Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,274 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Ford F-150 windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 18 of 31)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #277

Jan 192010

F-150

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Window regulator failure cables holding window up snapped, window fell into door and shattered.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #276

Feb 182009

F-150

  • 55,000 miles
Window fell down while driving on the interstate; 2004 F150 pick up.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #275

Feb 182010

F-150

  • miles
The windows on the 2004 Ford F150 will randomly fall down due to a window regulator issue. This could be potentially hazardous while driving at highway speeds as road debris could strike the driver through an open window. The issue is on all windows of the vehicle and it require the entire window regulator be replaced at approximately $350 per window.

- Nederland, TX, USA

problem #274

Aug 232009

F-150

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving down the road and my passenger side window fell down. I only had 68,000 miles and this repair cost me $275. Have always bought F150 this is my 3rd one. And was always happy with windows before, but now with this new pulley system the windows go up and down slow like a Chevy and worse fall down and don't come back up. Please make this right by issuing a recall.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #273

Nov 152009

F-150

  • 94,000 miles
Failure of power window regulator. I have replaced the drivers side and not 2 months later the passenger side is broken. I both cases it is the samething failing in the regulator.

- Lake Butler, FL, USA

problem #272

Feb 082010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 54,343 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F150. The contact stated that the windows on the driver and passenger side failed four times. Whenever the contact was driving the windows fell down. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer and each time the repairs cost him $250 for each window. Each time the dealer replaced the motor and the regulator they continued to fail. The Ford manufacturer was notified and a complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 54,343. Updated 03/01/10 updated 03/05/10 updated 05/10/10

- Appomattox, VA, USA

problem #271

Sep 132009

F-150

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had two windows in my 2004 F-150 come off the tracks and need to be replaced. The dealership claims this is a very common occurrence. At $400 a window I am sure they love to fix them!

- St. George,, UT, USA

problem #270

Feb 012010

F-150

  • 39,000 miles
2004 Ford F-150 window fell down as I was driving almost causing me to have an accident.

- Estero , FL, USA

problem #269

Jan 192009

F-150

  • 65,000 miles
2004 Ford F-150 driver side window won't roll up or down and slides down on it's own.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #268

Feb 042010

F-150

  • 54,000 miles
I was driving down the road and heard a loud noise. I thought something hit the side of my car. But my driver side window fell. I am just glad it wasn't a back window with kids in the back. This could have really caused some kind of accident. It was also raining/snowing during the time it fell. I had to turn up the heater and drive the rest of the way home with the window broken. My truck just has 50, 000 thousand miles.

- Bentonville, AR, USA

problem #267

Jan 292009

F-150

  • 94,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Window on Ford F-150 fails or falls out of place. 3 of my 4 have had to be replaced in the past two years.

- Searcy, AR, USA

problem #266

Jan 202010

F-150

  • 63,567 miles
Vehicle was parked in a parking lot overnight. The failure is that the power window regulators blow out, just stop working and the window slides to the bottom of the door. This is the second time within a year of me having had a different window's regulator replaced that this has occurred. To correct the power window regulators have to be replaced, its a dealer-only part so you can't save by going to a non-dealer workshop.

- Columbia , MO, USA

problem #265

Jan 292010

F-150

  • 58,568 miles
Passenger side window, came crashing down while driving. 1/29/10. Almost caused an accident. Seams to be a common problem with F150's.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #264

Jan 262010

F-150

  • 54,000 miles
Pass. Side electric window failed and went down into the door on it's own proceeded by a clunk sound from the door as II was driving. The window did not respond to any commands from the control panel on the drivers door. Upon examination of the door the next day I found cable laying in the door and the window not working.

- Round Hill, VA, USA

problem #263

Jan 252010

F-150

  • 44,000 miles
Passenger window regulator failed in 2004 F-150 truck. Three years ago this happened to the driver's side window.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #262

Oct 152009

F-150

  • 75,000 miles
I own a 2004 F-150 crew cab XLT pickup that I purchased used 1 year ago. Since owning the vehicle I have had both the driver's side window regulator and driver's side passenger window regulator failed, in both instances the window was being raised, at about half way up the windows suddenly stopped and started sliding down its track instead of going up. The cost of repairing the driver's window was $590. To date. I have not been able to afford to replace the rear passenger window, it is held up with wood wedges. There is something wrong when units fail with less then 6 years of wear on them and it can be a safety issue if it happens while you are on a trip. I have had to keeping extra wood wedges in my truck just incase another window fails!

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #261

Apr 082009

F-150

  • 90,000 miles
One time I was driving home from work so I rolled down my window and when I got home the window wonīT come back up. I had to leave the truck with the window down all night. I opened the panel and wires were everywhere I took it to a mechanic and he replaced the whole window harness. This happened about a year ago. Now the button in the back door and the passenger door wonīT work and I think it can become a problem in future. The windows come up and down but only from the driverīS control panel.

- San Ysidro , CA, USA

problem #260

Jan 162010

F-150

  • 92,000 miles
I was driving down the road and heard a thump from driver side door. The window had dropped into the door. I wasn't raising or lowering it before or during the drop. It turned out to be a window regulator and a little research let me know that it's a very widespread problem with this year's (2004) Ford F150.

- Stanford, KY, USA

problem #259

Jan 132010

F-150

  • 5,000 miles
The windows in my truck keep falling down. Happens very often. It has happened over 5 times since I bought the truck. Almost caused a wreck. If happens again I will seek legal action.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #258

Dec 232009

F-150

  • 67,000 miles
Upon rolling my 2004 Ford F-150 passenger power window down to get on a military base where I work on a daily basis and they check your identification for security reasons on a daily basis. I drove past the check point and tried to roll power window up. I then heard a loud pop which sounded like a gunshot and the window just "dropped "into the door. I tried to roll the window up but just heard a motor inside the door housing.needless to say the window was stuck in the down position for a day or two until I could take the door panel off and push the window up and taped it in the up position. This happened to the driver side door about 2 years ago 3 days before I deployed to iraq. My wife had the driver door fixed at the Ford dealer for $100. My Ford truck is still under warranty because it is not driven that much, due to me being out of the country for months at a time but I have read over 1000 complaints about this same window situation. What does it take to have a company recall a product. I have not taken my Ford F-150 to the dealer yet, but I am expecting to pay at least another $100 to fix it. The bad thing is I have 2 rear windows that I can expect to break and will most likely end up replacing them also. Hopefully before my warranty is up in another 8000 miles. You would think Ford would fix these defective products in good faith since America has stood by them in the current economy as they seem to doing better than GM and all the other bailout car makers.

- San Diego, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?