Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford F-150 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #103

Oct 172016

F-150

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Service bulletin was out for a break booster vacuum for 3 mdel years of the F150. Had taken my truck in around mid May 2016 and the part was on back order. (had a loaner truck for over a month) part was installed and had my truck back a week or two before the 4th of July 2016. Started hearing the noise again and was finally able to get my work schedule to work with me on getting my truck in today 10-17-16 and sure enough part is bad. Now Ford is saying it's on me to pay out of pocket for this part to be replaced again. Barely 3 and a half months after it was fixed. Claiming this was a customer satisfaction fix. There is no doubt why this shouldn't be a recall and why Ford shouldn't be manning up and taking care of this issue. Potential brake failure because of a reoccurring issue with this part on many other trucks.

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #102

Aug 292016

F-150

  • 135,000 miles
Car indicated low brake fluid at traffic light 1... brakes operated properly for traffic light 2 then suddenly at speed brake pedal went to floor while attempting to slow for entry to highway on ramp after traffic light 3. I was able to avoid median at on ramp as well as two other cars while vehicle rolled to stop before traffic light 4.

- Montgomery Village, MD, USA

problem #101

Jul 112016

F-150

  • 88,000 miles
My truck won't stop I happens in the mornings a truck suddenly stopped I put my brakes on my truck didn't stop in time and I hit the truck in front of me got in accident this is the second time this has happened to

- La Habra, CA, USA

problem #100

Jul 032016

F-150

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The brakes fail and the pedal goes all the way to the floor. There is no warning whatsoever. I almost hit a house. I had just started the truck, shifted into gear and proceeded to move forward and when I applied the brake the truck would not stop.

- Grant, MI, USA

problem #99

Sep 072015

F-150

  • 59,000 miles
While traveling the vehicle unexpectedly puts itself into park. The vehicle then locks up the breaks and skids across the road. After skidding the vehicle's throttle does not work and the vehicle is inoperable. This has happened for approximately two (2) years. It has happened while driving at high speed (70 mph) on a limited access highway facility. It has occurred at stop lights. In one instance while at a stop light the vehicle ceased to operate and was struck by another vehicle. Last week was notified by the vehicle manufacturer that they were conducting a recall for the exact reason that has caused me problems for the past two years. The malfunction has caused mechanical damages to the vehicle's suspension, steering, tires, and acceleration. The vehicle vibrates uncontrollably at any speed over 35 mph. There are also rattling inside and outside of the vehicle.

- Coral Gables, FL, USA

problem #98

May 202016

F-150

  • miles
Very hard to push break with both legs hard to stop when backing up and a noise clicking from somewhere sounds like from motor or dash "??" happend several times over last two weeks one being today at 7:50 am on May 20,2016 was afraid I was going to hit car parked on side of road when backing out of my driveway.

- Deer Park, TX, USA

problem #97

Apr 072016

F-150

  • 128,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2011 Ford F150 ecoboost. I received a extended warranty for issues occurring with the electric vacuum pump. I have diagnosed an issue with the brakes after starting the truck up. I started the truck up put it in reverse backed down the driveway and lost all ability to brake and stop the truck. If there was a vehicle or individual behind me there could have been an accident where injury or death could have occurred due to the inability to stop the truck with the brake pedal. I brought the truck to the dealership with the issue and they ignored the electric vacuum pump stating that it was the master piston and it would cost 700 dollars to fix. After doing research I believe I was lied too after others have reenacted the same situation that has occurred to me. If the braking issue occurs more than once I will escalate this issue to higher authority individuals at Ford. This issue must be fixed before injury, death or litigation occurs.

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #96

Mar 032016

F-150

  • 66,395 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While driving 75 mph, the brake warning light illuminated and the vehicle required a longer time to stop when the brake pedal was depressed. The failure occurred constantly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the master cylinder and brake booster failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 66,395.

- Rock Springs, WY, USA

problem #95

Feb 202016

F-150

  • 282,830 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While driving at various speeds, the brake pedal was depressed abruptly and hesitated to respond for a great distance. The contact also noticed smoke under the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic brake pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 282,830.

- Placida, FL, USA

problem #94

Jan 292015

F-150

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While driving at various speeds, the brake pedal was depressed abruptly and hesitated to respond for a great distance. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was unable to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 82,000.

- Cooper City, FL, USA

problem #93

Jan 012016

F-150

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The brake vaccum pump makes noise on start up. This is the second one since I have had it. Theremember is also a loss of brake pressure. When tapping the brakes in reverse the pump will always make like a build up noise. Also extreme brake dust is visible on rims. I have brakes and roars just under the best you can get.

- Gregory, MI, USA

problem #92

Jan 202016

F-150

  • miles
Hard brake petal when first starting vehicle. Takes up to 60 seconds to have power brakes. I have had this problem for two plus years.

- Wixom, MI, USA

problem #91

Dec 102015

F-150

  • miles
Electronic brake vacum pump is loud when starting the truck, breaks are hard at start and fail when in reverse. Can hear the pump get loud at stops. This occurs every single time the struck is started and at idle. Them pump is loud for aprox 30 seconds to 1 minute on each occurrence.

- Ontario, NY, USA

problem #90

Oct 012015

F-150

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While attempting to engage the brakes, the brake pedal became difficult to depress. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the electronic brake vacuum pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred two months later. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 58,000.

- Follansbee, WV, USA

problem #89

May 202012

F-150

  • 11,000 miles
The truck brakes did not work once the vehicle was started. The engine was at fast idle, placed in drive and the brakes would not function. This lurched the truck forward while extreme pressure was applied to stop it. Dangerous in a parking setting where a pedestrian is walking in front or behind the truck. It jumps forwards or back, depending if drive or reverse is selected. As time went by the brakes became weaker when applying at stops. As I reflect back in the past when pulling a trailer it hit the backend of another vehicle in an emergency stopping situation on the interstate. The truck would park well in the garage, but when pulling out you have to be aware of it lurching into the house or another vehicle. Took the truck to Ford dealer which diagnosed it as a brake vacuum pump failure. The eco boost engine is turbo charged which robs the vacuum system of needed vacuum. To supplement the need for vacuum this vacuum pump was engineered into the system to provide additional vacuum. If it failures the brakes fail also. The 2014 models have been reengineered to a mechanical pump eleminating the electrical pump. The Ford service man said that there have been a range of numerous brake failures due to this pump configuration. The Ford garage charged $832.57 to get us back on the road and for us to have a safe trip.

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #88

Dec 172015

F-150

  • 45,000 miles
No brake boost upon starting, when you start the motor when cold there is no brake vacuum boost for about 15 to 20 seconds.. the "brake assist pump" behind the left headlamp corrodes and locks up and untill the motor gets enough vacuum there is very little braking ability. Ford gave me a new pump but I had to bitch, I know you are looking into this, just wanted to let you know. This could very easily be a very dangerous situation. There should be a recall. Please don't wait until a child gets crushed under a pick-up to act.

- Gibsonia, PA, USA

problem #87

Jun 012015

F-150

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While reversing at a low speed, the brake pedal was depressed, however, it took a longer distance to stop the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 02/10/16

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #86

Nov 222015

F-150

  • 52,300 miles
I was pulling into a drive and my brake pedal went all the way to the floor. Luckily there was not a car in front of me, however it took much longer to stop the truck. My mechanic said it was the brake master cylinder...at 50K miles, Ford should cover this.

- Loveland, CO, USA

problem #85

Nov 072015

F-150

  • 21,000 miles
No brakes when first started up. I had to throw it in park to keep from running over hill. After searching on line I find that this is a common problem with ecoboost trucks. Ford should recall these and put the updated part on.

- Point Pleasant, WV, USA

problem #84

Sep 182015

F-150

  • 125,000 miles
Bad vacuum pump causing the pressure in the brakes not to function properly. When you press on the brakes its really hard to stop in motion.

- Burlington, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?