Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 10
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,862 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford F-150 Owner Comments

problem #20

Jul 182011

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Faulty cruise control shorted out causing fire in the engine compartment and damaging some wires, air filter housing, fuse box, brake master cylinder, hood strut and hood.

- Conway, AR, USA

problem #19

Aug 092009

F-150

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford F-150. While the vehicle was parked, the contact noticed smoke underneath the hood. She opened the hood and noticed flames. She extinguished the flames and stated that the fire originated near the cruise control wires. The manufacturer stated that it would take fifteen days for them to reach a decision regarding how to handle the issue. The failure and current mileages were 95,000.

- Nashville , TN, USA

problem #18

Apr 032008

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 144,000 miles
My Ford 2002 F 150 supercrew caught fire and burned in my drive way it had not been driven in 24 hours.

- Charenton, LA, USA

problem #17

Apr 172006

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford F150. While driving 55 mph with the cruise control activated, the vehicle began to accelerate. The contact has had issues with the cruise control ever since the vehicle was purchased. The vehicle has not been taken to the dealer. The current mileage was 97,000 and failure mileage was 50,000.

- Dougerville, GA, USA

problem #16

Nov 282007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
11/21/07 took 2002 Ford F150 to meineke complaint of cruise control not working. Was told it would be $80 to diagnose the problem didn't have the money at the time so I drove home. 11/28/07 6:55 a.M. awoke to neighbors beating on door because F-150 was on fire witness said saw fire dripping from the front drivers side under the hood. 11/28/07 fire department advised of recall for exact same thing F-150 engine fires. 11/28/07 contacted insurance company to find out it only covered the vehicle and the loan company. Thank god I never got into an accident. There was no property damage or liability on the vehicle the loan company placed it on there and I canceled my other because I thought it was cheaper insurance.11/28/07 searched internet found over two thousand cases of same exact thing people awake to vehicle fires due to faulty cruise control switch. All pictures matched my truck exactly with the burn pattern, having the most intense heat on the front drivers side. Also burnt my 1997 Expedition on fire. 11/29/07 fireside and Ford came to investigate, paul a representative for both confirmed that it was in fact due to this faulty switch.11/29/07 filed a claim with Ford they are unable to help it is a legal matter but logged my complaint.11/30/07 went to power Ford by my house and asked for help greg mau, manager says "there is an active recall for your vehicle", "Ford needs to step up to the plate and help you out" "hire an attorney" "I'm sorry I can't help you". 11/30/07 let Ford know that I need to move my Expedition, that is pinned in the car port by the F-150, because I need a vehicle to drive. I am advised that I am not allowed to move the vehicle in case of a further investigation. 11/30/07 contacted the BBB filed a complaint. 11/30/07 contacted the news fox 10 Arizona asking them for help to make Ford accept responsibility.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #15

Mar 232007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
F150 Ford pick-up started on fire in attached garage. Totaled pick-up truck and did extensive damage to garage and smoke damage to home.

- Kingman, KS, USA

problem #14

Jul 112007

F-150 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Truck was driven to work and after about 30 minutes the truck was on fire. The truck from engine to cab was on fire. The fire burned the engine, the hood melted off, the tires melted, some windows were gone, and the fabric off the seats were burned off. The fire investigator said it was a mechanical failure and he knew there was a recall on the cruise control mechanism. Truck was a total loss. I never received recall notice.

- Henrietta, TX, USA

problem #13

Mar 232007

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford F-150. The vehicle was parked in the garage for 6 hours when the vehicle caught on fire. The police and fire department extinguished the fire. The cause of the fire may be related to recall #05V388000. The manufacturer was notified four times and has not responded. The current and failure mileage were 77,000.

- Kingman, KS, USA

problem #12

Mar 212006

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
I activated the cruise control on my 2002 Ford F-150 supercrew on March 21, 2006. I bought the vehicle new off the lot in 2002 and had used the cruise control no more than 5 times in 4 years. When I attempted to disengage the cruise control, the cruise indicator disabled, but the cruise control did not. My vehicle proceeded without my foot on the accelerator (at 75 mph). The brakes didn't not deactivate the cruise control either. I put the vehicle in "neutral" and pulled to the side of the road while the vehicle was still trying to accelerate. The cruise control cable was stuck on full throttle. Ford took the cable out and proceeded to tell me that was a common occurrence. --problem-- while I attempt to "brake" and my vehicle attempts to "accel", the vehicle isn't slowing down. Ford said that because I didn't use my cruise control regularly, that is the reason it got stuck!!! "? why should it matter if I use the cruise regularly, it shouldn't try to kill me when I decide to use it??"

- Fortson, GA, USA

problem #11

Apr 172006

F-150 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 33,852 miles
I recently responded to have the recall for the cruise control on my 2002 F-150 completed. Since then, my cruise control has failed to work and when I hit the "on" button and the "coast" button at the same time, my horn will blow. The dealer has informed me that there is an $89 diagnostic fee for something that has never worked since this " factory fix". it had worked up until I drove it in that day.

- Bridgewater, MA, USA

problem #10

Oct 012005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated when the cruise control was activated the vehicle accelerated beyond the set speed. The contact placed the vehicle into neutral and coasted while attempting to turn off the cruise control switch. After numerous attempts the cruise control was deactivated, and the cruise control light intermittently illuminated. Prior to the incident the contact received NHTSA recall 05V388000, regarding the vehicle speed control. However, the recall work was not performed. The recall remedy advisor urged the contact to have the vehicle speed control deactivation switch disconnected or replaced. The contact believed the recall remedy should also include replacement of the master cylinder.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #9

Sep 012005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was advised by Ford in September 2005 that my 2002 F-150 truck was involved in the speed control deactivation switch recall and instructed to report to my dealer for assistance which I did. My cruise control was disabled (wire cut) by the dealer and told that the replacement part would be available by November 2005. It is now January 2006 and the dealer reports that they don't know when the replacement part will be availabe (Ford says it may be February). My complaint is that I am suffering a loss of use benifit from Ford's defective equipment for five (5) months and counting and this is not fair or right!

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #8

Sep 222005

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On Sept 22,2005 my 2002 Ford F150 burst into flames in my carport while I was sleeping. My daughter came home and woke me just in time to get out of the house before the entire house burned. I received the recall notice just a few days after the fire. The fire was witnessed to start in my truck. The truck was so severely burned that several investigators reported this was typical of what they where experiencing with Ford fires although Ford's investigators reported the cruise switch was properly functioning according to an X-ray of the part. How the part could be found is a mystery since the truck was so damaged. Ford is not taking responsibility for anything. We lost everything we owned.

- Glenmora, LA, USA

problem #7

Dec 092005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,500 miles
2002 Ford F-150 traveling West on highway 40 in Arizona. Recall notice received on the cruise control initial failure cruise control on. Engaged maintain speed button vehicle started accelerating. Punched all of the cruise control buttons and tapped the brakes cruise control turned off. Confirmation turned cruise control on and hit maintain speed button. Vehicle started accelerating as before. Hit all of the cruise control buttons and tapped the brake. At 85 mph, I turned off the ignition. Immediately turned ignition on. Cruise control was active, motor raced, but transmission was in neutral. Shifter was in drive. Turned off ignition again and cruised to the left side of the road. Started vehicle and proceeded without using cruise control recommendation transmissions should not shift into neutral unless the operator places the shift lever in neutral. Previously owned Ford from the 60S, 70S, 80S, and early 90S do not disengage the transmission when the key is turned off.

- Ridgecrest, CA, USA

problem #6

Sep 012005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contacts states there is NHTSA recall campaign 05V388 on concerning the vehicle speed control deactivation switch. The parts needed to repair their vehicle are not available at the local dealership. He tried to contact the manufacturer to no avail. Updated 1/11/2006. It has been three months and the part still isn't available.

- Kenwood, CA, USA

problem #5

Sep 012005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact states there is NHTSA recall campaign 05V388000 concerning the vehicle speed control deactivation switch. The parts needed for repairs were not available at the local dealership. The contact spoke to the manufacturer, who confirmed the parts were not available. Updated 12/27/05.

- Marion, TX, USA

problem #4

Jul 292005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Ford F150. The vehicle was sitting in the driveway for approximately 20-30 minutes when it caught on fire. The vehicle was totaled. The vehicle was not inspected to see why it happened. The fire and police departments responded, and a fire and police reports were taken. There was nothing wrong with the vehicle prior to this, and the vehicle had not been serviced recently. There was property damage to the house, the vinyl siding melted and came off the house.

- Lyons, GA, USA

problem #3

Jun 082005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I have a 2002 Ford F-150 supercrew pickup. There have been recorded incidents of failure of the speed control switches causing fire of the vehicle and adjoining property. On incident that occured in corpu christi, tx is well documented and that fire was in 2003 involving a 2002 supercrew. I called the Ford dealer about having the switch replaced and to my shock/surprise, 2002 supercrews are not on the recall list. The switch is $15 and I could buy one, but I'm on total disability and cant replace it myself. I would like for you to put the heat under Ford to include 2002 supercrews on the recall list. I did disable the switch, but it makes it worthless using the speed control. Thanks!

- Pasadena, TX, USA

problem #2

Nov 262004

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles
2002 Ford F150 caught on fire while parked.** answer required***. two vehicles were parked in the car port. The fire may have been due to a defective cruise control switch. Model/lariat

- Rome, GA, USA

problem #1

Apr 202003

F-150 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,889 miles
Cruise control was on as we proceeded up a hill. When driver tried to disengage the cruise control it would not disengage. Engine continued to excel, going faster. It reached speeds of almost 80 mph. Hitting brakes would not stop cruise control, nor slow the vehicle.

- Frankfort, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?