Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 52
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 1
Average Mileage:
65,345 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #65

Nov 222011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 248,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150 super crew. The contact stated that after parking the vehicle, he was informed that the vehicle was engulfed in flames. The fire department was called and advised that the modular of the cruise control was the cause of the fire. The manufacturer was contacted and they advised the contact to take the vehicle to a dealer. The failure and the current mileages were approximately 248,000....update 01/20/12

- Wesley Chapel , FL, USA

problem #64

Jun 022008

F-150

  • 177,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. On June 2, 2008, after being driven for nine hours, the vehicle caught fire while parked in the contact's driveway. He never received a recall notice and no preventive repairs were made in the event of a fire. Prior to the fire, the cruise control had stopped working. The current mileage was 180,000 and failure mileage was 177,000.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #63

Apr 212007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 192,000 miles
On April 21,2007 my 2001 F150 was sitting in the front yard after being driven for about 30 minutes that morning and started a fire. In no time the truck was a total lose. Was living in gulfport, miss. After the storm (katrina) every thing was all messed up. I had no insurance on the truck. I thought since there was a recall on my truck I could work things out with Ford. As time went by and all the paperwork fielded out as Ford requested, they sent me a letter saying they needed 90 days to have their engineers check my components. 90 days went by still no response from Ford. Then I received a letter from Ford saying it wasn't their fault. As of right now, I'm at a stand still needing help with this matter.

- Monroe, LA, USA

problem #62

Mar 312008

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 127,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. The contact stated that his vehicle caught fire under the hood on the driver side. A police report was filed. On March 31, 2008, the contact received a recall notice for the vehicle speed control: Cruise control, which suggested he schedule an appointment to have the recall work performed. The recall number was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 127,000.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #61

Mar 212008

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 193,000 miles
The contact owned a 2001 Ford F150. The contact stated that his caught fire while parked in his driveway. The fire destroyed the vehicle. There were no injuries, deaths or police report. The contact received a recall notice for vehicle speed control on March 22, 2008. The current and failure mileages were 193,000.

- Highland, CA, USA

problem #60

Jan 222006

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
A 2001 Ford with a defective speed deactivation control device burned to the ground. My Chevrolet truck was parked next to the Ford, therefore also burned to a total loss.

- Palm City, FL, USA

problem #59

Aug 052007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2001 Ford F-150 caught on fire around 2:30 a.M. on August 5,2007 it was parked in my drive way and it had not been moved that entire day. We had the police come and make a report along with the firefighters and they told us that the cause had been the deactivation switch of the cruise control that made the truck get on fire. We have those reports so we contacted our insurance they told us that even though we had full coverage the insurance did not cover the damage that was caused. So they recommended us to talk to Ford to see what they could do for us. But when we contacted them they took our information. They requested pictures and the reports that had been made we faxed them to carmen from the Ford Consumer Affairs department. But we never received anything back from them that is when we sent them a letter notifying them how disappointed we where. The next day carmen contacted my daughter elisa rodriguez and told her that they still hadn't been able to do anything for us but that she would let us know. As the days passed we would not receive anything from Ford so we would call them over and over again but now they not only didn't give us information but they would not return our calls we left various messages. But there was no answer. Until one day my daughter called and carmen finally answered and told us that they could not do anything for us because the vehicle had been to badly burned in order to see what had caused it to get on fire. But Ford never sent anyone to make investigations or a report they just didn't even try to help us in anything they just assumed everything they said.

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #58

Apr 012007

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,500 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford F-150. While driving 73 mph with the cruise control engaged, the accelerator pedal extended to the floorboard when the resume button was pressed. As of September 10, 2007, the dealer had not inspected the vehicle. The failure mileage was 34,500 and current mileage was 36,500.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #57

May 122007

F-150

  • Manual transmission
  • 100,052 miles
May 12th 2006 my 2001 Ford F-150 caught fire in my mother's garage and burned the truck totally up and the fire resulted in my mother's house being a total loss.

- Athens, TX, USA

problem #56

Jul 092005

F-150

  • miles
2001 F-150 caught on fire while parked in carport. When the vehicle caught on fire it also caught a portion of the consumer's home on fire. The vehicle was pulled from under the carport where it totally burned. The fire inspected informed the consumer that the vehicle caught on fire due to a faulty cruise control which had been recalled. The consumer's never received a recall notification.

- Broken Bow, OK, USA

problem #55

Sep 262006

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle caught on fire in the middle of the night while parked in the driveway, not running. I have liability insurance only...didn't think there was any reason I would report it to the insurance company. Truck was destroyed...luckily my brother awoke in the middle of the night and saw the truck on fire. The truck was parked less than a foot away from the house. My brother was able to put the fire out without getting hurt. I considered it a miracle no one was hurt.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #54

Sep 252006

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 152,000 miles
: the contact stated while the vehicle was parked for six hours in the driveway next to a residence, it became engulfed in flames. The fire originated from under the hood. The fire department was called and extinguished the fire. An additional vehicle parked next to the truck and part of the contact's house was also damaged from the fire. There were no problems with the vehicle prior to the incident. The manufacturer was contacted and verified the vehicle was included in the recall. The contact stated a recall notice was never received. Updated 10/17/2006 -

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #53

Aug 232006

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Ford F150 caught fire and burned while sitting in parking lot due to recall of cruise control - outcome pending.

- Sylacauga, AL, USA

problem #52

Aug 062006

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Thirty minutes after returning home my 2001 F-150 caught fire in my driveway. I was never notified of a recall, however I found out after the fact that the cruise control switch was recalled on my vehicle.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #51

Jul 032006

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On 7-1-06 a customer had her F150 towed to my repair facility. At that time I had the 2001 F150 pushed in to secure the truck for the holiday weekend. On 7-3-06 I got a call informing me that my shop was on fire. The fire chief in his report pointed his finger at the Ford. Since then I have 2 point of origin fire investigators look at the truck they also pointed the finger at Ford. A Ford rep. Came out and took a few pics. And said !@#$% happens and then left. So far Ford has not came to look at the truck. What and I suppose to do?

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #50

Jul 172006

F-150 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 89,000 miles
On July 17 2006 I arrived at work and parked my 2001 Ford F150 pu near the country club where I work. I went inside and was in the club for approx 10 min when a fellow employee came running inside and said my pu was on fire. I immediately called the fire dept. While some of the other employees tried helping me put the fire out. I had no type of warning that something like this would happen. I had no problems with my pu until this moment. My pu was totaled and now I have nothing.this situation could have been alot worse if I would not have had fellow employees there to help me out. The club could have caught a fire or someone could have been really hurt.

- Belton, TX, USA

problem #49

Jul 072006

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 109,564 miles
Cruise control after the manufacturer rep replaced the parts for the recall on this vehicle. The cruise control stopped working when my wife took it back to the dealership they said that there was nothing that they had done to cause this problem and they could run a check on it for $30 and let her know what was wrong. Is this what a recall is about?

- Stockdale, TX, USA

problem #48

Jul 032006

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles
1 month ago my 2001 F150 would not crank. I checked the fuse and the #6 fuse (5 amp) had blown. I replaced it with a new 5 amp fuse and it blew again. I called our roadside assistance and asked that the truck be towed as we wanted to know why it was blowing the fuse each time we replaced it. The repair shop had the truck for 2 days and could not duplicate the problem about 10 days later it blew a fuse again. This time it was the #15 fuse(still a 5 amp fuse) and this time the truck would crank but would not go out of park. Called a tow truck again and had it taken to a different repair shop that night. I spoke with the repair shop owner on sat July 1 and told him it was a secondary vehicle and as this was a holiday weekend not to rush. Just when they opened back up after the holiday if he could get it fixed then. On the morning of July 4th 2006 we were called around 10:30 am by the repair shop owner, who was also a tenant in this building, that our truck had caught on fire during the night and was a total loss. He asked that we come right over. We called our insurance on the way as we luckily still had full coverage even though our truck was paid for. The auto repair shop had all the bay doors cut open by the fire department during the night(July 3rd) and there were several other cars in the building that were damaged also. At least one of which was a total loss also. The building had water and smoke damage even in its restroom. The repair shop has not been able to open all week and who knows how large his deductible, etc is. I have since found out my Ford 2003 Excursion has a fire recall on it. I am terrified to have my children in it or have it near my home or someone else's as I don't want to be responsible if it happens again. I have also found out that in my neighborhood of 26 houses. The man 4 doors down had his F150 burn down in his driveway during the night. It happened the month prior to us moving here.

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #47

May 212006

F-150 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,000 miles
I am having a hard time getting Ford to replace a defective, and recalled part. Who do I contact?

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #46

Feb 212006

F-150 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 90,000 miles
My 2001 Ford F-150 caught fire on Feb 21, 2006 I had received a letter from Ford about the recall a week before the fire on Feb 13, 2006.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?