Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,837 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford F-150 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Apr 162016


  • 49,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Ford F-150 equipped with General Grabber hts tires, size: 265/70R16 (na). While the vehicle was parked, the front passenger side tire suddenly blew out. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The tire was not replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle failure mileage was 49,000 and the tire failure mileage was 20. The dot number was unavailable.

- Sherwood, AR, USA

problem #30

Nov 102014


  • miles
Hankook dynapro as P235-70-R17S tire with approximately 60% wear (according to Ford dealership where vehicle was purchased and tires replaced). During normal driving noticed abnormal bumping that appeared to be associated with tire or front end. Took vehicle to shop to check balance and wheel alignment. Tech found the above described tire had separated and the steel belting was protruding through the tread and top of sidewall. Tire was about to fail. Driver contacted hankook and forwarded a photograph of the tire to the representative. Hankook agreed to a 40% refund of the amount that Ford paid (not what I paid) for the tire if I would return the tire or a piece from it containing the dot number. Ford took the tire for return to hankook. Three weeks have passed and I have not heard back from Ford or hankook.

- Oakland, TN, USA

problem #29

Sep 132012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 156,000 miles
Hankook dynapro atm 285/55/R20 tires developing severe sidewall crack. Purchased 4 about a year ago. Had to replace 2 this spring and now have to replace 2 more again which means I will have spent an additional $800 for adjustments. Tires are religiously checked and are rotated every 10,000 miles.

- Bettendorf, IA, USA

problem #28

Mar 202011

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Ford F-150 with Michelin ltx M/S2 size P275 /65 R18. The contact stated that all four tires were wearing down in the middle abnormally. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the tires were not covered under recall and they could only provide a 20 percent discount. The contact stated that the tires had a 75,000 mile warranty and the tires were only at 45,000 miles of usage. The dot number and VIN were not available. The tire failure mileage was 45,000. The vehicle failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 5/7/12

- Vanceboro, NC, USA

problem #27

May 072007


  • 12,000 miles
When I took my 2007 Ford F150 in for tire rotation, the Ford technician had said that I had cupped front tires, at that time mire tires had about 9 to 11 thousand miles on them and were only a few months old, Ford would not cover the abnormal rounding of the tire and said I should buy some new ones from them. A few months later my other two tires had started forming balls on the inside side wall of the tire, which I was not aware until I went to get my state inspection sticker, the technician at pueblo tires told me I had several balls on the sides of my tires he also told me my vehicle would not pass inspection because the tread was to worn, he even showed me the tread levels with a tread meter and I verified there was not enough tread on the tires. The mileage on the truck at that time was only 15000 miles so I replaced them so it would bass inspection and for my safety and others as well..
when I purchased my vehicle it came with a manual stating how much air and how many miles a certain brand of tire was supposed to average mine said I should have gotten 30000 miles minimum before replacement, Ford is obviously using false statistics to market these defective tires.

- Edinburg, TX, USA

problem #26

Oct 242009


  • 35,500 miles
I had a blowout on the passenger front tire going 65 mph in the left lane of a highway. My 2007 Ford 150- supercrew dropped down and immediately pulled right. I could not steer away from an 18 wheeler that was in the right lane. I bounced off the 18 wheeler and it knocked my wheel straight. I was able to gain control of my truck. I had $5000 in property damage. The 18 wheeler did go off the road and had $70000 worth of damage. The next morning after picking my truck up from the bodyshop I had another blowout on the front driver side. This time I was going 35 mph and was able to control my truck. The back tires were fine. These 2 blowouts occurred within 1. 5 hours of driving all in the front. Tires are not designed to handle the excess weight of a F150 supercrew. I had bf goodrich long trail on my last supercrew and had excellent results. I spent $690 to replace all general ameritrac tires.

- Front Royal , VA, USA

problem #25

Aug 042009


  • 12,800 miles


Failure of tire valve stem resulting in a rapid flat tire.

- Lehighton, PA, USA

problem #24

Aug 142009


  • 19,126 miles
Bought new in 2007 Ford F-150 pickup truck all original equipment and owner only 19,000 miles on original tires. Blew out during normal dry driving conditions pulling a empty 16 ft trailer. If it hadn't been that it was the rear passenger side tire and late at night on a divided highway would have had a wreck. Truck went all over the road due to the blow out. Valve stem completely gone. These tires were the original hankook 17 inch tires that were sold with this truck and the truck only had 19K miles the whole side of the tire blew the tread is still there side of tire in shreds and no valve stem at all just an empty hole where it should be. If this had of been a steering tire could have possibly lost control. I still have 3 more of these tires on the truck; is there a recall on the stems or tires for these trucks what should I do" I currently have the spare on the truck will this happen to it? do the tires need replacing? they still have plenty of tread but are they defective/safe? will or shouldn't the truck warranty cover this"

- Cullman, AL, USA

problem #23

Aug 072009


  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 35 mph, the drivers side rear tire became flat. The contact replaced the tire and continued to his destination. The dealer inspected the vehicle and determined that the valve stem caused the tire failure. The dealer replaced the valve stem on the tire that failed and checked the other tires. The vehicle is currently being repaired. The manufacturer advised him that the vehicle is under warranty; however, they will only replace defective parts but not parts. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 16,000.

- Urbana , OH, USA

problem #22

Apr 132009


  • 44,970 miles
Valve stems on 2007 F 150 bad valve stems on truck Ford sent out a notice on them after losing 1 tire and spinning 3 other valves every week after Ford would not stand buy the notice on the repairs.

- Broomall, PA, USA

problem #21

Jul 282009


  • 18,521 miles


Tuesday morning when I went out to my truck the tire looked to me to be low on air and low pressure light was on in the truck. I drove to my shop (approx. 7.2 mi.), took off the wheel to check for leaks (found non), checked the air pressure and it was at 28 lbs, I filled the tire with air to 36 lbs. The low pressure indicator light did not go out. I checked the other 3 tires and found them all to be low so I filled them with air to 36 lbs and the light went out. At the end of the day I drove home, then took my wife to dinner (approx. 5 mi.). when we pulled into the restaurant parking lot and turned right into a parking spot, the left front tire blew off the rim as I came to a stop. I am not as concerned about getting a żfreeż tire as I am of the safety factor involved. I have 4 hankook tires on this truck and it concerns me that another one may blow apart (possibly at freeway speed). I do believe that this was a defective tire. I am 65 years old and I've worked on cars all my life and Iżve never seen a tire bead split the way this one did. I also have associates in the automotive business who after seeing the damaged tire completely agree with me. I would hate to see a repeat of the Ford Explorer tire problem that occurred with Firestone several years back; and I hate to think there are more defective tires out there. I spoke with and emailed this information to al abrador at hankook tire and he said żit was the fault of the person that mounted the tiresż, he also said that hankook has had no other complaints regarding these tires. I went to the tire shop where Iżve done business for the past 20 years and they said they had never seen a broken bead like this one. After looking at the NHTSA site I see there are indeed many complaints regarding hankook tires. Again, I am concerned with my own as well as public safety in this matter.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #20

May 232009


  • 25,569 miles
2007 Ford F150 valve stem broke and caused a blowout on the highway. After recovering from being driven off the road, I noticed that my three other tires had cracked valve stems as well. Ford needs to issue an immediate recall and deal with this hazard before someone gets killed or seriously injured.

- Wayne, NE, USA

problem #19

Feb 202009


  • 23,000 miles
In February, 2009, I experienced a low tire warning light on my left rear tire. I took it to wal-mart and the tech immediately knew it was the stem. He replaced the stem and balanced the tire. In March, 2009, my right rear went flat. Same problem. If you move the stem, you can hear the air leak out. Nitrogen in my case. The stem base appears to be too small for the rim. I have Michelin P255/65R17 ltx A/S on my 2007 Ford F150 crew cab.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #18

Dec 312008


  • 17,000 miles
On 12-31-08 had low tire light in truck. Went to tire kingdom and was informed that I had a bad stem on drivers rear tire. Item was replaced. On 1-2-08 low tire light again and returned to tire kingdom. This time it was the two front tires leaking air from the stems. On 1-4-08 I responded back to tire kingdom after reading that the Ford F-150 was one of the types of vehicles that might have faulty stems. I contacted your office and was told to make sure I get the old stems replaced on my last two tires for safety reasons. I have the two stems now. The one that was on my passenger rear has a crack starting on it. The spare seems fine but was changed anyway. The numbers on both of the stems is "TR 414" this is one of the numbers listed by the dill company as being defected.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #17

Jan 012008


  • 15,000 miles
I had filed a complaint #10229285 and nothing has be resolved to date I read others have had similar complaints and all related to Ford.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #16

Apr 062008


  • 27,466 miles
2007 Ford F150 was leased from enterprise leasing on March 31, 2008 at gainesville, Florida. The tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS) showed low tire pressure at time of lease delivery. Agent for enterprise had tires inflated at time of lease delivery. Was informed by enterprise that tires and air pressure were fine. On April 6, 2008 (6 days later), the vehicle hydroplaned going 55 mph in 55 mph zone on straight, level roadway and crashed almost killing complainant and wife. Discovered uneven tread on tires and defective tire valve stem on front passenger side tire.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #15

Dec 142008


  • 19,000 miles
Front left tire deflated rapidly while traveling on an interstate. Before I could get safely off the highway the tire came apart. Upon examination the only reason for the loss of air appears to be a cracked valve stem. I checked the other 3 wheels and found the valve stems all cracked. I could have had multiple tire failures! I purchased a new tire and am having all 5 valve stems replaced. This could very easily have been a deadly accident. Ford customer service will not acknowledge that this is a defect, they say it falls under the 12 month tire warranty, my vehicle is 17 months old.

- Middle Point, OH, USA

problem #14

Dec 142008


  • 19,000 miles
Tire failed on highway apparently due to cracked valve stem.

- Middle Point, OH, USA

problem #13

Jun 152008


  • 13,000 miles
Two flat tires on my 2007 F-150 because of faulty valve stems. I called the toll free number for Ford roadside assistance to change the tires both times. Colony tire of elizabeth city repaired both tires for me.

- Elizabeth City, NC, USA

problem #12

Aug 152008


  • miles
I have had 3 of the 4 tire valves leak 1 has leaked 2 times so a total of 4 leaks over the past 3 months. I have taken them to tire repair shops and also the Ford dealer to fix. The dealer told me they thought it was because of harsh cleaners. I told them I don't use any. The tire repair shops told me they thought it was a problem with the valves. The dealer told me there was nothing they could do but do a repair and charge me that it wasn't a recall or warranty issue. I have been having wearing on my tires due to these problems.

- Thornton, CO, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?