Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,714 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford F-150 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Jan 062003

F-150

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Consumer states while driving the vehicle at any speed, the automatic transmission begins severely slip from gear to gear. Forcing to pull out of the road. Dealer was notified.

- Arroyo Grande, CA, USA

problem #15

Jan 062002

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,200 miles
Significant automatic transmission slippage, almost as if the transmission is slipping into neutral. This happened yesterday when I was making a left turn and was nearly stopped in the middle of the intersection. This problem started after about 20 minutes of freeway driving, and 10 minutes of in-town driving. It was prominent in all auto transmission gears: Reverse, 1, 2, and 3/drive. I had the vehicle towed to the closest dealership in arroyo grande, ca 93420.

- Arroyo Grande, CA, USA

problem #14

Dec 272002

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
Purchased 2001 Ford F150 larietsuper crew cab pu on 4/01/2000, 26 miles on odometer, at time of purchase also purchased roadside assistance pkg and extended warranty, esp, from Ford, have had serious braking problems with vehicle, vehicle was repeatedly serviced at Ford dealership for these repairs, none of which were covered, in May 2002 entire engine failed and had to be rep[laced, was informed by dealership that the problem was that one of the eleectronic brains that control /operate this component failed, on Dec 27, 2002 the transmission gave out entirely, luckily the vehicle was not on the freeway at the time, was towed to dealership where it still sits, have called, E-mailed and mailed info to Ford customer care without any results other then from phone rep saying that there is nothing that Ford will do...this vehicle has been very costly to maintain and for a Ford is definatly not bulit "Ford tough"...I am very disappointed in the attitude of Ford Motor Company regarding my disappointmnent with this vehicle

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #13

Aug 162002

(reported on)

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While vehicle was downshifting transmission was making a noise. Vehicle was serviced. Consumer is now on third transmission.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #12

Aug 152001

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
An ongoing probelem transmission not shifting into gear after stopping vehicle. Vehicle been to the dealer on three occasions; but, problem still reoccurring. Feel free to provide any further information.

- Pearblossom, CA, USA

problem #11

May 242002

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Gear shift sticks and is sometimes impossible to shift gears.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #10

Oct 012001

F-150

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission hesitates as it shifts from 1st gear to second gear. I was told it is normal by the dealer where I bought the truck and other dealerships as well. I have found out there is a defect in the transmission which causes this delay in the shifting of the transmission. This problem has been found in 4R100 transmissions built from 7/27/2000 to 3/23/2001. I believe this transmission to be unsafe and Ford denies there is a problem. I want this transmission replaced with a new transmission. I have had this problem since the truck was new and all Ford does is deny, deny, deny.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #9

Oct 012001

F-150

  • miles
The transmission hesitates as it shifts from 1st gear to second gear. I was told it is normal by the dealer where I bought the truck and other dealerships as well. I have found out there is a defect in the transmission which causes this delay in the shifting of the transmission. This problem has been found in 4R100 transmissions built from 7/27/2000 to 3/23/2001. I believe this transmission to be unsafe and Ford denies there is a problem. I want this transmission replaced with a new transmission. I have had this problem since the truck was new and all Ford does is deny, deny, deny.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #8

Dec 072001

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Intermittently when coming down an incline it would come out of overdrive; dealer notified. Feel free to provide any further information.

- Albert Lea, MN, USA

problem #7

Dec 072001

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Intermittently when coming down an incline it would come out of overdrive; dealer notified. Feel free to provide any further information.

- Albert Lea, MN, USA

problem #6

Jul 022001

F-150 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Two days after truck purchase, reported to dealer truck has bad vibration, rough idle, pulls to the right, truck hesitates to go into gear, truck hesitates before shifting, engine knock and clunk in T-case area. Transmission has been replaced twice, road forced balance 4 tires, switched tires and wheels, front end alignment three times, torque converter replaced, crankshaft pully replaced, dampers installed for vibration. All problems still exist. Ford has offered to buy back the truck but they will not give me all of my money back.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #5

Apr 202001

F-150

  • miles
While driving at 10 to 15 mph vehicle would not go into any gears. Consumer turned truck off and put in gear. Then, consumer was able to drive home slowly and park vehicle. About 5 minutes later, started vehicle, and it jumped forward, it was not in gear, someone could have been seriously injured. Vehicle was towed to dealer.

- Beaumont, CA, USA

problem #4

Feb 222001

F-150

  • miles
This was 2nd transmission failure; both times the transmission fluid sprayed under vehicle & tires, making vehicle slide on road. Both transmission and drive shaft were replaced; tech stated the rear seal had blown.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #3

Mar 132001

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When driving and stopping transmission slips. It takes a two seconnd delay for truck to move. Dealership is aware of problem. The transmission slipping occurs during stop and go traffic. It was unpredictable when it would happen, and it was a possible safety hazard.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #2

Jun 082000

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2 transmission failures; replaced with new transmission & drive shaft; per second tech notes: Found damaged extension housing bushing spun and was on drive shaft, clutchs burned, band burned, solenoid was stuck in boreconverter hub worn, drive shaft worn, back flushed cooler inst for repair was over 1400 flow test.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #1

Jul 202000

F-150 4WD

  • miles
I just wanted to inform you of a problem that I had with my 2001 FL50 supercrew. My truck was equipped with a 4X4, 5.4 liter, automatic transmission, towing package, and it was an XLT lariat. All the bells and whistles! my reported concern is that the suspension is not strong enough for the rated towing capacity. I was traveling on the interstate at about 60 mph. A car cut in front of me and I moved to the left lane to avoid running into the car in front of me. My trailer's empty weight was 5000 lbs and I estimate that I had another 1000-1500 lbs inside. The truck was equipped with weight distribution bars and an anti-sway bar(reese mfg.). when I changed lanes the truck swayed/leaned hard to the left, then swayed hard to the right. The truck then rolled over several times and landed on the driver's side door sliding down the edge of the interstate. The truck and our 29 foot camper were totaled. There were four passengers in the truck: Myself, wife, and two children. Everyone survived with minor cuts a

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?