Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
20 / 1
Average Mileage:
72,174 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford F-150 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Aug 252009

F-150

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford F150 airbag deployed for no reason while I was in reverse.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #16

Mar 292010

F-150

  • 123,757 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 10 mph in reverse, the frontal air bag deployed without warrant. The contact sustained unknown injuries when the air bag deployed. The manufacturer stated that if the contact waived all rights for any future claims then they would repair the air bag. The manufacturer stated that the unwarranted air bag deployment would be investigated. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 123,757 and the current mileage was unknown.

- Franklin, LA, USA

problem #15

Apr 202010

F-150

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the vehicle was idling when the air bags suddenly deployed. The passenger side deployed first and the driver side deployed twenty seconds later. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop but the cause of the failure was unknown at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 35,000.

- Vectorville, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 302009

F-150

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford F150. While driving 2 mph, the air bags deployed while driving through a traffic light. The contact was able to safely drive the vehicle home. The dealer was unable to tell the contact what caused the air bags to deploy. A complaint was filed with Consumer Affairs. The failure mileage was 92,000. Pco contacted consumer: Unk if abl was illuminated at time. Driver received minor burises on arm. Dealer could not find damage/fault codes. Repair not made to date. 20100414.pco

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #13

Dec 162009

F-150

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F150. After starting the vehicle the driver-side airbag deployed without warning in his face. He then turned off the vehicle. The dealer was contacted and they advised him to bring in the vehicle. No repairs were made, because the technicians could not identify the cause of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 68000.

- Nesconset, NY, USA

problem #12

Nov 122009

F-150

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F150. When starting the vehicle, the airbags deployed without warning. He then turned off the engine and disconnected the battery. He was able to turn the horn off. There were no injuries. The dealer was contacted and they stated that they have never heard of this type of failure. They then added that because of the mileage and age of the vehicle, they would not assume any responsibility. The insurance company advised him that he will have to pay the deductible on the vehicle. No repairs were made. The failure and current mileages were 125000.

- Simpsonville , SC, USA

problem #11

May 082009

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,684 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. While driving 35 mph in fair weather conditions, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bag light illuminated on the instrument panel, but the air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries; however, the contact was concerned about the air bags not deploying. The current and failure mileages were 32,684. Updated 05/13/09 the consumer stated it was a minor fender bender and the police were not called. Updated 05/20/09. Updated 06/17/09 updated 06/17/09. Updated 06/24/09.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #10

Jan 072009

F-150

  • miles
My truck was hit by a car that crossed the center line at a high rate of speed. Her car hit the front driver side of my truck and then slammed the side driver side. Her air bag deployed but mine didn't-- I now have two cracked rotor cuffs on both arms. Have surgery on one already. Another to be done when I recover from the first. My truck was totaled and so was the other drivers car. She was not injured.

- Chippewa Lake, OH, USA

problem #9

Nov 052008

F-150

  • 70,000 miles
Vehicle was parked in a parking lot - driver inserted key & turned on the ignition - immediately the air bag deployed causing the horn to go off - the horn could not be turned off and had to be disconnected - the driver suffered a welt on the stomach from the impact of the air bag along with hearing impairment from the horn being unable to be turned off and breathed in dust/powder particles that were emitted from the air bag. The vehicle was brought to the Ford dealer the next day @ 9:30am and they informed us at 5:00pm that same day that they would not repair the airbag/horn and we would have to contact our insurance company in which the insurance company would determine if further investigation was needed. Ford motor customer service was contacted on 11/07/08 and this incident was reported but they informed me also that they would not repair the problem and I would have to contact my insurance company.

- Wellington, FL, USA

problem #8

Sep 122008

F-150

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F150. While driving 55 mph in the rain, the vehicle hydroplaned and crashed head on into a guard rail. The air bags failed to deploy and the vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The VIN was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 42,000.

- Hollywood, MD, USA

problem #7

Aug 232008

F-150

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. When the contact started the vehicle, the air bags suddenly deployed. The dealer could not explain what caused the failure. The manufacturer stated that there were no complaints relating to the failure. The repairs were completed through the insurance company. The current and failure mileages were approximately 75,000.

- Moore, OK, USA

problem #6

Jul 172008

F-150

  • 55,000 miles
I have a 2005 Ford F-150 FX4 four door truck and on July 17, 2008 I had an accident. A car ran through a stop sign and I hit them in the side of their car. I was traveling around 30-35 mph and hit them straight with the front of my truck and the airbag did not deploy. The bumper was crushed in and the grill destroyed and several other components. I have a concern of why the airbag did not deploy.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #5

Jul 092008

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. While driving 60 mph, the contact felt faint and attempted to pull off the highway. She believes that she passed out and, when she came to, she was in an embankment. The contact had crossed over four lanes of traffic and struck a tree head on. The air bags failed to deploy and the contact was injured. The vehicle was destroyed and a police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified. The current and failure mileages were 135,000.update 10/01/08 updated 10/01/08.

- Bloomsdale, MO, USA

problem #4

Mar 152008

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F150. The contact stated that his vehicle was stolen. While driving approximately 80 mph, the thief crashed into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver was injured and a police report was filed. The contact could not provide additional information due to the fact that he was not driving the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were 80,000.

- Forth Worth, TX, USA

problem #3

Aug 242007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F150. The drivers side air bag deployed without warning after the contact started the vehicle. There were no warning lights illuminated. The dealer has not diagnosed the failure. The failure and current mileages were 73,000. The dealer information is not available.

- Melissa, TX, USA

problem #2

Jan 142006

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,133 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. The contact stated that his passenger side air bag light would not stop blinking. After it was repaired under warranty, the light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and the service manager asked the contact to pay. The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage is 10,300 and failure mileage was 10,133.

- Martinsville, VA, USA

problem #1

Sep 122005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73 miles
When driving past luke air force base the air bag light on the dash illuminates in my 2005 Ford F150. I have been told that this is caused by the radar. I want to know if the air bag system will function normally in the event an accident occurs when the light is on. Other people we know are also having this problem with their 2005 Ford trucks and SUVS.

- Litchfield Park, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?