Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 1
Average Mileage:
64,393 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford F-150 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Jun 302016


  • 114,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 55 mph, two deer jumped in the middle of the road. The contact slammed on the brake pedal to avoid the animals. As a result, the vehicle drove into a ditch and rolled over three times. None of the frontal air bags deployed. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries reported. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was towed and was being evaluated by the insurance company. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 114,000.

- Marshville, NC, USA

problem #21

Jun 012015


  • 119,409 miles
In June 2015, the air bag light in my Ford F150 illuminated, indicating a problem. I took my vehicle to a Ford dealership. They told me that the deployable restraint system, specifically the pretensioner, had malfunctioned and possibly would fail to function as intended in the event of a crash. The service technician indicated that the restraint system is connected to my air bags, which might fail to work in a crash, increasing the risk of injury. After paying the diagnostic fee, I was given a repair estimate of an additional $392.21. Not wanting to risk injury in the event of a crash, I had the pretensioner replaced. The buckle pretensioner is a critical safety device that should never fail under normal use. My vehicle has never been in an accident. It is my understanding that some pretensioners have failed due to simple seat position adjustments, which, to me, is evidence of a poor design. Ford has recently recalled many 2013 żż 2014 vehicles for poorly made pretensioners, recognizing the safety issue surrounding them. I requested that Ford reimburse me for the cost of the pretensioner buckle; however, Ford denied this request. I have the original pretensioner and all receipts available.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #20

Dec 212013

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 144,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F150. The contact stated while traveling approximately 35 mph, another vehicle went through a stop sign and crashed into the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact mentioned that the air bag sensor was illuminated before the crash occurred. The contact sustained whip lash and other minor injuries, one of the passengers sustained leg injuries, a second passenger sustained neck injuries and the third passenger sustained minor injuries and abrasions. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The dealer was notified of the concerns with the air bag for several months before the crash occured to no avail. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under recall NHTSA campaign id number: 11V107000 (air bags) but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 144,000. Updated 8/14/14 updated 08/27/2014

- Meeker, OK, USA

problem #19

Feb 172013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 94,000 miles


I was involved on a accident on February 17 2013 a car run in to my truck.driver side my truck spin around and I hit the divider in the middle at the street the airbag never deploy the total damage on my truck was $10,800 dollars and 2 months later a revise a latter from Ford company said that my truck has a recall on the I revise the notification really late... so I was this driving a defect truck for years really I M really upset..when I revise the recall latter I took my truck to the big valley Ford dealer ship and they fix my there was a problem I try to get a hold of the Ford company and they give me a case number but they don't due nothing abut it I need help and some info how can I go against Ford company.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #18

Nov 272012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
A deer ran out in front of vehicle..road wet and it was foggy..tried to keep from hitting deer..back of truck fishtailed..loss control..hit a ditch and embankment...air bags did not employ and seat belt did not lock...had a fracture in L2 vertebrae of back..Ford has denied any fault in air bag or seat belt function...truck was totaled by insurance company.....

- Danese, WV, USA

problem #17

Jan 292013


  • 76,624 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the driver lost control of the vehicle and crashed head-on into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 76,624.

- Naperville , IL, USA

problem #16

Jun 212012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 82,150 miles


I was driving on the highway when all of my gauges went dead including the speedometer, a couple of minutes later they came back on and when they did the airbag warning light started blinking rapidly. A few moments later the gauges went dead again, when they came back on the second time the airbag warning light started blinking rapidly and erratically. Since that time my gauges have failed 3 more times with the same behavior from the airbag warning light. I did some research online and found that even though Ford has not recalled this problem it has been experienced by hundreds of 2006 Ford F150 owners.

- Ozark, MO, USA

problem #15

Mar 102012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
Seat belt tensioner on vehicle goes bad and airbag light will come on intermittently and stay on while driving. Per Ford Motor Company air bag might or might not deploy in accident which puts my life endanger.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #14

Dec 282011


  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph in the center lane and suddenly crashed into the proceeding vehicle. The contact sustained an injury to the neck and left hand. In addition, the left side of her shoulder was bruised. The vehicle was completely destroyed and towed to a savage facility. The air bags failed to deploy with the impact. The manufacturer was not notified of the air bag malfunction. The approximate failure mileage was 61,000.

- Waukee, IA, USA

problem #13

Nov 172011


  • miles
This is in regards to Ford's 2006 F150 driver side air bag recall. Ford is refusing to give the dealerships the key to unlock the anti theft box that the air bag is in to do the safety recall. They instruct the service team to "use a dremel tool". this is not acceptable. Service team is "not comfortable" using a dremel to fix this. Any thing done like this to this vehicle will void any and all warranties!!!! safety recall has not been done on this vehicle.

- Fort Wayne , IN, USA

problem #12

May 212011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 86,000 miles


Driver passed out. Vehicle crossed oncoming lane of traffic, left road on South side, crashed through a fence and traveled approximately 125'+ hitting a large oak tree head on. Driver (who was wearing seat belt) slammed into steering wheel & column, and was seriously injured. Vehicle had heavy damage, and not repairable.

- Clinton, MS, USA

problem #11

Jul 092011


  • 67,000 miles
Ford F-150 air bags failed to deploy.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #10

May 012011


  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. The contact received a recall notice associated with NHTSA campaign id number 11V107000 (air bags:frontal:driver side inflator module). Since the notice was received the contact notified an authorized dealer on several occasions and was informed that the parts necessary to remedy the recall were unavailable. A reason for the lack of parts were not provided to the contact. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 34,000.

- East Greenwich, RI, USA

problem #9

Jun 012011


  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer to repaired for recall 11V107000 (air bags:frontal driver side inflator module). After receiving the vehicle from the dealer, the air bag light illuminated immediately. When she took the vehicle back to the dealer, the mechanic stated that the sensor was the cause of the failure. The contact noticed no problems with the air bags until the vehicle was taken in for the recall repair. The contact called the manufacturer who referred her to a different dealer that refused to repair the vehicle. The vehicle had not been repaired a second time. The current and failure mileages were approximately 83,000.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #8

Jan 052011


  • 85,707 miles
The truck was traveling approximately 30 mph on a wet two-lane road. The truck slipped to the right off the roadway and clipped some dead trees, traveled approximately 60 feet over some boulders, and struck a cedar tree approximately six inches in diameter, coming to rest. The truck struck the tree midway on the front end, compressing the hood, with the front fender wrapped around the tree. The driver's side air bag did not deploy. I contacted Ford customer service, requesting information to be gathered on why the air bag failed to deploy. The customer service representative referred me to the insurance company. The insurance company representative called on my behalf and gave permission for Ford to non-destructively collect data at the salvage site, but Ford refused. I have photographs that I can provide if requested.

- Arab, AL, USA

problem #7

Oct 022010


  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F150. While driving 10 mph, the contact crashed into a tree. The air bags did not deploy. No there were no injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop and then driven to the dealer. The dealer advised the contact to call NHTSA. The manufacturer had not been notified. The failure mileage was 41,000.

- Perryville, MD, USA

problem #6

Jun 252010


  • 43,221 miles
This problem first surfaced on the morning of 6/25/2010. I, along with a front seat passenger, were returning from running an errand when I noticed that the air bag light was flashing intermittently and that the 'passenger air bag disabled' indicator was lit. The later eventually returned to its normal state, off, but the air bag indicator remained on intermittently. I drove the vehicle again on 6/27/2010 with the following symptoms: The air bag light was intermittent and at the same time the an warning chime, at 1 second intervals, was heard. The 'passenger air bag disabled' indicator remained lit without a front seat passenger. The vehicle was again driven on 7/5/2010 with the same indications. As a result, I am hesitant to drive this vehicle until I do more research or speak to a certified service facility. I truly feel that I'd be at risk of an inadvertent air bag deployement while driving on the interstate, possibly causing injuries to myself, passengers, and other vehicles, and thus I'm requesting help and advice from your organization.

- Moyock, NC, USA

problem #5

Jan 252009


  • miles
My son was killed in his 2006 Ford 150 pickup truck driving 45 miles an hour. His truck apparently left the road with no signs of brakes being applied, flipped several times. The airbags never deployed. His insurance company was threatening me to release the truck from storage which I did. I have since regained my senses enough to search the web and see that there were many recalls on the brake lines of this make truck.

- Sneads, FL, USA

problem #4

Feb 162009


  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 40 mph, the contact struck a deer and severely damaged the vehicle. None of the air bags deployed. There were no air bag warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel prior to the failure. A police report was filed. There were no injuries. The contact has pictures of the failed incident. He is in the process of notifying Ford to determine the cause of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 64,000.

- Richwood, OH, USA

problem #3

Dec 062008


  • 39,537 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford F150. On November 19, 2008, the vehicle was repaired according to Ford recall number 08S05B (brake booster vacuum hose replacement). While driving 35 mph, the vehicle failed to stop when the brake pedal was depressed. The contact struck the side of another vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. The road pavement was dry. The contact and the other passenger in his vehicle were transported to the emergency room for back injuries and bruises. Both occupants were wearing their seat belts at the time of the crash. The front end of the vehicle was damaged; however, both vehicles were able to be driven from the scene. A police report was filed. The failure mileage was 39,537.

- Abita Springs, LA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?