Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,529 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford F-150 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford F-150 Owner Comments

problem #16

Mar 202012

F-150

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a rattle noise when driving 35-75 mph from the transmission when under load. -2010 F-150 4X4 supercrew.

- Oxford, MI, USA

problem #15

Oct 152011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated the unoccupied vehicle began to roll while parked on a level surface and crashed into a wooden fence. A police report was filed. The vehicle sustained minor damage to the front end and was towed to an authorized dealer where it was currently being diagnosed and repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 11/04/11 updated 11/14/11 updated 11/21/11 updated 12/16/11

- Rome, NY, USA

problem #14

Aug 132011

F-150

  • 18,044 miles
My family and I were driving interstate 81 in Virginia on 8/13/2011. We were driving in the staunton, va area at approximately 70 mph where the rear wheels on my 2010 F-150 immediately locked up. I had the vehicle towed to a local Ford dealership, and with the help of Ford techs, they feel the issue was the transmission immediately dropped from 6th gear down to 1st gear. Fortunately the road was dry and I gained control and moved the vehicle safely off the road, however my concern is it doesn't sound like they are 100% sure that this was the cause, and even if it is, how do I know it won't happen again in the future...with a worse outcome. I feel this is a huge safety issue, and we were lucky we didn't get into a more serious accident. Now I have a vehicle that I don't feel safe in, and Ford seems to feel there isn't an issue, but I see numerous posts on the internet of similar situations. Should Ford be doing more to ensure their customers are safe in their vehicles, or should I just find another truck that is safer?

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #13

Jul 102011

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,120 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, both rear tires seized. As a result, the vehicle jerked and skidded on the road. The vehicle also stalled, but later restarted. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the diagnostic test indicated that the transmission placed the vehicle into two gears simutamelously. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 21,120 and the current mileage was 23,000. Updated 9/13/11 updated 09/28/11

- Ada, OK, USA

problem #12

Mar 152010

F-150

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph the vehicle jerked forward and began to vibrate. The failure recurred on an intermittent basis while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to a dealer on two occasions where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The computer system within the vehicle was repaired, but the failure continued. The vehicle was not taken back to be repaired again. The approximately failure mileage was 4,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Oak Ridge, MO, USA

problem #11

Dec 202010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
The transmission slips in and out of gear "slamming" the vehicle and causing the vehicle to swerve out of control in certain situations.

- Dripping Springs, TX, USA

problem #10

Oct 152010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2010 Ford F-150 transmission "slams" between gears. Ford is aware of this problem but alleges that it cannot do anything until the software issue is repaired. The transmission slams between gears, at times the 4 wheel drive seems to engage when going around a corner. This issue concerns me as if the 4 wheel drive locks up I could either lose steering control or stop dead in the middle of the road. Ford is not concerned but I am very concerned.

- Forked River, NJ, USA

problem #9

Mar 212011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 423 miles
Started vehicle in park, on flat ground inside of garage, emergency brake applied, exited vehicle, left drivers door open, walked to passenger side, opened the door, heard a pop sound, vehicle began going in reverse, drug door down garage wall, door caught, got folded back to front panel, hole the size of door clear through the garage wall, broke garage door framing, tried to jump into truck to stop it, when door flung back knocked me to the ground and truck ran over my foot, son heard noises ran outside and was able to run across the street and stop truck within a foot of hitting neighbors house... truck door destroyed, front quarter panel destroyed, garage wall, inside and out, garage door framing destroyed, and bruised swollen foot.

- Yuba City, CA, USA

problem #8

Mar 062011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 9,500 miles
I purchased this truck new December 2010. Its first problem was that on three separate occasions it stalled and died approaching a red light. I took it in and the tech reprogrammed the engine. I didn't have a problem for a month until today. Todays problem scared the crap put of me. I was cruising down the road at 70 mph when my truck shifted down from 6th gear to 1st. I fish tailed and almost lost it.I was going down a hill, it wasn't a very steep decline. My truck while cruising and going down hills usually shifts down one gear acting like an engine break to keep my speed from increasing. Today it went right from 6 to 1. thank god no one was behind me or they would have plowed me. I got pulled over and started my engine, everything was fine. I drove for a little while longer and pulled over called roadside assist and had it towed to my local dealership. I purchased a Ford because they are supposed to be safe and dependable. The truck has 9500 miles on it.

- Athens, AL, USA

problem #7

Dec 102010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
2010 Ford F-150 6 speed auto transmission shifts hard and shudders when shifting between 1st and second and downshifting between 2nd and 1st. Often times so hard it chips the tires. On wet roads this will cause you to lose control. Transmission also shutter at 30 mph. Ford claims this is normal operation of this transmission. There is no fix for the problem. Transmission is in 09-11 F150 and Expedition.

- Oviedo, FL, USA

problem #6

Dec 142010

F-150

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 72 mph, the vehicle jerked and began to fishtail. The contact realized that the wheels were locked so he shifted into neutral and allowed the vehicle it to roll to a stop. The contact shut the vehicle off and when it was restarted, it would not shift into gear. After repeated restarts, the vehicle was able to be shifted and was taken to an authorized dealer. The contact was informed that the vehicle shifted from sixth gear to first gear which caused the wheels to lock. The transmission was repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 12,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- South Charleston, WV, USA

problem #5

Oct 242010

F-150

  • 100 miles
2010 F150 erratic and hard down shifting. In stop and go traffic vehicle often lurches forward. Eventually will cause minor crashes unless one drives with extreme care. Ford blogs are full of similar complaints, yet dealer says there are no problems.

- Surrey, 00, USA

problem #4

Apr 282010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
2010 Ford F-150 supercrew develops a significant shutter/vibration in the transmission when the vehicle is at 1100 RPM and speed is 30 - 36 mph. Ford dealership replaced the torque converter at 8000 miles, vehicle now has 16,000 miles and the same issue is occurring. Dealer verified that torque converter is the issue. Dealer contacted Ford, and Ford states, " do not replace the torque converter and that at the current time they are aware of the problem and attempting to come up with an engineering solution."

- Queensbury, NY, USA

problem #3

Mar 152010

F-150

  • 1,200 miles
A) 03.15.2010. Ford F150 platinum extended cab. Steering is extremely stiff/spongy/hard to turn off-center. Must constantly fight side winds and road crowns. As if only 10% power assisted. Dangerous as required constant attention to steering. Others who have driven it comment the same and will not drive truck again. Dealer claims it's "normal" for all Ford F150's with no correction. Dangerous as when transferring to other vehicles with full power assist, one over-steers and quickness and is difficult to re-acquaint. B) drive line/transmission/etc. Does not engage on inclines, slips & chatters into "full" engagement, shudders 1-3 times at stopping & starting. Ford dealer cannot locate problem...no repair attempted. Independent trans. Repair firm says it's a drive line bind releasing...possibly a drive line miss-alignment at transmission out-put shaft spline, and or loose engine/transmission mounts. Danger that transmission may disengage without warning at any time.

- Brighton, CO, USA

problem #2

Dec 312009

F-150

  • 1,500 miles
I have a 5.4L engine with a six speed transmission in my 2010 Ford F150. It lags in acceleration between 1st and 2nd gear shifts, has done this since the day I bought it new, it has presently 7,000kms on it.

- Windsor Ontario Canada N8w5g6, MI, USA

problem #1

Mar 082010

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,580 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. While sitting on a hill, the vehicle rolled backwards. After rolling more than one foot down the hill, the engine stalled so the contact applied the brakes, shifted into park and restarted the vehicle. The problem had not occurred before. The vehicle was taken to the dealership but no repairs were performed. The current mileage was approximately 3,000. The failure mileage was approximately 1,580. Updated 6/1/10 no repairs were made to the vehicle. The dealer stated everything was normal. Updated 06/17/10

- Cunningham, TN, USA

Not what you are looking for?