacement.. called Ford stated that vehicle was not covered by the recall issued April 2005. My vehicle is a 2001 Ford 150 scab.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #34

Dec 122004

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles
The cruise control quit working 6 months ago. Took vehicle to a local Ford dealer, who never inspected the truck, but said it was probably a module and not what was listed as the component on NHTSA camp id recall 05V017000. There was a current recall involving the cruise control switch but this applied to earlier build models not the consumer's vehicle. No repairs were made. Contacted Ford directly and filed a complaint after taking to a an independent service shop. The mechanic noted this involved a potential fire hazard on the cruise control switch. No repairs were made at this service shop as well. No alterations or corrections have been made to the cruise control switch.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #33

Feb 152005

F-150

  • miles
Ford Motor Co. Issued a voluntary recall on thousands of F-150 series pu's in early 2005, concerning the cruise contol switch. My cruise control quit operating so I checked what Ford asked. Sure enough the switch was full of fluid. I was told by my Ford dealer that this was a recall problem and would be fixed when parts came available. I called the dealership in July 2005 and was informed that the parts were available. Upon taking the vehicle in, I was told, even though the vehicle had the recall problem, it would not be fixed at this time, as some models were still under investigation. I have no experience in vehicle recall investigation, however I do have a fair knowledge of automobiles, and if it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck, it's a duck!

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #32

Aug 122005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles
On 8/12/05 woke up 2001 F-150 on fire due to cruise control switch defect.

- Palatka, FL, USA

problem #31

Aug 012005

F-150 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,214 miles
My 2001 F-150 caught fire from the front driver side. The cruise control switch. I was able to stop the fire before it ruined my truck.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #30

Jul 282005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
2001 Ford F150. The vehicle caught on fire while parked. This occurred on 7-28-05, when the fire department came the vehicle was already in flames. The fire investigator said that the fire started in the cruise control area. There were no other objects that caught on fire. Everything except for part of the vehicle bed has been melted. There were no other problems with the vehicle except for a slight bumper adjustment. Consumer was going to contact the manufacturer next.

- Lorton, VA, USA

problem #29

Jul 172005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
2001 Ford F150 crew cab. On 7-17-05 while the vehicle was parked it caught on fire. About a week before this the cruise control went out. Consumer did not have a chance to get the dealer to look at it. The fire chief said that the fire had started in the electrical box around the cruise control area. The fire chief wrote a report. Consumer believed that the fire chief turned it over to the police. When consumer contacted the manufacturer they said someone would get back to him. He called them again they said it would be turned over to Consumer Affairs. The next time consumer called they told him that the legal department was handling it. Also, told him legal department would be sending him some papers to fill out within five days. It has been at least a week since that. About a year ago it smoked and missed a little. The dealership found that the valve guides were bad. And they replaced the heads. There had been no other problems with the vehicle until now. What was left of the vehicle was parked at consumers home. Some of consumer's yard items were also damaged. The dealership that worked on the vehicle was starke Ford in starke, Florida.

- Gramham, FL, USA

problem #28

Jun 232005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The consumer states that his 2001 Ford F150 caught on fire. The damage was to the front bumper. The whole front end was destroyed by the fire. The vehicle was parked in a parking lot. The truck had been sitting for around thirty to forty-five minutes. The alarm started going off when the police noticed that the vehicle was on fire. The fire started from under the hood. The owner rarely used his cruise control. The fire was out of control and the fire department had to be called in. There is a fire department report filed. There is not a police report. There were no problems prior to the fire. The owner does have pictures of the truck some at the scene and other pictures have been taken after the vehicle was moved. The police told the consumer to check into the cruise control deactivation switch problem.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #27

Jul 192005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles
Caller went to work and left his truck and while he was out the vehicle caught on fire. Fire department was not called, and there was no report filed. Dealer or manufacturer has not been contacted yet. Vehicle was not completely destroyed.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #26

Jul 122005

F-150 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Ford F150 crew cab XL model. The caller stated that truck burned last week about 4:45 am. The sound of a horn blowing woke the caller up and he went outside and saw truck was on fire. Called 911, and the police and the fire department came and put the fire out. The fire started in the engine and worked its way to the cab of the truck. The truck was parlkd at caller's house. The lean holders inspector came out on July 14, 2005 and looked at the truck. The insurance company wanted police and fire reports.

- Killeen, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?