Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 15
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,665 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford F-150 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Jan 252013

F-150

  • 51,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Last week I started my morning commute @ 5am. 5 minutes after departure - I heard the equivalent of a 22 caliber gun being fired in the cab of my 2010 Ford F150 platinum. Alarmed by the sound I swerved into the adjacent lane, thankfully there were not many other drivers on the road. I exited the vehicle and began a visual inspection, immediately, I saw my passenger rear window shattered and smoldering in the lower left corner. After a closer look, this appeared to be where the defrosting mechanism was located in the glass. There was a metal substance being leaked in between the cab and the bed of the truck. I hope this was not lead or Mercury, in my curiosity I touched and then thought about the old thermometers in grade school.

- Allen Park, MI, USA

problem #24

Nov 222012

F-150

  • 45,000 miles
Started truck one morning right before thanksgiving and no lights displayed in the control dash panel. Great right before a planned trip. None of the gauges worked. Began driving and the radio stopped working. Hit a bump in the road and something beeped and they came back on for a few minutes and then went back off, and this type of electrical behavior has been going on since right before thanksgiving. On occasion I can just shut the drivers side door and the display panel gauges and lights begin working for a few minutes and then without warning the dash is blank again. Sometimes I'm lucky and they stay on for 50miles before going out again. I put fuel in the truck today 01-13-2013 in sulfur okla and no fuel gauge. It didn't register and the display lights began going off and on. I stopped in pauls valley okla for a coke, while idling, the outside temp gauge climbed from 29 actual degrees to 86degrees in less than 5 minutes but when I began driving again the outside temp went back down to 29degrees. On 2 occasions while on I-35 the gauges would beep, reset and go back off. I drove from atoka okla to the Texas panhandle with no way of telling my speed, fuel gauge, no temp gauge no blinkers to signal lane changes, I even tried the emerg. Flashers and they wouldn't work either. I'm really afraid there is going to be a fire in the dash or something and I'll loose everything, and no one seems to care. It seems to be all about the sale. My warranty is almost up and no one cares!, this is not normal! before I left on my trip 01-08-2013 to okla. I called the dealer gene messer where I bought the truck, and they said they would have a service man call. Well it's the 14th and no call. There is defiantly something wrong when you spend over 40,000 dollars on a vehicle and afraid your going to get a speeding ticket, but worse burn up in it or get killed. Please help.

- Pampa, TX, USA

problem #23

Jan 042013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 34,367 miles
I went out too warm up my truck the other morning before work. I started the vehicle, turned on heat and the front and rear defroster. Came back outside to leave about 10 minutes later, as I started to pull out of my driveway I heard a loud pop. I got out of my truck to inspect my tires, which I thought was the problem at first. They were fine. I was not sure what the noise was, so I got back into the vehicle. As I proceeded to back out of my driveway again I looked on my rearview mirror and noticed my back glass was shattered. I had my rear defroster on, which for some reason shattered my passenger side rear window. I took my truck into the dealership and they told me there is no issue and Ford is not responsible for the glass. After doing some research there seems to be an issue with the rear defroster in this vehicle. I believe Ford needs to fix this issue before some child is in the back seat of one of these vehicles and gets injured.

- Westwood , NJ, USA

problem #22

Nov 122012

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 39,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had started my truck, turned on the rear defroster, and within 10 minutes the back passenger side glass completely shattered. It appears that there was a small electrical fire or shortage in the corner of the glass where the defrosting mechanism attaches to the window glass. The window seal does not appear to be melted, but at the time of glass breaking, there was a loud bang (something like a fire cracker exploding). Updated 12/04/12...updated 03/20/13

- Lees Summit, MO, USA

problem #21

Oct 012012

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 40,800 miles
Rear window defroster/window assembly connection defective, shorts out causing fire and glass breakage. I dropped off my daughter at preschool and five minutes later I noticed smoke coming out of the passenger side rear defroster window behind her car seat. I pulled over to find this becoming a fire. It began as smoke, then spark, and then flame. Fortunately, I had a bottle of water in my truck, which I began to pour on it to stop. It got worse with the sparks, but eventually went out. While trying to distinguish the fire, the "explosion" occurred shattering the rear window. I took this to my local Ford dealer and began to research issue. I quickly found several Ford forums where other people experienced the exact same issue on 2010 F150 Ford trucks. Here's a link to one that helps explain the issue clearly. I posted my experience in post 38...www.F150forum.com/F38/rear-window-defroster-exploding-rear-window-129167/.. I see there have been no reports to you regarding this issue previously. Obviously a defective defroster/window unit causing a vehicle to catch fire is a dangerous issue. But there was no need to push issue further due to their Ford dealer understanding the issue and covering the repair under warranty. I have Ford's premiumcare extended warranty which should cover this but my dealer is seeing only as glass breakage and refusing to cover it under warranty. There would be no glass breakage if the defective assembly didn't cause a fire, and if I didn't have something to put out the fire there would have been far more damage..with cold weather coming, and more recent incidents posted, there will be more instances of this in the near future on 2010 Ford F150 trucks. With the redesign of replacement part Ford is aware that the original design is flawed. Updated 11/05/12 updated 11/07/2012

- Phillipsburg, NJ, USA

problem #20

Sep 102012

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 11,305 miles
Went to warm up my truck this morning as it was 36 degrees and light frost on the vehicle. Turned on the ignition along with the seat warmer for drivers side and defrost. Went inside and as I watched the truck there was a small spark/flame on the left bottom corner of the passenger side window. Heard a loud pop and ran out to the truck to find that the portion of glass had shattered, still intact. Will take it to the dealer this afternoon. Updated 11/07/12

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #19

Mar 212012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since March of 2012, my 2010 F150 XLT, 4.6 L V8 has randomly stalled at least 8 times. I feel that it is a tremendous hazard to me and my family. Stalling occurs when I'm exiting from the highway after traveling 10-20 miles at 45-60 mph, taking a turn (right or left), and slowing down for a stop. I usually have the A/C and radio on. My cell is also synched. The only warning I get is the power steering and brakes go out. Then a warning signal comes on. The first time it happened, I was turning onto a 2-way road. Power steering failure surprised me and I turned in to oncoming traffic. Luckily, I was able to avoid an accident and pull over in the oncoming traffic's shoulder. It restarted right away. Since then it's happened several other times in similar instances--when slowing down for a stop. Restarting is getting harder. It also happened after filling up at a gas station. It took me several tries to get it to start. Of course, the Ford dealership where I have taken it cannot duplicate the problem and their computer cannot find a code. When they returned the truck to me, they said call them if it happens again, don't restart it because that erases any codes, and they'll send a tow truck. The next day it happened again, and I followed their directions. Not turning the key didn't help anything with obtaining codes, because they are still not getting any readings. I spoke with the shop manager. He thought it might be a bad coil causing bad radio frequencies, thus shutting down the throttle body (TB). He said he would test the coils and replace any damaged one. If that wasn't the problem, he would replace the TB. After 13 days, they still cannot figure out the problem, nor have they made any kind of repairs, except for performing a courtesy cleaning of my throttle body and "resetting" the truck's computer. I'm frustrated, and I fear I might have a lemon on my hands.

- Gretna, LA, USA

problem #18

Nov 152011

F-150

  • 5,700 miles
During day time driving in rain or overcast the dashboard lights will not come on making it impossible to determine speed you are going. Switching from automatic to manual control of headlights has no effect on dash lights. They stay off! I believe this affects all current Ford vehicles.

- Sheridan, WY, USA

problem #17

Nov 222011

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles
The "downhill decent control fault" light comes on at random times while driving down the road. When the fault light comes on and remains on., it also causes the brake lights on the vehicle to come on and remain on until you can the fault light decides to go off. So while driving down the road, and even worse, when in traffic, the fault light may come on and cause the brake lights on the rear of the vehicle to shine, signaling to other drivers that this vehicle is slowing or coming to a stop, when it is not. This can, in certain instances, be very dangerous. Turning the vehicle ignition off will at time alleviate the problem, but that is not always an option while driving down the road, or in traffic. The light also comes on with no warning, and with no use of the system that is indicated is faulting.

- Graham, TX, USA

problem #16

Oct 062010

F-150

  • 1,600 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the gauges on the instrument panel did not illuminate during the day, which made it difficult to see the readings. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that it was normal and that they were unable to alter the design of the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who referred him back to the dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 1,600.

- Toledo , OH, USA

problem #15

Aug 172011

F-150

  • 12,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford F150. While parked, the contact noticed a burning smell from the vehicle. The contact inspected the vehicle and noticed a six inch melted spot on the rubber near the floorboard. As the contact drove the vehicle, he noticed that the spot had become larger. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the technicians were unable to diagnose the cause of the fire. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 12,100. The VIN was not available.

- Sparta, TN, USA

problem #14

Feb 282010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 5 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated while driving at various speeds, the sensor which controls the instrument panel lighting failed to function. As a result, the instrument panel would not illuminate when driving in shaded areas. An authorized dealer was notified and the contact was informed that the vehicle was operating as intended. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 5. updated 08/31/11 updated 09/19/11

- New Kensington, PA, USA

problem #13

Mar 132011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
Engine loss of power (shuts off) for no reason, vehicle engine dies sporadically (with a total of 9 incidents to date) when at a stop light or making a complete stop, this places myself, my wife and my three young children in a dangerous situation when on the highway or on a road due to this no-power situation, this may cause loss of control of the vehicle due to the engine shutting off for no reason. Vehicle has been to dealer several times and they say they are unable to diagnose the concern and return the vehicle to us with inconclusive results. We feel this is a manufacturer defect that needs to be addressed by the NHTSA and dot as it may places our family in a dangerous situation and may also be affecting other vehicles aside from ours. Please contact the manufacturer and assist us in addressing this concern. Thank you.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

problem #12

Jan 202010

F-150

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the exterior and interior lights only illuminated when it was dark outside. He was unable to see the gauges on the instrument panel. Vehicle was inspected by a dealer who advised him they were unable to change anything due to the design of the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 5,000.

- South Lyon, MI, USA

problem #11

May 292011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 4,800 miles
While driving by 2010 F150 at approx 75 mph in cruise mode. The ABS brake and red brake light came on and the car sharply decelerated. ( brake engaged). Lasted approx. 1-2 seconds then the braking stopped. This happened 4 times within a 2 hour period. Then while stopping to pay a toll ( came to complete stop ABS brakes(, the truck stalled out while in drive.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #10

Mar 182011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
I had been driving for only a couple of miles when I pulled into a parking lot. Went to make a turn in the lot and the truck shut down. Turned the truck off and back on. Everything seems to work well now, but this is an extremely dangerous issue, especially is I had been on the interstate.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #9

Oct 012010

F-150

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F150. While the vehicle was parked on an incline the digital fuel gauge displayed the incorrect amount of fuel in the vehicle. He also stated that when the vehicle was moved to level ground the fuel gauge did not correct itself. He stated that the failure had been ongoing for a couple of months. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who reprogrammed the electrical system. The repair temporarily corrected the failure. The vehicle was not taken back to the dealer for the failure. He called the manufacturer and was advised not to rely on the digital display. The failure mileage was 6,000 and the current mileage was 14,000. Updated 3/2/2011

- South Amboy, NJ, USA

problem #8

Aug 252010

F-150

  • 5,800 miles
2010 Ford F-150. Consumer states that the vehicle shut off completely while driving. She could hardly steer the vehicle and the brakes were difficult to depress. She also states that she almost hit another vehicle. The dealer was unable to duplicate the problem after having the vehicle for 7 days.

- New Durham, NH, USA

problem #7

Apr 022010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
2010 Ford F-150, driving on gravel and rock road in 4H, wiring harness on left side below drivers seat lay below the frame rail, causing road debris to grab harness and rip/tear the wiring bundle.

- Fort Irwin, CA, USA

problem #6

Apr 012010

F-150

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the instrumental panel lights would not illuminate on the instrumental panel and he was unable to read any of the gauges. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer but not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 4,000.

- Hiawassee, GA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?