Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,872 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford F-150 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Nov 032016

F-150

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Faulty circuitry in the rear of the instrument cluster causes red emergency brake warning light to stay on. The only fix from Ford is to replace the instrument cluster at a cost of 900 dollars. There is nothing wrong with anything else on the truck except a light that will not go off. This light will cause my truck to fail inspection. Multiple Ford mechanics I have spoken with state that this is a known issue, one stated he has replaced 12 clusters in just this past year. To spend 900 dollars to turn off a light bulb is insane Ford dealer and Ford corporate were asked and they would not assist in this cost to resolve this issue.

- Gainesville, VA, USA

problem #20

Apr 052016

F-150

  • 114,376 miles
On Tuesday, April 5, 2016, while driving 45 miles per hour, on a 2 lane, back country, road my Ford F150, that had 114,376 miles began to clank and rumble up under the hood. The noise made the vehicle vibrate as the noise got louder so I pulled off of the road and popped the hood. There was smoke, clicking and clanking on top of the right side of the engine so I turned the vehicle off. I called my insurance and asked to be towed to a Ford dealership 5 miles away. The truck was still drive-able but smoking and clanking. The next morning I learned #2 spark plug had loose stripping threads in the cylinder head and the coil cracked from the plug blowing out. The plug and boots had to be replaced. Replaced the #2 coil and the dealer had to extract the broken spark plug cylinder #2. the parts, supply, and labor cost was $1292.24. I have had large V8 engine, vehicles all of my life with 200,000 miles or more on the engine but never any spark plug issues with high mileage on both spark plug and other vehicle engine parts. If I had continued to drive my truck it surely would have ignited causing more damage or injury. The spark plug issues with Ford need to be addressed. I purchased this truck in December 2013 with 81,160 and had no problems for 2 years, 4 months. At no time should spark plugs blow up or out unless they are defective parts or plugs not suitable to be transfixed into the cylinder or engine. Driver safety is at risk.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #19

Apr 052016

F-150

  • 113,600 miles
On April 5, 2016, while driving my 2008, F150, Triton, 4.6, about 45 mph, on a two lane, back country road, a sudden rattling and popping noise occurred. I immediately pulled over, popped the hood, whereas smoke and the rattling noise continued. I turned off the engine and had the vehicle towed to the Ford dealership 5 miles away. I have 113,600 miles on my vehicle and purchased it from a carmax dealer in December 2013, with 81,160 miles, having experienced (no problems thus far). I was told by the Ford dealership that my #3 sparkplug had caused the mechanical issue and all plugs needed replacing. Additionally replacement of right side engine issues resulted from not having done the 100000 mile tune up (bull). It had been tuned up previous to being sold. After using choice words towards the dealer and advising him of my ownership of 3, larger V8 engines, no sparkplug explosions had ever occurred in my life. All my former vehicles with the exception of my 2008 F150 had never experience such sparkplug explosion issues and these vehicles reached close and over 200,000 miles. My vehicle is still under warranty but does not cover this issue, nor was the Ford manufacture helpful in assisting with this matter. The total cost for repairs is $1295, and my fight with Ford has just begun.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #18

Sep 072015

F-150

  • 155,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford F-150. While driving at approximately 45 mph, there was an abnormally loud noise and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle failed to restart. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the ignition computer failed. The part to do the repair was ordered; however, when the manufacturer was notified of the failure, the contact was informed that the part was recalled for testing purposes and unavailable for an unknown timeframe. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 155,000.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #17

Aug 212015

F-150

  • 164,000 miles
Sitting in my truck with the key turned or even on idle, the electronics on my dash(radio allumination, trip box, etc.) will be faded on one side or will be completely faded and I cant see the time, station, gas mileage, etc. From time to time when it does this, my cruise control figure wont show but after a while(10-30 minutes) it will pop up on the cluster. It doesnt matter if its cold out or hot out, idle, running or ignition switched off, it will be faded. Its becoming more of a common thing(daily).

- Mitchell, SD, USA

problem #16

Jun 012015

F-150

  • miles
Airbag stays on all the time do not matter what you do it has a code of 1869

- Wheatfield, IN, USA

problem #15

Feb 132015

F-150 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford F-150. The contact stated that upon removing the key and re-entering the key to start the vehicle, the ignition switch cylinder fractured. The contact made several attempts and was able to maneuver the switch back into place, but it was not securely connected. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for further inspection. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 4/7/15 updated 04/14/15

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #14

Dec 142014

F-150

  • 54,000 miles
On Sunday 12/14/14 at 7pm my 2008 Ford F-150 shut off when I was going 65 mph down the New York state thruway. I was stuck on the side of the road for hours waiting for it to be towed. Turns out the fuel pressure module (fpm) that is mounted in the back of the truck on a crossmeber of the frame up above the spare tire was the cause. Ford needs to recall these 2004-2008 Ford F-150 that use this fpm before someone gets killed on the side of the road!

- Montgomery, NY, USA

problem #13

Mar 122014

F-150

  • 111,383 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while parked, the headlights failed, the air bag activated independently and the air bags deployed erroneously. Additionally, smoke billowed from under the dashboard area as the floorboard became engulfed in flames. The contact was able to extinguish the fire. A fire or police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was found that the wiring harness needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 111,383.

- Flint, MI, USA

problem #12

Mar 042014

F-150

  • 22,000 miles
Malfunction indicator lamps, spedometer, temp gauge audio beeper randomly go on and off. Speedometer goes to zero, mileage goes to dashed lines or "check gauges".

- Yuma, AZ, USA

problem #11

Mar 052014

F-150 8-cyl

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Drove truck through carwash pull on to road quit running tried to start and did enough to get off road then quit again and would not start at all. Towed to Ford garage module rusted off frame. This is a known problem with Ford because part is made of pot metal and bolted to steel cross member.

- Tidioute , PA, USA

problem #10

Jul 252013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
During the spring of 2013 the HVAC blower motor speed selector switch was producing the same amount of air on position 4 as it did on 3. I replaced the blower motor resistor, but this did not solve the problem. I took off the dash trim bezel to gain access to the rear of the HVAC controls, and I was shocked to find melted & burnt plastic. A couple of the wires were brown from what I can only assume was a small fire. We have a 10 month, our first child, and my heart was racing at the fear of a vehicle fire and getting our baby girl out safe in time. Should a fuse blow prior to this failure? I did some looking online, replaced the switch and wire harness pigtail. It works fine now, but I discovered the problem, and why so many Ford are experiencing this on the window control switches & blower motor control switches. It's because both use the same 4 wire blade plug. And the way it is assembled is the cause. The terminals need to tighter around the blade connection. Also, the portion that is crimped where the wire attached to the terminal sits off center and assembled back to back. If it was assembled with the crimp on the inside it would create a bigger gap and reduce the risk of vehicle fires. I took a bunch of photos and still have the original switch if you care to examine it.

- Walled Lake, MI, USA

problem #9

Nov 112010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 85,575 miles
Cabin temperature cannot be regulated in heating or cooling modes. A constant temperature cannot be maintained.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #8

Jan 112012

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 18,885 miles
While backing up the four wheel drive went out, and would only operate in two wheel drive. This happened when it was very snowy and icy road conditions. Cause was from electric actuator that engages 4X4 system. Vehicle had less than 19,000 miles on it. Ford would not repair under power train warranty.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #7

Jul 012011

F-150

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the vehicle would smoke when the ignition was started. The dealer diagnosed that there was a computer defect, which caused the vehicle to blow black smoke out of the exhaust pipe. The manufacturer was not contacted and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 26,000 and the current mileage was 28,000.

- Tomsuba, MS, USA

problem #6

Jan 012009

F-150

  • 53,000 miles
Heat/ ac- smell and banging noise behind dash, windows & locks periodically will not work.

- Altmar, NY, USA

problem #5

Dec 012010

F-150

  • 60,000 miles
2008 F-150 radio and interior lights randomly come on while the key is off, out of the ignition, parked in the garage, with the doors closed, the windows can be open or closed. Began randomly about 2 months ago (12-1-2010 @ 60K miles). No re-occurring pattern to the incidences. If the radio on/off switch is off the radio does not come on, but the interior light will come on. Local dealer replaced some sort of "radio module-$600" but did not resolve the issue. Help; concerned about battery life and other potential electronic failures.

- Dover, DE, USA

problem #4

Feb 222010

F-150

  • 43,000 miles
The contact owned a 2008 Ford F150. The contact was driving approximately 35 mph when sparks began shooting form the auxiliary cigarette lighter. The contact stated that his cellular phone was plugged into the lighter at the time of the failure and the sparks were falling into a trash bag inside the vehicle. The contact exited the vehicle and contacted the fire department. The fire department arrived forty-five minutes later and was able to extinguish the fire within one and a half hours. The vehicle was destroyed. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 43,000.

- Amity, AR, USA

problem #3

Nov 242008

F-150

  • 0 miles
The ignition system on the Ford 2008 P/U continues to crank once the key is turned until the engine starts. This could cause a fire by the starter overheating while trying to start the engine. It needs to be recalled and replaced or repaired as necessary. There has been no incident reported, but this is a safety hazard.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #2

Jan 112010

F-150

  • miles
2008 Ford F150 consumer stated that vehicle self-accelerated at full throttle. The consumer stated he had his foot lightly on the brake pedal; when he shifted from park to reverse, the vehicle accelerated at full throttle and thrust backwards at an unsafe rate of speed. The consumer applied the brake immediately and shifted to park; the engine was still racing at full throttle. He shut off the engine, waited a few minutes and then restarted the vehicle again and drove home. On January 13, 2010, the same thing happened again. It happened for a third time while stopped at an intersection attempting to make a right turn, with his foot on the brake and the vehicle spontaneously accelerated. The dealer had the vehicle for 2 1/2 days, but they were unable to duplicate the problem.

- Trinity, FL, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?