Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,169 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford F-150 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Sep 132013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 38,012 miles


I own a Ford F150 lariat 4X4 with a 5.4 engine, 3.55 gears and 38,000 miles. I was traveling at 75 mph using cruise control and all of the sudden the transmission automatically downshifted, which caused the rear tires to lock up and cause the vehicle to skid. The engines RPM's increased to at least 5000 RPM, when I shifted the transmission to neutral and shut the engine off. We I pulled the vehicle to the side of the road, the engine went into a lockdown mode with the engine and wrench icons illuminating. I let the truck sit for approximately 15 minutes and called the dealer for a tow. They instructed me to drive the truck to the dealership if possible and diagnosed the problem was related to a faulty computer (mechatronic) that controls the transmission. They did not have the controller in stock and recommended that I have the unit replaced in my home town. The dealer in my hometown claims that the have never heard of a similar problem and I need to monitor the truck for recurrence. I searched the web and it sounds as if the problem is known on the 2010 model. Your suggestions?

- Fargo, ND, USA

problem #20

Feb 012012

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2010 Ford F-150. Consumer writes in regards to transmission problems and gross neglect of customer service at dealerships. The consumer stated the vehicle has been in the repair shop on four separate occasions, for transmission and four-wheel drive issues, which has yet to be remedied. The dealer acknowledged there was a problem, but they didn't know how to fix it. The consumer stated while driving between 25-30 mph in heavy traffic, the vehicle made a terrible sound and when he put the vehicle in 4-wheel drive it made no difference. The consumer was informed the vehicle needed a road force balance. The road force seemed to help slightly, but only for a brief time. When he returned to the dealer, he was then told the drive line needed to be aligned. After having that done, the vehicle continued to operate in the same manner.

- Castle Rock, WA, USA

problem #19

Feb 072013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 37,605 miles
Since purchase in 2010, the transmission continually searches for the right gear, never seems to find it, and will "bang" into whatever gear it chooses. Galpin and simi valley Ford have been unable to re-create condition and simply say it is due to the electronic transmission. Approximately one year ago, simi valley Ford stated the "spline shaft" was never lubricated and claimed to have fixed the problem by lubricating the area. The problem has returned, past the basic 3/36 warranty, and now have been told the issue is not a "powertrain" issue and therefore not under the 5/60 powertrain warranty. However, they offered to install a Ford recommended clamp and more lubrication for a nominal charge. Other than the powertrain issue, the vehicle has "stalled" several occasions. Usually this occurs while coming to a stop. Vehicle is then restarted and good for awhile. Galpin Ford has been unable to reproduce, therefore, no problem.

- Moorpark, CA, USA

problem #18

Jan 012012

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles


2010 Ford F-150. Consumer writes in regards to a complaint with vehicle dealership. The consumer stated in January 2012, he started to hear an incessant high pitched squeaking noise coming from the rear driver's side of the vehicle. The dealer informed the consumer the squeaking noise was coming from the tailgate latch assembly on the driver's side. The dealer stated they lubricated both sides and was road tested and the noise was gone. The service rep, then gave the consumer a tube of silicone that was used primarily for brake components and informed the consumer, if the noise returned, lubricate the tailgate latch. For awhile, there was no noise coming from the vehicle. Approximately two weeks later, the noise had returned. The consumer went to another dealer, to have the vehicle inspected. The dealer informed the consumer, that the previous dealer provided him with the wrong type of lubricant and the dealer reassured him the problem had been resolved. However, two months later, the noise had returned again. The consumer returned to the dealer again, where they chose to lubricate the tailgate latch assembly for the third time. The consumer stated he had other issues with the vehicle that were corrected, such as the right rear shock, the transmission slip yoke, a loose fuel door and a rattling noise in the driver's side door panel.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #17

Jan 032013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
While decelerating 2010 Ford F150 stalled (4.6L V-8). Vehicle restarted in neutral, then stalled each time vehicle was put in gear. Increased rpms in neutral and put vehicle in drive and drove to safe area, vehicle stalled. Cleaned mass air flow and made it home. Took vehicle to local dealership where vehicle was purchased and was told that because the onboard computer is not displaying a code that the truck cannot be fixed. Currently I refuse to drive a vehicle that is stalling unexpectedly and subsequently losing power steering and brake assist. This vehicle is a danger and liability to any driving inside it, or near it.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #16

Jul 012010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
At apx 10,00 miles on my 2010 F150 I started getting a clunk/bump in the driveline when stopping and starting. Sometimes it was worse when turning. I am a 20 year veteran mechanic with prior Ford dealer experience. I have not been able to get this issue resolved by the local servicing Ford dealer vanbortel Ford. It has been in many many times for the same complaint. In the life of this vehicle it has had an engine replaced at 20,00 the torque converter at 25,000 the driveshaft at apx 35,000 the rear springs at 37,000 and the issue still persists. It is in now on 12/26/2012 for a trans leak, poor engine/trans performance and reduced economy from reflashing the trans several times as well as the same clunk/bump when starting and stopping. My concern is that the unknown defect causing clunk/bump could cause a safety issue by locking up or failing at speed.

- Fairport , NY, USA

problem #15

Dec 122012


  • 30,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 5 mph, the contact depressed the brake pedal but the brakes would not respond. The transmission disengaged as the vehicle began rolling backward. The contact shifted to park and was able to stop the vehicle and shut the engine off. After restarting, the contact was able to operate the vehicle without failure. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 1/15/13 the consumer stated the problem did not recur and could not be duplicated and wished to withdraw his complaint. Updated 01/17/13

- Lake Stevens, WA, USA

problem #14

Nov 182010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Sometimes around 45 to 50 mph when accelerating, the truck does a violent hard shift. It is random when it will happen and has been happening for over a year. I have taken the truck to two different dealerships several times and they keep telling me Ford is aware of it but does not have a solution. I have contacted Ford directly and they just tell me to take it back to the dealership.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #13

Feb 022012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 14,350 miles
I have had the vehicle in the shop 4 times since new with various transmission problems, including harsh shifting, shudder, and now the drivetrain locking up or violently downshifting, etc. The transmission has been removed twice for evaluation and inspection. While driving to work on 2/2/12 the vehicle violently decelerated to a stop, rear wheels were locked up after slight depression on brake pedal preparing to make a turn. The speed was approximately 35 mph. The truck was stopped in road and would not move. Turned vehicle off and restarted and was able to drive from incident. Ford responds that they cannot duplicate the problem; therefore no corrective action is recommended. Web message boards report a similar problems that have been identified as violent downshift from 6th gear to 1st gear. Ford will not provide an assessment on vehicle safety, declining to comment either because the person speaking for them is not qualified, or that they cannot assess unless they can reproduce the problem. At this time, I will not put my family in this vehicle.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #12

Feb 042012


  • 52,000 miles
After owning my truck for nearly 2 years I began to notice a musty smell. Last weekend my kids were riding in the back seat and noticed water pooled on the center seatbelt frame. I immediately thought the sliding glass window was partially opened, but it wasn't. besides it was no where near where the water was pooling. Then we noticed in both corners of the headliner dark water stains. Just by looking at the cab of the truck it looks to me like it is the molding that extends about 18 inches up the cab of the truck. I'm thinking it wasn't properly sealed on the roof. I am sure it has been leaking since day one, but with the drought here in houston for the last year I am just now noticing since it rains at least twice a week. Ford is saying it is out of warranty and I would have to pay to have it fixed. Excuse me but why is this considered warranty work when it is clearly craftsmanship of the truck. First time Ford owner but never again. I don't have enough time to explain all the transmission and brake issues.

- New Caney, TX, USA

problem #11

Jul 292011


  • 10,000 miles


Purchased the truck used with 8,000 miles. While driving, the brakes seemed to start getting. Real touchy and almost put you in the windshield. Took the truck in for service and. Was told that was normal on the newer models, after suggesting it felt like the trailer assist didn't feel like it was releasing. The service advisor even showed me a printed note on my bill that stated there was no service concern. Also having transmission flutter when slowing for a stop or to make a turn. There has also been times when the transmission clunks then drops into a gear. Also experiencing vibration when slowing down. The body also bounces bad enough where it will get to the point of being uncontrollable. I only have 26,000 mi on the truck and drive highway. Turned into my driveway off the street and the body sounded like it was going to fall off the frame.

- Bonner Springs, KS, USA

problem #10

Dec 292009

F-150 8-cyl

  • 1,800 miles
Problems incurred second day of driving...into Ford dealer @ 1800 30,000.severe transmission hits @ start & stop violent slamming between gears and when dowshifting complete slipage/disengagement when backing up slight grade. Left front brake drags with wheel sliding on ice-snow, brake linings smoke and smell and rotor 386 degrees with others @ 124-160. In to 3-different Ford dealerships a total of 6 times and with factory Ford technician once and told twice by Ford dealer shop managers that there is nothing they can...will do. "all" say they've re-programmed the transmission and cleared the learning curve. No codes stored or seen....Ford has tried to tell me basically...I'm nuts and everything is fine...have four written statements of other drivers of my truck as to what they've incurred...makes no differenc. Have filed with BBB and going to arbitration, which from what all the other Ford F150 owners are saying...will be an exercise in futility...and time. Have given Ford diagrams showing transmission problems....have given Ford written and verbal descriptiions of under what conditions it happens and to drive under same and expierence for themselves...they "all" refuse to enter my complete descriptions onto work order or drive it under conditions described. Have no idea why 3-400,000 Ford F150 owners do not file a class action...only way Ford will respond.........will not...cannot drive on ice/snow for fear of losing control when both brake and transmission problems may occur.

- Brighton, CO, USA

problem #9

Aug 012011


  • 30,000 miles
The contact was 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated while driving on a incline in second and third gear the vehicle rolled backwards. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on several occasions who stated that it was normal operating conditions. The vehicle was taken to the a local mechanic who did not agree with the dealer statements and said there was something wrong with the transmission. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 30,000.

- St Cloud, FL, USA

problem #8

Jun 152010


  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph the vehicle began to jerk forward and vibrate. The failure recurred intermittently while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to a dealer on two occasions where they were unable to diagnose the failure, but the computer system was updated. The failure continued. The vehicle was not taken back to be repaired again. The approximately failure mileage was 4,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Oak Ridge, MO, USA

problem #7

Apr 182011


  • 300 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while on a slight incline and attempting to accelerate forward in third gear, the vehicle would roll backward. The dealer was informed of this problem yet advised the contact the vehicle was operating as designed. There were no repairs. The current and failure mileage was 300.

- Albany, OR, USA

problem #6

Jan 042010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
2010 Ford F150 platinum. Been in Ford shop twice for transmission disengagement prior to accelerating and after stopping....also between shift-up points under has reprogrammed trans both times, disengagement upon acceleration now okay, remains on shift-up points as if the trans freewheels for 2-3 seconds...RPM's rev & trans engages with a abrupt "bang" taking it back in for third time....causes rear wheels to loose traction on ice and feels like losing 20K miles problems continue.

- Colorado, CO, USA

problem #5

Mar 152011


  • 5,000 miles
I purchased this truck brand new in November 2010 with 5 miles on it. In March my transmission started shifting repeatedly when no need for it to shift was even present. It would drop from 6th to 4th on the highway with no touch of the gas pedal. Also when taking off from a stand still if you slowly accelerate then get on the gas fully their is a huge delay in engine response as I was trying to pull out into traffic and floored the truck and almost was hit because the truck was unresponsive to my need for full throttle. I repeat the delay only occurs from a very slow accelerate then to a sudden full throttle from a stop. The truck is responsive from dead stop to full throttle. Another is extremely hard shift from 1st to 2nd and when driving at slow speeds bad drop into 1st from 2nd. Also have slight shaking on take off. Took vehicle in they replaced some part on my vehicle and I have it back with the same problems, they even wrote on my receipt that they still felt problems after the fix! now they are claiming there is nothing wrong with the truck when I take it back in. Truck has only 5,000 miles on it truly disappointed in the quality and safety of this vehicle.

- Dumfries, VA, USA

problem #4

Feb 252010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 2,214 miles
On 02/25/10 my P/U had 2214 miles, I complained of clunky shifting gear hunting and 2 second hesitation when push accelerator down for passing. Ford, diagnosis every thing normal. I am living with this nightmare. I have been professional driver since 1976. 02/26/11 back into Ford with clunky tran. And 2 second hesitation when passing at 50 mph. Found no problem. 02/02/11 back into Ford same symptoms told them I want to ride with tech. Did not allow ride with tech service writer and service mgr. Said they experienced my problem. Told me come back when trans. Tech available. Then wrote my invoice to read unable to duplicate? Ford I believe has issued talking points to all locations to cover up the fact that there is problem! this is serious because many times in an emergency situation you accelerate instead of brake. So when you go to accelerate and have a 2 second delay in pedal push down to when the computer reads what to do and gives you passing gear you could be run over! please help my vehicle listed for 46,000 plus paid 40,000 for it. Consumers in America should not get fleeced like this without consequences. Thank you, how ironic I've always been a Chevy guy until this nightmare!

- Glenn Heights, TX, USA

problem #3

Oct 012010


  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150 lariat. The contact stated that the clusters failed. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer but not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted but provided no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 3,000.

- Pallmetto, GA, USA

problem #2

Sep 022010


  • 13,200 miles
After passing a vehicle my truck did not slow down but sped up. My foot was off the pedal and I picked up speed from 45 to 70. RPM's were very high and the brakes would not stop it. I pushed the accelerators pedal several times verifying it was not stuck. I then shifted into neutral and came to a stop. RPM's went from 5K plus to 4K in neutral sitting still. The RPM's continued at 4K until I shut off the engine.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?