10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,546 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford F-150 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #135

Oct 262015

F-150

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle began to shake and the speedometer and the gear shift indicators fluctuated violently as the vehicle decreased in speed. The vehicle was restarted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 53,000. Updated 02/12/16

- Midland, TX, USA

problem #134

Sep 152015

F-150

  • 46,200 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While the vehicle was parked and the key was removed from the ignition, the instrument cluster lights remained illuminated. The failure caused the battery to be drained completely. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The contact had to disconnect the battery in order for the lights to stop illuminating. The vehicle was driven to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the computer was not able to read the gear shift while in the park position. The technician stated that the gear shift needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 46,200.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #133

Jun 062015

F-150

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While driving at 50 mph, the vehicle independently reduced to 15 mph without warning. The vehicle was restarted and the wrench warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000. MA 10/25/15

- Richland, MO, USA

problem #132

Aug 012015

F-150

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We drove the vehicle 6 hours with the air conditioner on.... parked it - started it again about 2 hours later. The vehicle revved very high, barely chugged as we drove and then the yellow "wrench" light came on - indicating transmission issues as well as a "limp home" mode. We were unable to drive the vehicle at that point and had to keep it parked.... after doing some research - we discovered that condensation had gotten into some sort of condenser and caused the eco-boost engine to misfire and essentially malfunction.

- Holmen, WI, USA

problem #131

Aug 132015

F-150

  • 61,248 miles
Driving at 65 went to accelerate on highway felt loss of power followed by a shudder then flashing engine light. It is a ecoboost

- Gregory, MI, USA

problem #130

Jul 062015

F-150

  • 250,800 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. When the gear was shifted, the vehicle failed to drive in reverse and the rear lights would not illuminate. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact indicated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V190000 (exterior lighting, power train). The contact stated that the vehicle experienced the same failure listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 250,800.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #129

Jun 022015

F-150 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While shifting from reverse, the transmission jerked and the reverse tail light failed to illuminate. In addition, the reverse lights would not illuminate when the brake pedal was depressed. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V190000 (exterior lighting, power train). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000. Updated 09/21/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. The consumer would like for the vehicle to be added to the recall list. Updated 3/29/2016

- Tylertown, MS, USA

problem #128

Mar 162015

F-150

  • 26,093 miles
On several different occasions after starting my Ford F-150 ecoboost I experienced difficulty stopping the vehicle when approaching an intersection. My spouse complained that the vehicle "took off" after she put the truck in reverse in the driveway. I complained about this issue to the dealer on 3/16/15 saying that I was unable to stop at a stop sign. I told them it felt like I was being pushed into the intersection. My initial feeling was that the engine was overpowering the brakes. The turbo can be heard spinning up after a cold start. I am unsure if it is really brake or engine/transmission related....updated 09/15/15

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #127

Jun 162015

F-150 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. The contact stated that upon starting the vehicle and attempting to shift into reverse, the vehicle would hesitate. The contact observed that the reverse lights were not working. The check engine and tool warning lights were also illuminated. When the vehicle was shifted between drive and reverse the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the transmission sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000. Update 01/13/16 MA updated 01/19/16.

- Neptune Beach, FL, USA

problem #126

May 112015

F-150

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. When the vehicle was shifted into reverse, the reverse tail lights were not illuminated and the "R" was not illuminated on the instrument panel. The failure recurred each time the vehicle was shifted into reverse. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the transmission sensor was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V190000 (exterior lighting, power train). The approximate failure mileage was 135,000...updated 06-16-15

- Lehigh Acres, FL, USA

problem #125

Jun 202013

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The truck loses acceleration when shifting to a passing gear. The check engine light comes on, and you have no power. This has happened four times. The Ford dealership has changed out the fuel injectors each time. It is currently in the shop and they have not been able to fix it yet.

- Dayton, TX, USA

problem #124

Jan 242015

F-150 8-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
At my house, the driveway is sloped. I had just parked the truck, turned the engine off, but left key in accessory position. My two daughters were in back seat (3 and 8 years old) watching a movie. I walked into my garage to drop off coffee, went back to the truck to retrieve pastries and then walked them into garage. I was out of the truck for 3-4 minutes. I went back to truck and took my three year old out of her car seat. She sits in rear seat, passenger side. I had her in my arms when I opened passenger side front door, reached across to remove keys. When I removed the keys from the ignition the truck began rolling down the driveway. My 8 year old was 1/2 out of the truck when it began to roll. I quickly put my 3 year old down and grabbed the 8 year old out of the truck. The truck was making a metal clicking sound the entire time it was rolling. Truck rolled down the driveway, across the street and into the neighbors yard. Their tree stopped the truck from rolling further into the yard and their house. The truck was still in park when I went inside to start it back up to move it back into the driveway. I drove it the Ford dealer about an hour later. Ford dealer and fomoco were involved for several months. Eventually a 'specialist' was flown in to look at truck. In the end, they claim there are no mechanical defaults and therefore, they are not responsible. They are unable to answer any questions as to how the truck did not move for the 3-4 minutes it was on the driveway when I was back and forth to the garage. They also have no explanation for how the truck rolled even though it was still in park when this happened. End results is Ford claims they never repaired or modified my truck. I have no way to prove they did or did not repair anything during the periods of time they had my truck in their possession.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #123

Apr 092015

F-150 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
I was traveling 45 mph on dry roads/good visibility/good weather in 6th gear when without warning the transmission shifted from 6th gear and finally ended in 1st gear - during this time the engine rpms exceeded 6000 rpms - I immediately shifted into neutral in order to reduce the engine RPM. Needless to say controlling the vehicle when this occurred was a major safety concern. I then shifted from neutral to drive and all was well. Last Sunday after church the transmission would at first not shift from 1st and then went to 5th gear and remained in 5th gear till I put the transmission in neutral and then back into drive. This event has occurred 4 times this far.always when the engine and transmission are cold!!!

- Athens, AL, USA

problem #122

Jul 152014

F-150

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. While driving at 20 mph and shifting gears, the contact smelled a strong burning odor inside the vehicle and heard an abnormal noise near the rear of the vehicle. The starter defect warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the electrical program had to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Waynesboro, MS, USA

problem #121

Mar 122015

F-150 6-cyl

  • 97,142 miles
Without warning the transmission began downshifting and upshifting by itself. Vehicle went from 5th gear to third, back to fifth and down to first. Vehicle skidded as a result. Brought people to dealer. They explained that there was not a recall currently, but that there was a service notice and that this had happened other vehicles.

- Stanley, NC, USA

problem #120

Mar 172015

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 46,500 miles
Loss of power. Missfire. Engine light came on and would not go off. Ecoboost 3.5 V6. Moisture problem getting in to cause problems. Turbo cooler problem. Truck is in service now on date above.

- Interlochen , MI, USA

problem #119

Feb 202015

F-150

  • 25,300 miles
Follow up to complaint listed below (beginning with summary): It should be noted that this incident did not occur in humid or rainy conditions. This incident did not occur while traveling at highway speed or wide open throttle. This incident occurred while starting from a complete stop under light acceleration turning left across traffic. Vehicle lost all power and would not move. Pushing the gas pedal did increase engine RPM but vehicle would not move. The behavior exhibited by the vehicle sounds very similar to the condensation problem I have been made aware of with the 3.5 V6 ecoboost. However none of the circumstances Ford claims causes the issue existed. This is an extremely dangerous condition. Weather was approximately 15 degrees and sunny. I have experienced the problem when the vehicle has been cold and after it has been running for a while. Summary: While attempting to cross oncoming traffic lanes to access interstate vehicle began to move then suddenly lost all power. RPM's went up to 4000 RPM but vehicle would not move. Vehicles were approaching in excess of 50mph. I managed to barely avoid being struck by oncoming traffic and pulled to side of ramp. Vehicle then began to move again. Took vehicle in for service. Dealership performed two fixes involving some form of air dam. On 02/24 vehicle did the same thing luckily in a parking lot this time. This is an extremely dangerous condition which leaves no error codes so far. I am seeing many similar complain ts online. Taking vehicle in for service again on 3/3/15 as the issue occurred again today 3/2/15.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #118

Feb 232015

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 25,300 miles
While attempting to cross oncoming traffic lanes to access interstate vehicle began to move then suddenly lost all power. RPM's went up to 4000 RPM but vehicle would not move. Vehicles were approaching in excess of 50mph. I managed to barely avoid being struck by oncoming traffic and pulled to side of ramp. Vehicle then began to move again. Took vehicle in for service. Dealership performed two fixes involving some form of air dam. On 02/24 vehicle did the same thing luckily in a parking lot this time. This is an extremely dangerous condition which leaves no error codes so far. I am seeing many similar complain ts online. Taking vehicle in for service again on 3/3/15 as the issue occurred again today 3/2/15.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #117

Jan 252015

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 93,172 miles
Going up hill, stepped on gas, transmission shifted down one gear, let off gas and engine died. It showed low oil pressure on dash. Steering was hard (had to pull to side of road). Vehicle was then towed. Oil dip stick was pulled out and will not go back in. Latter discovered engine is seized up for no know reason.

- Kettle Falls, WA, USA

problem #116

Mar 062013

F-150

  • 40,000 miles
Generally speaking with a new vehicle I "baby" a new vehicle until I get over 75,000 mi. First incident - noticed around 40,000 mi. When accelerating to pass at highway speeds the vehicle shudders and doesn't have power. Thought it was bad gas, turbo lag, or intermittent transmission issue. Problem occurred a few times over the years, every time was during acceleration to pass or merge on to expressway conditions. Keep in mind since I was in the babying mileage range I rarely performed such acceleration. But after a couple of occurrences, I discussed this with a friend that also owns an ecoboost and he thought the same reasons. I have 7 year 100,000 extended warranty so I thought I would wait until the problem occurred frequently enough to easily trouble shoot. Of course frequency wouldn't be enough until after I get out of the "baby" stage on mileage. Currently the vehicle has over 75,000 miles. I no longer baby it. Problem occurs every time I accelerate to pass at highway speeds. Also, I have had the problem when accelerating to enter highway traffic from ramp. The ramp occurrence appears to be when I'm at a speed and then accelerate. Not sure if the problem happens when accelerating from a stop or slow speed. I'm concerned this may lead to an accident and potential a life threatening or changing event. What is one life worth? I guess that depends on if its yours. I believe this is a life threatening event and know that drivers like myself once aware pay attention and proceed with caution and this is the reason there hasn't been life lost, or no one has proven this was the root cause to accidents that have occurred. I fear for those who are not aware of this issue and that they may discover it at the wrong time. Please do something to help.

- Louisville, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?