Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,188 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #26

Jul 012011


  • miles


Spark plugs are snapping off because of heat in the aluminum head.

- Bessemer, PA, USA

problem #25

Mar 312011


  • 58,000 miles
Over a period of 3 months, I was experiencing a rough idle, loss of power when accelerating on flat surfaces as well as climbing hills. I took it to a mechanic who said it was 2 bad coil packs. They fixed it and 2 weeks later same incident occurred and they replaced it. During this time, I could always smell the odor of gasoline. After the large expense I was assuming, I called the Ford dealer where I bought my 2006 F-150 lariat. The service manager of 22 years apparently never heard of the coil pack going bad along with the spark plugs breaking due to this. After arguing for a week with them, they finally agreed to pay for the replacement of all 8 coil packs. During this sequence, a coil pack was going bad weekly and I had to continually have it in the shop. Ford needs to address this issue and as I can see, there are a lot of these issues out there and Ford continues to disregard a recall. There is a definite safety issue as gasoline will emit from the crack in the coil pack and could cause a fire under the right condition. This is unacceptable.

- Hummelstown, PA, USA

problem #24

Mar 072011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
2006 Ford F150 with 39,000 miles acting funny. Took it to garage and was catalytic converter. Stated they wouldn't cover it because I drove to garage.

- Washington, PA, USA

problem #23

Jan 122011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 101,000 miles


What a shocker, I go to the Ford dealer for the 100K tune up for my F-150 king ranch original cost $450. Almost two weeks later, truck still isn't finished cost is at $3, 500 still can go. They don't know yet until their finished putting everything back together. 7 of the 8 plugs broke, two would not come out. Finally, they got one of the two out. The one is seized up pretty good. The had to take the head off and waiting on the outcome. I'm up in arms on what to do. I don't have an extra $3, 000 laying around to pay for this plus the price can still go up. How can they not tell you this up front and keep padding the price and not knowing what its going to cost until you pick your vehicle up. Please contact me, I would like to file a suit against Ford but need assistance. I talked to someone from Ford front office about this issue. They are well aware of this matter. All they say is that its not under warranty and my vehicle is over the 100K max. Come to find out, no matter what warranty you have, this particular issue has no warranty to begin with. All they would do is offer me the "X plan" on a new vehicle. Now, why would I want to buy a new vehicle. I've been raised on Ford vehicles my entire life. I must say this will be my last Ford truck for sure. A friend of mine has a Toyota truck and has over 200K miles. Never has had a issue with anything. Please advise on what to do, this needs to stop and Ford needs to do something about this. But I have a feeling they won't or they would of done it already.

- Defiance, MO, USA

problem #22

Nov 202010


  • 89,000 miles
Oem sparkplug in 2006 F-150 king ranch (3-valve engine). Experienced premature plug failure and resulting high replacement costs due to defective sparkplug design. Plug failure resulted in sluggish engine performance that led to a near accident.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #21

Jul 092010


  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F150. While driving approximately 15 mph, there was an unexpected reduction in the engine power. The contact continued to drive to his residence with an excessive loss of engine power during acceleration. The vehicle was towed from the residence to an authorized dealer where they stated the engine would need to be replaced as a result of defective fuel injectors. The estimated repair cost was $8,000. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 58,000.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #20

Aug 152008


  • 21,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. The contact stated that they had to replace the ignition coils five times in less than one year. The failure caused the spark plugs to crack and have to be replaced. The spark plugs that cracked were on two separate cylinders. The failure caused fuel to be spilled onto the engine which could cause problems with the catalytic converter. The contact stated that the vehicle would sputter at times when he tried to accelerate to pass someone. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that there was no remedy for the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 21,000 and the current mileage was approximately 49,000.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #19

Sep 152010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,400 miles
TL-the contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while accelerating or decelerating, the vehicle suddenly hesitated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that there were only two quarts of oil in the engine instead of the seven it was supposed to contain; the dealer could not figure out why the vehicle was losing so much oil. The dealer also stated that the timing chain caused the vehicle to hesitate. The failure mileage was approximately 23,400 and the current mileage was 23,423. Updated 01/13/11 the consumer stated it was difficult to et the vehicle out of 4-wheel drive. Also, the timing chain was making a scraping noise due to lack of oil. Updated 03/31/11

- Lake Saint Louis , MO, USA

problem #18

Aug 252010


  • 144,000 miles
I have a 2006 F150 with the 5.4 engine. I have never replaced the spark plugs and the truck has 144K miles. I am now stuck with ~$1800 to pull the cab to get to the heads to get the plugs out. 2 mechanics cannot get it out normally. I am told that a fix for stripping the heads is with a sleave that I cannot get out of cylinder #8. I was never informed to have the plugs changed at 80kto 100K miles. I would not have known anything about this. I think the fix is a poor design and I was designed to cover another plug issue. I am wondering why 2 wrongs do not make a right and I am wondering what recourse I have. I have purchased or traded 3 new trucks and currently drive a mustang, all purchased in the last 4 years. I am seriously wondering if I should ever buy another Ford truck at this time. I have been more than loyal to Ford products over the years.

- Torrington, WY, USA

problem #17

Jul 182010


  • 88,000 miles
My vehicle is showing extreme hesitation in acceleration when entering a highway or passing another vehicle. During these processes, my vehicle will start backfiring and missing. The "check engine" light comes on at this time. I took my vehicle to two different state licensed mechanics, and chapman Ford dealership in philadelphia. All three told me the plugs should have lasted 100,000 miles or better and that they have had problems with the design of the engine and these plugs are very complicated to replace. Special tools would be needed to replace them. They also said it is very common these plugs would break off when being removed. The cost to replace the plugs would be approximately $400 to $550, with an additional cost if any plugs break. The dealership told me there is no recall when there should be. This is a major problem at the expense of the owner, as well as a safety issue. I realize spark plugs are not under warranty, but the cost to replace them is ridiculous because as the mechanics stated, it was a flaw in the design of the plugs and they corrode to the engine block. Ford realized this and changed the plugs in newer vehicles to a non-corrosive plug. I feel the customer should not have to pay for a poor design from Ford. I am scheduled to have this work completed on July 21, 2010 at chapman Ford in philadelphia because my vehicle is unsafe to continue driving on the highway and is using an access amount of gasoline.

- Jenkintown, PA, USA

problem #16

Jul 012010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 101,000 miles


Certain Ford makes, models and motors are known for ejecting spark plugs which destroys the ignition coil and is a fire hazard. They are also known for the spark plug breaking while trying to remove them which is a financial burden on the customer as well as a risk the motor while trying to resolve the issue. There are tsb's on this. I never received a letter from Ford to give me the heads up on this and learned after the fact of attempting to get a tune stuck with two broken spark plugs stuck in the motor and have no idea how much this is going to cost me in the end. I am without my truck while we wait for a tool that will hopefully remove the broke off sleeves. If it doesn't work I will have to have the head pulled and who knows if it will need to be replaced. Even if it removes it, I won't know until something happens if it ends up causing damage to my engine. I have had bad experiences with Ford - two vehicles now. They do not back up their known defects. My first problem with this F150 (Triton) was when the computer shut down leaving me stranded in another state because the wires were rubbing against the steering column bracket. I put a lot of miles on so it was in extended warranty and the deductible paid the repair. Ford had no intention of taking responsibility for it even though it would have normally been under original warranty except for the miles I put on a vehicle. There was no roadside service in the area I was in and I got stuck with all kinds of expenses from it. Seems our american manufacturers should be held accountable for their multiple known defects as well as our foreign manufacturers. I am only answering yes to the fire because I am aware that others have had this as a problem. I have not had a fire yet, but we are not done trying to resolve the problem.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #15

Apr 232010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 45,300 miles
My 2006 Ford F-150 had a spark plug broke off and now the only way to fix this is to remove the head approx $3000 to correct. Ford says they are aware of the problem but they refuse to do anything about it. The vehicle only has 45,000 miles and the truck is now non drivable. Why aren't they being held accountable for something when they know it is a problem with this style vehicle.

- Matoaca, VA, USA

problem #14

Feb 172010


  • 96,000 miles
I purchased a Ford F-150 in 2006. I am at my 100,000 maintenance and the spark plugs have to be changed. I spoke with a representative at the Ford repair shop who told me that I would have to bring my truck in 24 hours early to soak the plugs because they will break in the motor and I will have to pay to have them removed. I followed there instructions on Monday morning and took the truck to them. They called and informed me that they would have to take the head off my motor to remove the plugs at a considerable expense to me. It does not seem fair to me that if Ford mechanics put Ford plugs into there Ford trucks and when there Ford mechanics try to remove the Ford plugs from the Ford vehicle they break and I have to pay for the damages.

- Hernando, MS, USA

problem #13

Dec 152009


  • 100,000 miles
I'm an owner of a 2006 Ford F-150 5.4 engine. I have had 3 engine failures with this truck the first one was an injector. Second was a timing solenoid. Third was a coil. I had over 100,000 kms. I had my plugs changed. The mechanic ended up breaking off 6 plugs in the engine. This is a very expensive repair, it should only be regular maintenance. I have done a great deal of research and have found it is a very widespread problem. I feel owners should be compensated. Any advice I can receive would be helpful thanks in advance.

- Rice Point, 00, USA

problem #12

Jan 192009


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F150. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled. The failure occurred in January 2009, June 2009 and again in October 2009. The failure became more frequent and progressively worse over time. The vehicle would completely shut down with no warning lights; she would be able to restart after three attempts. She took the vehicle to the dealership and was told that they could not duplicate the failure. She called the manufacturer who stated that she should take the vehicle back to the dealer. The vehicle has not been repaired to-date. The current mileage was approximately 74,000. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000.

- Dingmans Ferry , PA, USA

problem #11

Dec 282009


  • 98,850 miles
Sparkplug popping out while driving 60 mph on highway, thought it was a blow out of my tire had to quickly move over to the right and exit.found out it was the sparkplug. Later after a few phone calls to dealers and mechanics this is a problem that happens regularly and that Ford knows about this problem. This should never happen. I feel cheated and I would have never bought this truck F-150 at all if I new about this. After all this I will contact the media and local papers to let people know about this problem. I also found out if will start a fire if I kept driving.

- Rosenberg, TX, USA

problem #10

Sep 092009


  • 80,000 miles
2006 Ford F150 80,000km in for service the dealer called and indicated while removing the plugs 6out of 8 broke a common issue with the 5.4 Triton 3valve engine. Quote $2000 or possibly more. I purchased the truck for over $50,000 and now it will not run and has sat for 2 months, the Ford dealer also has three other trucks with the same issue they have advised to take the truck elsewhere"??" all shops in my city are refusing this engine to work on what to do I'm stranded by the manufacturer to whom I have been a loyal customer. As I research this issue it has become so widespread I don't understand why Ford Motor Company has not been taken to task over this very serious issue.

- Kingston, 00, USA

problem #9

Nov 202009


  • 47,344 miles
My 2006 F 150 has shut off twice on me while driving on the freeway. And after barely avoiding the semi behind me I managed to pull off the side of the freeway and turned the key off, after waiting about a minute I turned the key on and the car ran fine for about three months and then it happened again on the freeway.the light comes on to signify that the problem is the electronic throttle control, but I called around a few places and they all say the same thing, they cant do anything unless the check engine light is on. Does some one have to die in order for Ford to fix this problem.. is it worth losing a life over?

- Chula Vista , CA, USA

problem #8

May 102009


  • 85,000 miles
2004and 2006 Ford F250 and 150 sparks plugs blow out and costly repair on factory install plugs.

- Chesterfield Va, VA, USA

problem #7

Apr 162009


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 60 mph, the contact noticed an unidentified warning indicator illuminate on the instrument panel. The vehicle stalled, but was able to be restarted immediately. She took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed that it would cost $700 to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer did not assist. She is in the process of having the vehicle repaired. The failure and current mileages were 40,000.

- San Diego, CA, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?