Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

9.1

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,509.00
Average Mileage:
78,016 miles
Total Complaints:
50 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. new transmission needed (20 reports)
  2. complete transmission rebuild (11 reports)
  3. not sure (8 reports)
  4. rebuild transmission (5 reports)
  5. overhaul transmission (4 reports)
  6. find another transmission and change (1 reports)
2005 Ford F-150 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #50

Jan 082016

F-150 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 190,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this lemon 2005 Ford F-150 apple red truck and I did not even get to drive it and the transmission went into complete failure losing all forward drive gears but have reverse. Don't know if I should keep it as a lawn ornament or toe it up Fords ass.

- , Spokane, WA, USA

problem #49

Feb 202016

F-150 XLT 4.6L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,000 miles

I purchased this Ford Crew Cab truck new in June 2005 and have had numerous problems. First major issue was having to replace the front hub bearings twice at 16,000 miles (under warranty) and 27,000 miles after mfg warranty expired. Had to replace the window regulator in drivers door at month 38 at an expense of $500 and a week later the passenger side went out so another $500. Within three days apart in August 2012 both rear windows went bad for another $1000 down the drain.

Today I was driving with no warning complete forward driving failure, but reverse still worked.....?????? After doing research about this matter seems this is an occurring problem. What makes me PISSED OFF about the situation is I'm extremely anal about keeping up with the maintenance and have had this vehicle serviced way beyond the manufacturers recommendations. I HAVE NEVER HAULED ANYTHING IN THE BED OF THIS TRUCK SINCE I BOUGHT IT NEW IN 2005, it doesn't have a tow hitch on it either.

I have always owned trucks because I like to sit up higher and just always preferred them. My first truck purchased was a used 85 Toyota truck 200,000 miles plus and sold it to my best friend, never an issue. I purchased a new 97 Dodge SST truck had it for 8 years with only 36,000 miles when I sold it never an issue. My 1993 Ford Ranger purchase new had several issues also - I GUESS I SHOULD OF LEARNED MY LESSON WITH THIS TRUCK ABOUT BUYING ANOTHER FORD.

- , Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #48

Oct 202015

F-150 ES 4.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,437 miles

Bought this truck online in Nov '13 and it always had problems with the warning lights off and on, mostly on. It had 95000 miles and I have tried to keep it under 100000.

On Monday the 12th I had to start driving it and the warning light problem turned into just the engine/trans light staying on but it was better this way as the truck drove great until 8 days later the transmission started slipping back into what seems like neutral, and then it would not drive forward at all, just reverse. The next day it seems to drive ok around the yard as I will not take it anywhere to get left.

Seems to me with as many problems that they(FORD) has had with this transmission they should have had a recall. I may file a claim against them. Has anyone heard of this doing any good? FORD TRUCK 2005 F-150

- , Hartsville, SC, USA

problem #47

Oct 232014

F-150 King Ranch 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission slipped once on the way home. The next day I was lucky to get it into second on the way to the shop...error codes and crazy RPMs the whole way. Tranny had to be completely replaced. $3k lesson to stay away from Ford!

- , North Branford, CT, USA

problem #46

Mar 032015

F-150 FX4 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,477 miles

I bought this Truck brand new. Had the Transmission at 75 thousand KM. flushed and filter replaced according to manual. Towed a cargo trailer a couple times. Never went off-roading with it. Why would I? I paid $52.000 for it. It started to chug at 80 km. an hour then would be o.k. chugging would stop then at 100 km. an hour would do it again.

Took to Mechanic. I told him what was happening. He said it sounded like coil issue and would check it out. He was busy and told me to bring it in the next day. On my way home 3/4 of the way in Drive it started to rev like it was in neutral. So I put it in second gear and it started to drive again. When I got home I told the Mechanic what happened. Ask me to bring it back I barely made it there so he checked it out and said the transmission was done needed a rebuild $2500.

I retired from Fords on a pension can't afford to fix at this point. Bought Fords my whole life, not under warranty its 10 years old. There are other people I know that are having issues with there trucks and I'm telling them to have it checked. They say their trucks also chug a little bit and they have less KM.

- , Windsor, Ontario, Canada

problem #45

Oct 312014

F-150 FX4 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

F150 ford fx4 . Paid 16000 for this truck off the dealership , cause it had 125,000, no warranty was given. They classified it as a used truck . Drove it for 8 months and replacing the tranny now . I've had over 5 ford trucks and this will be my last one, going for Chevy . Cost me 2600 for the tranny . So disappointed with ford trucks and it's supposed to their top selling truck . Too many parts coming from Mexico ???

- , Newfield, NJ, USA

problem #44

Jul 152014

F-150 STX 4.6L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Very, Very, Very Frustrated! My family have been loyal Ford customers for as long as we've had vehicles. Just to give you an idea of the vehicles and time frame, it started with my Grandfather's Model A. Others have been all makes of Ford full size trucks, 3 Rangers, two 1967 Shelby GT350s (my dad and uncles, both wrecked), a original 1964 1/2 Mustang (my mom), a BOSS, a Mach I, a 1994 anniversary Mustang, my Ranger, a Pinto, and a Ranchero. Currently, in my family: my 2005 F-150, my dad's 2007 F-150, an Edge, a 2004 King Ranch that was bought new, 3 Ford Fusions, a 500, and a Ranger. We are diehard Ford People.

I bought my F-150 last spring from Longmont (CO) Ford with about 76K miles on it. I needed to retire my 1997 Ranger due to having a child. I had no major issues with the Ranger, and it was not treated lightly. I wanted a truck that I could get 8-10 years out of, and I thought this was the one. I was the third owner of the vehicle, and the previous owner had only driven about 10,000 miles in 3 years. It was the right trim level, manual everything (which is what I wanted) 4.6L V8.

The truck had mostly highway miles on it, I took it back and forth to Wisconsin a few times, but was only on Mountain roads twice (paved). We usually take my Wife's Honda because it gets almost 40 MPG. I am in the middle of selling my house and moving cross country, and am halfway into two bathroom remodels so I can get the house on the market. I went to pull out of Lowes, and knew something wasn't right. Then holy hell broke loose.

I tried to pull onto a major road, and the truck instantly revved to 4-5K while barely picking up speed. Transmission Fault warning lit up the dashboard and the O/D off light started flashing. I managed to pull back into Lowes, turned off the truck and began looking for a shop to pull it into. Luckily there was a place about a block away and I limped it in.

I thought maybe the issue was the torque converter, but when they called back and said gears 1 & 2 were toast I just about puked. The quoted $3800 to rebuild and $4800 to replace. So I called around and found a different shop that is going to do the rebuild for about $2800.

This is ridiculous! I don't know anyone in my family that has ever had to replace a Ford Truck transmission at less than 200K. I am barely over 90K! I have never towed with this truck. I bought it from the dealer, who was supposed to inspect the vehicle. On the oil changes, there was no indication of metal or discoloration in the trans fluid.

Consumer Reports likes to say, that generally all trucks are overbuilt, and that they tend to have less chronic issues than cars do. After seeing this thread, I realize that doesn't apply to this truck and transmission. I am beyond frustrated, and it makes me seriously consider ever buying a Ford Truck again. Talking to the transmission guy, F-150s make up about half his business. Apparently they have started to cut some corners.

- , Denver, CO, USA

problem #43

Jun 252012

F-150 V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles

76k miles....really? this is my 2nd Ford vehicle and the THIRD transmission I've paid for....it'll be the last....unless my son's explorer craters. UGH. Everything was fine until yesterday AM on the way to work, and it just wouldn't shift into 2nd or 3rd gears....needs to be rebuilt. The shop owner said that he sends has a couple of F150's per month that need new/rebuilt transmissions. And from looking at this site, I guess I'm not the only one to have this problem....Hey, mine made it past the average (by 2k miles). Sarcasm, humor, it's the only thing that gets me through!

- , Houston, TX, USA

problem #42

Jan 252013

F-150 4.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,430 miles

I have two f150's. Both transmissions went at the same time. They had no reverse. I rebuilt one and put in a ford brand new one. Two years later they both went again at the same time. One had 19700kms and the other had 26000kms. Yes I do plow with them but would expect a few more kms. Not happy with ford at this point.

- , Barrie, Ontario, canada

problem #41

Dec 292012

F-150 Exab 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles

WE HAVE OWNED FORD PRODUCTS OUR WHOLE LIFETIME OVER 10 TOTAL VEHICLES. MOSTLY TRUCKS. 29000 MILES AND COMPLETE TRANSMISSION FAILURE OF COURSE OUT OF WARRANTY. DEALER CANT HELP. AFTER READING ALL THE BAD BLOGS FORD KNOWS THIS WAS A POORLY ENGINEERED DRIVE TRAIN. TRUCK WAS BARELY RUN... GARAGE KEPT USED AS A SPARE VEHICLE. WELL MAINTAINED AND NEVER SAW HEAVY WORK. $3200 BILL RIGHT AFTER CHRISTMAS...OUCH!!

I HAVE A KID HEADING TO COLLEGE NEXT YEAR CANT AFFORD THIS KINDA OF CATASTROPHIC FAILURE ON A TRANSMISSION THAT SHOULD GO 100+K VERY DISAPPOINTED TO SAY THE LEAST..

FORD SPENDS A FORTUNE ADVERTISING TO CREATE A REPEAT FORD BUYER LIKE US...I AM HOPING THEY OFFER SOME REMEDY.. IF NOT THIS FORD FAMILY MIGHT JUST TRADE THEM ALL IN AND BUY A CHEVY.. OR A DODGE

- , Media, PA, USA

problem #40

Sep 242012

F-150 LX 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

50,000 MILES ON A TRUCK THAT GOES LESS THEN 20 MILES A DAY AND THE TRANSMISSION WENT. DEALERSHIP SAYS NOT THEIR PROBLEM ITS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. FORD ORIGINALLY TOLD ME THEY WOULD HELP BUT NOW THEY WONT BC NOT UNDER WARRANTY. WAS MADE AWARE THAT FORD OFFERS A GOODWILL REPAIR THROUGH DEALERSHIP BUT DEALERSHIP ISN'T WILLING TO HELP. AFTER READING ALL THESE COMPLAINTS HOW HAVE THEY NOT RECALLED THIS YET!!

- , Jefferson Valley, NY, USA

problem #39

Apr 202012

F-150 STX 4.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

Ok I HAVE HAD ONE PROBLEM AFTER ANOTHER WITH THIS TRUCK, WELL TODAY REALLY PISSED ME OFF WENT TO THE STORE AND ON MY WAY HOME THE TRUCK JUST COMPLETELY STOP BUT YOU COULD GO IN REVERSE AND I HAD TO DRIVE MY TRUCK HOME IN REVERSE. WHEN I FIRST BOUGHT THIS TRUCK IT HAD 18,000 MILES ON IT AND THE BACK BARRING ON THE TRANSMISSION WENT OUT. I AGREE THIS REALLY NEEDS TO BE A RECALL..

Update from May 4, 2012: So I took my truck to a transmission place here in Colorado Springs, Co and had my transmission fixed 2400.00 dollars later. Thanks Ford for building a truck with a F**k up transmission. Hopefully you all will start working on building better transmission for your trucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- , coloradosprings, CO, USA

problem #38

Apr 212012

F-150 XLT 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 113,000 miles

I bought my 2005 F150 new and have not driven it hard. I use 4X4 2 or 3 times each winter, don't tow or haul anything and now the transmission needs to be rebuilt. It hasn't gone completely yet, just jerks once in awhile, but the shop showed me the metal chunks and told me it would cost a minimum of $2000 to repair, if only needs soft parts. I would have thought these trucks would last more than 113000 miles before falling apart (transmission isn't the only problem). Have tried to find used tranny from low mileage wreck, but the wrecking yard said there aren't any available because so many people are buying them to fix this same problem.

- , Bothell, WA, USA

problem #37

Mar 222012

(reported on)

F-150 XL 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

My transmission gave out in Dallas and I had to limp the two hour drive home in what felt like third gear. I had done a transmission service at 75,000 and everything looked good. I don't tow trailers or live in a big city. It's all highway miles. I was pretty upset. The only good thing was dealer was able to get one quick so my truck was not down for very long.

- , Stephenville, TX, USA

problem #36

Oct 142011

F-150 STX 4.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 174,000 miles

In October 2011 I started out for work, when I noticed my Transmission was downshifting from OD to Drive immediately after letting off gas even at 70 MPH. Went to work and lunch it was still doing the same. I bought a quart of Lucas Trans. conditioner. Immediately started slipping. After 30 miles the Trans Fault light came on. I brought it to my mechanic and he first replaced fluid and filter. He suggested if that didnt work it would need rebuilt. So thats what we did. When we picked up truck they test drove it and it SEEMED to be fine except it felt like the parking brake was on in 1st gear. On the next morning I left out for work within 30 miles it started slipping and the Trans Fault light was on again and the shifting was very erratic. I believe that the Ford Company needs to look into this as a recall. From what I have read on this website there are many many complaints about these same issues.

- , Four Oaks, NC - North Carolina, USA

problem #35

Dec 232011

F-150 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

Same as everyone else, went to back up thought I had hit something got out to look and nothing. Put it back in reverse and nothing. Cant wait to see what this is going to cost. Merry Christmas to me from ford.

- , Ava, MO, USA

problem #34

Jun 032011

F-150 V8 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

Tough Ford truck...bull. Transmission failure of a well-cared for, dealership maintained, low miles, used to tow a small boat several times a year, in sunny California with no extreme weather conditions. My loyalty to the Ford dealer was not even acknowledged so I took my truck to a family-owned transmission shop and was treated with more kindness and understanding than the dealer provided me. Ford Motor Credit had nothing to say except they were sorry and that I should save my receipts in case my truck is recalled due to a transmission failure issue in the future. It is unbelievable that a truck that is supposed to be tough....has a transmission failure at 57K miles!

- , Torrance, CA, USA

problem #33

Aug 092011

F-150 STX 4.6L Triton V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

"TRANS FAULT"! I have read a lot about that simple phrase in the last 2 weeks. My transmission failed at 85,000 on my '05 F150 this month. Thankfully, I have a 100,000 mi extended warranty that took care of the repair for a $100 deductible. The dealer said my clutch failed. Total time out of my vehicle was ten days. The repair itself, took just a day and a half, but there is the usual red tape from a warranty company. I was told by the service manager that Ford is notified when there is a major mechanical issue of this sort. I will buy another F150, but not without a manufacturer extended warranty!

- , Flower Mound, TX, USA

problem #32

Aug 022011

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,993 miles

$ 2.00 snap ring broke in transmission causing excessive transmission damage and a $1300 repair bill. Sent Ford Motor Company an E-mail now I am waiting for a response .I bought this truck new in 2005 and was not told that this problem could arise at any time. I was told when I had the transmission repaired that Ford Motor Company was aware of this problem sine 2004. I guess we will see if Ford Motor Company will stand behind their product and at least refund part of the repair cost since it was a factory defect.

- , Jerseyville, IL, USA

problem #31

May 092011

F-150 Lariat 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

THERE SEEMS TO BE A PATTERN TO THE CATASTROPHIC FAILURE WITH THE FORD F150 AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSIONS. TODAY MY TRANSMISSION DIDN'T WANT TO GO TO LUNCH WITH ME AND THE REST OF THE TRUCK. FORTUNATELY I WAS LESS THAN TEN MILES FROM THE AUFFENBERG FORD DEALERSHIP I TAKE MY TRUCK TO FOR REGULAR MAINTENANCE. THE SERVICE MANAGER (GARY) IS A REAL GENTLEMAN AND GOT MY TRUCK INTO THE SERVICE ROTATION THEN ARRANGED A LIFT BACK TO MY HOUSE WHICH IS LESS THAN TEN MINUTES AWAY. LATER TODAY I GOT A CALL FROM THE DEALERSHIP WITH A DIAGNOSIS OF D.O.A. AND RECOMMENDATION FOR TRANSPLANT (NEW TRANSMISSION). I LIKE MANY OF THE OTHERS WHO HAVE HAD WHAT WOULD BE REASONABLY CONSIDERED A LESS THAN STELLAR MAJOR EQUIPMENT LIFE CYCLE CUT SHORT IN ITS PRIME CAN ONLY HOPE THAT MY AGE (50) AND VEHICLE MILEAGE (~50K) ARE BUT A RELATIVE COINCIDENCE. I AM CONFIDENT THAT GARY/AUFFENBERG FORD DEALERSHIP WILL RESOLVE THE IMMEDIATE TRANSPORTATION PROBLEM BEFORE ME AND GRATEFULLY DUE TO THE CONTRIBUTIONS OF OTHERS SHARED DIFFICULTIES WILL NOW SEEK GUIDANCE FROM FORD MANUFACTURING CORPORATION AS TO THE MOST AMICABLE PATH OF RESOLUTION TOWARD LONGTERM CUSTOMER SATISFACTION.

I'LL GIVE YOU THE "PAUL HARVEY" IN THE NEXT WEEK.

Update from Jul 18, 2011: FORD MOTOR COMPANY GENEROUSLY OFFERED $1,000 TOWARD THE REPLACEMENT OF THE TRANSMISSION. THE NEW TRANSMISSION COMES WITH A THREE YEAR WARRANTY. MY TOTAL OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE WAS APPROXIMATELY $2700. I AM GRATEFUL FOR THE PROFESSIONAL SERVICE PROVIDED BY GARY THE SERVICE MANAGER AT AUFFENBERG FORD AND HOPE THIS IS THE END OF MY EXPENSIVE REPAIR JOURNEY.

- , O'Fallon, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?