If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,674 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford F-150 Owner Comments

problem #12

Aug 292008

F-150

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Ford 150 has 46,000 miles on it. I was moving it in the drive way at a very slow speed and all of a sudden it accelerated and the more I tried to step on the brake the faster it went. Very scary! I think what is more scary is there are several other people that have this complained. I am taking it to the shop this week but the more I read the more I am convinced they will not find anything.

- Mount Airy, MD, USA

problem #11

Jul 232008

F-150

  • 10,121 miles
My 2007 Ford F150 has a severe safety flaw. Four times so far, between March 2008 and July 2008, the vehicle has accellerated on its own when braking to stop. The truck will slow to about 10 mph then suddenly on its own the engine revs to 2000 rpms and the truck surges forward. The only way to stop it is to throw it into neutral. This almost caused several accidents. Two separate Ford dealers worked on this problem but both found nothing wrong even though the problem continues. I E-mailed Ford on 7/23/2008 but they have not yet replied.

- Irving, NY, USA

problem #10

Jul 032008

F-150

  • 26,000 miles
Drove vehicle to work and parked it, when leaving work, opened door of vehicle and there was smoke and flames coming from the vent in dashboard. Vehicle had been idle 7 hours.

- Avenue, MD, USA

problem #9

Feb 272008

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2/26/08 sudden acceleration at stop light - lurched forward almost hit vehicle turning left in front of me. Took to dealership....dealer could find nothing but replaced fuel throttle body. The next day, I picked up the vehicle, drove <30 miles and it happened again while at full stop - hit vehicle in front of me...3 injuries. The occupants in the vehicle the consumer hit were injured. Updated 07/22/08 updated 03/08/10 the consumer no longers owns the vehicle. Updated 04/07/10. The cosumer received a denial letter from Ford, stating they would not provide any assitance. Updated 05/04/10.

- Baldwinsville, NY, USA

problem #8

Oct 032007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 195,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford F-150. Two hours after the vehicle had been driven, it caught fire under the hood. The vehicle was included in recall number 05S28 for the vehicle speed control. Ford stated that a recall letter was sent to the contact; however, the contact disagreed. The current and failure mileages were 195,000. *updated 12/12/2007 cleveland fire report. Updated 12/12/07

- Cleveland, TX, USA

problem #7

Jun 152007

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
I experienced several scary instances of unexpected acceleration with my new F150. 1) after driving ~25 miles, and driving in downtown traffic, the truck attempted to accelerate while stopped. The truck revved up and lunged forward while people were walking in front of truck. I was forced to press the brake very hard. The people walking were frightened. 2) while moving the truck in the driveway, it accelerated quickly, I slammed on the brakes, skidding several feet. 3) had several other instances. When I explained to dealer, the senior salesman told me I must have had my foot on the accelerator. This was not the case. There was no concern by the dealer to check this out.

- Baldwinsville, NY, USA

problem #6

Jul 042007

F-150 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the vehicle accelerated from 0 to approximately 25 mph without warning, while the brake pedal was depressed. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The current mileage was 3,000 and failure mileage was 2,800. Updated 02-01-08

- Hayden, AL, USA

problem #5

Jul 132007

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2007 Ford F150 - unwanted acceleration: We have had this vehicle for less than a month and have had three instances of unwanted acceleration. While backing out of the driveway and braking for entering the roadway, the vehicle suddenly started revving very high; to stop this we had to put the vehicle in park. All three times we've experienced this unwanted acceleration has been in different scenarios.

- Midlothian, TX, USA

problem #4

Jun 102007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
I filled the truck up with gas and it is still showing empty?. 4 times the truck has "revved" without touching the pedal(in or out of gear)?.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #3

May 022007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
Our 2007 Ford F150, which we owned for 2 months, caught fire and was completely destroyed.

- Severn, MD, USA

problem #2

Mar 202007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,968 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford F-150. While shifting the gear into reverse the vehicle accelerated backwards at full speed. The contact's vehicle struck another vehicle. When the contact shifted the gear into drive the vehicle continued to accelerate in reverse. The vehicle shut off moments after the gear was shifted into drive. Once the engine stopped the vehicle was able to accelerate forward. The contact's insurance agencywas currently in possession of the vehicle for further investigation. The failure mileage was 2,968.

- Oakhill, WV, USA

problem #1

Feb 022007

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • 900 miles
Within a week of purchasing our 2007 Ford 150 truck, we started having a problem with vehicle suddenly lunging forward whenever the vehicle was idling in drive while stopped (for red light, in turn lane, at pedestrian crossing, etc.). this sometimes occurred when the driver still had a foot on the brake, other times just as foot lifted from the brake, but always without driver touching the accelerator. Incidents happened at least 6 times in one month and not consistently, which caught driver off guard even more. During one incident, a pedestrian was almost hit as she crossed the street at least several feet away from front of vehicle. Incidents occurred randomly at least 6 different times throughout the month of February.

- Georgetown, DE, USA

Not what you are looking for?