Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
20 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,771 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Ford F-150 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Ford F-150 Owner Comments

problem #17

Jul 302016

F-150

  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was traveling 285-West in Decatur, ga., around 3:30 pm eastern time, when I was in a a multi-car accident. I was in the lane closest to the grass, when a Dodge Ram four door truck hit my F-150 super crew cab 2003. The driver hit my driver side backdoor, and then he hit me again on the driver side front bumper, and spun me off the road into a wooded area with large trees and a ravine. I then had a head on collision with a large tree. I called on the name jesus three times, then my truck turned 180 degrees and that turned me around going into the ravine backwards. I felt myself come out of my seat with my seat belt on. My bench seat went into recline, then my head went backwards, then forward. My airbag did not deploy. I did research, when I noticed a website called "wekeepitsafe". the database shows 144,000 Ford F-150 2003's recalled for failure of airbag deployment due to a malfunction in the steering wheel column. I called Ford's motor head quarters. The first number was (313)323-9100, then I was transferred to 1-866-436-7332. I spoke with a rep by the name of mel, and he gave me a choice of monetary compensation or a truck. I declined, due to the fact that I was heavily medicated with hydrocodone for head, neck, and shoulder pain. I suffer from excruciating head aches, stabbing pain in my ear, and numbness/tingling/and pain in my back and legs. I have scheduled an appointment with an orthopaedic specialist, because my primary care physician is unable to assist. My case number is: #cas10200415. I am fond of Ford pickup super crew cabs. I have a picture showing the airbag.and the picture proves that the airbag light indicator shows that it is working, if you look on the right side lower corner other picture by the gear shift. I spoke with mel at 11:24 am eastern time.

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #16

Jul 302016

F-150

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owned a 2003 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 70 mph, another vehicle crashed into the contact's vehicle. As a result, the contact crashed into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the head, neck, shoulder, both legs, and lower back that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a towing lot. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 200,000. Updated 09/08/16

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #15

May 052016

F-150

  • 143,000 miles
Pulling into a parking space in front of a medical clinic, going maybe 5 -8 mph and I had the brake depressed and suddenly the vehicle lunged forward at full throttle and hit a building--you can see the skid mark in the first picture. I ended up hitting a building and when it got stopped the tires just kept spinning until I shut it off. The air bags did not deploy, myself and my grandchildren were hurt. Major building damage as well. Mileage at time this happened 140,000

- Red Bluff, CA, USA

problem #14

Nov 242014

F-150

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was pulling out of my rd onto wolf pen, my dog tried to get on my lap, he made me total my truck as soon as, I hit the driver airbag tried to deploy but it cought fire and the guy that stopped told me to get out my truck was on fire !! I've had bad neck problems and back problems, I don't appreciate how Ford Motor Company ?! treated me !!!!!!

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #13

Feb 172015

F-150

  • 195,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle suddenly accelerated at 50 mph and caused the contact to lose control. As a result, the contact crashed the vehicle into a median wall and the air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained head and eye injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was 195,000.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #12

Nov 242014

F-150

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 10 mph, the air bags inadvertently deployed and the horn began to continuously sound. The driver and passenger side air bags deployed and then the driver side air bag ignited into flames. The contact ejected the battery to stop the horn from sounding. The contact did not sustain any injuries. A police report was filed. The dealer was shown pictures of the failure and they stated that the air bag should not have ignited into flames. The flames burned the wires that applied to the horn, which is what caused the horn to continuously sound. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Mailed out 01/13/15 updated 02/02/15

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #11

Oct 242014

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag recall.

- Elwood, NJ, USA

problem #10

Jun 172013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle for my son 3 years ago. On Monday evening, June 17th, he was going around a curve, at approximately 35 mph when both air bags deployed for no reason. The vehicle has never been wrecked and there is no damage, or no reason for this to have happened. I contacted Ford Motor Company and was told, "his truck VIN is not listed in the previous recalls, so we cannot offer any assistance. It is past warranty." I was quite taken aback by the fact that the vehicle not being under warranty was a reason for such a dangerous thing to happen! someone could have been killed had he been on the interstate, etc.

- Daphne, AL, USA

problem #9

Oct 162011

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles
Traveling on highway 57 North in Eagle pass Texas maverick county around 10pm struck a bull that crossing the highway with my Ford F150 super crew air bags did not deploy.

- Eagle Pass, TX, USA

problem #8

Sep 172011

F-150

  • miles
Sept 17th 2011. Sat. Night about 10:00pm I was driving my 2003 Ford F-150 truck East. I was going about 45-50mph on a straight country road when a loud sound went off and the airbags deployed and the truck came to a screeching stop. I was able to keep the truck on the road as it came to a complete stop. I and a passenger were wearing seatbelts and were able to get out of the truck. It was full of smoke and the horn was blaring, we opened the hood and disabled the horn put on the emergency flashers. The truck would not move. Couldn't get it in or out of gear, its a standard. I called my insurance co. And we had my truck towed from there to a friends house. Both of us were pretty shakened and had hurt necks and backs and I hurt my hand. My friend got hurt the worst and is still seeing doctors for his neck injuries. I am okay but sore and haven't gone to the doctors. My insurance won't cover the damage it caused inside the cab or have airbags re-installed. I have full coverage! the air bags just deployed on their own. Out of the blue. Gives me a whole new perspective about air bags, they may save your live or take your life! they are scary, smell bad, ruin your car and have to be replaced along with a brain before the truck will run. The truck is still disabled today. I feel it was a defect in the airbag sensors or the airbags themselves! and it should be covered by either my insurance or the Ford Motor Company. It's a safety feature and should be covered by one of the two! I had the truck for 4 years and nothing had ever happened like that before. Its never been hit in the front and I was just driving along. On a straight road and boom. The airbags deployed and the truck came to a sudden stop. It was traumatizing to say the least!

- Oregon , OR, USA

problem #7

Aug 282008

F-150

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Traveling at 40mph. Hit at the front right fender. Shearing off tire at ball joints... causing truck to slam down on the ground and slide at least 75 feet on the frame.. no air bag deployed. I was injured and think if the airbag would have come out maybe my injuries wouldn't have occurred.

- Bridge City, TX, USA

problem #6

Apr 012008

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford F150. While driving 40 mph the driver lost control of the vehicle and rear-ended another vehicle. The airbags in her vehicle deployed immediately; however, as it deflated all of the particles inside the airbag exploded. The driver was startled by the air bag failure. The contact is aware of the risk involved during the air bag explosion. Updated 09/15/08 updated 09/22/08.

- Norris City , IL, USA

problem #5

Oct 182007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 45 mph, the contact crashed into the front passenger side of another vehicle. The vehicle was completely destroyed and none of the air bags deployed. Two people were injured and a police report was filed. Prior to the crash, he never noticed any air bag warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. A complaint was filed with the manufacturer and the contact is also filing a lawsuit against Ford. He is no longer in possession of the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were 90,000. Updated 03-05-08

- Guin, AL, USA

problem #4

Jul 252007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford F-150. While driving 55 mph with the cruise control activated, the contact was involved in a crash. The air bags failed to deploy. Ford agreed to test his air bags to determine if they were defective. The contacts wife sustained muscle trauma and bruising to her back, neck, sternum, and legs from the seat belts and impact of the crash. She also suffered hemorrhaging striking her legs below the instrument panel. The vehicle was destroyed. The doors and the entire front end of the vehicle were damaged and the engine was knocked completely off the motor mount. A police report was filed. The current and failure mileages were 80,000. The consumer provided multiple pictures of the vehicle. The consumer stated the manufacturer is investigation why the air bags did not deploy and test them at their own expense. The consumer stated wife received a phone call the would test the air bags but had to have the vehicle towed at their expense to a location and the consumer further stated is still waiting to hear from the manufacturer. Updated 08/23/07

- Canby, OR, USA

problem #3

Sep 152003

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,300 miles
My complaint pertains to an accident that I was involved in on July 29, 2003. I had a frontal collision with another car in an intersection. The other car ran a red light, but the fact is, my right front corner of my bumper hit her left front side at her left front tire and did considerable amount of damage to both vehicles. I have a F150 4X4 supercrew, the other car was a olds' 98 regency full size car. My approximate speed was between 20 to 25 mph, I had just came from another intersection and had not reached the speed limit quite yet. After hitting this car my truck traveled another 20 to 30 yards before hitting a 2 pipe hand/guard rail. The corner post placed a nice V dead center in my bumper. The hood was buckled, both front quarter panels damaged and jammed back into the doors. My air bag did not deploy nor did my seat belts lock in position to prevent myself from hitting the steering wheel with my chest. The truck was repaired by a reliable collision center approved by my insurance company, state farm insurance. I had notified Ford of the air bag and seat belt not working as I was lead to believe it should and was instructed to take my truck to the dealership where I purchased it and have the systems checked out. Dealership test results showed systems all working properly. I contacted Ford again and asked just what it takes to initiate these devices to work. The customer service person read to me what it would take for these to work. I told her that is exactly what I was telling her had happened in the wreck. At this point I have no confidence in my truck and worry that they will not work the next time if ever needed again or if they will even deploy for no reason while I'm driving down the road. I just don't know where to go with this to gain confidence in my truck. I just purchased this truck in April and will take a bad beating if I trade it off now (because it has been damaged in a crash) since I?ll never be able to trade it in or sell it.

- Cottage Grove, MN, USA

problem #2

Dec 092003

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
Ford F150 2003 truck.

- Eden, NC, USA

problem #1

Oct 202003

(reported on)

F-150

  • 29,800 miles
While traveling at 75 mph driver's side and passenger's side air bags inadvertently deployed. Driver temporarily lost control, and was able to regain control without causing an accident. Took vehicle to dealer, and dealer stated warranty expired.

- Redbank, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?