Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,923 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 8 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #187

May 272014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 40,500 miles


I was merging into traffic after picking up my daughter from daycare. I pressed down on the accelerator firmly to gain speed to get into traffic. My truck stalled with a pinging noise coming from the engine and an uncharacteristic black smoke pouring out of the exhaust pipe. Oncoming traffic had to brake to avoid hitting my truck on my daughters side. The truck recovered but only gradually picked up speed with very little power. It was a low constant acceleration. This is the 4th time this has happened with my truck but this time it endangered my daughter so I feel that I need to speak out. This needs to be addressed before my 1.5 year old daughter or someone else gets hurt due to faulty equipment.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #186

Oct 162013


  • 33,500 miles
I own a 2011 Ford F-150 ecoboost and have had issues that Ford wishes to ignore and which I consider a serious safety hazard. Approx. Oct 16, 2013, while driving on interstate during rainy weather, I accelerated to pass, on the left, a tt/St that was in the right lane. As I started to pass, at approx. 3500 RPM, the engine stalled and the check engine light flashed. I was nearly rear ended by the vehicle that was behind me, due to the stall and sudden deceleration. I brought the vehicle to the Ford dealer on several occasions and to this date the same thing occurs, only this time the check engine light stays on. Ford's fix is to replace the coil and all six spark plugs at a cost of $400, stating the issue is a maintenance issue not covered under warranty (vehicle still under warranty). Ford refuses to recognize the danger this problem creates for the occupants and would rather use a band-aid approach, rather than fix the problems, which appears to be moisture dumped into the engine from the cold-air-charge(intercooler) for the turbos. I have done my homework and have found this to be a common issue and in most cases, Ford replaces the ignition coil and spark plugs, only to have the same thing happen again. Again, Ford is putting the occupants of these vehicles at risk caused by the sudden deceleration and refuses to do the right thing and repair the problem.

- Mokena, IL, USA

problem #185

Apr 012014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
While trying to pass a vehicle on the highway my truck started to sputter and loose power, the check engine light came on for a few seconds and went off. This problem is happening every day now under all conditions. There are numerous complaints on this problem and no real resolutions.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #184

Apr 232014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 48,750 miles


While traveling down the road and the need to accelerate to pass a much slower vehicle my truck lost all power and began shuddering very bad. With oncoming traffic approaching quickly I had to step on the brakes rather hard and quick to avoid a accident. What would have possibly happened if I was towing a legal but heavy load? Ford has a known problem with the coils on the ecoboost and this truly needs to be addressed. This is a extremely serious traffic safety when you loose all power and the severity of the shudder that also occurs.

- Taber, AA, USA

problem #183

Sep 102013

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • 43,364 miles
During acceleration to merge onto the highway, my F-150 lost power. The engine began to sputter, the check engine light illuminated, and the truck lost power. An 18-wheeler behind me had to slam on his brakes to avoid hitting my vehicle as I moved it to the shoulder of the road. I took the vehicle into the Ford dealership and they performed tsb13-8-1. as of today (4/28/2014), the issue has not been resolved. I just took my truck back into the dealership to have another tsb performed. This time, I had to pay $100 because my powertrain warranty had expired. My main concern is that the tsb's that Ford is issuing are inadequate. I have been told that the cause of power loss is moisture that builds up inside the intercooler. The last fix was to place a piece of plastic over the intercooler in an attempt to raise internal temperatures and prevent moisture from building up. It did not work...and my mpg went down by 1.8 (average) with the fix. My main concern is that Ford will continue to release inadequate solutions to this problem, and once my esp has run out, I will be left with a truck that doesn't work and with no other choice but to pay for expenses 100% out of pocket. Hopefully something is done to prevent this from happening. I am not a very satisfied customer at this time.

- Collierville, TN, USA

problem #182

Apr 142014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 43,980 miles
I accelerated hard on a highway entrance ramp and the engine started to stutter to the point I thought it might stall out. I let off the gas and accelerated again more slowly with no problem. Thinking it was a one off I accelerated hard again and again the car stuttered. I went easy for a couple days and then again accelerated hard a few days later with the same result. I got online and realized I wasn't the only one having issues with this engine. On 4/18/14 I took my truck to the dealership(landers Ford, collierville, tn) and reported the problem. They were familiar with it and said there was a fix. This fix included installing a moisture deflector and reprogramming the computer. It was performed and I left the dealership. Yesterday, 4/23/14, it happened again. I am planning on going back to the dealership tomorrow.

- Collierville, TN, USA

problem #181

Feb 052013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 40,881 miles


When attempting to pass a slower moving vehicle, I moved into the left pass lane and pushed on the gas, the truck began to shudder violently, lose power, and the check engine light came on. I took it to the dealership where I bought it and they did the intercooler fix. After that the problem continued. Check engine light came on, took back to dealership, they told me it was a spark plug, replaced it, on the drive home same problem, engine shudders violently, loses power, goes into limp mode, and check engine light either flashes or goes solid. I have had this problem since the day I purchased the truck new from the dealer.

- Mercer Island, WA, USA

problem #180

Apr 182014


  • 63,150 miles
The truck is new to me and will miss in cases of acceleration on the highway or getting on the highway. If it were a smaller vehicle, I know I would have been run over today when trying to enter the highway already at about 60-65 mph and the engine sputtered and felt like it quit and I had to run on to the side of the road to not get hit. It has been sputtering/missing alot but never to that extreme. I hear there is an intercooler problem with the 2011 econoboost engine after asking around. Supposedly, their is moisture building up in the intercooler and is horribly damaging to the engine..

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #179

Oct 212013


  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, there was a loss of power in the engine during acceleration. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the inner cooler needed a protective shield to reduce the inner flow. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000.

- Fort Pierce, FL, USA

problem #178

Mar 272014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 56,500 miles
Engine stumbles or misfires at highway speeds, which lead to a loss of power when accelerating.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #177

Mar 042014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles


Having issues with Ford F-150 ecoboost engine losing power during acceleration, on our 2011 model. We have advised Ford on this issue, since it's a safety concern, that can lead to a crash or even injury, however Ford is not doing anything about it...please help us out !!! the safety of millions of people that has purchased this model truck is in your hands. It's very dangerous to drive the truck on the highway due to the sputtering, that causes you to stahl out... this is a serious issue... me and my kids almost had an accident due to this factory defect. Please have this truck re-call, or investigate on this matter. Thank you.

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #176

Jun 032012


  • 8,800 miles
During rain storm or high humidity driving conditions, while at a steady speed for a few minutes, I apply the gas pedal to pass or merge, my truck stutters and loss of engine power occurs. When this happened it caused truck to slow down to unsafe speeds rapidly while on highway, causing me to steer to the side of the road to avoid a crash. The truck is still on when this happens but accelerator peddle is useless until vehicle is stopped, after a few moments it will work again. This happened multiple times and on multiple dates. One particular trip from Pennsylvania to Florida and back, this above condition happened no less than 15 times. Had my truck in for multiple services and nothing, but a code for misfire I believe the tech said. Had all tsb's done as of August 2013. My truck is averaging very bad gas mileage between 8.5 mpg to 12mpg. My truck also stutters while in reverse while backing out of my driveway on cold days.

- Scranton, PA, USA

problem #175

Dec 272013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
This is a 2011 Ford F150 with ecoboost engine. 3.5 liter V6 dual turbo. I purchased the truck 12-7-13 and it failed on 12-27-13 having problems accelerating. It has no power and the turbos do not work at random. The loss of power all the time is a serious safety concern. Luckily I did not crash or cause a crash because of the issue. But the truck has been in for service since 1-30-14, has been out of commission for over 30 business days and no dealership can fix it. The truck is under multiple warranties, but the issue of the turbos failing at random / ingesting moisture from the inter cooler is still there. 3/31/14 the truck is still at a dealership.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #174

Mar 202014


  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F150. The contact stated that while attempting to accelerate, the check engine warning light illuminated as the engine became unresponsive. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that a wire connected to a spark plug was faulty. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 72,000.

- Clinton, MI, USA

problem #173

Feb 122014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 85,200 miles
I should note that my truck has the 3.5L ecoboost engine. This occurred on a very cold morning (-15F) while attempting to pass a truck on a 2 lane highway, going up hill. I had been driving approximately 1 hour when this happened. As I pulled into the left lane and accelerated hard, the truck began to shutter and misfire, losing almost all power. The check engine light flashed 3 or 4 times then came on solid. I was able to drop back into the right lane behind the truck and avoid an oncoming vehicle. I limped the truck to an area where I could get off the road. After turning the truck off and restarting the engine, it ran better but not at what would be considered full power. I got to my destination about 20 minutes later, left the truck sit for about 2 hours and headed back towards home. The engine seemed to run normally at cruising speed. Since that occurance, I have noticed a drop in gas mileage and intermittent misfires or shuttering of the engine when accelerating hard. I believe this has the potential to create a significant safety hazard upon acceleration to pass or to merge into traffic. This truck basically died and lost all power. This is clearly not an isolated issue, as I have read numerous complaints on various Ford truck forum websites.

- Rural Valley, PA, USA

problem #172

Mar 142014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 62,150 miles
I was driving my Ford F150 ecoboost at highway speeds for about 1 hour, a light rain started with humid conditions. While traveling around 60 mph I attempted to pass another car but my truck would not accelerate. It began to shake and shudder when I tired to increase speed which almost resulted in a collision because I was unable to accelerate while passing. My truck has now returned to normal function but I have become aware that the issue I had has happened to several others. This is very dangerous because your truck is running just fine and all of sudden it will not accelerate.

- Tempe , AZ, USA

problem #171

Dec 192013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 99,500 miles
My family and I were on our way to disney world in orlando, Florida when my 2011 Ford 3.5 liter ecoboost F150 truck completely shut down on the interstate 10 highway in the middle of nowhere, probably 60 miles to the East of tallahassee Florida. At first I thought that we were not going to make it, as the truck completely died out. I pulled off to the side and finally got the vehicle started. We had been steady state cruising with the cruise set at 70 for atleast 2-2.5 hours. After doing some reading I see that it was probably condensation in the intercooler that entered the intake tract when I had accelerated to go around a big truck that was barely making it up a hill on interstate 10. This was a real bad experience, this has happened atleast 2 times since then. Luckily I have not had a wreck or crashed, but as I keep reading up, I see many people complaining about the ecoboost F150. Now, I have a truck in the shop with a blown motor, and I can only imagine that the water getting into the motor and the motor trying to compress that water was what caused my engine failure. I metal from the internal rotating assembly shoot through the side of my engine block last week. I believe that happened due to the water and the water bending the connecting rods. Please help.

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #170

Mar 112014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Since owning a new 2001 Ford F-150 ecoboost, I have noticed several issues with the engine. Loss of power when accelerating, shuttering when braking and poor fuel economy. I have taken the vehicle in for service and they have applied technical service bullitins, but the issue returns. The latest problem was a failed coil pack causing my vehicle to almost stall on the highway. Ford didn't cover the part under their powertrain warranty.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #169

Feb 192014


  • 61,000 miles
While accelerating the truck hesitates, looses power and jerks violently, the check engine light flashes several times while passing a vehicle. When the truck jerks and looses power it feels like the engine is about to explode. Has almost caused several accidents because of the sudden lost of power. It appears to me that the truck is misfiring.

- Mount Aukum, CA, USA

problem #168

Nov 262013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 51,586 miles
Accelerating onto the highway, experienced loss of power while check engine light was flashing. Cars were swerving around me due to my speed being slower than the flow of traffic. I put hazards on and pulled over. This is not safe for me or drivers around me. Dealer said it was an engine misfire and replaced the spark plug and coil. Since this incident it has happened multiple times. The dealer replaced another spark plug and coil. I took it in the last time and they flashed my computer and sent me on my way. The problem is still not fixed on my truck.

- Carey, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?