Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.5

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,182 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Ford F-150 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

Nov 222013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 96,356 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Friday, November 22, 2013 while driving to work on the freeway, I felt several "thumps" prior to the rear left tire on my F-150 blow. There was no load in the truck nor was I towing. I was able to safely get onto the shoulder. Aaa responded and attempted to change the tire. He was unable, as some of the tire tread was wrapped around the axle. We also observed the parking brake cable broken. A tow truck was then dispatched to move my F-150 to a garage. Damage noted to the truck was a snapped parking brake cable and a kinked hydraulic line. I authorized the garage to repair the brake system and get my truck back on the road. By the time they were able to gather the repair parts, it was the following Wednesday (day before thanksgiving) when I able to get it back. First thing I noticed was the broken trailer electrical connector on the bumper. Discussions with the tow company and the garage determined that the damage was caused by flying rubber. That Wednesday afternoon I took the truck to discount tire to have the damaged tire replaced under the road hazard warranty I had purchased from them. Examination of the remaining three ltx M/S tires revealed another tire with a delamination bulge. Discount replaced two of the tires under the warranty with ltx M/S2?S, and I purchased two more. I did not want to take any more risks with the remaining ltx M/S's.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #32

Feb 012014

F-150

  • 119,000 miles
While driving the truck began vibrating, pulled over to see if the tires were the issue. Nothing appeared to be wrong, tire pressure was fine and no weights had fallen off. At times the vibration was violent, shaking the whole truck. Drove another 10 miles without any issues and the vibration would start again, looked on line and there were several posts identifying the same problem with other Ford trucks.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #31

Jul 182013

F-150

  • miles
I am so mad. I thought I was dealing with a great store. Not. First I find out that the tires that they sold be are rated for cars, not full size trucks. Im driving on the interstate and it raining. Im hydroplaning all over the place. I take it to the shop and he tells me that we were lucky that we were not killed. I had a defective tires. And I need to got asap and have them replaced. Im on my way now to go and deal with them. I counted on them to keep my family safe. Just because I am a women they sold me something that I should not have had in the first place.

- Fl., FL, USA

problem #30

Feb 012011

F-150

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Ford F150 equipped with cooper discoverer atr tires, tire size 265-70-17. The contact stated that the front passenger and driver side tires exhibited excessive cracks and were dry rotted. The vehicle was taken to an independent tire center where they refused to provide a refund for the defective tires. The tires were not replaced. The failure mileage was 80,000. The VIN and dot numbers were unavailable.

- Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #29

Jun 202010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
Goodyear Wrangler tire failure. I have 235/17/70 tires on my F150. The sidewalls are peeling, revealing white... I have had two sidewall failures resulting in highway blowouts. The remaining two tires appear to be destined for the same fate. Additionally, the tread is showing premature wear. I will be replacing the tires with another brand.

- Sandy, OR, USA

problem #28

Dec 152009

F-150

  • 70,000 miles
Pro comp tires side walls are falling apart while driving, this is my second replacement tire out five, don't trust them anymore to drive safely down road. I'll keep them for testing purposes.

- Beech Grove, IN, USA

problem #27

Jul 152009

F-150

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

No access to spare tire: 2004 Ford F-150 "heritage" (2003 body style) spare stored under truck bed lowers using "key" and winch.the winch and key are supposed to engage via a "star shaped" indentation. If this does not engage one cannot lower the spare tire for use. The replacement (Ford refuses to pay for)comes re-designed so that one actually inserts the lowering rod into the winch.there is no "star" to strip out or be worn down. With a flat tire on a busy road and one under the truck trying to access a spare tire constitutes a life threatening situation. Ford has sold the re-design as a replacement and this in itself is an admission of a defective product design. Dealership informed me that they simply cut the tire free and replace the winch at customer cost.

- Mcmillan, MI, USA

problem #26

Jun 102009

F-150

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. The vehicle has bf goodrich rugged trail ta tires, size 275/65/R18 (na). While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle would vibrate drastically. The dealer stated that the belt inside the tire had rotted and began separating from the tire. The tires had not yet been replaced. The VIN was unknown. The failure and current mileages were less than 40,000.

- Onalaska, WI, USA

problem #25

Jun 042009

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. The vehicle has bf goodrich rugged trail T/a tires, size P245/65R17. While washing the vehicle, the contact noticed that all four tires were rotting an inch down from the tread. He emailed the manufacturer and they advised him to take the tires to a dealer for inspection. The dealer did not state why the tires were rotting. Another dealer stated that the failure occurred to numerous bf goodrich tires. The tires have not been replaced at this time. Updated 07/16/09. Updated 08/04/09 the consumer stated the defect extends around the entire circumference of all 4 tires. Updated 08/05/09.

- Beaver Falls, PA, USA

problem #24

May 222009

F-150

  • 45,000 miles
While driving in heavy memorial day traffic on I 87 in NY state tire tread completely separated from tire causing a blow out.

- Landisville, NJ, USA

problem #23

Feb 062008

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,640 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Out of the blue the truck just starts shaking, never know when or where. I have to pull off road and shut it off, wait a bit, then start and leave and seems to be ok till next time. It has 37,800 miles. Last time on I-94 at 65mph it scared me to death it started shaking so bad. I also had a 2005 F150 that did this. Its not the tires, or engine but I think the drivetrain. Very bad safety issue as I am finding I am not alone with this problem. Someone needs to make Ford admit what this is and fix these trucks.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #22

Jun 012006

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,548 miles
Defective B. F goodrich long trail ta tires (265R60 18) Ford F150 lariat appear to have a design defect causing a very harsh ride & shuddering upon stopping. When attempting to stop in the rain, the shuddering caused the anti lock brake module to malfunction and resulted in loss of control of the vehicle. Ford is aware of the tire defect (a letter was received) yet has declined to replace the tires.

- Soddy Daisy, TN, USA

problem #21

Mar 102005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25 miles
2004 Ford F150 has tire nibble between 50 and 57 mph and vibration at 45 mph. Several trips to the Ford dealership did not fix the problem. They replaced 3 rims and 3 tires (contrack). Still did not fix the problem. I placed the spare tire on passenger front due to a flat and it reduced the nibble and vibration by half. I purchased 4 new 20 inch cooper tires and 4 new rims and vibration is 95% gone and slight nibble after 10,000 miles. I will have tires rebalanced and alignment checked and plan the have rear lowered by 2 inches. A friend had the rear lowered by 2 inches on his 2004 F150 and helped with stability and vibration.

- Rincon, GA, USA

problem #20

May 042004

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving the vehicle 70mph it started to vibrate. The vehicle was taken to a tire dealership to have the vehicle inspected. The mechanic found the problem to be in the tires, there was unusual wear on the tires and severe rounding. Therefore, the tires were rotated. The vehicle was driven for three months before the vibration was felt again. The vehicle was taken back to the tire repair shop and all four tires were replaced. Once again after driving the vehicle for a short period of time the problem began with the vibration. The vehicle was taken back for inspection, the mechanic found severe rounding of the tires. All four tires were replaced again. The tires on the vehicle have been replaced a total of three times. The manufacturer has been alerted.

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #19

Dec 302005

F-150

  • miles
We have had problems with the general ameritrac TR P255/70R17 tires on our truck. Within the last 3 months we have had to replace 3 tires, they are very easily punctured. We have not done out of the ordinary driving. It is normal ground and normal driving. When the tires go flat, the puncture sites are too big to plug. Our mini van tires hold up much better than these truck tires. Is anyone else having this problem? the truck and tires are only a year old and the tread is still good.

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #18

Sep 012004

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F150 super cab. The contact complained about steering problems. Took vehicle to the dealership several times, and they have been unable to correct the problem. Vehicle will shimmied while going down the road, they replaced the rack and pinion and it helped some. The tires have been changed, realigned, and balanced, and nothing helped. He did know of other people that also had this problem. A friend said that they knew over 500 reports on a website of these problems as well. This problem has been occurring since the vehicle was purchased in September 2004.

- Warren, IN, USA

problem #17

Jun 152004

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Every time you reach the speed between 65- 70 mph the vehicle / steering wheel shakes as if the tires are not balanced. I had them balanced 3 times already and it still does the same. Rear end of vehicle throws to L/R when going over bumps. I've test driven other makes and there isn't a problem going over the same bumps.

- Castle Rock, CO, USA

problem #16

Jun 152005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The vehicle has been to the dealer 3 times. They didn't know what was wrong with it. There was bad vibration, like a tie rod end going bad or the wheel coming off. They replaced all the tires, and put a new rim on the passenger's side, and put in a new driveshaft. This started around June 15, 2005. The vehicle was going back to the dealers for the fourth time. Haven't contacted the manufacturer but got information on the lemon law.

- Riverview , FL, USA

problem #15

Jun 152005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The vehicle has been to the dealer 3 times. They didn't know what wrong with it. There was bad vibration, felt like a tie rod end or wheel was going to come off. They replaced all the tires, put a new rim on it, and put in a new drive shaft. This started around June 15, 2005. The vehicle was taken back to the dealers today for the fourth time. Haven't contacted the manufacturer but have checked the information for the lemon law.

- Riverview , FL, USA

problem #14

Feb 042005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,909 miles
Vibration problem started at 26K. Had vehicle into dealer 5 times. Road force balance didn't resolve problem. Told I needed new tires which I bought at 30K, but didn't totally eliminate vibration. Ford Corp. Nor several dealers are interested in resolving. Next step lemon law arbitration.

- Cin, OH, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?