Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.1

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,648 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford F-150 Owner Comments

problem #7

Aug 202011

F-150

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2010 Ford F150. The contact stated that the mass air flow sensor caused the engine to stall while driving 35 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated they would have to replace the mass air flow sensor. The manufacturer was contacted who filed a complaint and offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was unknown.

- El Largo, TX, USA

problem #6

Jun 192011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 35,633 miles
Vehicle being driven at normal highway speed on cruise control. Cruise control kicked off. Then power steering and brakes went out and a fire started in the engine compartment in front of driver seat. Vehicle coasted to the side of the road. Smoke began to fill the cab. At side of road vehicle was evacuated vehicle burned to the ground. Photos available from the time they got to the side of the road.

- Berthoud, CO, USA

problem #5

Mar 132011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
Engine loss of power (shuts off) for no reason, vehicle engine dies sporadically (with a total of 9 incidents to date) when at a stop light or making a complete stop, this places myself, my wife and my three young children in a dangerous situation when on the highway or on a road due to this no-power situation, this may cause loss of control of the vehicle due to the engine shutting off for no reason. Vehicle has been to dealer several times and they say they are unable to diagnose the concern and return the vehicle to us with inconclusive results. We feel this is a manufacturer defect that needs to be addressed by the NHTSA and dot as it may places our family in a dangerous situation and may also be affecting other vehicles aside from ours. Please contact the manufacturer and assist us in addressing this concern. Thank you.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

problem #4

Jan 142011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 9,230 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Ford F-150 truck(milage,529) has stalled or lost power and stalled 10 times on 5 different occasions. The problem started on 01-14-11. The first two visits to the dealer they could not duplicate the condition or find a code in the computer. No mechanical work was performed. On 01-26-11 the wrench appeared, I drove directly to the dealer. The tech found two conflicting codes. He E-mailed Ford tech center with the problem. On 01-28-11 they replaced the throttle body. (code P0505) on 02-01-11 truck stalled again, this time they replace the resonator(pin point leak to the resonator hose code P0102 at 9511 miles. On 02-08-11 truck stalled at a stop sign. ( no wrench) on 02-15-11 truck stalled twice (wrench showed up ) at mileage 9,525- 14 miles since the resonator work. On 02-16-11 I had a meeting with the service manager. He was very courteous and professional. I gave the service manager a copy of a report on problems for 2010 Ford F-150 trucks. () I understand this information is from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (www.NHTSA.gov) this way they can not say they never heard of the problem. On 02-16-11 truck was returned to dealer. This is a very dangerous condition. The truck stalls between 10 and 40 mph you lose the ability to steer the truck.on one occasion I was turning into my property making a left turn. I was going slow so I was able to stop before I hit a snow bank. Once you lose power steering there is no way to steer the truck and the breaks fade very fast.

- Pottsville, PA, USA

problem #3

Jan 102011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
My truck is in the shop for the third time in a month and a half. It has an issue with stalling. 5 times so far plus the gas gauge is not reading the proper amount (5-7 gals low). Stalled twice in a week and the dealer changed the sending unit and reprogrammed computer. Was fine for two weeks and it stalled two more times with the gas gauge reading low again. Said they found gas in the evap canister and that was causing all of the problems. Changed can and went on my way. That was 1-28-11 and on 1-31-11 vehicle stalled again with the gas gauge still not working properly. It is back at the shop (as of 2-1-11) and they have been unable to duplicate or find a problem yet. Dealer claims that they have not heard of the problem, but seems like there are too many complaints here for Ford not to have noticed.

- Kyle, TX, USA

problem #2

Oct 082010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 14,400 miles
Driving approx 45mph down a busy 4 lane road my brand new F-150 quit running. Vehicle stopped with no warning, and stopped dead in its tracks. Thankfully the car behind me was able to swerve around me or I would have been rear-ended and someone could have been seriously injured. This is the 3rd time this has happened to me within 6 months. I took the truck to the dealership where they hooked it up and searched for codes, which they found none. Since they could not find any errors there is nothing they can do to fix the problem. So now I get to drive around in hopes that this doesn't happen while on the expressway, and no one gets injured.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #1

Mar 242010

F-150

  • 5,271 miles
My wife was driving a new 2010 Ford F-150 with five-thousand miles on it. She was making a right turn into a driveway leading to my daughter's day care center. While in the midst of the turn, the vehicle suddenly stalled. As a result of the engine stall, the vehicle lost all power, including power steering. A vehicle descending the hill from the daycare center had to swerve around my wife to avoid a collision. We brought the vehicle into the dealer, however after having the vehicle for 17 days they had a "porter" report one "hiccup" while driving the vehicle, however they reported no error codes were tripped. They were unable to diagnose the problem so were therefore unable to make any repairs. Needless to say, my wife no longer feels confidant in driving this vehicle as she is afraid it will suddenly stall for no apparent reason thereby endangering she and our children as well as other motorists and/or pedestrians.

- Brighton, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?