Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.2

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,163 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Jul 212014

F-150

  • 36,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 F-150 with 5.4 L V-8 engine, during operation of the air conditioning system the passenger side floor board to include carpet and matting were soaked. Subsequent servicing by dealership found a faulty elbow and hose from air conditioning unit. Dealership replaced elbow and hose and re-plumbed the hose at a cost of approximately $300. Dealership noted that the elbow and hose were faulty on the invoice.

- Prattville, AL, USA

problem #22

Jun 222014

F-150 8-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
The truck is 6/22/14 lunging and the wrench light and then the check engine light came on today 6/22/14. The same thing happened last year and it was the throttle control sensor.

- Racine, WV, USA

problem #21

Sep 062013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 17,450 miles
Sudden loss of power while driving down highway, narowly missed being in accident. Would not restart. Towed to dealership. As of this date unable to determine cause.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #20

Dec 062012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford F-150 truck caught fire while parked in the driveway. Fire started under the hood/dash board. Truck is destroyed. This is the second time the same Ford truck catches fire while being parked after about 20-30 min - first time it happens in Aug. 2010 causing $3,556.18 including $1,000 deductible paid.

- Citrus Heights, CA, USA

problem #19

Apr 112012

F-150

  • 28,600 miles
I was driving down the highway around February 6th 2011 and my 2010 F150 stalled on me. I was able to crank it back up and keeping moving. This was not the first time this happened. It was the worst one seeing has how I was doing maybe 60. I took it to the Ford dealership and they said they could find a problem while driving the truck, so downloaded some new software to my computer and said that should fix the issue. On April 11th the same thing happened again, I was driving in a parking lot and my truck stalled. I wasn't able to crank the truck back up for almost 30 minutes. When I was able to start it back up there are a burning smell coming from the truck. I this time had the truck towed to Ford and spoke to them today and they stated they again found nothing wrong and couldn't recreate the problem. The have contacted Ford hq for answers. My worry is that I am going to get in a crash because of this problem. I have done some looking around on the internet and found a lot of people having this issue, and nothing seems to be getting done.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #18

Feb 062012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 26,512 miles
I was driving down the highway around February 6th 2011 and my 2010 F150 stalled on me. I was able to crank it back up and keeping moving. This was not the first time this happened. It was the worst one seeing has how I was doing maybe 60. I took it to the Ford dealership and they said they could find a problem while driving the truck, so downloaded some new software to my computer and said that should fix the issue. On April 11th the same thing happened again, I was driving in a parking lot and my truck stalled. I wasn't able to crank the truck back up for almost 30 minutes. When I was able to start it back up there are a burning smell coming from the truck. I this time had the truck towed to Ford and spoke to them today and they stated they again found nothing wrong and couldn't recreate the problem. The have contacted Ford hq for answers. My worry is that I am going to get in a crash because of this problem. I have done some looking around on the internet and found a lot of people having this issue, and nothing seems to be getting done.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #17

Apr 052012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 29,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When declerating to a stop or stopped the engine will die. When I attempt a restart the engine will try to turn over for 10-15 seconds then stop. After 3 or 4 attemps and giving a little gas the truck will start. This has now happened 5 times to me in the past 2 weeks. I took the truck to Ford and they didnt return any codes so nothing repaired. They fit my truck with a recorder and I am suppose to press a button next time it dies. This seems to be a serious issue as I have seen dozens of posts with the same issue.

- Denton, TX, USA

problem #16

Feb 012011

F-150

  • 5,500 miles
Engine stalls at random speeds after braking or coming to a stop. Most recently while braking for a turn, right hand fork at about 35 mph, engine stalled losing power steering and power brakes. Very dangerous situation and common from what I have found on the internet. All 3 local Ford dealers act like they have never heard of the problem. I am sure that is what they have to say, because they do not know how to correct it, but this is a very serious situation. It is a 2010 "new" truck and I wont let my wife drive it with the kids because it is dangerous.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #15

Sep 172011

F-150

  • 24,900 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-F150 XL. The contact stated that when coming to a stop, the vehicle would stall and all the warning lights would illuminate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised the contact that the main computer and the wiring blocks needed repair. The vehicle was repaired. The failure recurred approximately 5,000 miles after repairs and the vehicle was towed to the dealer. The contact was awaiting diagnosis. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 24,900.

- Grand Bay, AL, USA

problem #14

Aug 082011

F-150

  • miles
At a stop sign, when getting ready to take off, realized the truck had turned off with out a reason, second time it did the same thing. The third time was this Saturday 12/03/11, when I came to the red light, of course truck was running, when the light turned green I got ready to go, the truck was turned off once again, stuck in the middle of traffic I had to turn it back on and go, problem is this has to be a major safety issue, as a single mother with my son's father deceased, last thing I need is to be in a fatal accidents to his, would like to know if manufacture or a dealer can or will fix this, truck still under warranty, just very concerned with this issue, called dealer left voicemail, and no call back.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #13

Nov 012010

F-150

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving 80 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle but it started to jerk violently. The vehicle was towed the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure but advised that the mass air flow sensor needed to be cleaned. The remedy failed to repair the problem. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 5,000 and the current mileage was 22,000.

- Lamar, CO, USA

problem #12

Aug 092011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
2010 F150 with 4.6 liter V8 with 30K miles on it 1.the events leading up to the failure: None 2.the failure, how often it occurs, its consequences; and, truck stalls with no warning. One second it is running the next it is dead. Twice in the last week. Very dangerous. 3.what was done to correct the failure; I.e, parts repaired or replaced (and if old part is available) - taking to dealer tonight - but have read about this same issue described as I have, exact same issue. Dealers are not finding anything wrong with trucks.

- Brooklyn Park, MN, USA

problem #11

Jan 062011

F-150

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F150. While driving approximately 50 mph, the contact heard a loud clicking noise from the engine. The failure would recur whenever accelerating up to 50 mph. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was advised that the clicking noise was a normal occurrence. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000.

- Gladwin , MI, USA

problem #10

Jan 192011

F-150

  • 7,856 miles
On or about July 15th 2010 I purchased my Ford F150 brand new with 3 miles on it. No problems occurred until December 31st 2010. Heading North on a 3 lane highway the truck just "shut off"..died in the middle of heavy traffic. I immediately attempted to restart and would not restart until 3rd attempt. I looked at the gas gage, it read 3/4 full. This did not reoccur until January 3rd, 2011. The same as before stalled with full tank of gas.third time occurred January 19th, 2011 with my wife driving and 2 minor children in the back seat. This again happened stalled on highway in heavy traffic, with full tank of gas. State trooper with highway patrol had to stop traffic and push the truck to side of the road and noted the full tank of gas. Towed to Ford who refused to fix this vehicle claiming that this defect needed to reoccur with a flight recorder attached to it, but Ford dealership refused to drive it stating"it was a liability to their buisness and could cause injury to the service department staff"...they then refused to keep it any longer and delivered it to our home with the serious safety defect still untouched!

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #9

Jan 052011

F-150

  • 17,000 miles
Truck has a warning light on that looks like a wrench. Truck has been stalling while driving, causing the truck to lose all power and stop dead in the middle of road. Ford tech's say they cant find anything wrong and Ford refuses to help. I am just waiting to get in an accident so I can sue Ford for not acting on this safety issue after having the truck in for repair four times with no help.

- Lucas, OH, USA

problem #8

Dec 122010

F-150

  • 6,000 miles
We have experienced six different instances since December where the engine would completely shut down while in motion. Range of speed at time of incident has been between 5 - 40 mph. On January 23, 2011, while driving at 40 mph down a windy hill, the vehicle flashed the wrench light then completely shut down causing a loss of power steering. As a result, I had a near miss of a head on collision with another vehicle in the oncoming lane as the truck I was driving veered into the oncoming traffic because I was unable to immediately regain control. Typically the truck can be put into park then turned back on but not in this case. The latest stall of the engine occurred on February 9, 2011 while making a turn in a grocery store parking lot. The vehicle was towed to a dealer on January 23, 2011 and the dealer indicated that the could not duplicate the problem and the computer reading did not show faulty equipment. In addition, I am experience a problem with the fuel gauge. Even after completely filling up the vehicle, the gauge does not read as full. There are functional problems with this vehicle. As a mother with two children who is the primary driver of the vehicle, I am terrified of the potential for a fatal accident to occur. There are numerous web page/blogs where drivers across the country have described these same issues. Ford needs to do something.

- Smyrna, TN, USA

problem #7

Dec 062010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 17,715 miles
While driving the wrench warning light comes on, followed by the gas pedal not working and then the engine stall out. This all happens while the truck is in motion. This has happened at 30 mph, 60mph and while accelerating through an intersection. This is an extremely dangerous situation. I have taken it to Ford four times now and they "cant duplicate it" so it has not been repaired yet.

- Lucas, OH, USA

problem #6

Jan 152011

F-150

  • 2,100 miles
While driving toward a busy intersection the vehicle lost all power! including brakes and steering! I rolled out into the major highway causing vehicles to have to swerve to miss me! this is not safe!! the emergency lights would not work, nor would anything else on the vehicle. After about a minute the power came back on to the truck as if nothing had happened. I have 2 babies that ride with me and will not take a chance of this happening again! the truck is now at the dealership and will not be picked up until the problem is fixed. I have also contacted and retained a lawyer should this major problem become an issue for me. This is obviously a vehicle defect that can be closely compared to the Toyota recall! someone is going to get killed with this problem!!

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #5

Aug 252010

F-150

  • 5,800 miles
2010 Ford F-150. Consumer states that the vehicle shut off completely while driving. She could hardly steer the vehicle and the brakes were difficult to depress. She also states that she almost hit another vehicle. The dealer was unable to duplicate the problem after having the vehicle for 7 days.

- New Durham, NH, USA

problem #4

Jun 152010

F-150

  • 2,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 20 mph making a right turn, the vehicle stalled. The contact was unable to steer the vehicle so he turned it off. Upon restart, the vehicle functioned properly. The failure occurred three to four times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer but the failure could not be duplicated. The failure mileage was approximately 2,500 and the current mileage was 11,600.

- Norwalk, CA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?